Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Broomfield Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Broomfield Holiday Park
Shore St
Ullapool
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV26 2UT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01854 612020

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 66 Reviews
              7/10 from 66 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (2)

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick McP 2 reviews from this member

This is always our first campsite that we stay when touring on our motorbikes. I have stayed here for 4 years running, always in June before the English schools break up. However, it is still a busy site even at that time of year. The views are fantastic, it never seems to get dark. In Ullapool, there are some good bars and the Fish and Chips are to die for. There is also a Tesco which is good for stocking up on food and of course booze.

The ground is very hard, when travelling light on a motorbike, it can be uncomfortable as there is only a thin layer of turf before you meet rock and stone. For such a large and busy site, the toilets could do with an upgrade. There is no heat, the lights are very dim, when you close the door to your shower or toilet cubicle, it is very dark. Overall, as it is always the start of our holiday, it is always great to arrive, pitch your tent, go to the bar and have your fish and chips. Will be back in June 2015, look for two Honda Fireblades.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

Good site, lovely spot!

£10 per night for single tent, car and no EHU which is reasonable value.

Arrived late so pitched up and the owners popped around the site collecting fees next day.

The site has a few slopes but easy to find a flat spot, particularly lockside (to left of road).

Facilities were adequate and clean and seemed well serviced.

Location is good being on the edge of Ullapool with plenty of places to eat and drink. Ferry Boat Inn at far end of town is probably best pub and worth the extra walk. Wouldn't recommend the takeaway opposite the ferry terminal.

Great watching the ferry come up Loch Broom. Ooh when leaving Ullapool going south check the ferry arrival time as its rush hour in Ullapool - just give it 20 minutes to clear.

It's a great location to tour the Assynt and Summer Isles area with loads of outdoor stuff to do.

I visited in late May and the midges were evident but no great numbers. Imagine they might be a problem in the height of summer but if you're going to Scotland you'll be used to them.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 6 reviews from this member

Being a full-time carer for my husband, who is totally wheelchair dependent, my review will be based on accessibility. We visited this site a week ago, for a three night stay. We had no problem in choosing a decent pitch, requiring only one leveller under a wheel, although some pitches appeared to be more sloping. We were on the second row from the front but still had a splendid view over Loch Broom and could clearly see the CalMac ferries, coming and going - a quite impressive sight, after dark.

Facilities are quite dated but always appeared clean. Showers require a 20p piece but, a warning to the ladies -if your hair takes a lot of shampooing, take 40p! There was a disabled cubicle in the Ladies, but only had a loo and handbasin inside - something we come across regularly and find, very annoying. As handbasins aren't in privacy cubicles, it would have been too intrusive to even think about taking my husband in there. I have no idea what was housed in the Gents.

The site road is loose stone but pretty well compacted so no problems pushing the 'chair. The site is on two levels so no problems in avoiding any pushing uphill, as was the case from our pitch.

Ullapool is undulating but the main shops and harbour are on the level. We don't 'do' restaurants or bars but enjoy having coffee or tea out. Because we hit on reasonably good weather, places were offering outside seating so we had no problems with lack of space or steps. Kindness towards my husband was shown by all whom we met. Would we go back? Definitely!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa81 9 reviews from this member

This site is in a great location for catching the ferry as previously noted. Local area has lots to do, great choice of eateries and facilities.

The views are superb, however due to being exposed can be a bit breezy! Pitches not very level but we managed. Staff friendly.

We would not return due to dated, cold and dirty toilet block. You also have to pay for showers which are a dribble. Shame as site was busy so would expect better.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 41 reviews from this member

We stayed here just one night with an early morning ferry to catch to Stornoway. The Site is ideally located close to the terminal, making it an ideal stopover. It is a very open site with good views of the loch and open sea from almost every pitch. It can also be, though, from watching a French couple erect some kind of trailer tent, quite exposed.

The town with its eating places, bars and multiple branches of Edinburgh Woollen Mill is a very short stroll away. There are also some good climbs ( Munros included) in Wester Ross just off the Dingwall Road.

Site facilities were high quality with plenty of showers and toilets. We'd have no hesitation staying here again if we were catching a ferry.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineMRoss 15 reviews from this member

We stayed two nights here, and were lucky enough to get a lochside pitch, just a few steps from the water. Only disadvantage - the cable for the hookup has to run across a small road. We borrowed a rubber cable cover from the campsite manager (for a £30 deposit) which protects the cable and also lessens the risk of anyone tripping over it, but many people didn't bother.

Pitches further from the water are slightly elevated, so everyone gets a good view - spectacular when the Stornoway ferry goes past. All the pitches were on grass, most with a slight slope. There was plenty of space for tents, and lots of bikers - it's a well-known bike-friendly destination.

The toilet block was good, although there seemed to be an extra charge for using the showers. There was a motorhome disposal point, but it was awkwardly sited and the morning we left it was very busy, so we didn't wait.

Biggest attraction of the site is that all the eating and drinking establishments of Ullapool are just a short walk away. We were there on a busy bank holiday weekend, so we ended up trailing round town looking for somewhere to eat without a long wait, but everywhere was full to capacity. We ate late that night, and cooked in the van the second night. Moral - always book ahead!

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0361