Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve2712 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. First was many years ago. Facilities on site have improved and terraced pitches on the camping field.

Quiet site it def wasn't this stay. Lots of noise from other pitches well after midnight. Sound of chainsaws etc to wake to at 8am etc.

There is a strict one way traffic system with a speed limit in force I was told when we arrived only to find no-one adhering to it especially the staff cutting trees down.

Bar was only open when they thought it worthwhile and its a long walk to the nearest pub so that was a bit of a disappointment. When it was open they had little beer due to a delivery problem.

Mixed visit. Don't think we will be back. Good site for others but not for us.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lovestruggle 3 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here in mid May, as our first ever site with our 2 children (1 and 7). The weather was atrocious, with 2 tents on the site raised to the ground during the second evening. It was forecast so we went prepared and our tent (Outwell Wyoming) hardly wobbled. The site itself was great. Flat pitches, easy to peg, and the views are fantastic. Follow directions from their webpage and you'll find easily. The on site bar is perfect if you have children, as you can enjoy a refreshing ale while the kids hang out in the soft play. Very friendly and clean site, shop is limited to basic provisions.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andynliz 16 reviews from this member

First visit to this site. Easy to access if you follow directions from sites homepage. Nice site and good layout, albeit we were a little disappointed with our pitch, which whilst it was close to amenities it was rather a small pitch> If your thinking of booking with a caravan I would definitely ask for a pitch that overlooks the play area, its not too close but they seem quite spacious and have good views.

Everything else about site is just fab, the bar is nice and not overpriced like a lot of the local pubs.

Showers and toilets are first class and some of best we have used.

We were blessed with great weather so didn't really do a lot as kis to young to go on long hikes. We did visit nearby Aria waterfalls which is well worth the visit and nearby Pooley Bridge and Patterdale are also pleasant villages.

All in all a nice site that we will definitely revisit.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CARTERS449 2 reviews from this member

Only spent one night here but wish it had been longer. The Quiet Site is exactly that. No noisy groups and not over run with children.

The toilet and shower block where the best I have ever seen with plenty of hot water. Pitches a little too far away from toilets.

The pub was amusing with a warm log fire and one or two stuffed animals around. Pool table was interesting but fun.

Lots to do in surrounding area and plenty of pubs if you don't fancy cooking. Enjoyed The Ramblers and Travellers pubs in Glenridding.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MrPete 2 reviews from this member

Having been sponsored by The Quiet Site for two week's stay for a charity expedition, it's only right that I leave a review of this site! The site's location is about 15mins walk from the northern shore of Ullswater, and about 20mins drive from Penrith, in the hills surrounding Little Mell Fell.

We had a caravan, motorhome and a tent, and all three were brilliantly catered for. Only a short distance to the water fill-up points, drain points and a motorhome waste point near the entrance to the site, so this was easy to sort out.

We also had hookup points (though limited to 6Amp each - approx. 1320Watts) within easy reach. The two pitches we had were hardstanding gravel/slate, though pea-shingle/grass pitches for tents alone were also available.

The shop was refitted with more items during our stay, and the bar was warm and inviting in the evenings. All the staff we met were fantastic, really helpful and friendly even when things went a little awry - we had some very heavy rain when we got there, but they helped with additional drainage on our pitches which worked for the rest of our 2 week stay!

The only other issue we had was wind: we were positioned in the middle of the site and the wind seemed to come down the hill from a valley near the top, but lots of new trees have been planted recently so once they establish themselves that should help as a windbreak. Just keep an eye out for this if you're pitching up or in a large tent/trailer tent - we saw one large tent destroyed, and a trailer tent be taken down quickly on one evening - both families were given pods fr the rest of their stay though, thanks to fast acting staff.

Other facilities on site were kept in really clean conditions, with the kitchen & washing facilities as well as the toilets, showers & bathrooms kept clean and simple yet fully functional. A hot bath or shower after a day in the mountains was greatly appreciated, no matter what time we got back!

