Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Invercoe Highland Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Invercoe Highland Holidays
Invercoe
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01855 811210

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
              9/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VL007 4 reviews from this member

After reading all of the other reviews for this site, I feel we must have visited on an 'off' period. After spending a week touring around Scotland, this was the most disappointing site we stayed at. It was also the most expensive - 20 a night in low season, with no facilities open (reception / shop / staff). Don't get me wrong, I don't mind staying on sites with few or no facilities, but don't like being charged for them if they are not available! The site fee seems to be one fee throughout the year, so perhaps good value in high season

Water points were not working apart from at the entrance, but no notices or staff about to inform us of this.

I had to go over the the owners house three times before someone was in to take the site fee from me, and they were not overly friendly or chatty even then!

The shower block needs updating and either a good scrub or better, the tiles replacing. They don't warrant the 4* stars they advertise.

On a plus note, it looks like they are geared up for recycling which doesn't happen on many sites, and the setting is lovely.

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vcmac 7 reviews from this member

Come here every winter and leave our van on site for 2-3 months as a base for winter climbing. The site is in a stunning location with superb views over Loch Leven and the mountains of Ballachulish. Behind the site sits the Pap of Glencoe.

The water at the stands is switched off during winter months to avoid burst pipes but there is a plentiful supply of water at the toilet block area. Pitches remain 20 per night including EHU for 2 people during winter. Toilet block is heated and always spotless, never busy at this time of year.

The shop is not open at all during winter months but there is a small local supermarket in Glencoe Village, further afield there is a Morrisons supermarket in Fort William. The Glencoe Hotel and Clachaig Inn are both close by for meals and both dog friendly.

Pitches may seem 'tight' in high season when the site is full but in winter you tend to have a whole row to yourself with the exception of Christmas and New Year.

The Ice Factor at Kinlochleven is worth a visit for the day, try out rock or ice climbing under the supervision of a qualified instructor, all equipment available for hire.

This site and area always feels like a home from home for us, the owners are so friendly and helpful. Cannot imagine spending winter anywhere else than Glencoe, and that's a huge compliment from someone who was originally a Campbell!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

3rd stay on this site. The views are spectacular. We were on a hardstanding pitch at the waters edge with EHU and water. 20 per night caravan and 2 people, no charge for our dog. There is room for 10 units at the water side and the larger part of the park is on the upper tier, the pitches here are on grass. There are also 2 hobbit units for rent. Children's play park at the exit. Only 2 out of the 4 showers were working. They are push button adjustable showers, not a lot of pressure in them. No queues even thougn the site was nearly full. Site open all year. There is a jetty at end of water pitches for launching boats.Small supermarket 1/2 a mile away in Invercoe village. There is a hotel across the road which is doggie friendly. They start evening meals at 6 pm, snacks before that. There is a pub called the Clachaig about 2 mile down a single track road from the end of the village which serves meals. Its always very busy and very noisy !Morrisons 12 miles away in Fort William. Reception on site open 2 hours in morning and 1 hour at tea time. If its not open pick a pitch and pay later.A road runs along the side of the park but its not a problem, not too busy. Recycling bins at loo block. Barrier to enter the park, exit by another gate at far side of the site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Galdeb69 7 reviews from this member

The site is clean and had fabulous views, but our experience was that if you are a tent wanting EHU, then you will be put on the bit of grass behind a caravan so you can get to the hook ups, not ideal and if that caravan that you are pitched behind put his awning, up well your outdoor space is greatly reduced and all you are looking into is the back end of a awning.

The toilet block while clean up to eye level, when you are in the showers if you look up, all you see is tiles that need a good scrub.

There is a lovely tea room that also sells gifts within a 1/2 mile of the site, that is excellent if you don't want to cook.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

Wonderful site, had a pitch looking over the water. Been here twice before and loved it, clean loos and showers.Push button shower, adjustable but not much pressure.

