Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 241 Reviews
              9/10 from 241 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  241 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 156 reviews from this member

Lovely, friendly welcome on this campsite. The office was closed so booking in was at the farmhouse. They allow you to arrive anytime after 9am (if you've checked your pitch is available the day before) and there's no kick off time!

We had booked a hard standing pitch in the first section and it was all ready for us.

Water points all close by. Bins with recycling at the rear of reception. Small shop on site with limited opening hours out of season.

The central toilet block was always clean and as the site was quiet we never had to queue. Our only issue with it was it's in a converted barn and it has no ceiling so you can hear everything that's going on (if you know what I mean) from the ladies to the gents and visa versa! Not pleasant sounds sometimes! There are 2 family rooms at the rear, one with a shower and one with a bath but the same goes with the 'noises' from elsewhere! There is also a laundry and some under cover dish washing sinks.

The site has a fantastic pub right opposite (the Red River Inn) and the food is superb in there, best we had all holiday. Great choice of local real ales and ciders too.

There is a bus stop also right outside the site to Hayle but it didn't seem to run very regularly.

The walks straight from the site are fantastic, straight onto the dunes and beach at Gwithian Sands overlooking Godrevy lighthouse and St Ives Bay. At Godrevy there's a little National Trust café, small and expensive but good. Also a little further along the coast path towards the lighthouse is Mutton Cove where there is a colony of seals. Well worth the walk up to the cove.

At £20 per night for a hard standing with EHU and free, very usable, WiFi we thought Gwithian Farm was excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky goes camping 2 reviews from this member

This is just a great campsite. We were very impressed with the layout of the site as the hedging gives a little privacy and the facilities are really good. The sea is just a short walk over the dunes or an even shorter drive.

We ate at the pub this first night, three minutes walk away, with a great menu and also dog friendly, but took advantage of the visiting pizza van the next night - very nice pizza, almost as good as my husband's! We were also delighted to find a bakery selection available in the morning outside the reception/shop as a breakfast treat.

We attempted a walk to the beach one evening but decided the pub was calling us instead. It would be a great spot if you had a dog as the dunes looked like a fabulous area for walking.

Not far away there is a big Lidls for supplies and also a small shopping mall for those of us ladies who cannot pass up an opportunity to browse.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

Yet another fantastic few weekends at Gwithian farm with Clair, Mike and the staff. First weekend was just us and the dogs and it was superb, even got tanned despite the forecast, second weekend the lads and lasses joined us for the 'Lads weekend', a chance to all get together again and enjoy kite buggying, games and general good times, and then the following weekend on our own again ready to bring the caravan home. As always the welcome and assistance you get was second to none, and having such excellent facilities is a godsend.

Locally you can shop in the nearby Lidl, Co-op or Asda at the other end of Hayle, as well as the usual village shops etc. You can park the car and forget it once you have your food sorted, as the beach is a short walk away, just across the road from the entrance is the 'Red river' pub serving excellent food, booking is advised due to its popularity.

I can't praise the site enough, pitches are very generous and the setting is superb, try walking up onto the dunes from the top of the campsite and watch the setting sun, its superb.

Don't hesitate, look no further if you want to take the worry out of finding the right campsite, just book with Clair and Mike!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeper17 3 reviews from this member

This is our second stay at this campsite in two years. We use a tent for our stay and we have had electric and nonelectric. On this occasion we had no electric as we were testing a solar battery system.

We have stayed in June on both occasions for about 10-11 nights. No children no pets.

We booked well in advance as it is quite a popular spot and it is no wonder as most things about the site are very good.

We arrived at about 10:30am and we were fortunate enough to be allowed on to the pitch straight away as it was empty.

Site Placement :

The position of the site is truly lovely with a nice open aspect and access, via a footpath through farmers fields, to the beautiful Gwithian beach and cliffs. In June you almost have the beach to yourself and a lot of dogs. Sunsets are lovely and a walk onto the dunes is a nice way to end the day. The SW coastal path is accessed via the site and over the dunes. We walked a little of this over to Godrevy and to where the seals haul up the rocks with young. Again wildlife, wildflowers and dog walkers are ever present.

The pub across the road “Red River Inn” is a lovely pub serving good food. Me being a little tight, l thought the Cornish Gold Cider quite expensive at about £3. 60, but that could be the going price. Recommend you book in advance, we did indeed book in advance unfortunately they lost our “booking” however they did manage to accommodate us.

