Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site
Beaulieu Road
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
     

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 153 Reviews
              8/10 from 153 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  153 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnnJane 6 reviews from this member

This site has a lot to recommend it. It's spacious, and laid out so you wouldn't know it was 500 units. You can choose the more open fields or the bits among the trees. It's relatively unspoilt - a few ranger-led nature activities, but no bar or cafe, no playgrounds, just kids all over the place playing ball games or cycling. And it's right in the forest, with walks and cycles on every side. Horses and donkeys wander through at will, and yes, they did enter our tent to cadge a loaf of bread (be warned!) When we were there, there were no noisy groups, though several little villages of multiple families with similar age young kids.

BUT, when the site was full on the Saturday night, although the density of tents/caravans didn't feel excessive- the site still felt reasonably spacious - the toilet blocks were creaking - queues for showers, washing up, and at times toilets at most times of day. A shame - we don't want luxury and the absence of frills, in-the-middle-of-the-forest setting is part of the attraction - but an extra facilities block would make a big difference.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mum2fourmonsters 1 review from this member

Myself my husband and our 4 kids ranging from 15 years old to 1 year old have just returned from a 5 day stay in the New Forest on this site.

This massive site is situated well within the New Forest with both tree covered and open pitches.

The site is managed by a good team of wardens who regularly walk round clearing up litter and keeping things in order.

3 toilet blocks with showers are available across the site. Not the highest standard of facilities but had plenty of hot water (at times too hot) and soap available. We never had to queue for the showers however it wasn't as busy as it could be. Washing up facilities are at every block but no laundry facilities which would have been handy had we stayed longer.

The site is visited by ponies, cattle and donkeys every day and I will say the donkeys had been in our tent whilst we were out and a couple of the horses weren't all that shy in coming over to see if there was any food on offer.

The local towns provided plenty of shops and there is a good little supermarket in Brockenhurst which was well stocked with campers in mind.

There is no electric hook ups on site but the wardens will re freeze your ice blocks for your cool box for a small charge and if you can't live without your mobile phones they will recharge those too for a charge of 50p providing you have the charger with you.

Down sides - no family bathroom and no playground but plenty of space for them to run around and cycle about.

All in all I would highly recommend this site. We all very much enjoyed it

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Novicemummy 2 reviews from this member

What a fabulous spot of countryside for family camping! We don't need the all singing, all dancing playgrounds, facilities and entertainment type sites as are happy for our boys to just enjoy the space and freedom of the countryside outside the tent door and this site fitted the bill almost to perfection. We stayed Friday-Monday and had an enormous area around our pitch by the trees, admittedly it wasn't a peak weekend, the site couldn't have been more than 25% full, even with a number of several tent groups dotted around.

The toilet / shower / washing up blocks were basic but clean, copious amounts of hot water with soap dispensers full and hand driers were always functioning too, never even a hint of a queue. The water and bin points were well distributed too - a shame people couldn't read the massive labels on the recycling bins and threw general waste in though. There was an equipment recycling point by reception and we were able to borrow a BBQ one night too, free of charge, as there were a number that had been left. There was also apparently a food composting point by reception but only noticed the sign for this on the last night!

We deliberately booked to be there on the Gruffalo birthday weekend as their were some vague activities highlighted on the Forestry Commission website. As it was the wardens laid on and guided a brilliant nature trail / treasure hunt with birthday cake too for the children, which was beyond what I hoped would be there - they even posted a fabulous video via the Camping in the Forest facebook page afterwards.

I see there have been negative comments about the cost in other reviews - at under £20 per night for a family of 4 for 3 nights in the countryside, I am not complaining.

The only downer was the midges and mozzies although apparently this was a hazard around the tree boundary perimeters, we will no doubt be back but this time to a more open heath pitch.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennylambchop 4 reviews from this member

This was the site of our first camping outing at the beginning of the Summer, and we loved it! We have been away many times since, and it was a lovely introduction. We loved the feel of the site, it is very roomy and spacious with a very relaxed and laid-back feel. All you can hear (in general) is the sound of the countryside, and straight away we felt chilled-out, even with a tent to set up. There are some lovely paths straight out onto the forest, and some great cycle paths, and facilities are good, toilets, showers, washing-up etc. We did hear some noise from a larger group on the camp over by the water tower until quite late, I guess it would be luck of the drawer on whether they pitched next to you or not. 90% of the site was fine though. You do get sneaky ponies and donkeys trying to get goodies from your tent, the best policy is to shoo them off firmly. My partner lives in the New Forest, and they do respond best to a shout and a handclap. In general a lovely peaceful away from it all campsite, allowing you to enjoy the great outdoors!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrismo 6 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my 2 teenagers over the Bank Holiday weekend. Roundhill is recommended in a number of guides, including Cool Camping, whose arty photos as usual make it seem nicer than the reality.

A very large site, in admittedly lovely surroundings, with some pretty basic facilities.

I'm fine with lovely surroundings and don't mind basic facilities, but not with paying £32 per night for the privilege. It seems Forest Camping have the monopoly of camp sites in the New Forest, and, boy, are they milking it. We have 2 small tents, no electric. I dread to think what people in larger family groups were paying.

Despite some fairly over-officious management of the entrance, and lots of staff/volunteers around, it seemed to be pretty anything goes on the site. We found a peaceful spot back in the pines, only to be completely surrounded by other campers ignoring the 'no nearer than 20 ft' rule.