As well as the small shop on site, and a few local shops nearby, the nearest supermarkets are either in Keswick or Penrith, with Penrith being the nearer of the two. As for pubs, practically every village has one, though we didn't get to many due to the amount of walking we were doing, so enjoyed the bar on site instead!

Mountain-wise, the Scafell Massif was about 2.5hrs drive away via Ambleside or an hour or so via Cockermouth, the Helvellyn range from Thirlmere about an hour or 30mins from the Ullswater side, and Blencathra to Skiddaw was about 30mins drive away. We found this to be a great site position-wise to get to all of these ranges (we were climbing the 16 highest mountains!), as long as you don't get easily car sick - the long way round to Ambleside via Keswick, and Wast Water via Cockermouth would be better if that's the case!

Overall, we were all greatly impressed by the site and would definitely consider returning there again in the future!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Themoose 4 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip ever and we chose the quiet site based on the good reviews on this site.

As it was our first time camping we were not sure what to expect but we were happy with the site in general.

The weather was awful, didn't stop raining but we had a good time and the experience has meant we will go camping again.

PRO's

Staff very friendly and helpful even made us both a brew and a couple of biccies!

Pitch more than adequate

The bar is excellent 3 a pint with some very interesting decor including a full bear skin!

Shower and toilet area modern and clean

Beautiful site and surrounding area

Childrens indoor play area was good for under 5's

Childrens outdoor play area ok

Felt safe and secure

CON's

I felt it was overpriced at 24 per night.

Showers - had to keep pressing a button every 30 seconds for the water to flow out - very annoying

Nearest place to eat out was 20 mins walk away

Should have some way of getting hot water to make a brew - maybe have a kettle in the 'kitchen area'

All in all a good site with great staff and I would recommend this site to couples and families.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline2779 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week at the end of April in a tent with my partner. Beautiful area, and we had fab weather.

Not over impressed with the pitch we were given, pitch 20, practically hardstanding pea gravel with a little grass mixed in and only one metre away from the next pitches caravan.

We felt we had no privacy as we were so close to the people next door and bent practically every peg we owned putting the tent up.

On a positive note, the toilets and showers were clean and tidy and there are baths available. Staff friendly and pub on site very quaint, if a little overpriced.

We enjoyed our week in the lakes but would not return to this site again, think we would have enjoyed it more had we not been so squashed close together with other campers.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melcj 5 reviews from this member

I booked this site for three nights at the beginning of May but left after two

I picked the site because I was expecting peace and quiet, unfortunately our neighbours kept us awake until well after midnight.

The site itself is very clean, family bathrooms are great however long queues for the ladies showers each morning and evening, there just aren't enough for the demand - this when the site wasn't full.

The children's play area is great but you can't see it from the pitches (all barring a few caravan pitches), just something for families to keep in mind.

All in all this site wasn't for us so we won't consider going back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cuban-night 6 reviews from this member

We found this site by accident and loved it so much we returned again in July 2011.

Good clean facilities and friendly atmosphere. The refurbished bathrooms were lovely and warm and the family bathrooms are also great for campers with children. We stayed on the new tiered pitches and had a fantastic view of ullswater. The bar is great and the small shop well stocked with essentials. Can't wait to go back this year.

Only negative thing I would say is the site is on a slope and if you have limited mobility or you are unfit like me and at the back of the site walking back from the bathroom can be a trek but I need the exercise so it was not a problem for me.

My son loved the playground and wifi is also available in the bar however we could pick it up from our pitch which was a bonus.

The site Is well managed and all campers respect the rules which makes any stay here pleasant.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rhysmidge 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for a couple of days as we had just bought a motorhome. The pub on the site was excellent, with an open fire and a small children's play area to entertain the kids. Unfortunately it was only open for a couple of hours due to being low season. We would definitely recommend this site for the views and the peace, but be ready for a walk of about 3 miles to the nearest village for anything else

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2639