Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Bolberry
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 561230

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m   1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
              8/10 from 62 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiek van o 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at karrageen in august 2005 because we rememberd the site from earlier visits in '85 an '86. The view from the top field was our great attraction. And again we loved the site because of the great view. Also the shop is a great improvement, toilet and showerblock not so much. We love the area very much, so much we will certainly come back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sekn410 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to Karrageen. Another wonderful camping trip with views that take your breath away. We camped in the top field & enjoyed the stunning views over Bigbury & Bantham Sands & the sunsets over Hope Cove.
Again Fantastic service from Phil,Nicky & family who were always happy to help/suggest walks etc in the surrounding areas.
As for previous posts regarding facilities I would have to disagree - every shower - including the family room - has squeegy mops etc to encourage people to clean up after themselves even though we saw the owners cleaning on a regular basis.The 20p for showers/washing up is very clearly stated on the website.The water supply to Karrageen is all spring water & I think the pitch price reflects the fact that you pay for your hot water. All in all a wonderful site & on my top 5 fav campsite list. Try & find a better one in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angelfish1 10 reviews from this member

I tend to agree with other peoples comments about this site. Spacious and peaceful. There is not a play area but lots of space. The whole place is let down by the toilets and showers. They were always dirty and the showers had no water pressure and very little warm water (no hot at all!) It was always a race to wash hair etc before the water went stone cold! Please note that the washing machines will do a wash for £2 or £1 (if light is on from the last user) The notice states they are £3 for a quick wash and £4 for a longer one. Dont waste your money!
Nice family who run it.
Dangerous lane to walk to the beach. Bantham was our favourite beach and great for children. We would definitely not return to this site purely because of the showers/dirty toilets.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ruththelady 2 reviews from this member

Our party consisted of two families in tourers, two families in tents, and us in a static. I’d say that this combination makes me fairly well-placed to make comment on all Karrageen’s facilities. We stayed at Karrageen during the last week of July 2006.

The location is awkward to say the least. This area of Devon is full of roads that are little more than a car’s width, with high hedges, steepish hills and much twisting and turning. This may add to the local character, but means that there is much to-ing and fro-ing as you spend time reversing back to the last pull-in spot. Admittedly, we went at the height of the season, when the roads were quite busy, but the drives to the beach were, at the very least, arduous and frustrating. I would certainly not recommend walking the roads either, as there are no pavements. Those travelling with tourers need to be very confident manoeuvring with them as access to the camp site is very difficult.

We were in a caravan at the highest part of the campsite, and could – just – see a vague blue blur that we took to be the sea in the distance. Any notion that this site ‘overlooks the cove’ is optimistic to say the least.

Campsites tend to fall into two categories; the laid-out type, with proper roads to your van, lawned areas, all pretty-pretty, and those more rural ones, with fields suitable for the purpose. Karrageen falls into the latter category, mostly set out in terraced rows with high hedges between. There is no lighting.

There is a well-stocked shop, which did par-baked baguettes of a morning if pre-ordered, but – frustratingly – did not do morning newspapers, which with the nearest shop in Hope (see comments on roads, above), you mostly do without.

There is one shower/toilet block for the site, and although wonderfully close to the shower/toilet equipped statics, was a hefty trek if you were on one of the lower tiers in a tent – assuming you could find your way there in the dark. Those in our party who made regular use of the showers deemed them expensive (4mins/20p), and usually spent 20p before the water ran hot. The charges also applied to pot-washing water! These charges would perhaps be acceptable if the toilet block was kept clean, but it wasn’t; they were dark and quite smelly.

Our static van was fantastically well equipped, if a little smaller than the one we’d been in the week before elsewhere. Watch out for the power-on button for the TV; it’s round the side!

There is a general sense of the owners trying to maximise their profits; for example, the soap-dispenser (singular) in the men’s toilet block was only refilled when we complained. The water charges mentioned above epitomise this feeling.

I should also warn those who are thinking about a static, that after having returned home a fortnight, we received a letter accusing us of leaving our van in a dreadful state and ‘a microwave so smelly we had to replace it’. This was used to justify the non-return of our £30 breakages deposit, and was completely untrue. I would suggest to any other static-dwellers that they ensure they get the owners to check their van before they leave, to avoid these sorts of issues.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julesvee 5 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, with views out to sea and very well spaced pitches. It was lovely to be so spread out across the fields, and the owners were very helpful and friendly, with a well stocked shop and take away food available. The criticisms are the toilet/shower blocks - these are really out of date and were never really clean. Having to pay 20p for 2 mins in a shower was not really very acceptable given the lukewarm water and lack of pressure (they have a spring supply not mains). There were 4 showers in the ladies and this was no where near adequate for the amount of people on site. There was a family bathroom with a tiny sink, and filthy floor that was too nasty to use. The washing up water was also 20p, and use of washing machines/drier also metered. Its a real shame that a lovely site is let down by its facilities, the space and view made it a wonderful place. Area lovely, not far from Salcombe and Dartmouth - lovely beaches and lots for families to see and do. Other comment - lanes are terrible to access site, narrow and busy and you spend an awful amount of time reversing into passing places, then waiting for 20 cars to pass you. Got very frustrating at times so beware if you have a large vehicle (we have a Seat MPV).
Recommend for views, space and shop.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: In-a-field 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, in a cracking rural location on the south Devon coast. The site is on a hill but has been terraced so pitches are mostly flat, to the front of each "line" of pitches is a large area of grass and some low hedges so views are not hindered towards the fields and coast around Hope Cove. The toilet block and associated amenities are satisfactory, rarely queued out. The hot water is paid for by 20p coins. The shop even sells real ales and decent wine! The site was fully booked on the week we went (school holidays) but there was minimal noise during the day and none at night, the owner Phil makes sure of that by chucking off one family after noise the previous night! Although full, we couldn't tell it was due to the space between the line of pitches.

There was plenty of nature about, owls, bats, to name a few birds. There are several walks from the site, one along the cliffs to an ancient earthworks, with lovely views all around, another along the very quiet road onto a National Trust meadow down to the beach at Hope Cove, only half an hour walk, so no need to take the car to the beach!

The owners made us very welcome, they obviously have pride in running the site and it is in one of the best locations in the South West. Recommended.

Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469