Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01628 627461

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st April - 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 160 Reviews
              9/10 from 160 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (7)

Reviews:  160 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the bank holiday. Lovely site. Owners very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Straightaway letting us know about all the on site facilities and how to get out and about outside. Was shown to our pitch. Mostly grass pitches. Very well kept. Toilets and showers very clean and water hot. Plenty of water points around the site. You could hear the traffic noise from the M4 but it didn't effect our time there. A great location for visiting legoland as some of the children on site were excited to tell us. The cycle route along the Jubilee river was wonderful and really easy to get to Windsor and Eton. We did a circular route which was approx 25 miles. Mainly off road and very quiet country lanes. There's quite a narrow lane to get to the site. Ok so long as nothing coming in the other direction. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizgwynn 8 reviews from this member

Stayed 5 nights at Amerden with the family in 2 tents. Excellent facilities on site and owners very helpful. Even had washing machine tumble drier fridges freezer and microwave.

The showers and toilets were kept clean at all times did not have to queue for showers. Plenty of hot water available.

Very convenient position out in countryside but only 5 minutes by car to the supermarket and out of town shopping centre. Convenient for us to find site as off the M4.

Also well placed for Legoland and other attractions. Visited Beale near Reading which the grandchildren enjoyed and good value for 2- 5 yr old grandchildren. Visited Windsor and went on boat trip and leisure centre and park. Plenty of lovely walks and cycle paths around the area. Also walked in to Bray village where exclusive restaurants.

The campsite has a lovely little park which our grandchildren loved and made new friends.

We had lovely break and hope to go back again in future.

There is some motorway hum from traffic but soon did not notice this as constant.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 35 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 3 nights and found comments in previous reviews to be fairly accurate. This is a delightful site, tucked away not far from the Thames at Bray Lock. There is noise from the adjacent M4, but that didn't disturb sleep. The facilities were adequate in number and clean. Indeed, wardens were in and out of the toilet block during the day to check and 'brush up' where necessary.

There is a small children's play area which was adequate to keep 2 granddaughters distracted for long periods.

The site is about a mile to the main A4, where there is a Tesco supermarket and a handful of restaurants. We had a good meal in the Bella Italia. Behind that is Taplow train station, which we didn't use.

The main reason for choosing the location was to visit Windsor Castle which is about a 10 minute drive away.

The Thames towpath is about 100 yards from the site and that gives cycling or walking access to either Maidenhead or Windsor. The less energetic can just sit and watch the river traffic passing through the lock.

This site has much to commend.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Supercaleysalmon01 1 review from this member

This is the second time that we have stayed at this site and we booked a pitch with electric hook up for 11 nights.

The site is next to the M4 and there is a bit of noise but this is not an issue as the noise is not great and pretty constant, I have been much more disturbed by birds at many other sites.

The facilities are spotless and cleaned regularly with good showers and washing up area.

There are no shops close to the site but there is a Tesco and a Sainsburys 5 mins away by car. The site also has a vending machine which is pretty limited but has cold cans of coke and sweets for the kids all at prices you would expect to pay at your local shop with no attempt to capitalise on a captive market.

We booked here because of the rail links into London and Windsor. Taplow station is again 5 mins by car or 20 mins to walk (which we did).

An off peak train to Paddington with a rail card for a family of 4 was 25 with use of the tube all day. Windsor was about 8 for the return journey and we also travelled to Oxford for the day at a cost of about 28.

The site is right on the banks of the Thames and a French Brothers boat will pick you up at Bray Lock (and take you to Windsor) which is 30 seconds from the site itself (It is quite expensive but they do accept Tesco clubcard day out vouchers!)

Maidenhead is a twenty to twenty five minute walk along the Thames and well worth the walk to see some amazing houses.

Lunch at a pub called 'The Pineapple' at Dorney is worth the walk. Google map it for the best way to get there but it is about a 15 minute walk, again by the Thames.

The site owners are incredibly helpful with lots of good local information and are always on hand to help.

All in all an excellent base for London and the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DerekSuper 1 review from this member

An excellent small and friendly site.

We stayed for two nights to visit Legoland (a common occurrence judging by the amount of Lego boxes in the recycling bins on the Sunday morning!)

M4 noise; yes it's definitely there but not intrusive. We always take earplugs camping but didn't need them. As another reviewer says, wildlife in an isolated campsite can be a lot more disturbing (Yeah I'm talking about YOU, Beresford Dale crows!)

