Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Balls Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Godshill
(new Forest)
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0844 249 1184

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 172 Reviews
              8/10 from 172 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19) and Video

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 22 reviews from this member

This site ticked nearly all the boxes for me. Dog friendly (but has dog-free areas for non-dog lovers). Clean, heated washrooms with powerful hot showers. Roomy sites with good landscaping for privacy. No road noise. Good shop. Indoor pool. Good bike shop. Lovely grounds through the forest and down to the river. Loads of cycle rides and walks straight from the site. My husband, who needs to use the disabled facilities was pleased that the shower room was accessible via a RADAR key and was roomy. However, unlike the main shower block it was unheated and had large gap around the door. We stayed in March which was very reasonably priced (low season) but would not pay the very high charges outside of the low season

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harley hiker 2 reviews from this member

We decided to try one of our favourite New Forest campsites on a late November break, weather was wet and dark but we had such a lovely long weekend on this beautiful campsite. The only downside was that the swimming pool was closed due to some contamination! Evening entertainment was laid on in the bar Friday & Saturday night, which was very good

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart6867 11 reviews from this member

This is a large park but the pitches are a good size. We stayed in the pet free area which is a great thought for those who do not have dogs. Pitches are grass and gravel and you have to pitch on the gravel. Rock pegs are a must and can be a little uncomfortable underfoot.

Toilets, etc are plentiful and clean, never had to queue. It is a large site so be prepared to walk or cycle. Both restaurants are good and not badly priced. Swimming pool is a nice extra on site. Would agree with previous reviews that the activities were aimed at younger children.

A little more in cost than the average site but for us is a great start to the year as we are 30 mins away so perfect for a quick getaway

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Sandy Balls. Weather absolutely marvellous, even enjoyed the massive night time thunderstorms! We will definitely return as we had a wonderful week. We ate at the Woodside Inn & the Piazza and couldn't fault the food or service. Toilets and shower block bit dated though clean and loads of hot water. Chemical toilet disposal points could do with marking on the map a bit better though. Excellent walks for our dog, though, as someone has mentioned before, they could do with a bit more marking on site map?? I should imagine it could get very claustrophobic on your pitch when the school's break up. We noticed from our last Friday how busy it suddenly became with people cutting through our pitch etc. Also there seem to be no real management of the campsite as regards the rules. We knew that gazebo's were not accepted, so didn't bring ours. Only to see them by the score + event shelter's, open fires etc?? Whilst we were there some people from a pitch nearby thought it perfectly acceptable to tether their dog to a tree and let it bark for 3 - 4 hours while they went off site daily??

In summary, great location, facilities but we wouldn't want to be here in August! but we will most definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GINA PRICE 7 reviews from this member

Too busy, too expensive 220 for 4 nights. Expected activities to be included in price. Combat games 25 and not even in new forest as advertised, but in a grotty little field. The camouflage suits were all too small for everyone.

Feel as if not had money's worth expected more for teenager to do. Everything seemed to be for under 12 year olds. Toilets old but seemed to have plenty of hot water. Gravel pitch. Not good for tent as painful to walk on. Site map did not show walks very clear and we got lost. Did not eat in restaurant, but did have well stocked shop. Could do with up dating amusements. How about crazy golf, go ape or lazer tag, something for older children and adults, all free of course.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katerose83 2 reviews from this member

We had a fantastic two nights at sandy balls. I was worried it would be overly commercial but that wasn't all at the case. Lovely clean facilities, big quiet pitches, lots to so with a young toddler and lovely park and river walks nearby. Definitely one of the best campsites we've ever stayed in. I was particularly impressed by the indoor and outdoor pool. It felt like you got so much for your 15 a night.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IDK2013 4 reviews from this member

What a fantastic holiday we have had! Just got back from a weekend away at Sandy Balls and I was really impressed. The site was spotless and the staff were brilliant (even though they had doubled booked our pitch)!

This place reminds me of a Center Parcs but for caravans and camping. Plenty of space, great playground, clean toilet/shower block and a nice plaza/centre. The indoor swimming pool was small but functional, and although the outdoor pool was open, it was freezing. I do think that it lacks proper family changing facilities which we have experienced at other sites and other little touches like spin dryers for your costumes etc.

Well stocked shop on site but was a bit hit and miss price wise - some things I thought were reasonable, others not. We ate in the pub and the Italian, both of which were good and fairly priced.

Would highly recommend this site to anyone and will certainly be going back again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimmy1 1 review from this member

We have just got back from spending a week at Sandy Balls. Myself, partner and the dog stayed in our tent. We found the showers were very powerful, lovely for adults but could imagine not so good for little ones. Although one of the shower blocks did have a bath so if you have little ones this could be better for you. Shower blocks and toilets were ok, but can imagine in peak season would get pretty grubby with all the use. The site was pleasant enough, lots of room for kids to play. As for the pub and restaurants well where do I start. The pub was very over prices regarding the food and staff were quiet miserable. The pizza place was very expensive. I paid 17. 00 for two cooked breakfasts and two orange juices which were very small and was not worth the money at all. Very disappointed with value for money regarding food places. I cant comment on the swimming pools as we did not use these. I would recommend Sandy Balls but would advise not to use the food places and to venture out if you would like to eat as get better value locally. Also only an hours drive to Stone Henge.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Papnanjoe 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights 2adults, 2 twelve year olds and 2 dogs. We were in the top field, decent sized pitch. Toilet and shower block utterly disgusting, dated facilities I can cope with, dirty I cannot. We decided to leave it another 24 hrs before we complained, nothing changed. I invited the manager to view the state of his shower block, he was horrified and very apologetic, he admitted he had only been manager for a few weeks and had never been to our field ! Half an hour later the cleaners arrived, as usual throwing their fag butts on the ground before entering the block, less than 5 minutes pass and they left. We were out for the day but couldn't wait to get back to see the clean showers, what a disappointment still dirty.

On the entertainment side, the combat game was cancelled, we were offered the alternative of beading. I suggested they might like to come and tell the 2 boys (12yrs). The arcade very dated, machines take your money but don't work. Nothing else for the boys to do as swimming pool is nothing special, jacuzzi not working. I can't under stand why they don't have more for older kids, what a waste of a fantastic area in the forest. We ate at the wood side inn and pizza on the plaza both good food, good service. Well stocked shop, prices ok. We only live an hour from the site and hoped it would be a regular place to stay but I will not be returning because of the lack of management control over the park as a whole, having complained about the showers you would think he'd have checked them but he never did. Shame on you

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lou Lou 5 reviews from this member

I stayed in the Easter holidays for a few nights and was a shocked how much this sites has gone down hill in 3 years since our last visit. Arrival was easy, however we were told if we hadn't pre-booked to use the pool it was wise to do so straight away. As soon as we unhitched we went straight to the pool, however it was already fully booked for the next 4 days so unable to book a swim. All we could do is arrive at the pool half hour before a session in the hope we would be one of addition 10 people they let in. We managed to gain entrance once and to be honest it was awful. The changing rooms were disgustingly dirty as was the toilets, showers and pool side. When I mentioned it to the pool staff, they were so young they didn't really care. I can not fault the showers and toilets which were attached to each touring pitch area, these were kept extremely clean. The old visitors centre has been transformed in to yet another expensive shop. We didn't eat on site, but my daughter did use the children's craft centre which again was over expensive and the young girls running the activities were more interested In their mobile phones. All in all, this visit was extremely disappointing and it's unlikely we will visit again.

Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10518 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469