Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site
Beaulieu Road
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 26 March - 28 Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 157 Reviews
              8/10 from 157 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emste76 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a very relaxed 4 night stay at Roundhill. After we returned as a group from the Isle of Wight due to unseasonal bad weather, Roundhill accommodated our party of 6 adults, 7 children and two dogs. We all had a great time exploring the paths and walks around the campsite. We had a very pleasant walk from the campsite into Brockenhurst. The wardens of Roundhill were friendly, and I loved the pitch where if you like at this campsite. The toilets and showers were clean with hot water at all times. The campsite on the Friday night was full and had more of a festival feel about it. Where we were pitched the children still had space to play cricket and play games in front of the tent. Probably best to stay midweek and would return but only for a midweek visit. We had no problems with aggressive ponies whilst staying at Roundhill. The campsite despite being big didn't feel like anyone was on top of you and was quiet at night, even on the Friday night where we were staying in the campsite was all quiet by 11ish.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ALord 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a lovely time. There is so much space here that you wouldn't believe that it was busy. Yes there are ponies and cattle roaming free but if you are sensible and don't leave food and rubbish lying around they tend to leave you alone and are easy to move on if need be. There is plenty of room for kids to ride bikes and you can ride off road routes direct from the campsite and in fact it looks like you can ride off road most of the way to Brockenhurst. You can hire bikes in Brockenhurst too. I can also definitely recommend the family canoeing run by New Forest Activities down the road.

Brockenhurst itself has a fantastic bakers, butchers and greengrocers - quite why they need 2 supermarkets as well (they have Tesco's Express and are soon building a Sainsbury's) I don't know. The curry house is pretty good too! (NB it's not the same one that will deliver to the campsite so can't comment on that as we didn't try it). There are also a couple of shops that stock things like camping gas if you need it.

The major disappointment with this site and the reason for the low score is that the facilities were in very poor condition with many of the loo and shower cubicle doors not shutting properly and the showers cubicles look to have been put together by Messers Bodgit and Fixit whilst the cleaning seemed to ignore the build up of mildew in the shower corners (if I can scrape it off easily with my fingernail it won't take much elbow grease to get it properly clean). The ladies did have a goodly amount of hot water but the men's I'm told were intermittent and seemed to be affected by water pressure. Hopefully this is a temporary blip as I am told the facilities are removed and rebuilt every year and one regular told me that they are usually much better. Either way you pay through the nose at C&C Club 5 star rates for 2 star quality. Very disappointing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Edthecamper 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a one night stopover last week.

The site is great, especially if you were going in a large group and wanted to make a 'base', as lot of people did.

We were just a couple in a campervan, and due to no designated pitches, there isn't a lot of space that isn't out in the open, there isn't really any quiet corners.

The shower and toilet blocks are totally inadequate when the campsite is busy. The info states it has 550 pitches, yet there are only three small toilet blocks which were in a pretty poor condition.

The wild animals roaming is a nice feature, and didn't cause any problems. All in all, if the toilets were improved we would probably stay again, but not in it's current state.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

Great site. Its a couple of miles from Brockenhurst which has a Tesco express if you need food etc as there is no shop on site. Arrived 8. 30pm on Saturday night after Reception had closed but plenty of information on shutters. Looked at fixed map to see only one toilet block open so aimed for that area. Took site map and leaflets. Toilet block had pot wash area, dog wash and male and female loos and showers accessed up a few steps. Toilet block clean. Shower cubicle has hook on door, shelf in shower and drop down seat. Site not busy and very quiet all through night. Dawn chorus started at 5am heard it because was awake anyway. Paid at Reception in morning. Discount as Camping and Caravan member. Very friendly female wardens. Showed me Freecycle area where you can leave or pick up unwanted items. Also a book swap shelf. Leaving time is 12pm but toilet closed for cleaning at 11am so keep an eye out for this. You can stay longer for a few pounds if you ask in morning. Horses started to arrive about 10am but grazed in the distance. Site good for touring eg Lymington, Beaulieu, Lepe Country park, Hythe. Overall, for me, the openness of the site had a feel of a guide or scout camp about it so very nostalgic.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnnJane 6 reviews from this member

This site has a lot to recommend it. It's spacious, and laid out so you wouldn't know it was 500 units. You can choose the more open fields or the bits among the trees. It's relatively unspoilt - a few ranger-led nature activities, but no bar or cafe, no playgrounds, just kids all over the place playing ball games or cycling. And it's right in the forest, with walks and cycles on every side. Horses and donkeys wander through at will, and yes, they did enter our tent to cadge a loaf of bread (be warned!) When we were there, there were no noisy groups, though several little villages of multiple families with similar age young kids.

BUT, when the site was full on the Saturday night, although the density of tents/caravans didn't feel excessive- the site still felt reasonably spacious - the toilet blocks were creaking - queues for showers, washing up, and at times toilets at most times of day. A shame - we don't want luxury and the absence of frills, in-the-middle-of-the-forest setting is part of the attraction - but an extra facilities block would make a big difference.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mum2fourmonsters 1 review from this member

Myself my husband and our 4 kids ranging from 15 years old to 1 year old have just returned from a 5 day stay in the New Forest on this site.

This massive site is situated well within the New Forest with both tree covered and open pitches.

The site is managed by a good team of wardens who regularly walk round clearing up litter and keeping things in order.