There is a lovely nature trail not far down the road on the opposite side and we visited this on several occasions. Lovely to see the wildflowers and birds all doing their thing.

Hayle itself has a ridiculously large and obscenely placed Asda on the harbour side and a Lidl is easily found. Philps pasties are also a must whilst here.

Pitches :

We have stayed on the “dog leg” area of the site at the top end near the footpath to the beach.

Decent sized pitches at around 10m x 10m and the ones we have used all have been nicely mown. Most of the pitches have some sort of privacy barrier by way of plants or shrubs which we do like a lot. Some of the pitches are split into two units sharing a double pitch with only privacy on one side so you can be close to one set of neighbours.

Where we were, the pitches have a two way slope but are flat. It can be a little strange and would possibly make some unsteady on their feet, wasn't too bad for us, but would like it to be a little less of a slope for sleeping.

The pitch we had is backed by hedging. It can be a little windy due to the placement on top of a hill but we are happy to have this as the sun is present and not blocked all day until a lovely sunset arrives.

The site is very well maintained indeed and I can only imagine the time spent on keeping everything “just so”. Booking in on arrival was fast and easy. We were given two codes for the internet access.

Toilets/Showers :

Seem to me they could not do much more as, when we have stayed they are both clean and queue free. Plenty of hooks are available to hang things up and the free showers themselves have plenty of hot water which is activated by pressing a button now and again. They are housed in a large purpose built building and are cleaned regularly with plenty of the necessary items always available. Like all sites some people struggle to leave the facilities in a manner in which they would like to find them, but that has nothing to do with the owners. My wife and I did notice a few issues with items not working properly like taps only letting a dribble out and toilet buttons for flush missing, but have confidence that the owners will notice and in time have them repaired.

Laundry :

(same building as toilet/showers) There are washing machines and driers to use at a cost

£4. 00 per wash and 50 per 10mins in driers.

Washing Up :

(same building as toilet/showers) There are several good sized sinks and drainers around the back of the toilet/shower block. They are open but covered and also boast an unending supply of hot water. Excellent.

Wi-Fi :

This is patchy at best and I gave up trying to figure why I could not gain access despite being connected sometimes, whilst never being able to use the internet.

Feel Of The Site :

Relaxed, hard working staff, well kept, stunning location, very dog friendly. Party place (particularly weekends) Family friendly with the centre of the field for children to enjoy. Mediterranean feel to me due to the seating, lighting and lovely planting.

Pro’s :

Fantastic setting, both placement of the site and the site itself.

Large and semi private pitches

Immaculate, organised and tidy site

Facilities just superb

SW Coastal path easily accessed

Nature reserve just up the road

Owners are very helpful and the gentleman owner is very hard working

Morning pastries are fab.

Food vans that come onto site give good options for campers.

Good pub across the road.

Con’s :

Site Rules not enforced

Dogs run around not on leads

Dog muck had to be picked up twice outside our tent door, by me.

The path leading to the dunes and beach is full of dog muck and can be smelly. Pooh bags all over as well as mess in the fields.

No dog bins provided in obvious areas

Campsite rules state only two dogs per pitch, but many had three and some had four.

Dogs peeing around our pitch with one attempting on the tent!

Regular parties till 1-2 in the morning, despite rules stating no noise after 11.

Can turn into a car park when groups come in cars and vans for surfing and weekenders.

Groups of 20-30 somethings playing ball games around pitches.

More and more hard standing pitches creeping into tenting areas.

A few sightings of vermin were seen on site but is this something that is on all sites?

Conclusion

Absolutely lovely site with everything that you could need. Stunning sunsets, nature, walks, beaches etc. The gentleman owner is very hard working and the others are a good support to the many tasks they must fulfil to gain such a high standard, sadly a couple of things impacted on us in a negative way and it did affect our stay. It started to dawn on us after 4 or 5 days that we were feeling that we had booked a stay at a dog walking centre. It was truly a constant, and having to pick up dog mess around the tent is just not something I want to do on holiday. It was almost funny as a few owners thought is was OK for their dogs to assume the position right in front of the tent whilst we were eating breakfast. I feel the site has to take some responsibility for this as the sheer amount of dogs permitted onto the site was too many, and we felt it was having a negative effect on both the hygiene of the site and it’s surrounding habitat. When a site states “dogs on leads” and “two maximum per pitch, ” this is something a person bases their choice of site on, it is a little unfair to make rules and not stick to them. The walk over to the beach via the farmers fields was horrid, with dog mess evident on the edges of the ploughed fields only punctuated with the many discarded poo bags. In such a stunning part of the world we felt the site had to take some responsibility and look at this issue. If the site changes their description of what is accepted and allowed that is OK with us, as at least you can make your choice to stay there or not.

