Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01304 612681

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  1m  5m   5m 

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
              8/10 from 126 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J k camping 2 reviews from this member

First time using this site and probably the last. Nobody took us to our pitch when we arrived. Drove around looking for the correct pitch number and asking other campers for directions. We told our children to go the correct way around the camp on their bikes as it is 'One Way' - only to find a buggy being driven by a member of staff not only over the 10mph limit but also the wrong way on more than one occasion!

This campsite is very noisy with lots of building work being carried out which should be done out of season. It is very close to the railway and you can also hear lots of traffic at night. Apart from the purpose built play area there is no room for family activities.There is a 'recreation area' marked out on the site map, however this was in use for tent pitches and a double decker bus.

Views from our caravan were non existent and so we went out every day to make the most of our stay.The toilets/ shower block are very clean every time we used them. It would be nice to have a shower that had continuous water rather than a button that needed pushing every 25 seconds.More water pressure and a temperature control needed.

We would definitely go to Sandwich town again. It is beautiful with some quaint streets and very friendly locals. Went to Fowlmeade park with the children-'Fantastic'.Lots of places to visit around Sandwich.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bulldogx2 2 reviews from this member

This site came recommended and the first time we had used it.

The toilet blocks are always well cleaned and checked including the showers (although low pressure and you have to keep pressing the button to make the water come out). It is within walking distance of Sandwich which is a lovely little town and we used it most days to buy milk and bread and ice creams as these basic essentials are not sold on site.

There is a very good playing area for under 12's but no field or large area for playing football, cricket, frisbee etc, this was definitely a downside for our family.

The 'one way' system only seems to apply to customers as more than once the staff flaunted these rules which are made very clear to customers on arrival. The 10mph limit should really be lowered to 5mph and ideally right of way given to pedestrians not cars as there are always people walking about to and fro and children riding bikes (as children would).

This site would suit you if you were only staying briefly visiting nearby towns etc, as we felt it was quite cramped and not a place that you would set up camp and stay for the whole week without having to leave.

Unfortunately, at our time of visit, there was building works being undertaken (not sure that at the height of season why it had to be done), from 8am if not before, you can hear the jcbs, etc start work.

Also, we felt a bit overlooked by the nearby houses, in our camping experience we have only had fields surrounding us, so this is something to be mindful of and the fact that a railway line runs along side too!

Lots of places to visit which we felt we had to, to escape the site FowleMead Park near Sholden, (about 5 minutes away) you pay 1.00 to park all day and there is a fantastic play area for all kids ages, a bmx track area, lots of long and short walks and bike trails, you could spend the day there, so take a pack up.

Deal nearby and Broadstairs which is definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suephiltommysam 1 review from this member

2 families of 2 adults 2 children. 10/9/7/7yrs

Made reservation by email. Correspondence was very friendly.

Check in was quick and easy, although the lady appeared to be having a bad day and was not the friendliest.

We were travelling with friends and had booked 2 pitches, which were located one behind the other.

Warden patrol very frequent.

No nice views, but flat grassy pitch.

Toilets were never too busy. Very clean. Showers didn't have much pressure, but lovely and hot.

Great location for town. Less than 10 minutes walk. Good choice of restaurants / pubs.

Only 10 minutes drive to Deal, which has a great leisure pool for the kids with slides and wave machine. Beach is pebbles.

Deal castle is well worth a visit also.

Plenty of local attractions for the kids.

The only down side was that the kids love cycling around on camping holidays, and this site was not really child friendly for that. They are very strict about kids cycling the correct way around the one way system, and they were told only to cycle in the 'top' field, even though the kids play area (which had cycle stands) was in another part of the camp. The kids area by the way was great for younger kids. Max age is 12yrs but most enjoyed by younger ones. (8yrs ish)

The camp has a bouncy castle for kids.But costs 1 for 10 minutes. So was empty most of the time. There is a fast food stand open at weekends. Quite handy if you don't want to cook. 2.00 for a bacon butty.

Site is quite noisy. It is right on a train line (not too many trains though) and you can hear the road noise most of the night. Being near the coast you get the seagulls from early morning. Oh and the church bells ring every hour, 24hrs a day. (if the wind is in the right direction you don't hear these)

We would return to this site, but it wouldn't be our first choice.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Huzzlebugs 5 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights here in our tent and we were very disappointed.

We were charged extra for a utility tent which we use to put our cooking equipment in which bumped up the price quite a bit, surely if you book a pitch you should be able to put whatever you want on it!

The toilets and showers were nice and clean although on one day the male toilets were completely shut at about 10am for cleaning!

The site is very close to a train track and although the trains didn't bother us too much they decided to do some rail maintenance at 4am on a Sunday morning, making a load of noise! Although this wasn't the camp sites fault it's something to bare in mind!

Sandwich is like a little village, lots of one-way and no-through roads so don't trust your sat nav too much unless its really up-to-date.

The pitches were ok but seem to be on top of each other, and everything has to be 3 metres away for everything else!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leisa71 1 review from this member

We love it here, this campsite is near to my step children, and only being one and a half hours away, it is great for our weekends. Having only bought our caravan less than a month ago, we have been here twice already!

I am mostly impressed with the cleanliness of the shower and toilet block, I saw them being cleaned at least twice in one day. The Owners are very friendly and accommodating.

The children love it here too, being able to ride there bikes is great fun for them and peaceful for us at the end of the day with them being so exhausted! I will continue to stay here again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahk 20 reviews from this member

We have just returned having stayed on this site for a week. The weather has been great which has really helped. The site is lovely, spacious and very well cared for. It was handy having all services to the caravan too. They are certainly spending a lot on the site with improvements and although there is quite a bit of work going on it doesn't really cause any inconvenience.

There are quite a number of static vans on the site as you enter and all seem to be hemmed in but again very tidy. You drive through the statics and onto a very large camping field. There are a number of seasonal pitches and luckily bar a couple most didn't have pots of flowers outside (a real grumble of mine) most were occupied at weekends too and none looked neglected at all.

I felt that the pitch price should have probably been a little lower during week days as the facilities were reduced to the family area only. I felt it a bit awkward at the busy times, also perhaps music in this area would have been nice! The facilities were immaculately clean at all times including when the site was busy.

There are lots of cycle routes so well worth taking your bikes. The ride to Deal is only 5 miles and on a really quiet (flat) road. We used our bikes most of the week and they were handy for reaching the beach 2 1/2 miles away.

You can take your car down the the beach but as it is on a private estate you will have to pay a toll (I think about 6) but take everything you need for the day and you will be fine. There are loo's down there (clean) and the beach doesn't get too packed either.

Dover Castle and the cliffs well worth a visit and not very far away. Allow plenty of time to do both visits we took it over 2 days rather than cram it all in.

Definitely an area worth visiting and this campsite within walking distance made it all the better.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5926 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0957
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window