Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenacres Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Greenacres Campsite
Scowles Road
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL16 8QS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01594 837753

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m   1m  1m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 1st April To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
              8/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (11)

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin your choice of a 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping 2005 2 reviews from this member

This is the third year running that we have visited this site on the Bank Holiday. We have always had a great time - there is loads to do in the surrounding areas and the site itself is very pleasant - the owners are welcoming and very helpful. The toilets are currently in a portacabin but they are clean and have power showers. New showers are being built and almost complete - when they are, it will be a first class site! We will definitely be back next year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kozyk 2 reviews from this member

Camping field was fine, great location, owners friendly. Apparently a new Toilet and shower block has been in the planning stage for quite a while but until it is built we will not be returning

Management response: Our old toilet and shower block was stated as being a portacabin but they were very clean and the water hot. N

We are pleased to advise that we now have planning permission for new toilets and showers which are currently under construction and will be in service ready for the start of the 2017 season. They will be fully central heated with a laundry and undercover washing up area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DWallis22 1 review from this member

Greenacres is a gem of a site, set in the beautiful Forest of Dean countryside, yet still close to all the amenities you could need. A welcoming town shopping centre with a wealth of takeaways to choose from.

Ideally located for bike trails, walks, and close to larger locations for days out.

The site offers basic toilet shower block but has gained planning for a more permanent better equipped shower toilet block.

The owners are really welcoming and the site is well kept.

A really nice place to stay for the summer or just visit on your way through.

Lots of activities available such as Clearwell caves, Puzzle wood, Cannop ponds and Go Ape at Mallards Pike.

Fab site, would highly recommend it!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Pearce Family 3 reviews from this member

Spent a very pleasant weekend at this site. Good location for walking and cycling in the forest. 20 minute walk into Coleford. Loved the camp fires allowed in the lower field. The couple that owned the site were lovely and very helpful. They need to keep an eye on the grass as needed cutting but was just about ok. They did tell us that new toilets/showers are on the cards which would make a huge improvement to this already nice site. Felt it was a bit expensive baring in mind the poor facilities. Would however return.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonparsons 2 reviews from this member

Spacious mostly level site in a beautiful area. The lower field had stone firepits available and logs for sale, which was lovey in the evening when a number of fires were lit, entertaining a few gatherings. A 20 minute walk along the public footpath at the edge of the site will get you to the top of Coleford. Only criticism is that the gents toilet block consisted of one toilet and one shower in the same unit. So if the shower was in use then a queue would form very quickly. The very efficient lady owner did make the shower/toilet of an on site static available so that helped. The site has just received the planning to upgrade the loos so that would then make it a great place to stay. It should be noted that the power hook up was the most expensive we have come accross to date at 4. 00 per night.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SJB78 2 reviews from this member

This campsite is very poor value for money in our opinion and we have stayed in some that are much better quality for lower costs.

The toilet block is just a portacabin with 2 loos, 2 sinks and a separate shower for ladies but just one shower and loo together for gents which means if someone is using the shower you might have to queue! The cabin had lots of bugs in there too. The loos themselves were fine &clean with a good flush and there's hot water to the sinks but a shelf over the sinks for your washbag would be nice. The mirrors were tarnished too. I spoke to the owner on leaving and she said they're waiting on planning permission for a permenanent toilet block but in the meantime they could hire an additional portaloo for the gents!

Washing up facilities consists of a single sink outside the toilets and although it has hot water there's no shelter so I wouldn't want to use it in bad weather!

The bins were overflowing and recycling is limited.

We got a nice flat pitch with hook up but there's quite a few sloping pitches.

Site is accessed by a narrow and very steep track, I've no idea how caravaners manage it!

The tarrif on the website is wrong it's actually 7 per adult and 4 per night for electric which is too much in our opinion for what you get as toilet facilities are so poor and there's no shop or wifi.

The immediate local area has a pub but we had to drive to get to anything else, Coleford has a butcher, baker, greengrocer and small supermarkets but not much else.

We didn't see the owner until we left and there's no reception as such so you're pretty much left to sort yourselves out.

I would definitely recommend the Forest of Dean as there's great walks & cycle routes and some great pubs (table booking recommended) but sadly I don't recommend this campsite.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, We were away on holiday and employed staff during July, but I think we may have returned just before you left.

Thank you for your comments - we are grateful for constructive criticism to help us improve the site.

The toilets are currently a "work in progress" and we hope to have this sorted before the next season. During busy periods, we hire in portaloos and also use the onsite static shower & toilet facilities. However, I am glad that you found the facilities to be clean and the water hot.
Thank you for highlighting the discrepancy on pricing on the UKCampsite.co.uk website - we have now updated the tariff and will happily reimburse the difference if you contact us.

Sadly, when we were away a camper disposed of their awning in our bins which led to them becoming very full much sooner than the scheduled collection - we were unable to foresee this but did our best to address it as soon as we could.
I'm afraid there is not much we can do about the track - caravaners do seem to negotiate it ok - we even towed the 32ft static up it!!

Unfortunately you did not seem to have found the footpath into Coleford with all its amenities and access to a very extensive and well maintained cycle track - and the path to the woodland walks. This is probably as a result of us being away. We have decided it is very unlikely that we will go away when the site is open in the future.

I do hope you come and stay again and your stay is more enjoyable.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin your choice of a 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898