Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
              9/10 from 54 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6         Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osprey 17 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a weeks stay at Slapton Sands, and I wanted to concur with previous remarks posted here.  The site is very well run by a team of C & CC wardens and the current team were most helpful, loaning me an extended electric cable for the entirety of my stay.  It is actually very gently sloping in most places which affords most pitches on the far side of the field a fairly distant sea view, albeit through trees and a tall hedgerow.  That is until a motor-home parks next you and blocks it out.  This site is very popular with motor-homes which I found a bit confusing as they restrict the number of caravans.
There are only 3 showers in the men's facilities (don't know about the ladies) which I fear may not be enough when families with children turn up during the school holidays.  Expect a queue, or get in there early, especially as they close at 11am until 12.30 pm for cleaning.  
The shop/office is well stocked with the basics and there is a newspaper reservation service.  A fish and chip van calls on Tuesday evenings.  The food is cooked to order and was well worth the wait.  
A barrier blocks vehicle movement between 11pm and 7am which ensured a quiet night, although the whole ambiance of the site was one of peace and quiet and relaxation.
The village offers one pub (Queens Arms) which does do food, however my meal was awful as was my dining partners, they need to stop relying on the microwave.  The other pub, The Tower, I was told, was not a place to just have a drink being more of a restaurant, however the food was apparently excellent, and good value.  So drink in the queens and eat in the tower!  Both of these establishments  are within easy walking distance of the site. 
I measure the enjoyment of a stay by whether I would return and I wouldn't hesitate visiting Slapton Sands again, but I would avoid the school holidays and Bank Holidays. 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Woodyallen 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned  from a long weekend at this site.  The loos are excellent but  there were only three showers,  which maybe difficult at peak times.  The staff are very helpful and  the pitches a good size  although some  you may need to use chocks.  The surrounding beaches are shingle but clean and  were never crowded.  The only negative would be that they say they only allow 8 caravans but there was  an army of motor-homes, so if you are looking for a tent only campsite,  this site wouldn't suit you.  We recommend this site and will return next year.  There are two pubs within walking distance, one child friendly and a lovely pub only 5 mins drive towards Dartmouth.
The  children's play area is central to the campsite if you require a pitch with view of your children, but there are also pitches away from it if you prefer a quieter time. Your requirements would be worth stating at the time of your booking as all ours were adhered to.

Reviewer: Goldfish Boy 5 reviews from this member

May 2004
Visited this site in May 2004 and it was fantastic. Lovely and peaceful with views of the sea from our tent flap. The site is five minutes walk from the lovely clean beach and five minutes from the quaint village of Slapton where there are two very good pubs. One of these pubs (the tower) served us probably the nicest pub meal we have ever eaten!

We would strongly recommend at least one day in Dartmouth which is approximately seven miles down the road - it is a beautiful place.

Facilities on the site were extremely modern and very clean. The shop sold a good range of essentials such as bread and milk and the staff were always keen to help (I took the wrong gas regulator)!

Myself and my wife really couldn't fault this place and cannot wait to return.

Reviewer: Fishcalledwanda 5 reviews from this member

May 2005
This is a very nice well run clean site (as you expect with CCC) with sea views. During the half term week we were there with the family the site was very busy and was bursting at the seams. With so many children during this week the play area is to small indeed the site could do with some break out spaces for the older children.

Very strict on pitching of tents so make sure everyone is clear otherwise you will shifting your tent six inches as both tents either side experienced. Although there is a limit on caravans this appears not to include campervans which were plentful during our stay. Conclusion is that this is a very nice site but best visited outside the school hols if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Slapton village is very nice with a couple of good pubs within walking distance with good grub. Slapton beach is very nice and good for fishing, go and watch the locals in the evening fish its like watching someone take sweets from a baby.If you have children and looking to beach then drive to Blackpool Sands five mins down the road and I promise you will not be disappointed. Carparking is cheaper for the day than Slapton. First class facilities, with life guards, organic & fair trade cafe, all set in a sheltered bay. Finally make sure you make sometime to walk around the nature reserve, we were lucky to see a kingfisher which for a bunch of townies made our day.

Reviewer: sweepy 6 reviews from this member

July 2002
This is a spendid site. It is busy during peak periods. This is in the main a camping site as only eight caravans are allowed. The sea is nearby and while the beach is mainly coarse gravel it is good. Blackpool Sands is nearby. This is a child friendly site though the 11.00 o'clock rule is enforced.
There are many good walks in the area. There are pubs nearby. All in all a top class site that we are re-visiting this year with our trailer tent. There is a good bus servcie to the main towns but they are all within easy travelling distance.

Reviewer: kelling,paul & vicky 15 reviews from this member

We were there a couple of years ago, lovely site up to C&CC very high standard. Lovely walks along the beach to shops, pubs, etc, also a nature reserve. There is a good bus srvice to Dartmouth and going the other way to Kingsbridge and the bus stop is only 5 mins away, also close to Blackpool Sands. If walking turn right from site into village, nice pub, good food.
Recommend this site for a quiet and peaceful holiday, hardly need to use the car. We will return.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4194 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder