Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Balls Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Godshill
(new Forest)
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0844 249 1184

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  5m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 175 Reviews
              8/10 from 175 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19) and Video

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emma simpson 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for three nights in caravan. Decent pitches in the touring part, toilets clean, modern, showers ok.

Bar had entertainment on but wasn't great, drinks expensive. Could of used leisure facilities which are available which is inclusive in the price. Amusement arcade fun for all. Great trails to walk with dogs. Cycle hire available. Reminded me of a mini centre parks without the price they charge! Fun outdoor pursuits for all members of the family. Convince store well stocked, take away food from cafe not cheap but lovely to eat. Will visit again and recommend to everyone, unless you after a quiet holiday this isn't the place to go!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 13 reviews from this member

All in all another really relaxing stay at Sandy Balls. The toilet blocks and showers were immaculately clean, though, as said before, the shower run times could be longer.

Really good facilities in the Plaza & food excellent in the pizza place. Just a shame that the service wasn't so good at the Woodside Inn.

I think that this a lack of training rather than idleness. It appeared that there were quite a few staff replenishing shelves at the expense of a very long queue at the bar. The staff were always polite though, just a bit of a sense of urgency to serve should be conveyed.

The entertainment that we saw was, on the whole, very good. We only went down to it three times, solo singer and band very good. Trad Jazz band very good musically, but, avoid the Jazz Night like the plague if you want to chat and have a good time, as they appear to have their own fan base that follow them around the new forest. They will stare at you and 'tut' if you enjoy yourself / talk / go to the bar etc. This is backed up by the fact that you have to go and get a drink at the woodside inn as the bar is not manned at the woodsite suite on jazz nights. It seems an orange or a cup of tea lasts them all night!

The area is really beautiful with some very nice pubs / restaurants within easy reach. We can recommend The George at Fordingbridge and The Horse and Groom at Woodgreen. Excellent food and service at both.

Excellent local butchers & bakers in Fordingbridge and a very good Coop. The on site shop is also very good if you get there early enough for their bakery products.

We would not like to be here in the height of school holidays but will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scuzbert 11 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 2-night recce of Sandy Balls and feel I have to sing its praises from the perspective of a fan of adult-only sites ie quiet and no kids. We took advantage of a 10% online discount and paid 13. 50 per night. This is excellent value as, for that princely sum you get a roomy pitch comprising grass with a gravel awning area, EHU, tv ariel socket, fresh water tap and grey water drain (last two shared between two pitches). At night, the EHU pillars have subtle lighting which is helpful and not intrusive. There are oodles of showers, loos, a family bathroom, private washrooms, free hair dryers and plenty of free hot water, all very clean and tidy (didn't think the facilities were dated as one reviewer thought but it is in the eye of the beholder, obviously). The site is set in woodland and has lovely walks more or less straight from your pitch. The 'village' in the middle has a large, well-stocked shop, a pub which does food and keeps a reasonable pint, a restaurant which serves reasonably-priced Ask-type food - seriously good pizza's. Also does takeaway if you don't fancy cooking but want to lounge around back on your pitch and listen to the song thrushes compete with the blackbird as you chomp your pizza. Perfect! Breakfast is served in both the pub and the restaurant, and they do a jolly nice veggie fry-up along with the standard one. There is also the activity booking centre, the swimming pool (the price of which is included in your pitch fee), a spa and beauty centre, and a bike hire shop in the 'village'. Free entertainment at weekends, apparently. Oh, and free wifi within the area of said 'village'. The sea is a 25 minute drive away, through the ever-lovely New Forest. The staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. I would imagine, in school holidays this place would be my idea of hell on earth, not to mention pricey, but if you pick your dates (and there are plenty of them), you can have a brilliant break away in very pleasant, quiet surroundings and for a bargain price. We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 23 reviews from this member

