Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M6lbe 3 reviews from this member

We went to Cofton for our 1st camping trip over the Easter weekend and were really impressed.

The site is gorgeous and very well kept. It was quite busy but still didn't have to queue for showers or washing up.

Lovely play areas for kids, especially the woodland bit, my kids spent most of their time there!

The pool was closed unfortunately but it looked really nice. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The pub however is quite expensive if you want to eat there, and the family area was quite small which meant we had trouble finding somewhere to sit.

We walked into Dawlish Warren and it was quite a tatty place but the kids liked it. The walk was lovely. It was a bit of trek on the way back as its all uphill!

Overall, a really nice site and even though not cheap we will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Archaeojim 3 reviews from this member

Used this year for the first time as a temporary holiday site by the Camping and Caravanning Club and, because of the favourable comments by the members, has been booked again for 2012.

Very large individual pitches on a terraced landscaped site with splendid views of the surrounding countryside. Immaculate toilets, well-stocked shop and bar and restaurant with very reasonable prices.

This is important because the local pub is horrendously expensive for both food and drink! Star Cross is about a couple of miles away, with several good pubs and a decent minmarket.

Dawlish (with its black swans) still has the feel of a traditional seaside resort - the 'grot' shops are confined to the area near the beach.

A large Sainsbury's is in the process of construction near to Dawlish

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 36 reviews from this member

As all others have stated a really good site.

The welcome is excellent, could not be better and have rarely had so good. All the staff are to be commended as it is one's first impression.

We went out of season and even then we felt it was busy, but well managed.

The shop was only just open but still well stocked and prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was shut, just as well had forgotten my stuff! Pub was open.

The whole place was neat and tidy, grass cut and no rubbish anywhere. There are loads of walks from the site and also a woodland trail that eventually leads to Dawish Warren, a bit of a tatty place but good for the kids.

There are also plenty of public footpaths and if you go out of the back of the site, towards the church and then on a bit, there are two further 'village' pubs that are for tasting.

There is only one minor point that perhaps the site, needs to address. The road that bisects the site has no obvious crossing. If one is situated in the fields by the lakes (lovely venue) and one has children that would want to visit the shop, then there is no obvious crossing point. We did see cars come down this road at a bit of speed. Perhaps a zebra crossing would be an idea.

This is not a criticism, merely an observation.

Nonetheless we will go again.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helsbells2 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a week at Cofton. What a lovely site.

We arrived on Saturday (2 adults and a toddler) and were told we could camp in any space that was free (with the exception of a couple of areas that were closed). We settled on the ‘tent only’ field – the orchard.

The facilities on the site were great (we didn’t use the pub so can’t comment on that). The toilet facilities were very good, always seemed clean, never out of toilet paper and they even played the local radio! Cofton also have family bathrooms (£10 deposit for a key refundable) which were great as we have a little one that doesn’t like showers!

The family bathroom near the orchard has a bath which was a godsend and they also provided a baby bath. The water in general was a good temperature and the washing up facilities were also very good.

The site also has a laundrette, games room, shop(well stocked) and fish and chip shop. The games room was near our field but closed at 10pm so noise wasn’t an issue at all. The fish and chips were very good and the shop also shut around 9pm so again no noise from that. The site also has a couple of playgrounds that were popular with our little one. Again these were clean and well maintained.

The swimming pool looked really nice but due to outside temperature we decided against using it!

The fishing lakes were lovely to walk around and seemed very popular.

Would definitely go back to the site and have already recommended it to a colleague at work (only got back in today!).

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Afcbian 2 reviews from this member

Family of 4 with kids aged 7 & 10. Weather was sunny with showers & we stayed 5nts. Booked about 1 week before.

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Cofton. The kids felt very safe & loved it!

Pitch - lovely staff member in golf buggy to great you. He asked us whereabouts we wanted to be, we had no idea, apart from asking for a not too noisy area. He asked ages of children & suggested Ten acre field, which is terraced & has play park closeby.

The 1st pitch shown to us was rather cramped as we had a large tent. 2nd pitch on top terrace was just perfect(we were also offered an overflow field if we wanted really quiet but no electric there). We were right by entrance to woodland adventure pk, (but to be fair our kids loved it & the noise died down in the evening).

