Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Balls Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Balls Holiday Village
(new Forest)
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0844 249 1184

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 180 Reviews
              8/10 from 180 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19) and Video

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 14 reviews from this member

Second visit to this park this year, didn't leave a review first time round as wanted to note any changes.

I have to admit that this time around was just as enjoyable as the first, no notable changes (except the poorer weather) both visits were taken under their ten pounds per night all in offer, and was really great value for that price, the other half took advantage of the swimming pool on three occasions, this time we used the on site bar as we didn't realise that the dogs could be taken in before, and prices were very reasonable for a holiday village, we are returning next year and considering joining the premium club scheme, it is also very convenient for visiting all the attractions and seaside places, besides being in a beautiful part of our wonderful country

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jilly 2 reviews from this member

I thought it was about time I left a review on Sandy Balls having been 2 years on the trot and a few more times in the last 10 years.

We love the place, beautiful surroundings, lovely walks and lots for the kids to do.

Not all is quite as wonderful as it should be though. A few tweaks here and there and it would be full marks. Right then. 1 The swimming pool changing area and corridor walk to the pool are grim to say the least. A good scrub and regular cleaning wouldn't go a miss. 2 The showers both in the pool and at the campsite pitches are very poor. Almost like standing under a watering can, no power to them at all. 3 This year as last the amusements and many grabber machines in the courtyard were broken, out of order, would take your money and you would have to go ask assistance etc. 4 Tables and bins in the courtyard need clearing/emptying regular. Never seen as many wasps swarming. 5 The beautiful walks down by the river could be improved with more sign posts. We had the paper map to follow but our second year running still couldn't find what a sandy ball looked like! Giants grave? Little thing which could make it a bit more interesting for kids. Those are my only gripes really. I'm not one for moaning and as I say a few tweaks here and there. Everything else is spot on.

Arrivals is smooth and no need to leave your car. We were on pitch 75 behind the adventure playground. Ideal for our 2 kids age 8 & 2 1\2. The site was very busy, lots of kids having fun, family's sitting out chatting at night. Dead quiet after 11 was adheard to perfect. This year we found the footpath behind the site which was a pleasant stroll which brought us about 200 yrd below The Fighting Cocks pub, which is fab with ponies and lots of donkeys this year wandering outside. The kids did tie dyeing which was good and my eldest archery which lasted an hour and was good value.

I do think Woodside drinks are expensive, the shop was reasonable ish with prices creeping up. The takeaway pizza at 6. 50 ish was delicious and well worth a try. Id say as a family we need to budget 100 a day for next year as we do tend to eat and drink out.

We enjoyed our stay and do hope reviews are read by Sandy Balls and a few improvements can be made for next year as we will be back :-)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Me123 5 reviews from this member

We have just got back from Sandyballs and I have to say that we were quite impressed overall with the site. I say this as we usually only use small family run campsites but we decided to forgo this this time as the location was more important on this occasion. After an initial mixup with our booking where our selected pre-reserved pitch wasn't available (a service you pay extra for) we were eventually given an alternative pitch which whilst not as nice as the one originally selected was quite a decent size, quite private and close to the facilities as requested. The pitches are well serviced with TV water and electricity and are of an all weather hardstanding type with some grass. All tents and awnings need to be pitched on the rough flint hardstanding - you will need to take rock pegs with you to pitch awnings tents etc and possibly an extra footprint or tent carpet.

The facilities on site were great - swimming pool, Gym, beauty salon, shop, snack bar, restaurant, bike hire etc. My OH and daughter signed up to the gym for a week for a bargain 15 each, my daughter also used the hair salon and got a really good hair cut and style again for a reasonable cost. The shop was also quite suprisingly quite good value - no rip of prices. We hired bikes for the day and the staff were really helpful with route suggestions. The toilet block were well maintained and kept immaculately clean and tidy.

On the downside there was a bit of noise but as the site was quite full during the nine days we were there due mainly to the fantastic weather which was in the 30's this is only to be expected. I do like the sound of children playing freely during the day so this didn't bother me but it is a family and pet friendly site so be aware of this. There were also quite a few groups of all ages and so at night you could hear noise from these gatherings. The wardens did enforce the 11pm curfew if there were any problems we witnessed this on both Saturdays when they asked some groups to quieten down and turn their music off promptly at 11pm; the mornings were often noisy before 7am but this could have been because we were close to the toilet block.

A good site which I would recommend to families of all ages and for more mature couples, like us, alike.

Conclusion - lots to do and a great location for exploring the New Forest.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for three nights in caravan. Decent pitches in the touring part, toilets clean, modern, showers ok.

Bar had entertainment on but wasn't great, drinks expensive. Could of used leisure facilities which are available which is inclusive in the price. Amusement arcade fun for all. Great trails to walk with dogs. Cycle hire available. Reminded me of a mini centre parks without the price they charge! Fun outdoor pursuits for all members of the family. Convince store well stocked, take away food from cafe not cheap but lovely to eat. Will visit again and recommend to everyone, unless you after a quiet holiday this isn't the place to go!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 16 reviews from this member

All in all another really relaxing stay at Sandy Balls. The toilet blocks and showers were immaculately clean, though, as said before, the shower run times could be longer.

