Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
              9/10 from 201 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spa lady 5 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at this site and it won't be our last. The site is very clean and well maintained, the staff very helpful and friendly.

Excellent location, just a short flat very pleasant walk into Barmouth along the prom. Never been to such a dog-friendly place.

My husband went into the camp shop/take-away on two occasions but said that the woman serving was so disagreeable we didn't use it again.

When we spoke to other campers we found we weren't the only ones to find her difficult.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjbos 1 review from this member

I Am 44 years old and this trip was only my second camping trip ever! Visited this site with my 6 year old daughter and alas my wife positively refused to join us!

We had a wonderful 3 days, the sun shone and it was a super holiday and so much enjoyed by my daughter that she (nearly) forgot mum wasn't here! The site is superb with a beach-side location and access to this beautiful part of Wales (though we never moved the car a inch!).

We camped in a spacious 4 berth tent (no electric) and I have to say it was superb. The site management are professional and ultra efficient and will do anything to help.

There is convenient access over the railway line and then you are straight on a beautiful quiet beach - what could be better - and Barmouth is less than 10 minutes cycle down the prom (20 minute walk). There is a shop on site and shower/laundry facilities etc, to be honest we could ask for nothing more!

We even managed a present for the grumpy wife/mum who sadly opted out. A bucked of dirty pans and crockery!

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sweetrunninggir 17 reviews from this member

Another trip to Hendre Mynach, another great weekend at an immaculately kept, well maintained campsite. We arrived in torrential rain but the ground must be well drained as there was no mud, despite the wettest summer on record in the UK this year!

The staff cannot do enough for you, the pitches are roomy and well maintained. My car battery kept draining and the helpful staff didn't mind how many times I asked for a jump-start, they were right there with the battery booster. The RAC eventually diagnosed a faulty battery, but I was so grateful to the staff for their help. If I had needed it they would have pitched the caravan for me.

There is a sharp turn and a steep hill to access the site, but whilst it looks awkward, people negotiate it all day without issues, and in the unlikely event you had a problem, the staff would sort it for you.

Great location, just 20 mins walk down a flat straight promenade road into the town centre, but just across the road from the beach. The trains only add to the charm and didn't disturb us at all.

All facilities are always clean and well maintained, and with the sea across the road, the mountains of snowdownia behind you and the mawdach estuary to explore by rail, bike, car or foot, you really could not ask for more.

This is our second trip to Hendre Mynach and wont be our last. Congratulations to the owners, a well managed, well maintained site in a great location.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

This was our 4th or 5th visit to Hendre Mynach since we started camping.

Friendly check in, shown to our pitch by the owner/warden. Nice large hardstanding at the 'quiet' end of the site, near to toilet block with adequate, clean facilities. Small washing up area and bins/recycling close by.

Once pitched up there was an overhanging branch scraping the top of our motorhome. Within half an hour we'd told the owner/warden and the problem was sorted - great service.

Train line runs alongside the site but never bothered us at any point.

Small, well stocked shop on site (including daily papers), although the lady serving never seemed to have a smile! The shop also houses a small cafe, which seemed to be open most of the day. However, the takeaway to the side of shop never seemed to be very open - not that it bothered us.

The walk along the promenade into Barmouth town takes 25-30 minutes, but you can bike in within 10 minutes. The town itself feels slightly run down these days (but what coastal town doesn't?!) but we love Barmouth simply for the views of the bridge, mountains and the Mawddach estuary. There's no better place to sit outside than one of the many cafes overlooking the bridge and harbour. We had a great meal in the Anchor Restaurant - recommended!

Every time we visit Wales we have to go to Barmouth so we have no doubts we'll be back at Hendre Mynach, yet again!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gnrkev 2 reviews from this member

We went and knew the weather was going to be dodgy but had a great break. Two days of bad rain, but Two days to dry out and start enjoying things.

The pitch was great, flat, and not to far from the toilets and showers which were always spotless.

There is a land train that runs along the prom every half hour, but if you like walking its flat and takes about 15 mins to walk to the PUB, and another 15 mins in to town.

We took the 2 sprogs with us and they didn't want to come home, skate park really close, and a nice kids play park.

We didn't use the shop as we done our shopping in town.

The staff was so helpful and polite and don't intrude on your holiday at all.

I'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leeandkasia 11 reviews from this member

This is our second visit in 2 years to this site.

