Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Centenary Way Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Centenary Way Camping & Caravan Park
Muston Grange
Muston Rd
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 0HU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01723 516415

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 175 Reviews
              9/10 from 175 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jobyjo 2 reviews from this member

Excellent run site. Very Family orientated. Close to the beach. Very clean toilets/shower block. Play area for kids and a cute fairy garden cafe. Excellent value for money and takeaways deliver to site

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cookiekid 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from another lovely weekend at this campsite. Our 5th visit in 4 years.

We noticed showers have been changed, which is a good thing, temperature can now be controlled.

The site was full, lovely to see, there was no nuisance noise. Very pleasant people.

The site is kept very well, as always.

We love it here, we will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at Centenary Way for 7 nights (Saturday to Saturday) in August with our two kids (5 and 2) and had a really fab time. It is a bigger site than we usually use but I have to say, the kids absolutely loved it and it is a lovely, well maintained site. Overall we did like Centenary Way, but for me there are also a few big negatives.

On a positive, the site is really well located for walking to the beautiful beach (10mins) and Filey town (15mins). Nice off road footpath all the way. No car required! This was the main reason we chose the site.

The on-site Fairy Garden cafe is great too, quirky and nice to pop in for a lazy breakfast - good bacon sandwiches and coffee.

Filey itself is slightly limited for eating out, but Inghams is fab for fish and chips, Bramwell's tea room for lovely cake and we had a nice Italian meal at San Marco. There is also a nice farm shop/ cafe out on the road towards Scarborough (Redcliffe farm shop).

The kids totally loved the on site play ground; it's quite 'retro' with an old school metal roundabout and climbing frame, a little wooden house with a slide and some swings but these really fired the kids imagination and they loved them. They were happy to play there all day and as they were in clear sight of our tent it was perfect for them - and us!

However, mid week some older kids (aged about 10+) turned up and unfortunately a few of them picked out my daughter to constantly taunt and intimidate (taking her cap, calling her names, generally being unkind). It's what kids do, I guess, but they were old enough to know better than to taunt a 5year old for fun, it was bordering on bullying by the end and I had to step in and tell them off - disappointing to see, but that is life.

There was also lots of rubbish left in the playground as the kids seemed not to understand (or care!) about littering. To be fair there is no bin, although the main bin area was only at the back of the playground, so really no excuses.

Elsewhere the site is generally clean and pleasant, it is broken up into different areas; the main area from the entrance is for caravans and awnings, then there is a hard standing area for tents who prefer to pitch on an all weather surface. Then at the bottom of the site there are two fields with grass pitches. We had requested a grass pitch (no EHU) and had a nice spot at the bottom of the site beyond the playground, perfect for us as we couldn't see all the big caravans. It feels less like a large style caravan park down there, which is good as we do not generally like big commercial caravan sites. Pitches were a good size, flat, short grass and easy to peg into. Tents pitches in the field we were in were arranged round the edge of the field, so felt like lots of space. The owner obviously takes pride in keeping the grass mown and the site looking nice. We had nice natural hedges at the back of our pitch with blackberry bushes etc. There were hedgehogs living in the hedges and the kids loved seeing them.

The all weather pitches seemed more overlooked and some slightly hemmed in and completely surrounded by other units, not really to our taste.

But all good with our pitch. Until we had torrential rain for 24 hours on the Tuesday and basically the middle of field we were in flooded (big pools of standing water). A couple of tents were actually in the water but ours remained dry. We evacuated for a night in a hotel, as it was still raining and we were not sure how far the water would rise. Next day when we returned to our tent, the water had receded but the field remained sodden for the rest of the week and we were paddling through water to get anywhere. No fault of the management, at all, the weather was just exceptionally wet. My complaint though is that whilst the field flooded, no one actually came to see how we were or if we needed any help or to answer any questions about what they thought we should do. Management were nowhere to be seen. The guy whose tent was flooded found the man in charge but got no help, he was told it was not management's responsibility. I can sympathise with their situation, but it's not a friendly or helpful attitude. We saw the guy on Thursday morning when he inspected the field but he was more concerned about his loss of business with a sodden field than asking how we were.

There are no recycling facilities on site which is disappointing.

