Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Balls Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Godshill
New Forest
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01442 508850  or  01425 651200

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
              8/10 from 187 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kylemore 2 reviews from this member

On arrival campsite looks like needs a face lift, very shabby now, we have been going for a few years and never again. Went to takeaway after setting up to be told no fish, chicken only burgers, just not good enough. Then went swimming as it was a real heatwave week to b told that the pool was shutting at 3 because short staffed. We were not told this at 1. 45 when we went in just not good Call yourself a 5star site, Don't think so Will not rush back, also other guests were also saying they had enough and were not going any more.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Somebody2010 2 reviews from this member

We spent a couple of nights at Sandy Balls over the Easter Holidays.

Our pitch was level, with gravel standing for the van and awning. Couldn't find the TV hookup point though, even though we had booked a pitch that was supposed to have TV. Still, it didn't really matter for just a few nights.

The shower blocks were clean on the first day, but always had blocked, dirty toilets in the morning. Perhaps more frequent cleaning (or less disgusting guests!) might help.

The shop is great - it had everything we could have wanted, with a bigger wine selection than my local supermarket. We enjoyed the bar, and the Forest Table restaurant was OK given that they had a large table in at the same time as us and so service was a little slow.

We felt that the site is really aimed at families with very young children, as there is nothing much for teenagers. Plenty of soft play areas, outdoor play areas, and pools that you can bob around in but which aren't big enough (or empty enough) to actually swim.

We would come again, but probably not suring the summer holidays as we are not convinced the facilities would cope!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 23 reviews from this member

Spent Monday to Friday and enjoyed every minute. As we have stayed before we know what to expect.

Great site, lovely area, good local shops, pubs, etc.

We have a dog and excellent walks for her.

Toilets and showers good and clean, though shower run time not up to much.

All in all a great place to spend a few days relaxing

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hollypop 5 reviews from this member

Been visiting here for the last 12 years, our girls are 12 & 8, mainly in our tourer but a few times in there Lodges. Unfortunately it has slowly gone down hill, I'll list a few things that have happened in recent visits, wardens used to do a regular visible drive round, not no more so you get a lot more noise at night and a few bad behaved children. Food and service in both restaurants really poor. The whole place looking a bit tired, at peak times there can now be 4 thousand guests on site and infrastructure pool, restaurants etc cant cope. Been told it is no longer privately owned so now owners have no emotion just profit in mind, shame real shame.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahJenkins 1 review from this member

We visited last year with our children for our son's 12th birthday. We had 2 pitches as my son has invited 3 friends to celebrate and come and stay too.

From booking the pitch (online) to arriving at the campsite the customer service was fantastic. The pitch sizes were spacious and tidy, being separated by a hedge border.

It was quite busy when we were there but never seemed too noisy (but that of course depends on who your neighbours are!)

The toilet/shower facilities were clean and we never had wait times.

The kids quite literally spent the weekend exploring the site, with playgrounds to find and the pool to swim in.

The facilities (mainly the pool) do get quite busy and you we had to queue to get in.

We would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 104 reviews from this member

Stopped for two nights over a very wet and windy weekend in November. We mainly stayed as they had reduced prices which made it very good value.

Check-in was very easy as was pitching up on the level gravel pitch. Facilities were clean and warm.

Of course, being in the forest there is nice walking on the doorstep and also a nice trail around the park woods which was 2-3 miles long.

There was a proper convenience store, bar, restaurant, takeaway, a couple of shops, entertainment areas and swimming pool/gym.

We didn't really know what to expect as we usually use small campsites, but for off-season camping this was a good site. It's not my kind of site for the height of summer, I also couldn't afford it!

A surprisingly enjoyable site and one which we'll use again out of the main camping seasons.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 18 reviews from this member

Second visit to this park this year, didn't leave a review first time round as wanted to note any changes.

I have to admit that this time around was just as enjoyable as the first, no notable changes (except the poorer weather) both visits were taken under their ten pounds per night all in offer, and was really great value for that price, the other half took advantage of the swimming pool on three occasions, this time we used the on site bar as we didn't realise that the dogs could be taken in before, and prices were very reasonable for a holiday village, we are returning next year and considering joining the premium club scheme, it is also very convenient for visiting all the attractions and seaside places, besides being in a beautiful part of our wonderful country

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 55 reviews from this member

What a find this site is for a bit of out of season camping! We camped here during the week for £15 per night with EHU (NB the price shoots back up to £40 per night at the weekend). The pitches are on gravel and each pitch has a grey waste drain, a tap and hook up, and the facilities help if the weather is bad. There is a good camp shop selling most things, a pub selling food and real ales, and another eatery sells pizzas etc. This site also has a nice heated indoor pool and an outdoor pool. The toilets and showers were plentiful and are kept clean. I suspect this site is heaving during peak times, but for us during a quiet week this place was ideal, and the pub was a good place to warm up out of the lashing rain…. The WIFI is free, but is only available in the centre by the shops. There are walks and footpaths from the site, and Fordingbridge is a couple of miles away, however, we cycled there and found the road a little too busy for us. This site is open all year and we would definitely consider returning.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jilly 2 reviews from this member

I thought it was about time I left a review on Sandy Balls having been 2 years on the trot and a few more times in the last 10 years.

We love the place, beautiful surroundings, lovely walks and lots for the kids to do.

Not all is quite as wonderful as it should be though. A few tweaks here and there and it would be full marks. Right then. 1 The swimming pool changing area and corridor walk to the pool are grim to say the least. A good scrub and regular cleaning wouldn't go a miss. 2 The showers both in the pool and at the campsite pitches are very poor. Almost like standing under a watering can, no power to them at all. 3 This year as last the amusements and many grabber machines in the courtyard were broken, out of order, would take your money and you would have to go ask assistance etc. 4 Tables and bins in the courtyard need clearing/emptying regular. Never seen as many wasps swarming. 5 The beautiful walks down by the river could be improved with more sign posts. We had the paper map to follow but our second year running still couldn't find what a sandy ball looked like! Giants grave? Little thing which could make it a bit more interesting for kids. Those are my only gripes really. I'm not one for moaning and as I say a few tweaks here and there. Everything else is spot on.

Arrivals is smooth and no need to leave your car. We were on pitch 75 behind the adventure playground. Ideal for our 2 kids age 8 & 2 1\2. The site was very busy, lots of kids having fun, family's sitting out chatting at night. Dead quiet after 11 was adheard to perfect. This year we found the footpath behind the site which was a pleasant stroll which brought us about 200 yrd below The Fighting Cocks pub, which is fab with ponies and lots of donkeys this year wandering outside. The kids did tie dyeing which was good and my eldest archery which lasted an hour and was good value.

I do think Woodside drinks are expensive, the shop was reasonable ish with prices creeping up. The takeaway pizza at £6. 50 ish was delicious and well worth a try. Id say as a family we need to budget £100 a day for next year as we do tend to eat and drink out.

We enjoyed our stay and do hope reviews are read by Sandy Balls and a few improvements can be made for next year as we will be back :-)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Me123 5 reviews from this member

We have just got back from Sandyballs and I have to say that we were quite impressed overall with the site. I say this as we usually only use small family run campsites but we decided to forgo this this time as the location was more important on this occasion. After an initial mixup with our booking where our selected pre-reserved pitch wasn't available (a service you pay extra for) we were eventually given an alternative pitch which whilst not as nice as the one originally selected was quite a decent size, quite private and close to the facilities as requested. The pitches are well serviced with TV water and electricity and are of an all weather hardstanding type with some grass. All tents and awnings need to be pitched on the rough flint hardstanding - you will need to take rock pegs with you to pitch awnings tents etc and possibly an extra footprint or tent carpet.

The facilities on site were great - swimming pool, Gym, beauty salon, shop, snack bar, restaurant, bike hire etc. My OH and daughter signed up to the gym for a week for a bargain £15 each, my daughter also used the hair salon and got a really good hair cut and style again for a reasonable cost. The shop was also quite suprisingly quite good value - no rip of prices. We hired bikes for the day and the staff were really helpful with route suggestions. The toilet block were well maintained and kept immaculately clean and tidy.

On the downside there was a bit of noise but as the site was quite full during the nine days we were there due mainly to the fantastic weather which was in the 30's this is only to be expected. I do like the sound of children playing freely during the day so this didn't bother me but it is a family and pet friendly site so be aware of this. There were also quite a few groups of all ages and so at night you could hear noise from these gatherings. The wardens did enforce the 11pm curfew if there were any problems we witnessed this on both Saturdays when they asked some groups to quieten down and turn their music off promptly at 11pm; the mornings were often noisy before 7am but this could have been because we were close to the toilet block.

A good site which I would recommend to families of all ages and for more mature couples, like us, alike.

Conclusion - lots to do and a great location for exploring the New Forest.

Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938