Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Croft No 2 Caravan And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Croft No 2 Caravan And Campsite
2 Eoligarry
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5YD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01871 890327  or  07772487169

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m 1m  1m  5m   1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
              9/10 from 26 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (9)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept five caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. You must be a Club member to use this site.

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterandjean 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending another 2 weeks on this tranquil campsite which has been improved since our last visit in July 2014 with the addition of a shower room with toilet, wash basins and washing machine, excellent facilities. A very warn welcome from both Mary and Angus and excellent home made cakes and scones from Mary too. The corncrakes are still in residence in the adjacent fields. Looking forward to a further visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 11 reviews from this member

After changing our caravan for a motorhome we decided our first trip would be be to the Outer Isles. So we took the ferry from Oban and found this site. It has fantastic views and is very quiet. The road from Castlebay was quite narrow in places but we had no problems with our 7. 14 m motorhome. There is a large shower block with three showers and a kitchen area. It looks as this was previously a house and was converted by a DIY enthusiast! The rocky/sandy beach is an easy walk although when we were there there was a thick covering of sea weed at the high tide mark. If you want to stay a few days take everything you need as there are no shops/pubs close by. The owner was very friendly and came down each night to collect the fees - 14. 00 including electric in May.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna g 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from another wonderful stay at this fantastic site. My stay here, was made more incredible, as I got a chance to see for myself, the very rare and difficult to see corncrake. Heard the corncrake on many occasions, this is the first time I've actually seen it. There are no fewer than 4 breeding in the long grass, behind the campsite. Had a lovely sunset walk out the road to the community owned turbine, which is located a mile from the site, this walk is a must, as there are wild birds, otters and seals can be seen. The site owners are near completion of a toilet and shower block, which will be an added bonus in my mind, to this site. This site is located in a very sheltered spot from most wind directions. The views from the site are unspoilt and breath taking, long Sandy (desserted) beach at the bottom of the site, just ideal. Looking forward to returning to this site in July, for two weeks.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smc33 2 reviews from this member

Found this campsite on this website, read the reviews and booked in. This is a fantastic campsite, situated in a beautiful area of Barra. Very tranquil with breath taking views across the bay. Woke every morning to a stunning sunrise! The owner was friendly, helpful and felt like an old friend who was full of information of places to see, visit and local knowledge/history. Although this site has basic amenities it just made the visit even more of an experience! I would recommend this site to anyone wanting to stay on Barra. We chose to stay in accommodation in Castlebay on our final night and both wish we had stayed at the campsite instead! We will definitely go back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The lazy camper 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at croft no. 2 for four nights in July 2014 with two teenagers, one of whom camped in a tent adjacent to the van. This is simply the most beautiful spot on Barra, with direct access to the beach and views across Barra sound. We windsurfed from the beach, which is a perfect flatwater location and safe in a southerly. When the wind dropped, I canoed and spotted crabs on the otherwise spotless sea floor. We could hear the seals 'singing' across the bay, something I had not experienced before.

We were made to feel very welcome by the owners of the site and having not really done many small sites before, I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly it was. You really need your own facilities here as there is just water, hook up and chem disposal point, which is quite basic but I would recommend this site to anyone who is wanting to visit the western isles, or outer hebrides as they are more often known.

We would all love to re-visit this spot again in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterandjean 3 reviews from this member

We spent 10 fantastic nights on the Isle of Barra which were enhanced by staying those nights on Croft No2. The warmth of the welcome from Mary was perfect after a long drive and ferry crossing. Mary's baking prowess has been mentioned elsewhere on this page and we can confirm the quality, what a bonus. The location is superb only a very short distance from the beautiful beach which goes on for miles. This is a limited facilities site but does have electric hook ups and is on a well cared for lawned area with fine views across to Erisscay. There is an adjacent building with a dining table and chairs, information, a washing machine and tumble dryer. Nothing is a problem here, just ask.

The Isle of Barra is a delight, uncrowded, peaceful and the people are very welcoming. Don't be shy about joining in any of their events, this is a really close community and welcomes participation from all. The beaches and countryside a stunning. You can walk for miles on a beach and not see another human. We saw dolphins, minkie whale, otter, golden eagles and a huge variety of smaller birds, most evenings we would hear the corncrakes in the long grass behind our caravan, wonderful! Wild flower are in abundance with a good mix of orchids.

Vattersay a small island to the south and connected by a causeway should not be missed. Lovely views and beaches. Don't miss the tea room in the community hall, great cakes!

In Castlebay there is a Co-op, a bank and a small variety of other shops with free WiFi in the community shop. Various places to eat out if required around the island. We also bought fresh fish from Barra Atlantic the local fish processing plant, very cheap and straight from the sea. Barra airport is well worth a stop off as you pass by and has a good cafe.

We will be returning as soon as possible.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0430