Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 49 to 54                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekrobo 16 reviews from this member

Committed a cardinal sin. Forgot my up to date membership card.First time in 20 odd years and did I suffer for it. I had my booking form which you can only get when you have booked in via the membership web site and a credit card to pay the balance which so the chance of me being someone else was very slim. The lady on on reception said she would let me on this time but don't do it again and if the other lady had been on duty she would not have let me on at all. She went on to say they have been made aware of fraud going on with people pretending to be someone they aren't I agree in the modern climate but I was was only booking on a camp site at £23 per night which wasn't any cheaper than any where else.

Other than that a very nice site a few metres from Loch Lomond. We were at North end of the site which is very close to the main road and some people may find it noisy and the elsan point is very far away.

Luss village is very picturesque and later on in the day it quietens down from the day trippers. We had a warm reception in the hotel at the Colquhoun Arms Hotel in the bar everyone very friendly and not a bad pint of McEwans.

Stopped 2 nights on our way to Findhorn further north nice place would go back but will remember my membership card next time don't want shouting at!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Golflioness 1 review from this member

This was our very first experience of camping in a tent! Lovely site, very helpful, friendly staff. Pitched right next to the loch.

Showers and toilets very clean, showers hot. Hotel up the driveway very friendly staff also, food very good with excellent service.

Will most definitely visit again and hope to stay for longer than 2 nights. Even managed to convince hubby that camping ok!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 21 reviews from this member

We spent four nights here and knew what to expect as we had visited last summer too.

The site is made up of several areas, lined with trees, including one large field just for tents. The nearby main road is very audible although it didn't bother us at all.

The site borders the loch so there are beautiful views and a stony beach which can be easily accessed.

The toilet block was very clean and the showers hot and powerful. I noticed one review mentioned that the shower button had to be pushed frequently so I timed it and made it approximately 18 seconds between presses in the two showers in the ladies'. The hairdryer costs 20p for quite a long time as it never ran out on me.

There is a laundry with washing machine, tumble dryer and iron and a whirly washing line outside. The dryer cost £1 for 20 mins, the iron was 20p for 8 mins and I think it was £3 for the washer. It is locked at night.

My cousin's little boy was given a lollipop on his arrival on site and they were only charged one night at a time in case the three-year-old didn't take to camping. The children's playground has one baby swing, one ordinary swing and a small slide. There is a dog walk through some trees lining the site.

Most of the staff were very pleasant. The small shop will freeze ice packs at a charge of 50p per ice pack per time. It has a few basic supplies and also lends books.

Be well prepared for midges as they are a nuisance in that part of the country. There is a small general store 5 or 10 minutes walk away in the picturesque village of Luss as well as one or two tearooms, gift / craft shops, a small children's play park and a hotel. Loch cruises are available down on the shore.

There is a supermarket and other shops in Balloch, 10 to 15 minutes drive away. The location of the site is excellent for exploring this beautiful area of the country.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janine47 29 reviews from this member

We have been visiting this beautiful site for many years. Well signposted from the main Glacgow-Highlands road. The location is excellent with direct access to Loch Lomond.

The Wardens are helpful, friendly and informative. The nearby village of Luss is pretty and an easy walk along the shore, and has several places to eat as well as a general store.

The major problem with this site has always been the midges although during our recent visit they were manageable. This site would benefit from mosquito magnets which would clear the site of the pests. The toilets are very well maintained and clean. Pitches are well laid out with many hard standings.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nadius 3 reviews from this member

I have just spent the weekend at Luss so that my daughter could take part in the Highland Games there so there was just me and my daughter camping on our own. I felt safe at all times as the atmosphere was very family friendly. I had worried a bit before hand that we would feel a bit vulnerable but needn't have worried a bit.

The site was clean as was the facilities. Could have done with hand basins outside the cubicle ones so you could wash your hands after toilet instead of waiting until people had finished their ablutions but that was just the morning rush.

The owners were very helpful, even lending us folding chairs when I found we had forgotten ours to use at the games! The views were spectacular too and you could go down the steps to the Loch side, Pity about the wretched weather and the blasted midges but then that could describe anywhere in Britain! Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swany 3 reviews from this member

My family and I have just returned from this gem of a site, from the moment we checked in the site staff were friendly. The toilet / shower block was kept very clean and the site shop is what you would expect, unfortunately the shop in luss was well overpriced but balloch has all you would need and only 10 mins away.

Our kids were disappointed with the playpark but soon found other things to do, being so close to the water was a big hit with all and the view over loch lomond was amazing any time of day or night.

One negative was our pitch was uneven but will not stop us going back to this site, cant wait.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 49 to 54      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488