Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Airhouses Certificated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Airhouses Certificated Location
Oxton
Lauder
Borders   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)


Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches: Site Closed from 2017
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
              8/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyefoster 4 reviews from this member

The positives of this site, are wonderful views down the valley towards Lauder, a shower cubicle and w. C.

Spacious pitches each with EHU and water supply tap.

On the negative side:

The mile long farm road has numerous deep potholes that are difficult to avoid, especially when towing, and extreme care must be taken to avoid damaging your car/van/motorhome.

Beware! Not mentioned on their website, but, if you have visitors, (even for a short coffee visit), you will be charged 5 per person (inc young children) plus 5 for their car! which seems over the top as this is additional to an already pricey 20 a night CL.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are glad you enjoyed your 9 day stay at Airhouses. To address your negative comments, the one mile drive has had a considerable amount of money spent on it but there are a few potholes appearing. As this now part of a Court Action, we can do little in the way of repairs until after October. However the actual access to the Caravan Park is pretty good over all and certainly better than a lot of the Council roads!

Our terms and conditions when booking are very clear about extra cars and visitors. You opted for the low occupancy discount which is for two people. If you had not taken the discount your booking would have covered 4 people, one car and one caravan. We are not just a Caravan Park. We are a working farm and also have lots of different animals for guests to enjoy. We have lots of little Shetland ponies, alpacas, llama, pigs, hens and bantams. All of these can be fed, taken for walks etc. by guests. We and our guests also value the peace and quiet at Airhouses and if we had no control over the numbers, as I explained to you, then there is a chance we could lose this. If everyone had 3 extra people at one time that becomes a lot of additional people, cars, wear and tear etc.

Your visitors were coming for lunch and wanted to take the animals for a walk. All this is obviously free to paying guests so we do not feel 5 per person is unreasonable for visitors at the height of the season. In addition there are very few places you can park a car for 5 for a few hours. So we hope this explains our position

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplemadboy 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, very peaceful and with beautiful views (especially from the welsh pool pitch). As others have said huge pitches, water at each pitch though not on the service side (explained on website)

Portaloo and portashower are spotless as is the site. There is also free wifi.

The only slight downside is the mile long drive that is covered in loose chippings, you can't drive an faster than 10mph without splattering your car with stones. In saying that we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lottydog 19 reviews from this member

Have just come back from a wonderful Easter spent at this site. So very peaceful and well kept. Pitches are very large and as an added bonus have water. The one toilet was kept very clean. We did not use the shower would have been a bit chilly first thing in the morning. But again it looked very clean and tidy although a bit on the small side.

If you love wildlife and farm animals this is the site for you. We saw deer & hares, one of which ran right across out pitch. We will definitely be back next year.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macy 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful views, very remote, well kept pitches, did not use toilet or shower but they were very clean. Had a great day out with our grandson at Edinburgh Zoo and Vogrie Country Park. Walked into Oxton one afternoon very pleasant, took about 45mins with pushchair and had a drink at the pub before an uphill climb back to Airhouses.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 155 reviews from this member

A site of two halfs.

Good points. We enjoyed the total peace & quiet, the sound of owls, the pretty views, the free-range hens visiting for scraps, the efficient online booking, relaxed helpful owners and the high spec hard stands. These were huge (no. 2 Well Field was about 18m deep and 10m wide) and with enough grass between to fit in other pitches: it felt very roomy. For us, the individual stand pipe and TV point were luxuries.

Pitch no. 1 gets the best views, the most sun in the evening (the sun goes behind the hill that the site is cut into) and is the most exposed; No. 5 is the most enclosed by trees; pitches 2-4 grade between. The access track up from Oxton was not a problem. Dog walk on open fields not being used by livestock (as advised by the owner) and the access track verge.

However, the portaloo and portashower are basic. They are clean (and well ventilated) but lack electric light or background heating - you need a torch to use the loo or shower at night; the 'beach hut' for changing is cute, but there's no escaping the fact that there's open air between the hut and the free unlimited hot water of the shower. On similar sites, toilet and shower may be together in a portacabin or timber garden chalet as a family room where the tourist leaflets, book swap etc are dry, with a towel rail for background heat. But this does need capital investment, and I guess that's gone into getting the pitches right: the toilet and shower feel temporary. If your unit is self-contained, the shower isn't an issue. Otherwise, we're happy to recommend the site. 18 with 2-person discount, 20 without.

Plenty to do locally - Border towns with different characters, houses & gardens to visit, rivers to walk beside, rugby to watch, and some great golf courses.

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Borders   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5218 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec