Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Grande Sologne

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

La Grande Sologne
Rue Des Peupliers
Nouan Le Fuzelier
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41600   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 254887022

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
1m  5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 165
Open: 1st April To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
              9/10 from 21 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire N 9 reviews from this member

We used this site, which is just south of Orleans, as a stopover on our way back up to Calais after spending 3 weeks in France. It is a large site with a lovely lake which you can fish for free! There was only one toilet block open as it was coming to the end of the season. The facilities are clean, but a little bit tired. They would probably benefit from some refurbishment. Can walk into the village where there is a small supermarket, bakery and a couple of bars/restaurants. This is a perfect stopover site and we would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maztony 4 reviews from this member

This is our fourth year here we love it, this year we just stayed on site next year we are going here first then tour further on, if you like fishing its great, the children will have a lovely time on the play ground, the super markets are close by Maria will order bread for you if you wish. A lady comes in the week with a van and makes crepes and lots of other things. The restaurant is very good and there is a bar if you don't want to go out. The pitches are very flat, loo blocks and washing up area are always clean.

There are ducks on the lake and now they have one Swan looking for a mate so any swan flying to France stop off here you won't want to leave you will be well fed by Bill.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleagarr 8 reviews from this member

Mum and dad and three kids (7, 5 and 3) visited here at the end of a summer in France. Have to say compared to other reviews here we were not impressed.

The owners were lovely and the shop was adequate but many of the facilities were tired - loo seats needed replacing, the showers were grubby and some of the areas around the lake (the table tennis and seating areas) were worn. The crazy golf was a complete waste of time.

There is a not a pool on site which is not made completely clear on the website - you have to walk across a small parking/park complex to get to it. This is fine but not as convenient as if it was actually on the site itself. There is a nice village within walking distance with bakery and butcher but not much else to do in the area.

The site was not overly busy and seemed to be being used as a one or two night stopover on the way south for most people. There was a freezer for freezing bottles etc.

This site was not terrible but at £130 Euros for four nights it felt very expensive for what we got. We would not return here again, especially as there was a free aire du camping car right outside the site!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hymerman2 6 reviews from this member

Good site, Marie is a very pleasant and helpful receptionist with good English. There was two toilet blocks open, the one nearer reception the more modern, toilet paper supplied!

Nice lake hard to fish, but whilst there a guy landed a 44lb mirror carp, no photo taken, Marie was most disappointed.

Water tasted good and high pressure delivery.

Village has a well stocked Casino mini-market.

Very convenient off the 2020 road.

ACSI used

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 17 reviews from this member

Used as a stopover on the way to Millau, not booked and found through acsi book as we travelled down France.

Lovely warm welcome by the lady at the desk, told to pitch where we liked other than lower field to left as wet after rain and we have a twin axle van. Loads of pitches to choose from and close to facilities.

Facilities very clean and of good standard. Two pin electrics but plemty of bollards to use. Good playground not that we need it but of a good standard.

Close to town centre and a lovely park with statutes and the story of the village along with tennis courts and swimming pool. Would be good as a place to stay and not just pass through on the way South. The village proceeding it (North of it) had good cheap supermarket fuel which could be done with unit attached but easier once dropped van at site and good supermarket too.

All in all a very nice site with lake and good facilities, would use again

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlanGlynSmith 5 reviews from this member

Oops. Forgot to submit this review from May/June 2014.

Stopped over on the way down 1 night and was so impressed stayed for 2 nights on the return.

Marie is lovely speaks excellent english and is happy to let you try your french!.

Basic facilities but always clean. There are laundry facilities (tokens I think), a nice fishing lake that the dog swam in, although it was steep sided and difficult to get in and out of so beware. There are ducks that wander around the site and red squirrels. Don't have kids so no comments to offer re children's play areas etc.

Re dog walking, we ended up taking her around (and in!) the lake then in to town as Marie said the local landowners, especially Mr Dassault (as in 'Dassault Systemes') (lots of money) don't like anyone walking on their property so close off public rights of way and pay thugs (sorry, employees) to walk around with guns looking menacing! Allegedly.

However she did say that there is a park not too far away that, although, there are 'no dogs' signs, everyone ignores them! Very French

There are 2 patisseries in the village (which is very nice and quiet saw a couple of restaurants) 10 minute walk for croissants and bread in the morning. They alternate early morning opening times. The one in the corner next to the mini casino is probably the better.

You can hear a couple of town clocks striking (about a minute apart, so don't know if there is a story there?) during the night which adds to a lovely ambiance.

Mature large trees (not sure what kind) so permanent shade in most areas. Bill is a an expat and the handy man nice chap. Euro two pin sockets required.

We called Marie from our main site down south (she is an absolute star), and she booked our dog in to the local vets for her pet passport worming. Vets was just the other (north) side of town (35 euros) very modern very helpful vets.

Located just off the A71 but need to come off north at Jct3.

If travelling south go down to Salbris and join the A71 there. Careful of the one way system we turned right just past the canal/river not in town. Google streetviewing it first helps.

Accepts ACSI.

Only negative was the high speed train line on the other side of the main road. But as the name suggests its over very quickly!

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Loire Valley   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1055