This site ticked nearly all the boxes for me. Dog friendly (but has dog-free areas for non-dog lovers). Clean, heated washrooms with powerful hot showers. Roomy sites with good landscaping for privacy. No road noise. Good shop. Indoor pool. Good bike shop. Lovely grounds through the forest and down to the river. Loads of cycle rides and walks straight from the site. My husband, who needs to use the disabled facilities was pleased that the shower room was accessible via a RADAR key and was roomy. However, unlike the main shower block it was unheated and had large gap around the door. We stayed in March which was very reasonably priced (low season) but would not pay the very high charges outside of the low season

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harley hiker 2 reviews from this member

We decided to try one of our favourite New Forest campsites on a late November break, weather was wet and dark but we had such a lovely long weekend on this beautiful campsite. The only downside was that the swimming pool was closed due to some contamination! Evening entertainment was laid on in the bar Friday & Saturday night, which was very good

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart6867 11 reviews from this member

This is a large park but the pitches are a good size. We stayed in the pet free area which is a great thought for those who do not have dogs. Pitches are grass and gravel and you have to pitch on the gravel. Rock pegs are a must and can be a little uncomfortable underfoot.

Toilets, etc are plentiful and clean, never had to queue. It is a large site so be prepared to walk or cycle. Both restaurants are good and not badly priced. Swimming pool is a nice extra on site. Would agree with previous reviews that the activities were aimed at younger children.

A little more in cost than the average site but for us is a great start to the year as we are 30 mins away so perfect for a quick getaway

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 13 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Sandy Balls. Weather absolutely marvellous, even enjoyed the massive night time thunderstorms! We will definitely return as we had a wonderful week. We ate at the Woodside Inn & the Piazza and couldn't fault the food or service. Toilets and shower block bit dated though clean and loads of hot water. Chemical toilet disposal points could do with marking on the map a bit better though. Excellent walks for our dog, though, as someone has mentioned before, they could do with a bit more marking on site map?? I should imagine it could get very claustrophobic on your pitch when the school's break up. We noticed from our last Friday how busy it suddenly became with people cutting through our pitch etc. Also there seem to be no real management of the campsite as regards the rules. We knew that gazebo's were not accepted, so didn't bring ours. Only to see them by the score + event shelter's, open fires etc?? Whilst we were there some people from a pitch nearby thought it perfectly acceptable to tether their dog to a tree and let it bark for 3 - 4 hours while they went off site daily??

In summary, great location, facilities but we wouldn't want to be here in August! but we will most definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GINA PRICE 7 reviews from this member

Too busy, too expensive 220 for 4 nights. Expected activities to be included in price. Combat games 25 and not even in new forest as advertised, but in a grotty little field. The camouflage suits were all too small for everyone.

Feel as if not had money's worth expected more for teenager to do. Everything seemed to be for under 12 year olds. Toilets old but seemed to have plenty of hot water. Gravel pitch. Not good for tent as painful to walk on. Site map did not show walks very clear and we got lost. Did not eat in restaurant, but did have well stocked shop. Could do with up dating amusements. How about crazy golf, go ape or lazer tag, something for older children and adults, all free of course.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katerose83 2 reviews from this member

We had a fantastic two nights at sandy balls. I was worried it would be overly commercial but that wasn't all at the case. Lovely clean facilities, big quiet pitches, lots to so with a young toddler and lovely park and river walks nearby. Definitely one of the best campsites we've ever stayed in. I was particularly impressed by the indoor and outdoor pool. It felt like you got so much for your 15 a night.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IDK2013 4 reviews from this member

What a fantastic holiday we have had! Just got back from a weekend away at Sandy Balls and I was really impressed. The site was spotless and the staff were brilliant (even though they had doubled booked our pitch)!

This place reminds me of a Center Parcs but for caravans and camping. Plenty of space, great playground, clean toilet/shower block and a nice plaza/centre. The indoor swimming pool was small but functional, and although the outdoor pool was open, it was freezing. I do think that it lacks proper family changing facilities which we have experienced at other sites and other little touches like spin dryers for your costumes etc.

Well stocked shop on site but was a bit hit and miss price wise - some things I thought were reasonable, others not. We ate in the pub and the Italian, both of which were good and fairly priced.

Would highly recommend this site to anyone and will certainly be going back again.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1055