Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fisherground Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07580125952

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
              8/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamjp 1 review from this member

Just returned from a nine night stay at Fisherground and would heartily recommend it. It's great to go to a site that allows campfires and our children loved the playground and rafting lake. It's a great base to explore the western Lakes. The staff took great care about finding pitches that spared the grass, wouldn't get too wet, were near a campfire position and faced a good view - they clearly care a lot about campers enjoying their experience on the site! And the enforcement of the 10. 30pm noise curfew was a winner for me!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GemDeanBill 3 reviews from this member

1st time at fisher ground this year. We had the most fantastic experience. Great facilities, beautiful setting and so much for the kids to do without it being a holiday park. The staff were all extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. We cannot wait to return for a longer stay in the future! Compared to other campsites we have visited, Fisherground is more expensive, but we were happy with the value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhi+Gav 11 reviews from this member

Ok, let's start with the positives, of which there are lots! The site is surrounded by hillside which leaves a big open plan field with plenty of protection from the elements! A gorgeous outlook from well laid out and flat pitches. Pitches come with a fire pit which is a nice touch for the cooler evenings and the wardens come and empty them daily ready for your next use of it. Wood is available to purchase at the reception area. The shower and toilet facilities were good and cleaned regularly throughout the day. It is 50p via a coin meter to use the showers but it was hot and lasted for a good period of time, so worth it! The hair dryer in the bathroom was free to use and of decent power. There was a small queue for the shower on our first morning as there are only 4 but later in the day it was clear. The miniature steam railway line runs across the back of the site and it has its own stop, perfect for going to visit Dalegarth or Ravenglass in the other direction, without having to use your vehicle! It was a popular attraction! The site is close to Scafell, which is why we were there so anybody looking to hike, it is a 25 minute drive away from the Wasdale starting point, although be careful as the roads are a bit dicey! The King George VI pub is a mile walk (10 mins) from the site and the food was fantastic, with plenty of ales on tap! All great, now onto the negative. We'd had a pig of a 6 hour journey to get there. We arrived at the same time as our family members who had travelled from a different part of the UK. Having not seen them in months and keen to stretch our legs we didn't check in straight away and chatted near to reception. We were approached by a female warden and asked if we were checking in. We advised that yes we were but we're just having 5 minutes. 2 minutes later she reappeared saying that we had to check in as we were holding up other people! We were in no hurry and they could have just checked in the other party ahead of us. We felt rushed and harassed which was totally unnecessary. Post check in and payment (which was expensive!) she then proceeded to make us wind down our windows so that she could emphasise the site rules, particularly focussing on the no noise policy after 22:30. We must have looked like a lively bunch. We all found her to be very rude and discourteous which resulted in a very flat arrival - not the welcome we are normally used to when camping! Later, once pitched we proceeded to erect the gazebo we had brought with us. The lads took it into an open space to put it together, clear of the other tents and the van in our area, she appeared from nowhere to advise that she had thought we would have been more thoughtful to our neighbouring campers if we were going to sit under it later that evening and suggested that we move it. We advised that of course we were going to move it into our own area but simply using the space to put it together! It may not seem like a big deal but she had such an attitude it made it feel more like a concentration camp than a family camp site! A real shame when there were so many other positives about our stay. This individual really needs to learn some customer service skills and learn not to judge a book by its cover. We have been camping for over 10 years and are always particularly mindful of our neighbouring campers and adhere to site rules but this was just ridiculous! It really spoilt what was otherwise a very lovely break.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Horsesitch 13 reviews from this member

This site is primarily for tenting campers. The valley is attractive and the train station is very handy for travelling up and down the valley. Although the toilet block is very modern, it's not cleaned very well and one of the big negatives is that it's 50p to take a shower! Well actually it's £1 if you like a reasonable shower as it runs out pretty quickly. Whilst we were there a couple of wardens had a major row in their caravan and sounded as if they were fighting physically! Finally, as I pull a car with my motorhome, I was astonished to be charged for an 'extra car'; this has never happened to me in this country or across France. I would never go to this site again

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fast but dim 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a Friday night, for one night.

Very organised on arrival, pre allocated pitch, great location and facilities.

Pros.

Location

Excellent shower block

Professional staff

Large pitches

Superb for kids (fires and play area/pond)

Cons.

Allocated pitches

Quite a few rules.

In all, an excellent site, in a great location. Good value too.

