Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

River Dart Country Park ( River Dart Adventures)
Holne Park
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7NP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01364 652511

Facilities:  (Key)
                       

Nearby:
10m  10m   10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 295
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
              9/10 from 89 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (20) and Video

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Natgeo 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from this site and it is FAB in a gorgeous setting -The kids have such a massive variety of stuff all outdoors and water based (the site recommend a wet suit which we ignored then had to get one down there!) My 8 year could have spent an entire week on the play stuff and still not got bored. I also liked the fact that near the older kids stuff there is a toddler section (I also have a one year old) so I could keep the baby entertained (loved the baby zip line!) whilst being nearby for my eldest.

It was torrential rain the whole time we were there but my 8 year old was soaked anyway and we just made the best of it .

The showers could do with a few quid spending on them as they were very dated but ok. The water round the washing up area was cold at peak times but on the whole we will defo return.

Good site for kids.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Langstroth4 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for a very wet week in May 2008. Lower part of the site was pretty muddy, but the staff did an good job keeping it OK laying straw down etc. Our two kids (7 and 8) absolutely loved this site due to all the play equipment in the woods and the water play area (you do need wet shoes and a wet suit I'd suggest) - so much so we are going back again this year. The facilities were fine if a bit muddy, although to be fair it was a very wet spring/summer. Other activities on site require purchase of tickets as they are run by a separate company I think - climbing wall, zip line, high ropes. Onsite shop stocks basic items.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie1671 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping experience ever! We chose this site because it was recommended by our friends and they were right - this is a great site! We had originally booked a pitch close to the river but because of the large amount of rain prior to our arrival they changed our pitch to higher up the site, closer to toilets and amenities and I have to say thank goodness they did! We have a three year old and a 10 month old and hiking them all that distance to the toilet block to change nappies, etc would have been a nightmare.

We also discovered on arrival that we had forgotten to buy the gas for the cooker (Doh!) and batteries for the torches (Double doh!). Unfortunately their shop was closed when we arrived and they don't stock gas but there was a well stocked camping / caravanning shop nearby so we were able to stock up there. Then trying to attach the gas to our cooker we found we couldn't tighten it enough but we went to reception who sent the warden round and he did it for us. Actually we often saw the warden buzzing around the site and stopping off at various pitches so they must be a pretty accomadating bunch!

Being that it rained from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we didn't get much chance to check out the Adventure playgrounds but we managed a walk around the site: there's a pub which was showing a football match, a very well stocked shop and a games room. The toilet block was warm and had a separate bathroom with a baby changing unit and toilet which was great for us when getting the kids ready for bed. All-in-all a great site. We will definitly be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paraman999 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week at the River Dart Adventures and we had a great time. When we arrived the staff were helpful and our pitch was very spacious. The site itself is fab for all the family with loads to do and see. The shop and bar are OK and nothing more. The toilets were a bit run down but had hot water and seemed to cleaned quite regularly.
The park is situated just off the A38 so very handy for exploring. But the road leading up to the site is a little narrow so care is needed.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobson 1 review from this member

Myself and my husband had an unexpected week off work together and decided to take the opportunity to use our tent for the first time.  I am a Plymouth girl and knew better than to try beach sites in Cornwall during August so dropped in to River Dart on our way past and managed to get 2 nights in the overflow area.  As camping beginners we found the reception helpful and friendly and were shown to the overflow by a campsite warden. It was a lovely spot with large trees dotted around.  We were worried that as the site is very child orientated it would be awful during peak season but found it very relaxing. After putting the tent up we walked around the site and it became quite obvious it was a haven for children.  We both said how much we would have loved it when we were kids.
We have an 8 month old labrador puppy and found loads of woodland walks on site where we could let him off his lead. Our only complaint would be the lack of doggy poo bins.  If they want people to clear up they really need more poo bins. 
The toilet/showers etc were not particularly special but we never had to queue even in August and the water was always hot.  We never used the shop but found the bar area overrun in the evenings with unsupervised children which wasn't really for us.  All in all we enjoyed it so much we stayed for an extra night, which is easy to do in the overflow field, and can't wait to go camping again. 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizeeknight 4 reviews from this member

I have to agree with comments below, the site is perfect for kids as long as they are the outdoor type, there is just shed loads for them to do. The facilities are adequate not the best or cleanest but fine. When we went it rained nearly the whole time and the site was still packed. The kids loved it and we thought it was great as well will more than likely return.
The only drawback (if you can call it that) was the clubhouse wasnt ready which the older teenages in the party missed! Loads to do around and about as well, Plymouth was good, there are other places which do indoor activities if you feel the need. The site has an outdoor  pool and a toddler pool both of these are small but no body minded.
You probably will have to use levellers on your pitch. There are also loads of grassy areas you can just sit and picnic on, the other acivities which you had to pay for were really good and not that expensive, ours did them all!

Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4140 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469