They could also do with some better segregation of groups on the site, or just not allowing large single sex groups. Ten or so oikish blokes near us kept their neighbours amused by bellowing every profanity-laden conversation, running around screaming in the woods until 11. 30 pm, and then starting up the bellowing again at 4 am. Staff did have a word with them the next night, but only after several people asked them to. It didn't stop them openly peeing against trees in broad day light, which upset my daughter. We weren't happy campers.

On the plus side, the area is lovely, with nice walks from the site, lots of wild life, etc.

Your experience of it is probably going to depend on who you get camping on top of you, and whether you mind paying a small fortune for the privilege.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdaniels06 1 review from this member

Hello all, We took our children on their first camping trip to roundhill in the New Forest last August. Cant say enough what a fantastic experience it was! It really feels like its not part of the UK. Tall pine trees combined with heath and roaming wild horses and cows, made it feel like we were in the Montana wilderness! Our girls are pony crazy so this we are are booked in for an entire week. The facilities are basic but clean and the actual pitch sites are mainly level. We have the perfect spot, but not going to say. For a real experience stay near the wood line. So many children running around and playing, felt really safe. No weird looking men lurking about. Sometimes you get a loud group but camping is cheap and everyone deserves a holiday so you get the good with the bad. Needs more water taps spread around and could really really do with a grocery on site! Overall though if you want a campsite that wont break the bank, is an experience of a lifetime for your children, and relaxing for you. Go to Roundhill! Just don't take my spot!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewsvoice 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here during the very warm July 2013 from a Sunday to a Wednesday. This was our third visit to the site and second with our now two and half year old daughter.

The site was very empty, considering the warm weather, but it was outside school holidays. It does get very busy at weekends apparently. By the Tuesday our view from the front of the tent was completely clear of anyone else which was very nice.

Facilities are reasonable with three blocks containing toilets/showers/washing up/baby change. Free showers with lots of hot water.

However on our visit they closed Block 3 on the Sunday evening as it was not busy. This effectively meant all people on the right side of the main road had to walk over to Block 2 which was a right pain. That would be my main gripe but I understand why they did it.

Ground is reasonably flat and you pitch wherever you choose. (Note we were there last year in July and there was a considerable amount of standing water at the site. Not an issue this year)

Ground was getting quite hard in the dry weather as well and required one rock peg as one of my plastic Outwell pegs would not hammer in. Made removal tough as well.

It is basically a large heathland and there are no other facilities like shop or play ground. Brockenhurst is 5-10 mins drive and has pubs and a Tesco Express.

Paultons Park/Peppa Pig World is 25 mins drive away and is very good for children of all ages, especially younger ones.

NOTE: Horses and Cattle roam the Site as it is part of the New Forest Park so do not leave food lying about unattended because they WILL nab it with the potential to wreck your tent. We got careless and a horses grabbed our rubbish bag and it was strewn over the place. A kind neighbour came to our rescue with a Water Pistol and scared them off. A good tip!

Not sure I would like it when very busy, but that goes for anywhere. We would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chtd 12 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site. I have only visited at weekends in May and June, when the site is about 1/3 full, so can't vouch for what it is like during the summer holidays. However when it is about 1/3 full there is huge amounts of open green space for games and bike riding. It means that no one needs to be pitched near someone else - you can easily be about 30 metres from another unit.

The toilets are plentiful and clean, and despite the size of the site you never need to be too far from a toilet block. There are lovely views to the Isle of Wight and access to the open heath direct from the campsite. Horses wander through the site but they are not a problem. There is a good atmosphere on site with lots of families. Everyone seems to stick to the no noise rule between about 10pm and 8am, so you get a good night's sleep.

Negatives - the toilets and showers are only cleaned once a day around lunchtime. After that they are very clean for the evening, but by mid-morning they are getting rather muddy. They could do with being cleaned more often.

The site is very expensive during Bank Holiday weekends, even the first May Bank Holiday when it is quiet.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philtutton 2 reviews from this member

Stunning site! Our first ever camping tour and we were very pleased with this site.

The Staff that welcome you are very friendly and helpful, the site is clean and peaceful.

The toilets were not working in one area and this was pointed out so that we didn't pitch nearby.

Ponies and young cattle freely roam about the site and generally do not cause any problems but do be cautious. If you have food in your tent keep it in a sealed box/bag as a pony came into our tent while we were in it looking for food. It stole some bread ripping our tent in the process and as a parting gift kicked me in the face as it left requiring a trip to Lymimgton A&E (which is very nice BTW)There are wonderful cycle routes throughout the forest and Brockenhurst is nearby and has a small Tesco.

Owls and cuckoos kept me from sleeping but that was all part of the appeal for me.

Cant recommend this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The High and Lo 21 reviews from this member

We came here on the first weekend of opening in March, for a quick opportunity to get out in our van for a weekend before Easter. The site is a large expanse of heath land surrounded by the New Forest. Ideal for getting out for a stroll with a dog or just on foot. With no fence the New Forest ponies and livestock wander through site to add to the experience. There are miles of cycle track to get out for exploring further a field. There is bike hire in Brockenhurst.

The site is a couple of miles from Brockenhurst which has plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and an excellent fish and chip shop. The site staff were friendly and extremely helpful and pointed to the best places to pitch on a wet site. There had been plenty of rain and the site was flooded with a lot of big puddles. We had a friend in another motor home and we were able find a place to settle the vans in a gravel area. There was a lot space but there were few other campers on the site on this chilly weekend.

The site has no organised pitches or electric hook up so be prepared to pick your own space. The toilet block are of a good standard.

Great site for a get away that is a real New Forest Experience.

Previous     153 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0586