Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Roundhill Camping In The Forest Site
Beaulieu Road
New Forest
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01590 624344

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 17 March - 26 Sept

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 162 Reviews
              8/10 from 162 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  162 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familypitcher 3 reviews from this member

This site felt like our family was going on a real adventure! We camped near trees where the children could be dens and enjoyed watching the animals roam wild across the site.

Plenty of choice of places to pitch and good facilities in the blocks. A convenient location for exploring the whole of the national forest, by car or by bike.

The welcome was friendly too.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Climbergirl 8 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite! Based in the forest the site is huge and you get to pick your own spot. Even in the middle of the summer holidays there was a huge amount of space and each unit could spread out. There are three toilet shower units and I never had to wait for a toilet or shower. They were kept clean but could do with a bit of updating. All the sinks were adult height and it would have been good to have some child friendly ones. I was impressed that there was even a dog cleaning room!

Wild horses, ponys, donkeys and cows roam the site and were even seen taking food out of tents. They are very friendly and my neice was so excited being able to stroke them.

The site had a wild feel to it with kids climbing trees and hiding in the undergrowth. It was a great place for children to play and explore!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scatcat40 1 review from this member

Great site plenty for the children riding their bikes meeting new friends staff are friendly.

Toilet/shower block clean washing up facilities are great well worth the money two weeks next year

Brockenhurst is a few miles down the road with shops and camping supplies

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hiophiop 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from Roundhill and me and the kids had a great weekend there.

Contrary to other reviews I read I found the staff very helpful and on-hand for guidance or just a friendly chat.

The site is large and rural, leaving you to decide where to pitch. There is certainly now crowding of pitches as there is so much space and the nearest tent to us was a good 30 or 40 metres away.

The site is typically New Forest with areas of grass, ferns bushes and trees to make the perfect backdrop.

Site facilities are good, but not excellent. 3 x toilet/shower blocks service the site. They are cleaned daily, but can be too busy at times for showering or using the washing up facilities. I think at peak times there just isn't enough showers for the amount of people and depending on what time you use them they can show signs of needing a clean up. On the Sunday morning I joined a queue of about 8 people in front of me for a shower, gave up and decided to do the washing up instead and joined a queue of people waiting to do that.

The location of the site is perfect for walking or cycling out from the site to the surrounding forest and maps are available from site reception.

Visited Brockenhurst which took approx. 30 minutes on a cycle track mostly route although it's quicker by road only. Nice village with some shops, pubs, restaurants and takeaways. We drank and ate in the Forresters pub and the food was very good and they serve real ale too.

My kids loved this site and the weekend we had together and we'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Npea 7 reviews from this member

Lovely stay for a short weekend in June. Weather had not been pleasant before coming down but although there was some puddling (lots and lots of very heavy rain had been falling in the week leading up to our arrival) there were still plenty of places of pitch. This is a great site to go as a small group because it is a case of turn up and choose your pitch, meaning we could find somewhere where we could group together away from others.

Toilet and shower block were in excellent condition with plenty of hot water at all times. Washing up facilities also good and everything was clean.

We went at a in between time of year so not in school holidays but it was still quite busy, however the site is big enough for lots of people so we didn't book. There are ponies and cows wondering the site which is lovely to see and the site itself is great for being in the countryside and if you had kids lots of space to play and cycle around on safe tracks.

Down side if I had to find one is the simple fact that there is so much space that it does encourage groups which can be frustrating if they are noisy but that's nothing against the campsite more the individuals themselves. However if you find a far out location and check who is around you should be ok. We thought we had achieved this and had nice quiet evenings but then discovered the Dutch people next to us for some reason choose to get up at 4:45 am instead and shout about fried eggs. There was me thinking it would be birds that would wake me up!

However as I say that's searching for a downside and don't let it out you off. This is about the fourth time I have been to this site and will be returning again, it's ideally situated for the 'real' new forest and easy to get about, they also hire out ice block or you can buy bottles of frozen water which worked well for us.