Not my cup of tea (too many rules. I'm a farm campsite lover) but my 14 yr old loved it.

I'd definitely go back, but maybe with a group of families.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camogirl- 14 reviews from this member

Had a nice 4 night stay over Easter.

They put us on a pitch next to the rocks outside the toilets very noisy and rocks busy with kids climbing on them. We had been previously told there was no electric hook up available but were some available. Toilet block kept very clean with lovely showers. These are 50p but have plenty of time to wash hair etc. There is use of a washing machine and dryer if needed and freezer for freezer blocks only. They do have a drying cupboard for shoes but is always full with kids trainers for wellies.

The Steam railway has a stop at the top of the campsite (times available on site) which can take you to lots of different places and is the option of sitting inside or out. Walk to shop is along a very busy road would advise walking on foot paths/ getting train or driving, there is no site shop. Only phone reception is EE WiFi is available in the café in Dalgarth.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikers r us 2 reviews from this member

Our camping trip was done 'on the fly', we arrived just before cut off point 9pm. Nice point was the vehicle to show us where to go. We are usually pretty self sufficient and do not have to worry about a near by shop. [but a pre-order of milk, bread, eggs, would be superb]

Our stay was end of august for 3 nights. We did Scafell, parked just passed wha house, on the left.

Limited facilities for drying, though I do appreciate its a more family non hikers climbers place, as foot warmer 'cupboard' was full, of children's shoes nd a few walkers shoes. No more room for my pair.

The camping green areas, well kept.

Kids and barking dogs not my thing. [just a point] but could be great site for said.

Teeny shower space - doing the dry hop and shuffle. That's camping! Glad for the hot water.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 33 reviews from this member

This was not our typical camping trip as this time we were helping with a Duke of Edinburgh expedition weekend. Our students were across many of the Eskdale and Wasdale campsites but the staff based themselves at Fisherground for the weekend.

Overall our impression of the campsite was favourable. The welcome was friendly, the washrooms were as kept as clean as could be expected - though would struggle with numbers if the site was very full, the firepits were being used by many parties and the atmosphere was very child friendly. Showers are 50p. The hairdrier in the ladies was broken. There were washing machines, tumble driers, a freezer for ice blocks and a boot drying cupboard. It was quiet from 10. 30pm to about 7 the next morning. The site was level with cut grass. I can't comment on the drainage as it didn't rain over our stay. We were able to park our cars very close to the tents but I can imagine that you will be need to be prepared for a longer walk if the site is full.

Please take note that there is no shop on site - there is a small village store selling all the basics about a mile away but it is a difficult walk on narrow roads without a pavement. There are plenty of pubs and cafes in the valley plus the wonderful little steam train to keep young and old amused. There is walking straight from the site - riverside strolls to high mountains.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burscobilly 6 reviews from this member

The site is set in a beautiful part of the Lake District. Views from tent are spectacular. The site is a good 10 to 15 minutes from the main road.

Prior to arrival we paid a deposit of £10 per night over the phone and there was a £2 booking fee.

On arrival we were guided to our pitch. We had opted for no EHU and were shown to a pitch in the middle of the big field. We were encouraged to pitch closer to the camp fire than we would have preferred. Most of the EHU pitches we right next to the road and we were glad to be roughing it.

There are no pitch boundaries and we were glad of our wind breaks if only to give us some degree of privacy.

Other people arrived later and it did feel as if we were being jammed in like sardines. Having played car and trailer Tetris with all our kit, we were now one of the Tetris blocks ourselves. Tents were arranged in a back to back formation so we were not directly facing anybody, but it felt very cramped and even finding your way to the perimeter path meant walking uncomfortably close to other tents.

We were instructed not to drive on the grass which meant repeated winding walks around other pitches to get to and from the car carrying our kit. We were allowed to park our trailer next to our tent which was fortunate. We were asked to move our car to an overflow car park away from the tent. We could not see our car from the tent. Some campers were allowed to park their cars on the perimeter. By night 4 we rebelled and parked our car on the perimeter.

The pitches were flat throughout the site as far as I could tell.

Camp fires are allowed and this gave the site quite an atmosphere. There was a chap came round selling logs, kindling and marshmallows. A bag of logs was £5 and kindling £1

The facilities were woefully inadequate for the number of tents that had been crammed on site. During the bank holiday weekend we were told they had over 200 tents on site. The toilets were generally clean, but only 6 loos and 4 showers in the ladies. 1 hand dryer & 1 soap dispenser. The toilet block was cramped and very poorly laid our with the hair dryer and mirror directly outside a loo, so you were constantly moving to let folk in and out. There was a free hair dryer, but nowhere to plug in your hair straighteners. I had to queue to use the loo and queue to wash my hands and then queue to use the shower.

Only six washing up sinks and due to queues in the loos, people would clean their teeth in the washing up sinks. No laundry area, so hand washing also took place here too. Queues to wash up too.

The chemical disposal point was basic with a high up push button cold tap, which gave a jet of water at quite a force. Not practical and not terribly hygienic and then a queue to wash your hands afterwards.

There was one very small chest freezer with a broken lid. We use the bigger ice packs and we would find these and others were removed because of a lack of space. I would rather have paid to have guaranteed frozen blocks. The local shop sells ice at a price of £1 per kilo bag. We ended up relying on this.

There is no shop on site and in order to return to site with still frozen ice it meant driving and then parking up some 1000 yards away from the car. Whilst the shop might be described as a short walk away, in reality it is a mile from campsite to shop along a busy country lane with no footpath, so you need your wits about you if walking, especially with small children. The shop in the village was well stocked and we used it on a number of occasions. The site is quite a distance from any supermarkets.

The play area for children was exciting for our seven year old, with a pond and swings and ropes and things. The area was popular and noisy.

There was no room to play football or any other ball game without hitting tents. Most sites will leave some green space, but not here. Our tent was repeatedly bashed by footballs and apologetic children.

The site staff will ask people to be quiet after either 10 or 10:30, and people sit talking in hushed tones around the camp fire. We had no bother with rowdy groups because this is a family orientated site and generally once it went dark the little folks went to bed and the adults sat around the fire. We met other like minded campers!

The Ravenglass & Eskdale Steam Railway has a stop at the campsite and the trains run regularly. It cost us £11 return for 2 adults and a child on the train to travel down the line from Fisherground to Dalegarth. A lovely cafe at the station with reasonable prices and plenty of walks to enjoy. There is a lovely river and plenty of picnic opportunities. There was also a pub within a short walk, although we did not go there.

Mobile phone signal was limited to EE subscribers as mentioned on the sites website. There’s not a hope with O2.

Whilst we enjoyed the location, we (and all the other campers we spoke to) would not stay on this site again during such a busy time. The site was very definitely overcrowded and people were constantly having to walk between and around pitches to get back to their tents. The facilities were insufficient for the numbers of people on site and when given a central pitch, it was difficult to carry your gear to and from the car. If this site was not in the heart of Eskdale and such stunning scenery, they would struggle to justify such high prices in return for such poor facilities. Whilst we enjoyed our time here, we would be reluctant to visit again, unless we could get a pitch of our choosing and the facilities were improved to meet the needs of the high numbers of campers using them. I'm sure that if you could visit outside school holidays, this site would be truly amazing, but this review is based on visiting at peak time and being subjected to the misery of overcrowding.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ThisImp 1 review from this member

We stayed here April 2016, at the time there were maybe 8 - 10 other tents on site so very quiet all round. You can see from the way the fire pits were laid out it could get very busy in summer.

The children loved it, the small one (5) especially loved clambering over the rocks and rafting on the pond, the big one (14) loved being able to make smores over the fire and both really enjoyed the location which is great for walking whichever direction out of the main gate you go.

The only downside is no shop, we only stayed 2 nights which gave us only 1 full day in the area (Friday night to sunday morning) which we spent a few hours in the morning playing around the campsite and 6 hours walking the big hill behind the site and down towards Boot, and didn't much feel like walking in the opposite direction or driving or otherwise taking time from the limited time we had to go find a shop. Given that we ran out of gas & milk a small shop on site would really have been helpful.

Wardens were friendly and helpful, the toilets were cleaned at least 2-3 time a day even with so few people on site, and the shower block was getting a new lick of paint as we were leaving even though it looked well kept to me already. They even walked around to see if anyone needed to use the facilities before they closed them for painting which was nice.

The King George IV pub is just a couple of minutes walk away and does huge portions of really good pub food which was very welcome after a long hike - the fish & chips were fantastic and just £35 for a family of four to eat.

We will likely use this site again in future as there's lots in this region to do & see which we couldn't do in the time we had, and its ideally placed with the halt stop for the train.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055