Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitehill Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Whitehill Country Park
Stoke Road
Paignton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ4 7PF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 782338

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 18 April - 24 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
              8/10 from 121 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mad4tents 2 reviews from this member

This was our second year here, we stayed for 10 nights. I asked for a flat pitch this year as last was on a hill!

Although I had given the size of the tent it only just fit on the pitch and there really wasn't much gap between neighbouring tents. We have a Coleman Velhas 8 tent.

The pitch site was convenient for the park and toilets at night, I don't recall the lights being on at night since I used the torch to get to toilet in the early hours. Admittedly some of the shower blocks are in need of updating and modernising, but we mainly used the new block in the touring site as they are wonderfully clean and there is a family shower room and also a bathroom for babies. At peak times there is a wait for the facilities. Saying this the showers are free and always hot and plenty of sinks for washing up in.

The entertainment for the children is good, there was a mini nature trail to go on. In the barn there is free painting and of course the swimming pool though last year our two found it too cold, and twice whilst we were there it had to be closed due to children not wearing swimming nappies.

We didn't eat in the on site cafe as I either cooked or we went to Morrisons next to Paignton Zoo. The prices in the club are rather expensive, but the staff are very friendly. There was live music in the bar most nights and a kids disco in the Haybarn I think it's called. Some nights it was just games though and my two wanted to dance. But there is a good games room and arcade type games my two loved playing air hockey!

If you have young children you will need to drive as it is down a country lane, Stoke Gabriel is a lovely village in walking distance as long as no young children! The park is well placed to getting to Goodrington Sands which has a lovely sandy beach. There is also an open air swimming pool with flumes etc at Goodrington and a Harvester pub with soft play area for children.

We will return in the future I am sure!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris + Marilyn 1 review from this member

We(2 adults + 14 y/o Son & his friend + 2 tents) stayed here with no booking ahead whatsoever in August 2009. Arrived in pouring rain,at 8pm, were made most welcome, so booked for 2 nights with a view to moving elsewhere later. As soon as we arrived, the rain stopped.

Site was so good that we stayed all week, although we had to move to a new pitch after 3 days due to prior bookings.

I endorse everything good that folks have posted here. I'm submitting this review so long after our stay due to just reading all the negative ones.

Most of the people who have complained here about the site would probably be better going to a hotel.

Whitehill is a brilliant place to stay for practically any ages. Unfortunately we were too busy to be there during 2010, but will do again.

The cafe/restaurant/chippy (call it what ye want),is brilliant & not overpriced at all for what you get. We cooked breakfast every other day & ate in there for the others.

Pleasant & helpful staff. Enjoy it without expecting 5 star hotel treatment.

Entertainment generally good & occasionally excellent.

Loads of attractions nearby as has been stated.

I have no connection with Whitehill other than as a customer. As a 'young' camper of 57,I would recommend the site to anyone & everyone!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara Curtis 2 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights here, used the Sun camping vouchers we had collected so we could try different camp sites to find ones to use again. Whitehill was clean and tidy, toilets showers and laundry room could not be faulted, the staff were friendly and would recommend this site, it was a lovely stay, in a rural setting.
We went on a walk to Stoke Gabriel following the map that was supplied to us at reception, it is a beautiful village and the Church is worth a visit. We like to go away in our motorhome out of season and were a bit dissappointed that although it was only the second week in September the shop was poorly stocked and we couldn't get a meal, takeaway or any food at all, you could get a drink in the bar though. This proved to be to our advantage, we went to the nearest pub the Parkers Arms and got a meal which was very good value for money.
Won't go to Whitehill again out of season as we like to go somewhere offering food, or at least one that has food in it's shop, but that is just a personal thing.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Megzie 2 reviews from this member

Visited Whitehill for 2 nights in September. What a superb site. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, gave us a map and marked out all of the water points, showers and toilets for us. Not too sure what other reviewers mean that the showers were in portacabins as we saw none of these. Very new shower block in the tourers area, and they are superb. Always clean, free, long and hot.The other showers did need a bit of updating.

Very friendly bar, tad over priced but good beer and atmosphere. Didn't use the pool so I couldn't comment on that.

Close to all amenities and Paignton (zoo is fab), sainsburys is just down the road, yet you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside.

Lots of playgrounds for kids and a nature trail around the park.

Downsides however are the fact that they leave all lights on around the whole campsite all night, so you don't even need a light in your tent. Also, the pitch we had was on a slope, which was rather annoying. But I cant really complain as we got it for £1 a night through the Sun.

All in all a fab site, close to Torquay and Paignton, with excellent facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thecampdaves 4 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site near to all the Torbay attractions. We found the main shower block at the bottom of the hill far better than the portacabin type that are dotted around the site. The water was piping hot at any time of day and the facilities were always spotlessly clean.

There is a good bar with a lovely balcony to sit out on that overlooks the illuminated pool.The games room is well equipped for the children and the site itself has a lot space for kids to play. Entertainment was good, three or four nights a week.

Stoke Gabriel is within walking distance with a nice old church overlooking the river and the old quaint pub is worth going in for a pint.

Our next camp in South Devon will definitely be at this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyMc 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Whitehill - we would have stayed longer but they were full!

The staff are very friendly, the site is clean and had everything we needed, the pool was great too even if it was a bit cold! Plenty for the children to do from arts and crafts to nature walks, and full entertainment in the Barn from 8pm-11pm. There is so much to do in the surrounding area too, cinema, funfair, beautiful beaches, Steam Train, Harbours, Toy Museum, Paignton Zoo the list is endless and we did most of them! The only thing I could say that was a pain (but did not spoil our holiday) were the showers - they were so far away from our tent we had to drive to them, but the water was hot and they were always clean.

We would definitely return and recommend it to our friends & family :)

Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391