The staff are very friendly and there is a good little shop on site for any thing you forget in Barmouth.

The site playarea is well maintained and open until 9pm for kids up to 12 years.

Toilet blocks and shower blocks are always clean and tidied, and always had loo roll!

Location is excellent. The beach is across the road and Barmouth is a nice stroll away along the beach or promenade.

I recommend Knickerbockers Ice cream parlour on the harbour. Ice cream to die for, mmmm.

The site and Barmouth itself is very dog friendly. Along the prom there are many dog bins with doggy bags too which I found a great idea. Shops and stores have water bowls outside and many shops allow you in with your dog. One of us waited outside mainly but were invited in by a few shop owners. A welcome change.

Good flat pitches with electric or non. We had electric (best to book). Water and bins are very close.

Nice clean site with a great location. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Law 7 reviews from this member

Super campsite, super location, super holiday!

We stayed at Hendre Mynach for a week in May in our campervan and had a great time. The campsite was exceptionally clean. Toilet and shower blocks always spotless. Lots of hot water and always loo roll. As soon as a pitch was vacated the mower men moved in ensuring it was in tip-top shape for the next campers. We were pitched in a fairly level field, with lots of space around until a tent pitched right next to us. Strange really as the site was quiet. We didn't fancy listening to 'Homes under the hammer' every morning, so we left them to it (why do TVs sound so loud from tents??!)

We were very pleased with the location of the site, right next to the promenade and it was only a 5 minute cycle ride into Barmouth. Lovely coffee at Davy Jones Locker and a good meal in the Min-y-mor hotel. We were also lucky enough to experience the local musicians who 'jam' once a month on a Sunday in the hotel bar.

There is a splendid cycle ride from Barmouth to Dolgellau along the Mawddach Trail. 24 miles in total from the campsite. The Cambrian line is right next to the campsite and trains do pass about once an hour, but it didn't spoil our holiday in the slightest and we made use of the line visiting Portmeirion (visit after 3. 30pm for half-price admission) and Machynlleth. Hendre Mynach is only an hour and a half away from Llanberis if you fancy climbing Snowdon - highly recommended!

The tourist information centre is in the train station and the staff are very helpful. They recommended we do the Barmouth Panorama Mountain walk and we weren't disappointed. Fantastic views over the Mawddach estuary.

Other reviewers have negatively commented on the price of the campsite. The prices are clear. If you don't want to pay so much, then don't! We took advantage of the reduced prices out of school holidays and as such can't comment on child friendliness, but we know the site is dog friendly!

Definitely on our 'must return' list!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judebcuk 1 review from this member

Having purchased our first ever touring caravan we decided that our first trip should be close to home. We travelled to Hendre Mynach in Barmouth -just an hour away. When booking we had mentioned that this was our maiden voyage and that we were no spring chickens. On arrival the staff had remembered our telephone call and they were amazing. Directed us to our pitch, helped us reverse the caravan in. Before we realised what they were doing they had the legs down and had levelled the caravan. They showed us the hook up, water etc and it was not long before we had the kettle on. The site was very clean, excellent facilities, toilets and showers were very clean with plenty of hot water. The shop was well stocked and thankfully we even managed to get a corkscrew to open our celebratory wine. The freedom of us both being able to have a drink and not worry about driving or taxis. Lovely walk along the promenade into Barmouth and plenty of coffee shops. Other caravaners were very friendly and always ready for a chat. We had a lovely weekend and felt like we were hundreds of miles away, not just round the corner from home. Cant wait for the Jubilee Holiday to do it all again, this time further from home.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maggie61 13 reviews from this member

Visited here in April 2012. Nice quiet site 5 minutes from the town by taxi. 5 each way, but well worth the money when you see the hill you would need to get up if not taking the beach route.

You can stroll along the prom but due to me having only 1 leg this wasn't an option.

Site was very clean and toilets and showers were spot on.

Loads of dog walking space just off site over the railway.

The staff were great and showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was.

Would recommend this site and will return.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Billy123 3 reviews from this member

Not a bad little site, clean and tidy close to the beach you can walk to town and leave your motorhome. There is a very steep hill on the way in to the site, so your car may struggle to get back up if it is underpowered. You can walk to town along the sea front from the camp but it is quite a long walk going that way but it is all on the flat. Barmouth has go down since my last visit 10 years ago with three hotels and a few shops now closed

Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938