Heathrow aircraft; to be honest I was a little disappointed that the aircraft were further away and higher than I'd imagined them. Noise-wise they weren't a problem at all.

All facilities were great, with the wardens regularly popping over to make sure the wash up area was constantly clean.

The kids enjoyed the play area and also we found that the lock keepers at Bray locks were keen to show them the workings of the lock gates, even letting them operate the open/close mechanisms.

This visit was for Legoland but we'll be back to use this site as a base for days out in London

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windflower263 7 reviews from this member

Nothing to fault, so go there!

Plusses all round: friendly and helpful owners, easy to access from the M4 and close to supermarkets & train station, fair price, spacious pitches, very good facilities, close to the Thames and its picturesque pathway.

You can hear the motorway and it's good for plane spotting but the owners mention the former on their website and if you don't Googlemap it before then you're a silly sausage!

Will certainly return and recommend it highly :)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simanda 1 review from this member

This is our 1st review on ukcampsite and we are pleased to say that it is 100% positive.

We have had the great pleasure to spend 4 nights at this caravan and camping park and we have thoroughly enjoyed it.

The site is immaculate as are the toilet and shower facilities.

The owners are a lovely couple who truly cannot do enough for you.

The site is only a hop, skip and a jump from London and you are not paying those crazy London prices.

It is also very safe and secure with remote gates with a code. Don't forget your code like we did, however a simple call to the owners and we had the code to get back in.

We will be using this lovely site again when we visit London or the surrounding area.

If you are looking for the best camping caravan or motorhome site near our great capital look no further you have just found it!

Until the next time.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gonzalo 3 reviews from this member

Great site, fantastic location!

Arrived late on the Friday, after the said time limit. We did ring ahead to explain that we were running late and traffic was slow. The owner was more than helpful and accommodating. Showed us to our pitch with a torch as it was dark.

Facilities were always clean and showers were comfortable.

It is next to the M4 but we saw it as a positive! Road noise minimal. Lovely walk to the Thames within minutes. Just up the road there is a Tesco for supplies and a few restaurants including a Frankie and Bennys!

Will visit again, more than recommend!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 18 reviews from this member

We were here for the bank holiday weekend - great little site, well maintained, and very clean and tidy, sited in an old orchard its next to the river thames ( and the m4 )

The facilities are well looked after, very clean, has laundry area, washing up, good showers and toilet block - kids play area, really helpful owners

Kids loved the sweet vending machine too !

Big level pitches, grass well kept and kept short,

Only slight downside is M4 road noise can be heard, but we are not light sleepers so doesn't really bother us

Close for windsor, legoland, cliveden, maidenhead, local pubs, tescos etc only 2 miles away, great walks along the towpath of the thames

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsayv1977 1 review from this member

This was our 6th stay at Amerden. We keep returning as we love it so much. It's lovely being greeted as old friends when we pull up.

The site is off a quiet lane in Dorney. As such it's a very quiet site but there is traffic noise from the M4 and Air traffic noise as we are very close to Heathrow. However it's funny how quickly you stop noticing both. They do sell ear plugs in the reception just in case.

During the day the site is very peaceful as most people are out exploring the area. There is a time when everyone returns from local attractions and families come home from legoland where there's lots of kids about having fun but then it goes very quiet at quiet time, the wardens are careful to ensure that it it's quiet so we get a great nights sleep.

The site is beautifully maintained and clean. The toilet/ shower facilities are kept clean and there are plenty of toilets and 4 showers in the ladies (do t know about the men's).

There's a large washing machine and dryer for a fee and washing up facilities including free dishwasher soap.

There's also a vending machine for chocolate and sweets and drinks.

The best thing by far is the camp kitchen which has power points for charging. An ironing board and iron, fridges and freezers and a microwave, it makes camping so much easier and means you do t have to pay for EhU if you do t want to.

The site is situated in a very handy place, it's on the river at Bray lock and you can sit and watch the boats pass or walk/cycle to Maidenhead or Windsor

It's Inbetween Maidenhead and Windsor, easy to pop to either and very handy for legoland. There's loads to see nearby and it's also very handy to hop on the train at Taplow into London. It's 15 per adult and. 1 per child to go into London, travel round the city and come home again.

I cannot fault the site. I must also mention that there's a large gate that closes at 10pm to ensure everyone is safe and sound. You are given an access code to enter and exit after those times.

I'll definitely be back again.

Previous     160 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Berkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0930
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec