Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site
Lyndhurst Road
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 622967  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 226 Reviews
              8/10 from 226 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8)

Reviews:  226 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola D-L 2 reviews from this member

We booked last minute, which wasn't a problem at this time of year. Amazing location within the New Forest. Close to Brokenhurst to walk there if you want. We just explored the woods and walks going straight from the campsite- perfect!

It is right off a main road- so you could hear the cars on and off through the night, even at the side of the campsite that is furthest away from the road. However, for a weekend trip in this location it didn't really bother us as we spent whole days out away from the site. I wouldn't want to stay for a longer period because of this.

Facilities are fine, what you'd expect from a family campsite- clean and easy. At this time of year, not very busy at all for showers/ wash up.

Would recommend for great location and the awesome spectacle of seeing the wild horses grazing in the beautiful surrounding fields (worth venturing out at first light for beautiful views!).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteH48 1 review from this member

We are just back from a great 4 day stay at Hollands Wood. Site, staff, facilities and weather all brilliant but we were amazed at the number of irresponsible dog owners present on the site. Despite the rule of dogs to be kept on leads at all times there was little evidence if this. We witnessed dogs chasing small ponies, barking dogs, a long way from their own tents/caravans, barking a other campers trying to have a meal outside and some very noisy dogs barking during the night.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Houghie 1 review from this member

Very friendly welcome, let in straight away even though we were earlier than our arranged time.

Good choice of pitches and being able to pitch pretty much anywhere was a bonus. I could see this being an issue of it was very busy though, especially with the 6m gap.

Toilets and showers very clean and plenty of them so no waiting even at breakfast time.

Lovely area, very helpful staff when enquiring about cycle routes.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tammie2878 6 reviews from this member

Really nice site that felt like proper camping. I like the way you can choose your own pitch. Wild ponies just roaming freely through the site which was amazing. The site got really busy though as we were there for good Friday. The people who ended up next to us didn't have volume control or realise that swearing wasn't really acceptable at full volume. The shower and toilet block was clean enough. Loved that the cycle trails and footpaths were straight off the site, no busy roads to cross or cycle down. Would definitely go back there but probably not during busy bank holiday weekends. One thing that is not good was the cost. Very expensive site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thecurrantbun 5 reviews from this member

Arrived at this delightful site without any form of pre-booking as we saw it on Google Maps and decided to give it a look. Glad we did as it's a lovely clean site, set back quite a way from the road so very peaceful and accessed down a tarmac lane past fields of sheep, happily grazing on the fresh green grass.

The receptionist was extremely pleasant and soon had us booked in for the night, 22 for hard standing and hookup for the 2 of us. Quite acceptable for the Easter week. The pitch was newly laid concrete and very level, surrounded by grass so ideal for windbreaks etc.

One side of the site (which we stayed on) was dedicated to the hard standing area, while the opposite side was a large open field, neatly cut and surrounded by trees and a hedgerow. Didn't see a play area, but then to be honest I wasn't looking as it doesn't apply to us.

Toilets and showers were first class. I can honestly say that these were the cleanest, brightest toilets I've seen on a site with lots of hot water on tap. Water points were dotted across the areas, while the washing up area and black waste where all integral to the shower block area.

Weather was so nice we ended up staying an extra night, but this opens up the next observation. Come stocked up as there's no shop on site, so make sure you bring plenty with you. There is a town a few miles down the main road, so a bike ride away, however if you're like us and have someone disabled on board you need to bring sufficient for your stay. We did and it wasn't a problem, but just so you're aware.

Lovely site, definitely be back if we're in the area and would recommend for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Iggycamper 31 reviews from this member

Not a normal campsite - e. G. Pitch where you like (within the 20' rule I guess) in the trees - no hardstandings but sandy soil quite well drained. Very dog-friendly. Wild ponies abound - our granddaughter loved it! Facilities quite good but very busy. No electric hook up but we were fine for 3 days or so. Brockenhurst about 1/2 hour walk away - pleasant village with fairly decent shops and cafes etc. On way is a popular 'beach' by river on LHS - plenty kids playing there! Good hotel next door if you fancy a 'posh meal'. Site not cheap tho'.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SweeneyCamp 1 review from this member

This is our first camping experience as a family, so it is difficult to compare to other sites. Check in was easy enough and the staff were friendly and welcoming. We did have a minor problem with our pitch, but a polite chat with the manager and the problem was easily resolved with reasoned compromise on both sides. Once settled we had a great time, the site is large but calm and peaceful at night. The facilities are good with clean toilet/shower blocks, dish washing with constant hot water, they also have a laundry room. The site itself is set in a lightly wooded area, very pleasant! and even in the wet never really got muddy (Probably because the ground is mostly leaf matter). The site is well positioned to explore the New Forest and is close to Lyndhurst which has a small supermarket for picking up essentials. We didn't explore the local pubs as we travelled with family and enjoyed a drink and chat at the site. There are no electrical hook ups on the tented part of the site, but this was not a problem.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adriancherry 3 reviews from this member

We pre-booked which was a good idea as it made checking-in quicker and easier.

Access was good, although you do come upon the sign post a bit unexpectedly.

The wardens were smart, polite and well informed.

The site itself was wonderful. The loos and showers are first class.

Ponies, jackdaws, squirrels and chaffinches all visited and we also heard an owl at night.

Very dog and child friendly.

A treat to visit and we will be returning.

No electrical hook-up but that wasn't an issue for us.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pitchpuller 1 review from this member

Booked the night before a predicted sunny weekend which was great for last minute availability. Found a large enough pitch for our three separate parties to arrive and set-up. Facilities are basic - no shop, no designated children's play area and no electric hook-ups but as advertised so no shock! The shower blocks are modern but I suffered cold water for every shower (despite varying the times of day I went!) My wife assured me she always had piping hot water though so perhaps it was a short lived problem for that block (it was the top block)?

Walked to Brockenhurst but was a little tricky with the pushchair (we have three children under 5 so travel with a lot of junk!) The longer walk back via the river and woods up to the New Forest Showground was better.

Nice woodland site but road noise was intrusive - would be greatly reduced by pitching on the Eastern side of the camp but there wasn't the room for us all to pitch there on this occasion. One point to note is that we couldn't let our children roam too far due to the quite busy tracks to the pitches and the reduced visibility in the woods; not a show stopper but made letting the older ones cycle their bikes tricky.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shaylee 3 reviews from this member

We Stayed here during May bank Holiday. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in advising where to pitch, despite it being busy we had plenty of space. Our little one had plenty of opportunity to build dens, go exploring and meet the wildlife namely ponies. You can have BBQ's and have a proper camping experience. The facilities are ample, clean and showers better than we have had at other sites. We would definitely go back. It is in an excellent location for exploring the New forest and there are major supermarkets not too far away. They don't have electric hook up's but they will change ice blocks and sell milk. Really close to Bulmer's Lawn (you could walk to it, apparently about 30mins) and the fab river which you often see people playing in.

Previous     226 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0586