The other issue that impacted on us was the groups of people turning up in cars and vans to have a “party” until the early hours. Many just slept in their vehicles or had small pop up tents. I suppose they think “well it was only 1 night of noise” but trouble was it became a string of several, and one particular night rowdy groups carrying on into early morning.

We are by no means “strictly 10pm and bed” and will stay up late ourselves however, we do realise that there are others around us that don’t want to be disturbed by noise, therefore we try our best to keep the noise down. To be honest it was not confined to youths as many middle aged couples and groups enjoyed 1am “chatty” social times.

Our tent was hit with footballs (not by children playing) I use a wildlife camera and a solar panel that was also hit with a football.

We did also encounter others that did have a great appreciation of their surrounding and impact on others and these times of peace were enjoyed.

What we would state is that I would imagine that depending where you are staying on the site, will determine whether you could be with canine friends or noise issues, and sadly we were on the way up to the “Dog Crap Alley” so anybody taking their dog for toilet breaks had to walk past the tenting area up there.

I am hopeful that the site owners have a look at these issues and I am certain, due to their care of the site, they will resolve it either by updating that they allow more than two dogs per pitch and that they do not have to be on leads, or make sure that the rules are adhered to.

Owners to be little more pro-active around the site relating to noise and behaviour would be great as the 22:30 quiet time was flouted.

I thought we were being a bit too concerned and made to feel a grouch until a dog walker was walking past us up the hill and said to his dog, “I know pal, how come you have to be on a lead when others aren’t” as another dog not on a lead, came bounding up to his dog. I thought it must be more frustrating for responsible dog owners.

We reluctantly on our last couple of days, took the decision to look around for other sites for next year's visit to Cornwall. My wife and I both felt rather annoyed that we had to find another place, as it offers all we want, but it was so frustrating to have to pick up dog mess and have so many noise related issues. Gutted to say farewell to such a beautiful camping site and the hard work the owners go to keeping it that way. We hope to have reason to come back in the future though.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessacarr 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this friendly, well run campsite. The site is kept immaculately clean and tidy as are the shower blocks. The only slight issue was that there was often a queue for the showers in the mornings and the water pressure was somewhat reduced when all the showers were in use. The pitches are spacious and are separated by hedging and Pampas grasses which gives some privacy which is a nice touch and adds to the attractiveness of the site. Food vans visit the site most evenings. We tried the fish and chips which were delicious. The pizza and Mexican takeaways were also very popular. We thoroughly enjoyed the fresh croissants and pastries which are delivered three times a week.

The beach is only a 10 minute walk away and is absolutely stunning. We would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vicdominy 1 review from this member

I'm not sure I can do this campsite justice in a review but I will try.

I have been trying to get my husband to do family camping for the last 4 years but have it has always been a firm 'No'!

This year I decided to just book it all (borrow everything including the kitchen sink) and tell him to get in the car.

Initially we were worried about summer traffic on Cornish roads but Gwithian Farm campsite is only 5 mins drive from the A30 so our journey was easy, if you can ever call the A31, A35, and A30 easy!?!

Upon arrival we were greeted like old friends, told where we needed to go and how the campsite was set up.

Our pitch was a standard grass pitch for tent and was 10x10 with natural plants etc making a border.

There is a large facilities block housing male/female showers, an accessible bathroom, a family shower room, and a family bathroom (for under 5's). There is also a coin operated laundry room too. The back of the block has a large row of sinks for all the washing up.

The bathroom area itself was good. 8 shower cubicles, 8 (maybe 10) toilet cubicles and loads of sinks.

The area was kept reasonably clean by staff but there is an owness on campers to tidy up behind themselves. Sadly this seemed to be missed on a few people.

Importantly, there was ALWAYS hot water for showers or washing up.

There is a walled off area that contains a table tennis table, a large sand pit, and caged guinea pigs. Children can pet the guinea pigs and feed them. There is also a central recreation field that most children play on.

It's a 20 minute walk to the beach but it's a safe walk so easy to do with children. The beach is gloriously! The kids had an amazing time! We were very lucky with the weather so actually managed 4 days on the beach out of a week!

The campsite has a shop which is well stocked and (surprisingly) inexpensive. There are also a selection of large supermarkets close by if you need to stock up.

