Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Balloch O Dee Campsite And Trekking Centre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Balloch O Dee Campsite And Trekking Centre
Kirkcowan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 0ET   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07967666908

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  10m  5m  5m  1m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans 40 tents plus indoor accommodation
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 28 Reviews
              10/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (21)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggydiggypoo 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights to explore the 7 Stanes MTB trails nearby and this site is ideally located for that. Its got a large field to pick your pitch, and decent facilities (4 toilets/2 showers). Numerous firepits are available if you like and the owner is quite relaxed about pitching up first then coming to find him. I enjoyed the isolation of this site and at night it is in a dark skies area so on a clear night the sky is beautiful. Locally there isn't anything so no night down the pub (unless you drive/get driven!) but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Also quick thumbs up for Kirkcowan Cycles in Newton Stewart, my bike broke and they fixed it quickly and for a reasonable price. N/a from me for kids as I don't have any!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 199 reviews from this member

A great site if you like quirky and back to nature. Don't bother if you want regimented rows and club type hardstandings. The facilities are lovely, kept very clean. The horses which roam the site are no problem, they don't attack! they will come to the caravan door for an apple.

The single track road from the A75 to the site is no problem, there are plenty of passing places and a good view of the road ahead. It's quite a way from anywhere of course, Newton Stewart has Sainsburys and Aldi next to each other near the river and 2 garages.

The site is the second property after the second cattle grid, don't turn into the first by mistake (yes, we did as someone mentioned that they couldn't see a sign, but there is one now).

A site to recommend as a stop over before the ferry or for a few days. 20 per night which we thought was worth it.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EllieBee 3 reviews from this member

We stumbled upon this site as the signage wasn't terribly clear from the road. We were greeted by numerous barking dogs. However, don't be put off! If you like very squeaky clean c&c club type sites then this may not be the place for you. It has character and we liked that.

A big attraction for us were the animals on site. Free-range chickens, dogs and ponies! The chickens were quite noisy at times, but interesting nevertheless. The dogs loved to bark at cars coming onto site (even the postie!) but they were very friendly - our children fell in love with one of the West highland White terriers who loved her morning tummy rub! The ponies were wonderful. Very free-range - they roamed the site, occasionally coming very close to the tents (don't leave your rubbish bags outside!) and my children loved them. The site owners were very helpful and allowed the children to groom and pamper the ponies in the Ranch block - a big hit!

There were around 4 loos, 2 of which were in HUGE rooms, almost too big just for loos! Nicely presented with characterful touches. A separate block accommodated the other loo/s + showers - again, not a c&c club presentation, but very characterful.

Camping was set out across 2 fields, the smaller one being closest to the loos/showers.

Great campfire facilities and wood to buy on site for 5 a bag. We took a day trip to Portpatrick and the coast.

We enjoyed staying here and the kids are keen to return to pester the ponies again!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Celtic1 12 reviews from this member

We arrived at this beautiful site. On a very windy day. And would not have been able to put up our tent (because of the wind factor), had it not been for the owners and some of their helpers.

This is a beautiful. Laid back. Well thought out site, in a wonderful location. Offering fantastic wild views.

Loads of free range animals, turkeys. Ponies. Chickens. Ducks. And dogs. All of which are very friendly. Although the turkeys can be a bit temperamental.

I have never been in such a dog friendly site and so long as your dog is animal friendly. You do not need to put it on a lead. It is however dogs that have caused me to mark this campsite down. The owners numerous dogs wonder around. And there did seem to be quite a lot of dog mess. Three freshly laid ones outside out tent. And quite a bit. Near the washing up/toilet area. Really unpleasant.

The showers are the best I have ever used. With loads of free, hot water. There is however. No way of regulating the water temperature. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets. All of which are unisex. 2 Washing up sinks are also located inside the shower/toilet block as well as 2 outside.

The site is very child friendly, with a trampoline in the big field, which proved very popular with the children. Children are encouraged to interact positively with the animals and if they find any duck or chicken eggs. They are allowed to keep them.

Amazing dark sky at night. And we got a clear view of several constellations. One planet and the Milky way. Absolutely wonderful!

The nearest shops are in Newton Stewart. Which is 15 minutes drive away. Where you can find both a Sainsburys and an Aldis.

This is a lovely campsite in a lovely area. Just need to watch out for dog mess.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roux 1 review from this member

Visited balloch o dee campsite in October 2014, we were the only people on site due to the weather. This campsite is a credit to the owners, the toilet block/showers were extremely clean and lit at night by candles. Due to the weather we had to take our tent down in the dark, James offered us the round house to sleep in that evening which was extremely kind of him he had lit the fire and candles so the room was warm. We cannot thank you enough for a great weekend and would not hesitate to return either camping or to stay in the wonderful roundhouse. If you are looking for a campsite to chill out on, then this is the place.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TearDrop Camper 1 review from this member

How refreshing, instead of the usual 'camp here, don't do this, don't do that, . ' I received a simple 'Welcome to Balloch o Dee, find a spot you like and get yourself settled in' as I pulled into the yard.

A real farm atmosphere with chickens, turkeys, ducks, dogs and horses all wandering around along with a few free range campers.

Toilets/Showers are always clean even though they can be quite busy at times, showers were hot at any time of day and there isn't the dreaded 'closed from 11-12 for cleaning'.

The views are outstanding, I challenge anyone to get bored of waking up to the view of the fells and the distant mountains. Sunrises and Moonrises over the fells have to be seen.

The owners are friendly and helpful, they give you all the privacy you need but are never far away should you need some help or information. They have perfected the fine art of not having a load of rules, but still ensuring everyone's needs are respected - no rules, just a few 'guidelines for harmonious living.

Not sure about the surrounding area - I managed to spend all my time on site apart from an odd trip to the shops. Nearest shop is about 4 miles away in Kircowan, nearest supermarket is 8 miles. You wouldn't want your peace and quiet shattered by nearby shops anyway.

This site has just become my de-stressing hideaway. Kids running around having a great time, I can let my dog roam free (now that he's chilled out about poultry) so long as I clean up any deposits he leaves, and a quiet beer around the campfire in the evening. PERFECT!

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec