Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sand Le Mere

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Sand Le Mere
Seaside Lane
Tunstall
Roos
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU12 0JF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01964 670403

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
5m  10m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
              7/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rdoylie 2 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here in August 2013, 3 families. Site was lovely, you can see they have spent a lot of money on improving the facilities, that is apart from the camping facilities. Ground was like concrete (not their fault) so ensure you take some good strong pegs as the small ones were of just no use. Showering / Toilet facilities were probably the main thing which let this site down, there is a block in a portacabin (nice and modern) however they seem to flood all the time. You are best using the wooden hut which is by the touring field. Pool was fantastic, kids loved it, entertainment was the usual holiday camp type but a good sized room. All in all a great holiday, just a shame about the showers / toilets.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janeywoo 3 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from 4 night break in Sands le Mere, was concerned initially as the tent field appeared crowded and I am not used to that, I like my space. On arrival discovered hubby had not packed the tent pegs so had to go and find some in nearby Withernsea, luckily found a hardware store but cost me 8 quid for 20 pegs, also had no mallet but managed to borrow one. Once set up I felt a bit better about the site but there was a massive storm just as we got the last peg in! Thunder and Lightning and massive hailstones. Was fun to watch but a little worrying also. The toilet block on the field had no loo paper for the 1st day but luckily we had our own, just embarrassing walking down the field with a loo roll in hand!. For the amount of people they were clean enough. We were lucky with the weather once the storm had passed it was hot and lovely, great feeling to sit outside tent with a brew early on and watch the world go by.

Didn't use the pool so cannot comment but other campers told us it was great. The shop was quite poor, no cooking oil, no bags to carry shopping in and no passes for the leisure centre as they had run out! Not major issues just little niggles. The beach was a 5 minute walk away and was lovely, the weather was hot but a nice breeze on the beach which was needed. There was a lot of Police presence and a woman was arrested from one of the statics, there are some statics next to the tent field, but overall no problems. We are early to bed but the noise at night was not really disturbing, it seemed to bate off at a reasonable time, woken up 4 times by tent nooky noise, I am just jealous!

Overall we had a nice break, if it was nearer to me I would go again but at 3 hours journey could find somewhere nearer. The price was good though at 84. 00 for 4 nights with electric. Nice site and worth the money, lovely fishing lake also and some nice ponds full of ducks and ducklings. Most people were friendly but as always you get the odd ones who are completely hemmed in with wind breaks.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ibro64 4 reviews from this member

Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

New complex is fantastic.

The Pool and Life guards who run all the pool activities are excellent

The entertainments staff are very good and work hard

This site has a lot of potential. BUT.

On arrival at our pitch we found that due to the free for all and no rules or regulations that we could not reverse or manoeuvre the caravan onto the pitch and had to manually handle it into position. This was due to the amount of vehicles parked. This included one pitch having two cars two motor cycles and jet ski on its trailer. The regular one car per pitch rules didn't apply. The pitch was average size, caravan and awning fitted snuggly with (1) car parked across the front no problem.

Site itself was clean an tidy, but again for the minority of pitches with several gas canisters, disused bbqs, small tents and items left around insecure.

The evening entertainment for the children was v. good enjoyed by my two little ones 6 and 8 this finished around 2130. The short walk back to our caravan was well lit. I was surprised to find the security gate that was fitted didn't work. This allowed free access to the whole site. We found the noise from the entertainment complex was a little intrusive and continued well after midnight we had a pitch furthest from the complex thankfully, some were literally next to it and I don't know how they copped with the noise. Due to the lack of a security gate we found cars turned up late at night and noisy gatherings into the early hours were the norm. People appeared to just turn up and stay the night at will. I find this strange as the site must be loosing out on revenue as you paid for the pitch and not the people this answered the question of tents at the rear of caravans, this just exacerbated the problem with vehicles causing obstructions. There appeared no security to monitor this. But again no rules were enforced or apparent. To add to the noise we found people had brought pets with them, not the regular dogs but large parrots the squawking adding to the noise problem.

The beach was a short walk away from the touring pitches and was v. Good and never crowded. The showers and toilet block were adequate, clean and tidy.

As previously mentioned this site has so much potential if it had a few rules enforced.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pippa13 2 reviews from this member

Upon arrival the sea mist had rolled in. This is our 3rd time camping. We were not disappointed we pitched up and had wander around the park. The park is lovely and everyone is friendly. The entertainment complex is great and my daughter found George I think his name is George very funny on stage. The swimming pool is great with sauna and steam room for the adults. The only negative comment to make is that there needs to be someone to clean the changing rooms on a regular basis to remove excess water off the floor. The toilet and shower blocks are fine and are cleaned twice a day. Will return back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 21 reviews from this member

We went here for a weekend away. The site is ideal for families with plenty for the children to do around the site with the added bonus of the swimming pool, being relatively close to the beach and having a play area. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the food served in the main bar was fine. Showers and toilets all fine for the touring pitches.

Because our motorhome is a bit long we had a pitch on the touring site which was next to the area for the tents and directly above the children's play area, which meant it was a bit noisy. As we arrived late and only there for 2 nights it was not worth asking to move.

Great site for families, not right if you are a couple looking for a quiet weekend away.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chunky the monkey 6 reviews from this member

This is second time we have visited this site the last time was August 2012. As I stated in my previous review the facilities are immaculate but one big let down this time. The noise from the clubhouse was booming out until 1 o'clock in the morning making it impossible to sleep. We did not have any problems with this on our last visit. Apart from this we found the campsite very noisy. Also all the rubbish bins were overflowing and needed emptying. Considering all the expense on improvements a bit of cash should have been spent on sound proofing the clubhouse.

Previous     29 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0938