6 nights out of 7 food can be bought on site from private drive up stalls. We had the fish & chips which were great but the was also Mexican on Thursdays, pizza on Mondays etc.

My husband (the one that didn't want to come), made sure we'd booked in for next year before we left!

I'm looking forward to trying the Mexican!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 30 reviews from this member

Gwithian Farm has been in my virtual brochure for a while now. We'd not been to this part of Cornwall in over a decade and wanted to also take my 73yr old Dad away with us. After checking the reviews again we booked our week earlier in the year.

We didn't leave home as early as we'd planned so arrived late afternoon. On booking in we were greeted by name. Apparently we were the last caravan to check in! Our welcome was friendly and relaxed and we were given a map of the site, shown where our pitch was and also the best way to get to the beach from the site.

The pitch was spacious with a gravelled hardstand and plenty of room for our car and awning. Pitches were separated by low level sections of fencing and planting. The park was immaculately kept and clean and tidy.

We stayed in the lower area of the park so we were closer to Reception and the washblock. The showers ran warm from the time the button was pressed unlike some which take 2 or more pushes to bring them up to temperature. They were also spacious with no curtain (to stick to you!) and a shelf and hooks to hang clothes and a towel from. I never had to queue despite it being main season, but then again I often showered fairly late in the evening.

As others have said, catering vans visit the site all week. We had fish and chips from one of the vans on the Sunday and later in the week - they were delicious and freshly cooked to order. There was also a pizza van, pasty van and a mexican themed food van. So, if you don't want to cook some nights you don't need to.

The pub 'The Red River' is just across the road but we never managed to get there. There is also a seafood restaurant and another cafe/restaurant (Sunset Surf) nearby, but again we didn't manage to visit them.

There's lots to do in the area. We went to Paradise Park one day which is in Hayle (about a 15 min drive) and we also visited St. Michaels Mount at Marazion and walked across the causeway as the tide was out. We also visited The Minack Theatre which is well worth a visit even if you don't see a production or play as it's worth going for a daytime visit for the views alone. The waters are so blue and there is also a beach at Porthcurno.

It's a beautiful part of Cornwall and we'd certainly return to this campsite in the future.

Thanks for a lovely, relaxing stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badger 2k 1 review from this member

Had a brilliant time at this gorgeous site. We stayed for 8 days and from day 1 Mike and Clair were outstanding with their help in making sure we were happy with the pitch etc. Really quiet site and had brilliant weather (supplied by the Cornish tourist board for the holiday makers). We took our 2 dogs with us and I must admit the dog owners who were there made sure everything was kept clean. Children have a great time at this site with the Childrens play area. Overall we were very pleased with this site and the family who own and run it. Many thanks for the week of stress free relaxing guys. See you again shortly

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeriousSerenity 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of summer, and wish we'd had the chance to stay for longer as it's a lovely campsite in a great location. Check-in was hassle free and the friendly staff were very helpful in providing info about the site and surrounding area. There's a well equipped shop which will kindly charge phones and an enterprising fresh coffee service in the morning! There are food vans which turn up in the evening, although we never tried them, and the pub opposite the site is an added bonus. The shower and toilet facilities are wonderfully clean and modern, and the whole site is clearly very well looked after. It was a pleasure to stay here and for the facilities available, including wifi, it was great value for money, especially considering it's so close to the beach.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JCWB 6 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at this site for six nights. We were well received and given our pitch with a site map provided which showed all the sites relevant information. The site itself is on a gentle slope, with plenty of room on your pitch for an awning if you wish. It is very well maintained and in very good condition. The toilet block is excellent with plenty of showers, toilets and sinks etc. Plenty of hot water to use also. There is a shop on site which provides an adequate list of essentials with fresh bread etc. A fish and chip van, and a pizza van visits the site so you have other eating options. The staff are very helpful and willing to answer any questions you may have. You can walk through the site and over the dunes to the beach if you wish or you can take a short drive and park your car, there is a charge to park your car. We visited places around Gwithian including St Ives which we prefered. For eating options you will find it difficult to beat the Red River Inn which is directly across the road from the campsite, a great change from having to walk half a mile or so or drive to the pub. It has a very good atmosphere and serves excellent food and ales at reasonable prices with accommodating staff. Dogs are very welcome too if you need to take your pooch along. All in all a very nice site and would recommend as have previous reviewers. I didn't see a playground for the kids but there is a large grassed play area in the middle of the site and there are animals to feed.

Previous     241 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996