Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Hollands Wood Camping In The Forest Site
Lyndhurst Road
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01590 622967  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 600
Open: 26 March - 28 Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 233 Reviews
              8/10 from 233 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8)

Reviews:  233 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba649 5 reviews from this member

I used Hollands wood campsite as a base for our D of E group on friday the 3rd of July.

It was a mixed bag with staff, some were nice and polite on the gate then not when met through the campsite, some were nice and polite throughout.

The campsite was very busy, but they have a 6m rule between tents which should ensure a bit of peace.

However, as a D of E group, using 10 tents, that had pre-booked, we were told that there was no space for us in the 'usual' pitches, so we were put into the 'no camping' area called the 'toilet compound'

At several points other members of the campsite approached us and either stated we shouldn't be there or told us to move, where-upon we had to, politely, correct them!

We attempted to adhere to the 6m rule and were asked to move a couple of tents which we did, however, it was very easy to see that around us, 'non-d of e' users hadn't adhered to the rule, but also hadn't been asked to move!

As the leader of the group I gave a 'safety' brief to the group including noise, disruption but also feeding the animals that are free to roam around the new forest, but on the saturday morning some horses came into the 'toilet compound' whilst the students were cooking and eating their breakfasts and when attempting to move the horses away, were given a stern talking to by a member of staff for petting them and encouraging them into the area.

It felt as though we were caged animals!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stevehagger 4 reviews from this member

The site is set in the forest itself amongst the trees which is very nice. The tracks are loose stone tracks which the kids could ride bikes on without any fast traffic. Brockenhurst is a short walk or drive away and has shops and pubs. There are nearby forest tracks for bike rides and walks. It's a nice site. The toilets and showers were clean but the showers are very small with no benches so getting the kids changed was difficult. The site does have a lot of rules which they tell you as soon as you arrive. And they do seem to insist that campervans can only have a proper driveway awning instead of a small tent for storage this is not the case at other sites. The site is also a bit pricey.

We had a really good time and despite those minor thing I would recommend the site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Malteaser red 7 reviews from this member

We stayed for the Easter weekend. Drove into the site where we were greated at the gate. The lady took about 15 main telling the rules of all the things we are not allowed to do. It wasn't really a great welcome. We had arrived about an hour early so were made to pay and extra 3. Most other campsites usually just allow you to go ahead and enter, but this rule was very strict, and although its only 3, the actual booking fees are quite high for this campsite, so it did annoy me a little.

I'm honestly not one to usually moan, but there are so many rules which I did follow and adhere to. But I did see other campers breaking them and the campsite staff don't seem to enforce them.

The showers and toilets were clean. Although half of the shower and toilet blocks were closed, even though we were camping in high season over a bank holiday.

The campsite is a nice one with seclusion amongst the trees and bike or walking tracks just leading off with a nice large field for ball games etc.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smg1 3 reviews from this member

Good clean site, great showers, big site but due to the layout does not feel big, staff really helpful and friendly and very close to village.

In was after the school Holidays so some of the showers did need some maintenance work, it was just soap dishes missing that type of thing.

As the pitches are in between the tress rather that a big field you do feel as you are really in the forest.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scorpion2168 1 review from this member

We have been here a few times now and will be going back twice next year. I love not having uniformed pitches and being able to sit and watch the wildlife around, this year I got up to the toilet at 3am and saw deer going through the park it was amazing, the staff have to be amongst the most friendliest I have come across in my 15yrs of camping. The only down side is the road noise but the site makes up for it, and I did find there was a lot more people here this year and felt everyone was on top of each other which we hadn't felt before. I have children from late teens, autistic and toddlers who come with us at different times and they all enjoy it here, and we have made friends with other campers who come back every year as well. I would recommend this site to anyone who loves the wildlife and the great outdoors young or old.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donna44 4 reviews from this member

The magical thing about this campsite is it's location.