The toilets/ shower block was ok. There were 4 toilets and 2 showers in each the men's and ladies, this is not enough for the 80 pitches. Showers were 50p and you got plenty of time, they were hot but not very powerful and didn't always drain well. Also due to the wet weather the floors in the block were constantly dirty and were only cleaned once a day at 1pm. So every morning and evening they were very dirty again. Could have done with 2 cleans really, especially as the weather was so wet.

There was a laundry with washing machine and freezer for ice packs - although beware as one of our ice blocks was taken by someone else, despite it being quite distinctive. The pot wash area was covered with plenty of sinks and hot water. Overall ok facilities but could be better.

None of the negatives spoiled our holiday, even the flooding! Would we stay again? Possibly. But only because the kids loved it so much and its convenience for Filey.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisam7409 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site been coming for years. Always made very welcome. So easy to get into filey and surrounding areas. Can't wait to return. Children love being here, always make lots of friends. Lovely fairy garden also available which is great in the day for light lunch and cake.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xy13 1 review from this member

Been visisting this site for last 15years one of the best sites we visit, easy walking to beach and to filey town, no need for car, just a plesant site and well kept, people very friendly, would recommend to anyone [ not too many as there will be no pitches left ]

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JustinC 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights in late June with a friend in a festival tent. Had the small field to ourselves and it was great! It was quiet, toilets were clean. My friend used the chest freezer to refreeze icepacks, along with the pot wash and drinking water facilities. It was miserable weather of rain and cold, but for our first time in a tent with our medium sized dog we enjoyed ourselves. I use a wheelchair and have an adapted Motability van with tail lift. As I had a female carer/friend we used the female toilets by parking my small manual wheelchair at the outside door under the small shelter, opened the door, with support I walked a couple of yards to the cubicle and then back to my wheelchair. The larger cubical I used was around a metre or 3 foot wide and around 2 metre long, with a single horizontally mounted small bar on the inside of the door about a metre from the floor. The toilet was a bit low but I managed. The threshold was level and the doorway around 2 foot wide of a standard door width. We ate in Filey at the Three Tuns pub where we walked to, including finding good public accessible toilets.

We used a single gas stove for simple warm food. I left my motability scooter and manual wheelchair in the van. Even though it was miserable weather, we were warm in the tent and the grassy field was not muddy or waterlogged. The staff were helpful and we were charged low price for non electric pitch of our festival tent.

In my opinion this site doesn't look much but it's cheap, can be cheerful, has perhaps more than basic facilities and is close to various lovely areas such as Scarborough and Filey.

If there is any opportunity to spend money on developments in the future, I would suggest a small room for combined baby change/family use/accessible toilet and shower. This may well be popular so two such rooms may be useful. This is not a criticism, just a suggestion.

Thanks to the staff on the reception and phone line for being part of our enjoyable camping experience!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anitacraig 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely site. Great location 15 minute walk to Filey and 10 minutes to the beach. Site is lovely and quiet. There was 5 adults and 3 children in our party. Pitches where a good size and plenty of space between them. Fairy garden tea room was lovely. We went to Eden camp, which is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phildurham 1 review from this member

Nice site. Loved the hard standing for tents but make sure you bring a footprint and driver pegs. Well kept sure. Quiet and a nice 10 min walk to filey and beach. Only complaints and they are really minor was the showers, quite cramped and could be improved 100% by adding some raised bamboo grids at the end of the shower so that you can get dry and dressed without standing on a wet floor and the playground needs a bit of attention

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 57 reviews from this member

We really loved this site for its location, a country mile to Filey seafront, with all the usual seaside activities, an easily accessible beach, fish & chips, tearooms, amusements, golf a real family resort.

The site is well kept and grass kept immaculately. The pitches themselves were well spaced side to side but some of them are very close ( only 3-4 feet ) back to back, which can mean with differing units pitched back to back they are very close. Some of the pitches are difficult to manoeuvre on and off without spoiling the immaculate grass.

The shower block is small and with no seat in the shower changing area can only be used by those who can undress/dress whilst constantly standing.

This is a quiet well managed site.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John stone 3 reviews from this member

This site was exactly what we wanted, good walks and being near to the beach too. A good base for touring the area. The site was clean at all times and very quiet.

One thing that let it down were the showers that were 50p for 6 minuets, but there is not enough pressure so hard to get our hair rinsed.

We will be returning here next year despite this.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938