Some kids (including our own in the end) had cap guns to use in the woodland adv park,(bought from the camp shop), which were noisy! You've been warned.But good fun!

The wash facs in Ten Acre field do need an upgrade but ok for toilet & washing up dishes & only 2 mins away from tent. From our pitch we could see the kids going to the toilet & see them at the play park.The play park has an open space next to it & this is where football seems to be played.

All of the kids around us were all well behaved. The best showers & wash facs this side of the campsite, were at the entrance of the Barn field, (looked newish), & still only a 5 min walk away for us. I always take shower flip flops camping. The odd time the floors could use a mop at peak times.Never had to wait for a shower though & constant hot water. Electric sockets to use in shower blocks for your straighteners etc, along with free hairdryer to use.

Clubhouse-noise stopped at about 11pm which was good. Very small though.

Swimming pool- lovely, one circular part is deep & other is shallow. Baby pool was mobbed by older kids, who did get told of by lifeguard after a mum complained.

Shop is excellent & well priced.Don't hang around in the morning if you want fresh croissants or pain au chocolates for breakfast!(yum,yum). Ice packs to rent.

Staff were lovely.

We had a walk around entire campsite & we were very pleased with our pitch, we had great views of the campsite (including the pool) & at night the noise stopped at around 11ish. The pub, chip shop & launderette all looked good & well priced.

We did hear a little rd noise early in the morning. Also we were next to the woods, & had the birds(crows?) singing at 5am! Oh & not forgetting the donkey in the field joining in on occasion. Hey ho, but that's part of camping!

So I think if you want a slightly quieter picth you prob need the barn or coombeland field.

Over the rd next to the lakes seemed to be more caravans & tourers with the odd tent & this is where the chip shop,launderette & games rooms are.

Oh, one word of warning take some rock pegs or heavy duty pegs, as ground was rock solid where we pitched, prob due to no rain for weeks.

We really enjoyed Teignmouth & the kids loved the penny arcades there,with lots of old fashioned penny games! Also great for rock pooling.

We did go in peak season & it was larger than we imagined but never felt hectic (& we do like a smaller, quieter family campsite). At night time it looked really pretty (on our side of the campsite), like a mini festival with all the twinkling lights on! Will go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jellygo 3 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a break here. We booked the day before as we were going somewhere else. We thought the site was great. We arrived in the morning to be shown various pitches to choose from.

Apart from the weather we couldn't fault it and although previous reviews stated that people were too close, we never experienced this and as we went around the site never saw any of it. The site is on various levels and different fields but all well kept and clean.

The Cofton Swan is a great pub on site with reasonable prices along with a chip shop near by. The toilets/showers were always kept clean.

We had a walk into Dawlish Warren which is a lovely place and then onto Dawlish again a lovely place. In between them we experienced the steam train coming past which the track was only yards away.

On our last day we went to a pub called the Anchor Inn in Starcross but not on the main road. It was fantastic as was the food. A really old fashioned country pub with seafood being its speciality. Shema we found on last day. It's a mile from the site.

Would go back to the site. The staff were great.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fitz169g 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this is, a real gem and we will definitely return.

We made a telephone booking a couple of days before we arrived and accepted a pitch on the overspill tent field without ehu. When we arrived, I asked if they had any cancellations with ehu, which they did. We paid the extra and were shown to the area on where we were able to choose from 2-3 pitches. Pitched were generous but close together, if that makes sense?! It was like a tent city. You really could hear everything that was going on in the tents around you. Our pitch was close to the nicest toilets on the site, and I have no complaints about those at all.

I was a bit worried about being on such a large site and the noise factor at night, but needed have worried as there is a 10.30 curfew when older children are dispersed back to their parents and security patrol the site to make sure that no-one is disturbing anyone else. You can sit out and have a quiet drink, just no music blaring. Very family orientated.

The shop was very very reasonably priced.

The club evening entertainment suited the ages of our children (13,13, 12, 8) we only went over ourselves to collect them, after they enjoyed the karaoke.

The chip shop was delicious and fairly priced.

Great laundry facilities.

The whole site had a very European feel to it.

As a bonus we were pitched close to some lovely people on site and who we hope to keep in touch with.

We won't hesitate to return or recommend this site to others.

Thank you Cofton for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whisk4eva1974 3 reviews from this member

Cofton is fantastic!