Camping wherever you find a nice spot makes such a nice change from row upon row of pre-allocated pitches.

The upside of Hollands wood is that you can cycle or walk straight into the newforest paths and cycleways without having to drive there first and the marked out paths make great map reading practice for the kids. Also the animals wandering about make it special.

The downside of Hollands wood is the road noise. However, this is masked slightly by the delightful sound of the birds tweeting above. I suppose the close proximity to Brockenhurst and Lyndhurst means the road has to go somewhere and it is bearable for that reason.

Top tip: You can burn bbq fuel at your tent then turn it into a fire by using 'eco logs'. The site shop sells them for 3. 50 but does run out of them. If you head into Brockenhurs and head left and the 'high st' junction (fish and chip shop on your left as soon as you turn), up on the right there's an Aladdin's cave of a shop called 'Streets' where they sell the same eco logs for 2. 50 and have plenty of bar-b-que stuff as well as other hardware items.

I think Hollands wood staff are terrific, very security minded so you feel like all your worldly camping goods are safe. They're also very high visablity (in a good way, especially for those with lost offspring etc) and were helpful and polite at all times.

If you want a peaceful camping experience, don't camp next to the tent only area near to the middle toilets/shower block as the area seems to attract larger groups of tented families who may have rather a lot of cars and subsequent noise.

It's not the most sociable site if you fancy making new chums on holiday as people tend to keep themselves to themselves or simply socialise within their groups but that is not a good enough reason to give the campsite a black mark.

Will return to Hollands wood at next opportunity.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bayleaf1 3 reviews from this member

Arrived just prior to most schools breaking up so we had five nights of a lovely chilled campsite, we managed to find a lovely spot, the staff were friendly, the facilities adequate and the location was great.

On our last night, a Saturday, the crowds arrived in their hoards, the rule about camping within 6 meters of other campers was ignored (no fault of new campers who had no choice as had to go somewhere) and the facilities couldn't cope, queues for just about everything. I was really glad we were leaving the next day.

If numbers were cut slightly they could have a much better site. Shame as well about having to pay to hire ice blocks on an already slightly pricey site.

Don't keep food in your tent, we did see at least one tent invaded by a hungry horse!

Lovely area to see the new forest though. A drive to the beach at mudeford quays is great and good fun crabbing.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola D-L 2 reviews from this member

We booked last minute, which wasn't a problem at this time of year. Amazing location within the New Forest. Close to Brokenhurst to walk there if you want. We just explored the woods and walks going straight from the campsite- perfect!

It is right off a main road- so you could hear the cars on and off through the night, even at the side of the campsite that is furthest away from the road. However, for a weekend trip in this location it didn't really bother us as we spent whole days out away from the site. I wouldn't want to stay for a longer period because of this.

Facilities are fine, what you'd expect from a family campsite- clean and easy. At this time of year, not very busy at all for showers/ wash up.

Would recommend for great location and the awesome spectacle of seeing the wild horses grazing in the beautiful surrounding fields (worth venturing out at first light for beautiful views!).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteH48 1 review from this member

We are just back from a great 4 day stay at Hollands Wood. Site, staff, facilities and weather all brilliant but we were amazed at the number of irresponsible dog owners present on the site. Despite the rule of dogs to be kept on leads at all times there was little evidence if this. We witnessed dogs chasing small ponies, barking dogs, a long way from their own tents/caravans, barking a other campers trying to have a meal outside and some very noisy dogs barking during the night.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Houghie 1 review from this member

Very friendly welcome, let in straight away even though we were earlier than our arranged time.

Good choice of pitches and being able to pitch pretty much anywhere was a bonus. I could see this being an issue of it was very busy though, especially with the 6m gap.

Toilets and showers very clean and plenty of them so no waiting even at breakfast time.

Lovely area, very helpful staff when enquiring about cycle routes.

Previous     233 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Win a HandiMoova and HandiDuffel combo Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015