Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Broomfield Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Broomfield Holiday Park
Shore St
Ullapool
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV26 2UT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01854 612020

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 69 Reviews
              7/10 from 69 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (2)

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne oxley 10 reviews from this member

This site as a relaxed feel with many visitors from all over europe.

The staff were happy and friendly. Freezers are provided and you can loan there ice packs while yours are freezing. The position overlooking the see and easy walking distance to Ullapool is good.

The shower block was cold and the water only just warm enough. The grass pitches were getting muddy with all the rain.

The staff and atmosphere on this site for me though is better than the Ardmair point site down the road.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Man on the Move 13 reviews from this member

This site is well positioned for access to all the amenities in Ullapool including a large supermarket, a well stocked outdoor leisure store, restaurants and pubs all within easy walking distance and as such provides the perfect location in the area for both through travellers such as ourselves or for anyone wishing to spend a little longer here.

The centrally placed site facilities were clean and reasonably well maintained, although may find it difficult to handle a full site and the tent pitches were on level ground located to the left of the site access road leading around to the caravan and RV stands.

Another of our party dealt with payment for our single night stay, so I cannot comment on friendliness of the staff, but I think it's safe to assume they were as helpful as we've found elsewhere throughout our motorcycle tour of Scotland.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bob Owens 4 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location. However, the site requires investment in my opinion. The drainage was non existent making the grass pitches very muddy. No choice of hard standings. Motor homes being continually pulled off their pitch with the owner and his tractor. The toilet/shower block was cold and not the cleanest, due to the mud and grass being carried in on visitors shoes.

Many foreign visitors on site, not a good example to set for Scotland!

Could be one of the best sites in the UK with a little tender love and care.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick McP 2 reviews from this member

This is always our first campsite that we stay when touring on our motorbikes. I have stayed here for 4 years running, always in June before the English schools break up. However, it is still a busy site even at that time of year. The views are fantastic, it never seems to get dark. In Ullapool, there are some good bars and the Fish and Chips are to die for. There is also a Tesco which is good for stocking up on food and of course booze.

The ground is very hard, when travelling light on a motorbike, it can be uncomfortable as there is only a thin layer of turf before you meet rock and stone. For such a large and busy site, the toilets could do with an upgrade. There is no heat, the lights are very dim, when you close the door to your shower or toilet cubicle, it is very dark. Overall, as it is always the start of our holiday, it is always great to arrive, pitch your tent, go to the bar and have your fish and chips. Will be back in June 2015, look for two Honda Fireblades.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

Good site, lovely spot!

10 per night for single tent, car and no EHU which is reasonable value.

Arrived late so pitched up and the owners popped around the site collecting fees next day.

The site has a few slopes but easy to find a flat spot, particularly lockside (to left of road).

Facilities were adequate and clean and seemed well serviced.

Location is good being on the edge of Ullapool with plenty of places to eat and drink. Ferry Boat Inn at far end of town is probably best pub and worth the extra walk. Wouldn't recommend the takeaway opposite the ferry terminal.

Great watching the ferry come up Loch Broom. Ooh when leaving Ullapool going south check the ferry arrival time as its rush hour in Ullapool - just give it 20 minutes to clear.

It's a great location to tour the Assynt and Summer Isles area with loads of outdoor stuff to do.

I visited in late May and the midges were evident but no great numbers. Imagine they might be a problem in the height of summer but if you're going to Scotland you'll be used to them.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 7 reviews from this member

Being a full-time carer for my husband, who is totally wheelchair dependent, my review will be based on accessibility. We visited this site a week ago, for a three night stay. We had no problem in choosing a decent pitch, requiring only one leveller under a wheel, although some pitches appeared to be more sloping. We were on the second row from the front but still had a splendid view over Loch Broom and could clearly see the CalMac ferries, coming and going - a quite impressive sight, after dark.

Facilities are quite dated but always appeared clean. Showers require a 20p piece but, a warning to the ladies -if your hair takes a lot of shampooing, take 40p! There was a disabled cubicle in the Ladies, but only had a loo and handbasin inside - something we come across regularly and find, very annoying. As handbasins aren't in privacy cubicles, it would have been too intrusive to even think about taking my husband in there. I have no idea what was housed in the Gents.

The site road is loose stone but pretty well compacted so no problems pushing the 'chair. The site is on two levels so no problems in avoiding any pushing uphill, as was the case from our pitch.

Ullapool is undulating but the main shops and harbour are on the level. We don't 'do' restaurants or bars but enjoy having coffee or tea out. Because we hit on reasonably good weather, places were offering outside seating so we had no problems with lack of space or steps. Kindness towards my husband was shown by all whom we met. Would we go back? Definitely!

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3912 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0518