Really good facilities in the Plaza & food excellent in the pizza place. Just a shame that the service wasn't so good at the Woodside Inn.

I think that this a lack of training rather than idleness. It appeared that there were quite a few staff replenishing shelves at the expense of a very long queue at the bar. The staff were always polite though, just a bit of a sense of urgency to serve should be conveyed.

The entertainment that we saw was, on the whole, very good. We only went down to it three times, solo singer and band very good. Trad Jazz band very good musically, but, avoid the Jazz Night like the plague if you want to chat and have a good time, as they appear to have their own fan base that follow them around the new forest. They will stare at you and 'tut' if you enjoy yourself / talk / go to the bar etc. This is backed up by the fact that you have to go and get a drink at the woodside inn as the bar is not manned at the woodsite suite on jazz nights. It seems an orange or a cup of tea lasts them all night!

The area is really beautiful with some very nice pubs / restaurants within easy reach. We can recommend The George at Fordingbridge and The Horse and Groom at Woodgreen. Excellent food and service at both.

Excellent local butchers & bakers in Fordingbridge and a very good Coop. The on site shop is also very good if you get there early enough for their bakery products.

We would not like to be here in the height of school holidays but will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scuzbert 13 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 2-night recce of Sandy Balls and feel I have to sing its praises from the perspective of a fan of adult-only sites ie quiet and no kids. We took advantage of a 10% online discount and paid 13. 50 per night. This is excellent value as, for that princely sum you get a roomy pitch comprising grass with a gravel awning area, EHU, tv ariel socket, fresh water tap and grey water drain (last two shared between two pitches). At night, the EHU pillars have subtle lighting which is helpful and not intrusive. There are oodles of showers, loos, a family bathroom, private washrooms, free hair dryers and plenty of free hot water, all very clean and tidy (didn't think the facilities were dated as one reviewer thought but it is in the eye of the beholder, obviously). The site is set in woodland and has lovely walks more or less straight from your pitch. The 'village' in the middle has a large, well-stocked shop, a pub which does food and keeps a reasonable pint, a restaurant which serves reasonably-priced Ask-type food - seriously good pizza's. Also does takeaway if you don't fancy cooking but want to lounge around back on your pitch and listen to the song thrushes compete with the blackbird as you chomp your pizza. Perfect! Breakfast is served in both the pub and the restaurant, and they do a jolly nice veggie fry-up along with the standard one. There is also the activity booking centre, the swimming pool (the price of which is included in your pitch fee), a spa and beauty centre, and a bike hire shop in the 'village'. Free entertainment at weekends, apparently. Oh, and free wifi within the area of said 'village'. The sea is a 25 minute drive away, through the ever-lovely New Forest. The staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. I would imagine, in school holidays this place would be my idea of hell on earth, not to mention pricey, but if you pick your dates (and there are plenty of them), you can have a brilliant break away in very pleasant, quiet surroundings and for a bargain price. We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fivefamilyessex 5 reviews from this member

A great site to stay at and we use it when we go to Peppa Pig world. The facilities are clean, the pitches are a good size and if you phone up with special requests about pitches the staff do their best to accommodate (we ask for cul de sac type location as we have very young children)

The options for eating are ok and since our last visit we found the Italian restaurant has been changed into more of a cafe style to attract people throughout the day.

The shop is big and can get busy so sometimes there is a wait to get out.

The 'Sandy Balls' we found tricky to get to with a big double pram. We walked down to the river and it really is a steep drop down the hill. Fine on the way down but regretted on the way back up!

The children's playground are very good - there are 3 and each is big and varied enough for children of different ages.

The drive to the site from the motorway is beautiful and the children love watching out for the many ponies and cattle along the way. Peppa Pig World/Paultons Park is close by too - think it was a 20 minute drive.

Overall we enjoy this site, the staff are very helpful and polite and it is run very well.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Wishbone1066 1 review from this member

Had a lovely week, site was great set in woodland with lovely indoor swimming pool, shops, pub grub, recreation facilities.

Being old age pensioners it suited all our needs.

we were able to tour around the area, wild horses roaming around. The caravan was comfortable and clean with a welcome gift on arrival.

We would definitively consider returning in the future. Thanks for a great stay.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 29 reviews from this member

This site ticked nearly all the boxes for me. Dog friendly (but has dog-free areas for non-dog lovers). Clean, heated washrooms with powerful hot showers. Roomy sites with good landscaping for privacy. No road noise. Good shop. Indoor pool. Good bike shop. Lovely grounds through the forest and down to the river. Loads of cycle rides and walks straight from the site. My husband, who needs to use the disabled facilities was pleased that the shower room was accessible via a RADAR key and was roomy. However, unlike the main shower block it was unheated and had large gap around the door. We stayed in March which was very reasonably priced (low season) but would not pay the very high charges outside of the low season

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harley hiker 2 reviews from this member

We decided to try one of our favourite New Forest campsites on a late November break, weather was wet and dark but we had such a lovely long weekend on this beautiful campsite. The only downside was that the swimming pool was closed due to some contamination! Evening entertainment was laid on in the bar Friday & Saturday night, which was very good

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!