Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sand Le Mere

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Sand Le Mere
Seaside Lane
Tunstall
Roos
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU12 0JF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01964 670403

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
5m  10m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 34 Reviews
              7/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Waynew 2 reviews from this member

Overall the campsite is tidy and quite modern as the owners have spent a considerable amount on the main building. Tourer field is clean and tidy and statics seem to be decent, pool is small but suitable for young children. Entertainment is limited and cheap as you would expect, nothing for adults to do unless you drink, couple of pool tables and a penny arcade all in quite a confined area. Now for the negative bit, camping field for tents is a disgrace, very dirty, ground is appalling and pitches are crammed together no space for playing or parking your car. Think again before camping at this site. Site very secluded nothing in the immediate area except for a golf course but you can't play if you don't have the correct foot wear. We certainly won't be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shell78 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 night weekend stay at Sand le Mere. The location is lovely and remote, which we liked, but maybe not good if you want explore the surrounding areas. They seem to have spent a lot of money on their reception and entertainment building, which gave a great and reassuring first impression. We were immediately told the toilet block on the tent pitch was out of order, but were directed to others we could use. The tent pitch itself was a little crowded, and we were practically on top of the tent behind us. We made the best of it and managed to squeeze the tent on. The redirected toilet block, which we were told wasn't far, was in fact a good 5 min walk away, so with 4 children needing the facilities at different times, I seemed to be constantly walking to and fro. They were clean on the friday, but come Saturday they were smelly, dirty and hadn't any toilet paper.

The indoor pool was a definite hit with the children. The changing rooms were modern, clean, spacious and most importantly warm! We all used the showers here, as they were infinitely cleaner than the site ones. There was also a small indoor play area, coffee shop and small supplies shop. We couldn't fault these facilities at all. We didn't use the restaurant, bar or evening disco, but heard it loud and clear in our tent til at least 1am.

The biggest drawback of our stay was a large group of campers who spoilt the experience by shouting, swearing and fighting at 4am. They eventually topped it off by racing a car around the camp site drunk. We felt extremely vulnerable in our tent, and the whole site was woken up. The police were eventually called, but didn't make up for how scared we'd all been. The management never came to see if we were all ok, or offer any apology. Needless to say, we won't be making a return here.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Snap 12 reviews from this member

A nice site and very popular. The pool and beach were a hit with the grandchildren. We never used the club but we could hear the acts from our van. Parking on the site needs policing cars parked in front of vans made it difficult for people to reverse onto pitches and in some cases getting off as well.

Most vans had two cars parked to a pitch. The serviced pitches are good, but the waste water drains would have been better sited at the rear of the pitch. The toilets and showers are ok but there, s only three of each. They were mostly clean but there were times when they could have done with cleaning more often. But it was due to some of the users rather than a fault of the site. The staff were all very good and polite. This was our second visit and we will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 2 reviews from this member

We visited here mayday bank holiday and if I'm being honest it was a gem of a place, our children 6 and 2 years loved it too. We could see where it may fall down at busy times as we were camping and if the allocated pitches were full it would have been a little crammed for our liking and there is only one toilet block with three toilets and three showers, these were clean all times I visited. The kids clubs seemed well run with activities all day long, the swimming pool was great and clean if not a little cold for the youngest but the eldest had no issues. The evening activities for kids seemed everything you would expect also, cabaret both nights was professional. The short cut path from the camping field to the main complex was one drawback as it had some small steps and was loose gravel, not ideal with a buggy but that said could not fault any other walkways on the park. Overall we enjoyed our stay, it had a nice feel about it for a large park, drinks pretty fair priced, food fair priced and not bad. Would go back certainly!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sv246 14 reviews from this member

Just returned from Easter and on the whole we were quite impressed! Obviously they have spent a lot of money on the place and it makes a very good leisure complex. Kids entertainment was the usual stuff but both nights the star turns that were advertised were replaced by mediocre acts so we didn't stay long. Unfortunately we were able to listen to it till after midnight whilst lying in bed!

Toilet block and pot wash for tourers has an inadequate number of showers, toilets and sinks (I think the one in the tent field is being replaced) so is in constant use making cleanliness, loo roll and hot water a lottery!

Bar prices standard, food looked good but we didn't try it. It's advisable to ask for tickets for swimming as it is popular and this guarantees your places. Pool clean but cold and scarce baby changing facilities.

Shop poor and pricey, Aldi in Withensea only 10mins away.

A pull-in for tourers at reception and a more accessible water waste disposal would make it even better for tourers.

The Bengal Lancer in Withensea recommended for good curry!

All in all would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rdoylie 2 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here in August 2013, 3 families. Site was lovely, you can see they have spent a lot of money on improving the facilities, that is apart from the camping facilities. Ground was like concrete (not their fault) so ensure you take some good strong pegs as the small ones were of just no use. Showering / Toilet facilities were probably the main thing which let this site down, there is a block in a portacabin (nice and modern) however they seem to flood all the time. You are best using the wooden hut which is by the touring field. Pool was fantastic, kids loved it, entertainment was the usual holiday camp type but a good sized room. All in all a great holiday, just a shame about the showers / toilets.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469