Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: The Sweeney Family 1 review from this member

We are a family of four (2 adults, a 3 year old and a 5 month old) that stayed on the site. We stayed in our tent on the first night and spent the following seven nights in a pod. We chose a pod as we felt it would be warmer for our baby, as he is so young. It was fantastic. We all had a great time. The site facilities were immaculate and the staff were friendly and helpful. We all slept really well in the pod and felt safe and dry. Our three year old loved the trampoline and swings on the playgrounds. There was plenty of room in the pod for ourselves, luggage, food and toys. The site shop had everything we needed at a reasonable price. We went out on several walks recommended by the site and the little town of Boot was easily accessible for pubs and a shop. Pods are great! Try it, you might like it!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymouse 4 reviews from this member

Despite poor weather we had a great trip. The wardens were friendly and helpful, even though our visit coincided with the site being virtually full and something going wrong with the water pressure so that the showers kept ceasing to function - they must have been tearing their hair out with frustration, as the water board kept saying they'd fixed it, then it would go again.

Lots to do in the valley and around, for both enthusiastic hill walkers and not-so-enthusiastic. And not crowded with coachloads of tourists like Windermere area.

We had brought everything we thought we'd need except milk and bread, both of which were easily bought at the shop.

The children enjoyed the play area most of the time, although there was some trouble with unsupervised big children bullying younger ones.

Bathrooms immaculate, but some queueing at busy times. Did not use laundry. Dishwash area always clean, and longest queue only a minute or two.

The detailed local weather forecast was pinned up each morning, freshly printed off the internet - really useful to help plan the day.

We did not eat out or go to any pubs during our stay, so can't comment.

Highlights - driving over Hardknott and Wrynose Passes - better than any roller coaster! Blea Tarn walk. Finding the waterfall.

Lowlight - the abysmal weather. Still, the Lakes are the second wettest bit of Britain after Snowdonia, after all!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a number of times previously (off season) and always enjoyed the experience. There was no crowding and the staff pleasant. The toilet/showers are spotlessly clean. However, when we visited in August I was quite disappointed to see that the tents were rather closely pitched together with doors pretty much opening on adjoining tents. The expression racking and stacking comes to mind! It wasn't what we expected from a club site. I would visit again but only off season, certainly not in the summer holidays. I would recommend the Brook House Pub, a two minute walk from the campsite, the beers on offer I am told were exceptional! much more so than the Boot Inn (which is a Robinsons pub). An excellent site with spotless facilities and if you don't mind crowding at busy times well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Eliz22 5 reviews from this member

A beautiful campsite. All the facilities were spotless which was amazing considering the amount of mud in the tent fields due to the rain. We stayed in a camping pod so didn't suffer the bogginess of the tent fields. The pods are expensive (40 a night) but they do keep out the inevitable rain. The pods sleep 4 people but you will have to stack up your airbeds during the day if you wish to sit in there.

Our children loved the play areas, especially the trampoline. The shop was very useful and the children's toys were good value. If you have a serious walker in your family but the rest of you are not so keen then this is an excellent site to use as it offers many good mountain walks as well as more child friendly options. My husband chose to scale the heights of Scafell Pike whilst the children and myself were able to walk (5 Mins) to the Dalegarth station & take a scenic trip to the coast at Ravenglass. No, there's not any sand there but the children had fun turning the pebbles to look for sand hoppers.

I would also recommend the Eskdale water mill. We were going to try the Boot Inn but found they don't serve dinner until 6pm so we ate at the Brook House Inn and were extremely pleased we did. They had a very good choice of food i.E. On the children's menu they offered a healthy cheese/fruit board as well as the more usual Heinz pasta shapes for the less adventurous. For adults they offer a wide range of high quality, delicious food served in generous portions. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Simul68 1 review from this member

Just got back from our second visit to this site and am still wishing I was there. Fell in love with it last October when myself my wife and 12year old son stayed in the camping pods. The site is the best I have been on with tremendous facilities, great showers and toilet facilities plenty of washing up sinks. A very clean site, excellent shop and the people who take care of it are so helpful.

This time we went with another couple with 2 boys and had a blast. The weather wasn't the best the first night but the pods gave some shelter as the trees provide a bit of a canopy, the site is ideally placed for most of the big climbs and Wastwater is 25 minutes away simply beautiful. We were given a heater both times but never used it the pods are so warm and cosy, spotlessly clean with a perfect decked area at the front for preparing a breakfast or barbecue. Would recommend to anyone, we will be back again net year for definite, love the place

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcf13 1 review from this member

Ok so this was our first camping trip of 2010 and was really looking forward to getting to the lakes again for the first time in a couple of years. We chose the site based on reviews read and also joined the Camping and Caravan club as we normally camp at least twice a year.