Great stay thank you!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emste76 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a very relaxed 4 night stay at Roundhill. After we returned as a group from the Isle of Wight due to unseasonal bad weather, Roundhill accommodated our party of 6 adults, 7 children and two dogs. We all had a great time exploring the paths and walks around the campsite. We had a very pleasant walk from the campsite into Brockenhurst. The wardens of Roundhill were friendly, and I loved the pitch where if you like at this campsite. The toilets and showers were clean with hot water at all times. The campsite on the Friday night was full and had more of a festival feel about it. Where we were pitched the children still had space to play cricket and play games in front of the tent. Probably best to stay midweek and would return but only for a midweek visit. We had no problems with aggressive ponies whilst staying at Roundhill. The campsite despite being big didn't feel like anyone was on top of you and was quiet at night, even on the Friday night where we were staying in the campsite was all quiet by 11ish.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ALord 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a lovely time. There is so much space here that you wouldn't believe that it was busy. Yes there are ponies and cattle roaming free but if you are sensible and don't leave food and rubbish lying around they tend to leave you alone and are easy to move on if need be. There is plenty of room for kids to ride bikes and you can ride off road routes direct from the campsite and in fact it looks like you can ride off road most of the way to Brockenhurst. You can hire bikes in Brockenhurst too. I can also definitely recommend the family canoeing run by New Forest Activities down the road.

Brockenhurst itself has a fantastic bakers, butchers and greengrocers - quite why they need 2 supermarkets as well (they have Tesco's Express and are soon building a Sainsbury's) I don't know. The curry house is pretty good too! (NB it's not the same one that will deliver to the campsite so can't comment on that as we didn't try it). There are also a couple of shops that stock things like camping gas if you need it.

The major disappointment with this site and the reason for the low score is that the facilities were in very poor condition with many of the loo and shower cubicle doors not shutting properly and the showers cubicles look to have been put together by Messers Bodgit and Fixit whilst the cleaning seemed to ignore the build up of mildew in the shower corners (if I can scrape it off easily with my fingernail it won't take much elbow grease to get it properly clean). The ladies did have a goodly amount of hot water but the men's I'm told were intermittent and seemed to be affected by water pressure. Hopefully this is a temporary blip as I am told the facilities are removed and rebuilt every year and one regular told me that they are usually much better. Either way you pay through the nose at C&C Club 5 star rates for 2 star quality. Very disappointing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Edthecamper 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a one night stopover last week.

The site is great, especially if you were going in a large group and wanted to make a 'base', as lot of people did.

We were just a couple in a campervan, and due to no designated pitches, there isn't a lot of space that isn't out in the open, there isn't really any quiet corners.

The shower and toilet blocks are totally inadequate when the campsite is busy. The info states it has 550 pitches, yet there are only three small toilet blocks which were in a pretty poor condition.

The wild animals roaming is a nice feature, and didn't cause any problems. All in all, if the toilets were improved we would probably stay again, but not in it's current state.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

Great site. Its a couple of miles from Brockenhurst which has a Tesco express if you need food etc as there is no shop on site. Arrived 8. 30pm on Saturday night after Reception had closed but plenty of information on shutters. Looked at fixed map to see only one toilet block open so aimed for that area. Took site map and leaflets. Toilet block had pot wash area, dog wash and male and female loos and showers accessed up a few steps. Toilet block clean. Shower cubicle has hook on door, shelf in shower and drop down seat. Site not busy and very quiet all through night. Dawn chorus started at 5am heard it because was awake anyway. Paid at Reception in morning. Discount as Camping and Caravan member. Very friendly female wardens. Showed me Freecycle area where you can leave or pick up unwanted items. Also a book swap shelf. Leaving time is 12pm but toilet closed for cleaning at 11am so keep an eye out for this. You can stay longer for a few pounds if you ask in morning. Horses started to arrive about 10am but grazed in the distance. Site good for touring eg Lymington, Beaulieu, Lepe Country park, Hythe. Overall, for me, the openness of the site had a feel of a guide or scout camp about it so very nostalgic.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JohnnJane 6 reviews from this member

This site has a lot to recommend it. It's spacious, and laid out so you wouldn't know it was 500 units. You can choose the more open fields or the bits among the trees. It's relatively unspoilt - a few ranger-led nature activities, but no bar or cafe, no playgrounds, just kids all over the place playing ball games or cycling. And it's right in the forest, with walks and cycles on every side. Horses and donkeys wander through at will, and yes, they did enter our tent to cadge a loaf of bread (be warned!) When we were there, there were no noisy groups, though several little villages of multiple families with similar age young kids.

BUT, when the site was full on the Saturday night, although the density of tents/caravans didn't feel excessive- the site still felt reasonably spacious - the toilet blocks were creaking - queues for showers, washing up, and at times toilets at most times of day. A shame - we don't want luxury and the absence of frills, in-the-middle-of-the-forest setting is part of the attraction - but an extra facilities block would make a big difference.

Previous     162 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

1370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016