Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01628 627461

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st April - 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 156 Reviews
              9/10 from 156 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (7)

Reviews:  156 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DerekSuper 1 review from this member

An excellent small and friendly site.

We stayed for two nights to visit Legoland (a common occurrence judging by the amount of Lego boxes in the recycling bins on the Sunday morning!)

M4 noise; yes it's definitely there but not intrusive. We always take earplugs camping but didn't need them. As another reviewer says, wildlife in an isolated campsite can be a lot more disturbing (Yeah I'm talking about YOU, Beresford Dale crows!)

Heathrow aircraft; to be honest I was a little disappointed that the aircraft were further away and higher than I'd imagined them. Noise-wise they weren't a problem at all.

All facilities were great, with the wardens regularly popping over to make sure the wash up area was constantly clean.

The kids enjoyed the play area and also we found that the lock keepers at Bray locks were keen to show them the workings of the lock gates, even letting them operate the open/close mechanisms.

This visit was for Legoland but we'll be back to use this site as a base for days out in London

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windflower263 7 reviews from this member

Nothing to fault, so go there!

Plusses all round: friendly and helpful owners, easy to access from the M4 and close to supermarkets & train station, fair price, spacious pitches, very good facilities, close to the Thames and its picturesque pathway.

You can hear the motorway and it's good for plane spotting but the owners mention the former on their website and if you don't Googlemap it before then you're a silly sausage!

Will certainly return and recommend it highly :)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simanda 1 review from this member

This is our 1st review on ukcampsite and we are pleased to say that it is 100% positive.

We have had the great pleasure to spend 4 nights at this caravan and camping park and we have thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site is immaculate as are the toilet and shower facilities.

The owners are a lovely couple who truly cannot do enough for you.

The site is only a hop, skip and a jump from London and you are not paying those crazy London prices.

It is also very safe and secure with remote gates with a code. Don't forget your code like we did, however a simple call to the owners and we had the code to get back in.

We will be using this lovely site again when we visit London or the surrounding area.

If you are looking for the best camping caravan or motorhome site near our great capital look no further you have just found it!

Until the next time.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gonzalo 3 reviews from this member

Great site, fantastic location!

Arrived late on the Friday, after the said time limit. We did ring ahead to explain that we were running late and traffic was slow. The owner was more than helpful and accommodating. Showed us to our pitch with a torch as it was dark.

Facilities were always clean and showers were comfortable.

It is next to the M4 but we saw it as a positive! Road noise minimal. Lovely walk to the Thames within minutes. Just up the road there is a Tesco for supplies and a few restaurants including a Frankie and Bennys!

Will visit again, more than recommend!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 18 reviews from this member

We were here for the bank holiday weekend - great little site, well maintained, and very clean and tidy, sited in an old orchard its next to the river thames ( and the m4 )

The facilities are well looked after, very clean, has laundry area, washing up, good showers and toilet block - kids play area, really helpful owners

Kids loved the sweet vending machine too !

Big level pitches, grass well kept and kept short,

Only slight downside is M4 road noise can be heard, but we are not light sleepers so doesn't really bother us

Close for windsor, legoland, cliveden, maidenhead, local pubs, tescos etc only 2 miles away, great walks along the towpath of the thames

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsayv1977 1 review from this member

This was our 6th stay at Amerden. We keep returning as we love it so much. It's lovely being greeted as old friends when we pull up.

The site is off a quiet lane in Dorney. As such it's a very quiet site but there is traffic noise from the M4 and Air traffic noise as we are very close to Heathrow. However it's funny how quickly you stop noticing both. They do sell ear plugs in the reception just in case.

During the day the site is very peaceful as most people are out exploring the area. There is a time when everyone returns from local attractions and families come home from legoland where there's lots of kids about having fun but then it goes very quiet at quiet time, the wardens are careful to ensure that it it's quiet so we get a great nights sleep.

The site is beautifully maintained and clean. The toilet/ shower facilities are kept clean and there are plenty of toilets and 4 showers in the ladies (do t know about the men's).

There's a large washing machine and dryer for a fee and washing up facilities including free dishwasher soap.

There's also a vending machine for chocolate and sweets and drinks.

The best thing by far is the camp kitchen which has power points for charging. An ironing board and iron, fridges and freezers and a microwave, it makes camping so much easier and means you do t have to pay for EhU if you do t want to.

The site is situated in a very handy place, it's on the river at Bray lock and you can sit and watch the boats pass or walk/cycle to Maidenhead or Windsor

It's Inbetween Maidenhead and Windsor, easy to pop to either and very handy for legoland. There's loads to see nearby and it's also very handy to hop on the train at Taplow into London. It's 15 per adult and. 1 per child to go into London, travel round the city and come home again.

I cannot fault the site. I must also mention that there's a large gate that closes at 10pm to ensure everyone is safe and sound. You are given an access code to enter and exit after those times.

I'll definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights while touring in England. Of the 5 sites we stayed at this was our favourite. Really well kept, really friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, the site reflects this with a very relaxed atmosphere. We picked this site like many for it's proximity to Legoland, but visited Windsor Castle as well, and took a day trip easily by train, from the nearby station, and underground, into London. With a six and a 4 year old this worked surprisingly well. Facilities very clean. Kids loved the play area. As others have stated there is noise from the motorway but it did not annoy us at all. No shop on site, but a large Tesco is just up the street.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

What a great little site! Ok the M4 runs literally at the bottom of this compact site so there is a constant hum of traffic, which you very soon become accustomed too. Honestly you get used to it and it is actually a very relaxing site with a small playground, good amenity blocks (obligatory push button showers) that are kept immaculately clean and everything else you need. It is close to Legoland and Windsor, with London obviously within easy reach also so is ideal to use as a base for exploring the area. The owners Stuart and Beverley work extremely hard to keep the site immaculate and are very friendly and helpful, they even make time to chat to the kids when approached. This is quite simply a fantastic site that we will certainly be returning to in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstenandsarah 1 review from this member

We arrived late first night but were made very welcome; owners really friendly - came out in rain to direct us to pitch- and site level, grassy, treelined and very pretty. Playground was great hit with grandchildren;toilets and shower spotless. We stayed 2 nights with trip to Legoland on the Saturday -queues to get out making us too late back to really enjoy the site-which was a pity. Site is securely gated;easy reach of many attractions- lots of info and leaflets in the reception.

Only downside was noise from traffic [I am a VERY light sleeper] but kids sleep like logs.

A lovely site, nothing to fault- thank you for lovely stay [wish Legoland had been as restful![

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaddyWeston 2 reviews from this member

A perfect little site for families. The toilet/shower facilities are always immaculate and the small children's play area is in excellent condition. This family run site has always been a favourite of ours (we have been here half a dozen times now) due to the location. Sitting right on Bray lock it is lovely to sit on a sunny day and watch the boats come through. Or take a short walk into Bray for some lunch in one of Heston Blumenthal's pubs. Then, a short drive away, you have Legoland for the kids. Perfect. If I had to find a fault I would be hard pushed. We look forward to our next visit.

Previous     156 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Berkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977