We stayed from the 7th - 21st of August 2010 & were camped on the Terraces. We were very near to the cleanest showers we have ever been to on a campsite. They were cleaned every morning by a team of very hard working & friendly cleaners.

All the showers had mats on the floor & there were shelves for your clothes, shampoo etc. The washing up facilities are brilliant. The Launderette is great too & you don't need to take washing powder as it is in the washer already.

The views from our camp were stunning.

It is very hilly, & wouldn't be a good place for people who find walking difficult they would be better off on the bottom field.

The pool is fantastic & our kids grew webbed feet as they were in it from 10am-6pm. It was extremely clean & had lifeguards on watch all the time the pool was open.

The pub was nice & the food was lovely & a reasonable price, we ate there most times & had a treat at the chippy near the orchard, the food was gorgeous, but pricey.

The camp shop was excellent & had everything you needed at excellent prices, some things cheaper than big supermarkets. Fresh hot food every day which was simply gorgeous, Hot fresh Croissants, Pies, Sausage Rolls, most cheaper than Greggs !

We went to Dawlish Warren which was about 10 mins away by car & was lovely, shops, beach, amusements, Fun fair, Fish & Chips.

Dawlish Town Centre was about 15 mins away & was nice too.

Torquay Harbour was fab & the fish & chips shops are just dreamy. Torquay Town Ctr is an absolute dump I would definitely give that a miss BIG TIME.

We visited Monkey World & the Tank Museum which is near each other.

Brixham & Teignmouth are lovely places to visit.

Port Isaac is an absolute must! It will take you about 2-2 1/2 hrs to get there, but it is well worth the journey.

We loved Cofton tons & very much want to revisit it.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nbutlin 3 reviews from this member

We stayed there in July with a toddler and teenager and a baby on the terraced pitches, The site was very clean and very attractive with lots of flowers, the facilities were excellent with the pool area kept very clean, just wish the pool was open longer the first week were there, a lot of campsites forget that the Scottish school holidays are earlier than the English, as if you were out for the day, it was a rush as it closed at 6. The toilets were very clean and we used the family bathroom as well, (a deposit of £10 refundable) this had a bath changing table, which was great for the baby and toddler.

There were lots of lovely walks around the camp and the bar food was very good and reasonably priced. As was the shop well stocked and not over charged.

The campsite is a short drive from Dawlish though there is a bus stop at the entrace to the camp we did not use it so not sure of times.

Overall I would recommend this site, and we are going to book again for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benstuart 3 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here last summer and can honestly say that Cofton Park is quite simply wonderful.

After a long journey we were given a wonderful welcome including a kids pack which was perfect for our 2 young girls whilst we put our tent up.

We were offered a number of different locations but chose to be near the more practical facilities due to the children, though having walked around the site, it was clear that there were plenty of other facilities, so it would not have mattered. I like the fact that tents could be pitched near caravans rather than having totally separate areas. Glad I came out of the dark ages and bought an electrical unit and will find it hard to go back to non hook-up pitches.

The toilets were spotless every time we went into them and the showers were excellent. Although we came well prepared with our own food and camping gear, the on-site shop was excellently stocked. We loved the pub and the all too conveniently close & friendly chip shop and probably used them a little more than we originally planned. Tapas night was fantastic at the pub and the pint of local brew was enticing and I still miss the nightly snack of cheesy chips now!

The pool was great for us all, albeit busy a lot of the time.

We also loved the donkeys and ponies and the nature trail looked good fun for children a bit older than ours (4 and 2). The walk down to Dawlish Warren from the campsite was also very pleasant and a nice bit of exercise.

Have always had a soft spot for Devon and it didn't let us down.

Had a great day at Dawlish Warren on the beach but we spent most of the time out and about. Whilst there we did Living Coasts, Paignton Zoo, Babbacombe model village and had a fantastic day in Plymouth via the train which is worth booking in advance for cheaper fares.

Not the cheapest site to camp on, but all things considered, we certainly got excellent value for money.

If we were to be looking for a negative comment, the worse thing we could say is that it would have been nicer if there was a freezer for people to leave their own ice-packs in rather than have to buy. Play equipment was o. K, though perhaps aimed at children older than ours.

Don't want to end on a negative though, as was would dearly love to go back.

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4048 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1167