The site itself is in a beautiful location and the scenery around the site itself was wonderful.

You will hear the waterfall just over the fields gushing when quiet, you must visit this with a camera.

Although we arrived in pouring rain we were pitched close to the amenities as we were there for 8 nights and this certainly made life easier with the kids. The facilities themselves are superb, clean and tidy almost all the time and the showers are hot and plenty of room to dry off and get changed.

I have to say that as an overall site this is hard to beat, friendly staff who do talk to you and are there to help when needed.

A couple of points to remember before hitting the site,bring along some provisions or shop when out and about as the main supermarkets for food are at least 45 mins drive, I have to say whilst the site shop is lovely and offers some fantastic locally sourced meats, it is quite expensive if you have 3 children.

Make use of the drying room which is an excellent addition when you have wet cloths, we even dried out our tent bags that got wet before leaving ( In the wet again!) well it is the lake district.

Overall this was a great camping trip and we are looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CCCampers 1 review from this member

Stayed here in July for 3 nights. It's not the easiest campsite to get to in the Lake District! Even avoiding Hardknott Pass. To be honest, it is quite remote so you need to take everything you need with you. The shop is well stocked with many staple items but as veggies we would have struggled had we not taken a cooler box. The warden was helpful and the site was busy when we arrived.

It was also pouring down so this will be my last camping review ever, because I've had enough! We used the laundry facilities as our towels and clothes were soaked and we couldn't dry them. I thought it was expensive (3.00 for a wash) and the heavy duty tumble drier wasn't very good. I put in 4.00 for over an hour and the laundry (towels and socks etc) were still damp.

The washing up facilities, showers and toilets were clean but several times they ran out of loo roll and paper towels. The surrounding area is very picturesque with some lovely walks. We went to two pubs, The Boot Arms, great pub with excellent food and The Woolpack - not so good. We had nut roast and it was horrific!

All in a nice site but too remote for us.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benjie62 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this camp. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The facilities are kept very clean.

We camped in a tent with electric hook up, which was very welcome as it rained most days and was useful for drying out!

There are a couple of pubs within walking distance but we did not use these.

The scenery is lovely and there are some good walks from the campsite so you do not need to take the car out if you prefer not.

The whole area is beautiful and you can walk for hours without meeting many other walkers!

However, there are some negative points as follows. It was peak season and so the site was very full. The facilities were totally inadequate for the number of people there. We constantly had to queue for toilets and showers. 4 toilets and 3 showers is not enough for, say, 100 women and children! (there was a parent and child room as well). The men's facilities had a similar problem.

While we were there the water pressure was very low most days. The showers stopped working altogether on a number of occasions. This was apparently due to external problems with water pressure and perhaps was a one off.

There was a laundry room with washing machine and drier. However, the price quoted for washing was 3 per wash but we and others found that 4 was needed to complete the cycle. The drier quoted 1 for 30 minutes - this was 20 minutes. The spin drier was no longer there and this would have been particularly useful as the washing machine does not spin as much and so towels and jeans in particular take longer to dry.

There were no recycling facilities on the site at all. This really needs to be addressed by their local council. People camping produce far more than normal in recyclable materials.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexmummy 11 reviews from this member

Beautifully situated campsite in a quieter part of the lakes.

The facilities are spotless - plenty of showers, including a handy family room, all free; a shop, a laundry room and a drying room (bring a padlock). There is also a trampoline and a play area for children. We had electric hook-up which was great for warming up after getting soaked!

There are three pubs within a few minutes walk of the site. We only ate at the Boot Inn, which has huge portions, and was very good value. Plenty of walks start straight from the campsite so you can leave your car and not worry about parking.

We'd definitely recommend it because it still feels like 'proper' camping as caravans are not allowed, but has the luxury of clean and warm facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacs9303 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned having enjoyed a three night stay here. The owners are very helpful and hardworking. On arrival we were told the site would be full over the weekend. We were given the option of camping on a field off the main site but we wouldn't be able to park our car next to the tent. Having looked at the field and saw we could have great views of the hills we took it up and it was the right decision. Due to the number of tents in the main fields there was very little room between them.

The facilities are excellent. Toilet block was very clean and remained so throughout our stay. The shop was well stocked and open virtually all day and into the evening.

We went on the 9 mile Eskdale to Ravenglass cycle trail which was very enjoyable, but the hill to Muncaster was ridiculous, took us 25 minutes to push our bikes up it, and there was no decent view from the top.

We then took the steam train back to Eskdale as it was raining. I think this was something of a rip off. It cost 20.20 for two adult single tickets and their bikes (3.50 each bike).

The local pubs are ok, but seem devoid of any atmosphere. Maybe it is due to the fact they don't play any music. We had a good Sunday roast in the Boot pub, it wasn't bad value at 8.95.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return in the future.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996