Hard standing and grass pitches I noticed they've introduced cabins in the shape of a romany caravan. 20.00 per night for caravan and 2 adults hard standing with EHU and water. 15 mile fron Fort William.

Small shop in Invercoe village selling all the basics. Open 8 - 8. Recycle bins at loos. Kids play pork at exit.Covered barbeque area. Site full but very quiet at night.

Beautiful just to sit and chill out and watch the sunset. There is a jetty where you can launch a boat. We pre booked a water side pitch, had to leave a 30.00 deposit of which 27 is refunded.

Friendly staff, a man on a bike met us and showed us our pitch, if you haven,t booked you can choose a pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiep12 1 review from this member

Booked two Tent pitches for a week with electric hook up at Invercoe taking my daughter and boyfriend on their first real camping holiday together and it was excellent. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Arrived late afternoon and once checked in at the 'shop' we were met by the owner and shown to our pitches. Advised in which situ it would be good for the position of our tents and said to just get ourselves set up and pay tomorrow then moved on. This was helpful.

We had a tunnel tent (Icarus 500) with canopy and although the pitches are roomy, it was a tricky bit of positioning to run the two tents together. We got a bench and table in between the pitches eventually which was great and we were quickly enjoying the views of the Loch and having a walk around.

Absolutely stunning scenery and always changing too as the weather changes. The midge was en masse and thankfully we had some head nets with us. Not many nights were spent sitting out at sunset I might add.

Looking out of the tent had us seeing the beautiful, if not eery Pap of Glencoe when the clouds were high enough.

Facilities were good and hot water always available in the shower and dishwashing blocks. There were no real queues for the showers and maybe we were lucky in that we'd tried to avoid peak times, ie 7.30-10am and 7.30-9.30pm. There is one hairdryer in the Ladies and felt that this could've been better if another one installed.

The facilities were cleaned and toilet paper etc re stocked daily and if there's improvements to note it is that the gents toilets could've been cleaner. I think this is more down to the user and not the campsite. My partner and son frequently commented on the mess being left by others and lack of the likely few not tidying up after them in the loos. The cleaning above cubicle height was sparce and the cobwebs and dirty grouting confirmed this and this was both in the gents/ladies.

The dishwashing area was kept really nice and there were plugs provided for each sink and also dish drainers available. Lots of room and with windows in the 'block' it made washing dishes rather pleasurable as you viewed the 'Pap' on one side and Loch Leven on the other!

All staff on site were friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much bother and the shop when open (8-10 and 3-5)was a busy place. I saw campers taking their phone and charger in there to be charged up and at no cost - this is handy to note if we were hillwalking and not taking the full on camping kit plus 'the kitchen sink'. The small things like that really make a difference.

The owner regularly went around the site to check how everyone was and as he was visible this made for a peaceful stay. We never used the washer dryer facilities during out stay but had visited there to look at what coins it took (50p for 10 mins) and there is a series of tourist booklets in there for you to look through.

Loch Leven is tidal and so it's great for kids (and adult kids alike) looking over the rocks for crabs and the like. I wish we'd taken our Kayaks as the Loch was ideal for this - unless the wind was up it was like a mill pond. Using the slipway would be easy even for a boat, plenty of room and not too long.

We left Invercoe site all saying that we need to come back again. Lots to do around here, the Glencoe Hotel was very reasonably priced for a meal, excellent rib eye steak, fish and chips etc if you don't fancy cooking. It was a nice place to have on your doorstep even for popping in for a pint after a climb up the 'Devil's Staircase and walk to Kinlochleven.

Although the site has idyillic views and is in an excellent location, the lack of public transport in the area was frustrating. A visit to the Nevis Range just beyond Fort William is recommended for mountain biking or a trip up the Gondola.

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO 'POP' Quick Erect 2 Berth Tent Win a Dog Bag Pop Up Fabric Kennel

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show, Newark - 2nd to 4th September
Weekend Campers and day visitors will see a huge range of motorhomes, caravans, as well as accessories and consumables

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172