3 toilet blocks with showers are available across the site. Not the highest standard of facilities but had plenty of hot water (at times too hot) and soap available. We never had to queue for the showers however it wasn't as busy as it could be. Washing up facilities are at every block but no laundry facilities which would have been handy had we stayed longer.

The site is visited by ponies, cattle and donkeys every day and I will say the donkeys had been in our tent whilst we were out and a couple of the horses weren't all that shy in coming over to see if there was any food on offer.

The local towns provided plenty of shops and there is a good little supermarket in Brockenhurst which was well stocked with campers in mind.

There is no electric hook ups on site but the wardens will re freeze your ice blocks for your cool box for a small charge and if you can't live without your mobile phones they will recharge those too for a charge of 50p providing you have the charger with you.

Down sides - no family bathroom and no playground but plenty of space for them to run around and cycle about.

All in all I would highly recommend this site. We all very much enjoyed it

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Novicemummy 2 reviews from this member

What a fabulous spot of countryside for family camping! We don't need the all singing, all dancing playgrounds, facilities and entertainment type sites as are happy for our boys to just enjoy the space and freedom of the countryside outside the tent door and this site fitted the bill almost to perfection. We stayed Friday-Monday and had an enormous area around our pitch by the trees, admittedly it wasn't a peak weekend, the site couldn't have been more than 25% full, even with a number of several tent groups dotted around.

The toilet / shower / washing up blocks were basic but clean, copious amounts of hot water with soap dispensers full and hand driers were always functioning too, never even a hint of a queue. The water and bin points were well distributed too - a shame people couldn't read the massive labels on the recycling bins and threw general waste in though. There was an equipment recycling point by reception and we were able to borrow a BBQ one night too, free of charge, as there were a number that had been left. There was also apparently a food composting point by reception but only noticed the sign for this on the last night!

We deliberately booked to be there on the Gruffalo birthday weekend as their were some vague activities highlighted on the Forestry Commission website. As it was the wardens laid on and guided a brilliant nature trail / treasure hunt with birthday cake too for the children, which was beyond what I hoped would be there - they even posted a fabulous video via the Camping in the Forest facebook page afterwards.

I see there have been negative comments about the cost in other reviews - at under 20 per night for a family of 4 for 3 nights in the countryside, I am not complaining.

The only downer was the midges and mozzies although apparently this was a hazard around the tree boundary perimeters, we will no doubt be back but this time to a more open heath pitch.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennylambchop 4 reviews from this member

This was the site of our first camping outing at the beginning of the Summer, and we loved it! We have been away many times since, and it was a lovely introduction. We loved the feel of the site, it is very roomy and spacious with a very relaxed and laid-back feel. All you can hear (in general) is the sound of the countryside, and straight away we felt chilled-out, even with a tent to set up. There are some lovely paths straight out onto the forest, and some great cycle paths, and facilities are good, toilets, showers, washing-up etc. We did hear some noise from a larger group on the camp over by the water tower until quite late, I guess it would be luck of the drawer on whether they pitched next to you or not. 90% of the site was fine though. You do get sneaky ponies and donkeys trying to get goodies from your tent, the best policy is to shoo them off firmly. My partner lives in the New Forest, and they do respond best to a shout and a handclap. In general a lovely peaceful away from it all campsite, allowing you to enjoy the great outdoors!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrismo 7 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my 2 teenagers over the Bank Holiday weekend. Roundhill is recommended in a number of guides, including Cool Camping, whose arty photos as usual make it seem nicer than the reality.

A very large site, in admittedly lovely surroundings, with some pretty basic facilities.

I'm fine with lovely surroundings and don't mind basic facilities, but not with paying 32 per night for the privilege. It seems Forest Camping have the monopoly of camp sites in the New Forest, and, boy, are they milking it. We have 2 small tents, no electric. I dread to think what people in larger family groups were paying.

Despite some fairly over-officious management of the entrance, and lots of staff/volunteers around, it seemed to be pretty anything goes on the site. We found a peaceful spot back in the pines, only to be completely surrounded by other campers ignoring the 'no nearer than 20 ft' rule.

They could also do with some better segregation of groups on the site, or just not allowing large single sex groups. Ten or so oikish blokes near us kept their neighbours amused by bellowing every profanity-laden conversation, running around screaming in the woods until 11. 30 pm, and then starting up the bellowing again at 4 am. Staff did have a word with them the next night, but only after several people asked them to. It didn't stop them openly peeing against trees in broad day light, which upset my daughter. We weren't happy campers.

On the plus side, the area is lovely, with nice walks from the site, lots of wild life, etc.

Your experience of it is probably going to depend on who you get camping on top of you, and whether you mind paying a small fortune for the privilege.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdaniels06 1 review from this member

Hello all, We took our children on their first camping trip to roundhill in the New Forest last August. Cant say enough what a fantastic experience it was! It really feels like its not part of the UK. Tall pine trees combined with heath and roaming wild horses and cows, made it feel like we were in the Montana wilderness! Our girls are pony crazy so this we are are booked in for an entire week. The facilities are basic but clean and the actual pitch sites are mainly level. We have the perfect spot, but not going to say. For a real experience stay near the wood line. So many children running around and playing, felt really safe. No weird looking men lurking about. Sometimes you get a loud group but camping is cheap and everyone deserves a holiday so you get the good with the bad. Needs more water taps spread around and could really really do with a grocery on site! Overall though if you want a campsite that wont break the bank, is an experience of a lifetime for your children, and relaxing for you. Go to Roundhill! Just don't take my spot!

Previous     157 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder