Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandy Balls Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Godshill
New Forest
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2JZ   See Map
Tel: 01442 508850  or  01425 651200
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 225
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 192 Reviews
                8/10 from 192 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonic 76 2 reviews from this member

The check in is very smooth and they are very swift, once I arrived at my pitch I was disappointed that the pot holes in the gravel hadn't been filled since my last visit a few years ago, this meant that to walk around the site was very muddy and wet.

The entertainment was good, but extra activities were a bit pricey although there was a good choice.

The new pool opened while we were there and the new facilities are very nice, unfortunately the pool was absolutely freezing! I hope that was because it hadn't fully warmed up rather than that being the temperature it was set at.

I find it a really expensive site and am never sure why it's so popular, I'm sure I will go back but won't be in any rush.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 11 reviews from this member

We had 3 nights here and couldnít fault it. The check in, pitch, cleanliness and staff were all excellent. As it was the first week in January the site was very quiet but we were there over a weekend which became a little bit busier. The staff were very friendly in all the restaurant/shops we visited. The supermarket was well stocked. Definitely go back there again. Not sure what it would be like during the school holidays but as we are retired we have the luxury of being able to use these holiday parks during term times when they are always quiet.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 21 reviews from this member

We visited for two nights over the weekend which was a bit of a last minute decision. The site is quite close to home so we wanted to get away and be able to access some good walking into the New Forest.

On arrival at the site (Friday evening) it was busy, there were vehicles queuing into the entrance however the reception was very well equipped for this and was effectively doing a rolling check in. We were at our pitch within minutes. Fortunately we were pitched off in a corner with no through traffic and next to a footpath which took us directly off of the site, great for us and the dogs.

We had justified the cost, which was more than we would usually pay for a weekend close to home, as access to the pool and sauna facilities are included but we didnít use them as it was so busy. However we didnít really need to as there is plenty of walking off of the site and around the nature trail, when we werenít out walking we were able to relax in the van.

This is a large family orientated site which goes against what we usually look for in a campsite but weíll definitely come back as the facilities and are so good and the surrounding area is really lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinboxtowa 3 reviews from this member

The site itself was generally clean and tidy I had not problems with it. I just want to warn people not to be tempted to go for a Super Pitch. We did, basically as we thought it would be bigger. WRONG ! to be honest out pitch was no bigger than any of the others. The only thing we gained for our extra £5 per night was a few more amps. There were much bigger and more spacious pitches all around us. So don't get caught like us. Learn from our mistake and go for the bog standard pitch!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennie46 1 review from this member

Absolutely amazing it has plenty of on site activityís for both children and adults. The location is perfect, very close to the horses and donkeys etc, the views are amazing, itís a very friendly place, food is lovely plenty of variety, the on site shop is very well stocked with plenty of choice Facilities are clean plenty of laundry rooms and shower blocks itís very well looked after we have been before also and itís the only site we have found with the activity range swimming and evening entertainment itís ideal if you donít want to leave sandyballs village they have everything. We have already booked our stay for this summer canít wait.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kylemore 2 reviews from this member

On arrival campsite looks like needs a face lift, very shabby now, we have been going for a few years and never again. Went to takeaway after setting up to be told no fish, chicken only burgers, just not good enough. Then went swimming as it was a real heatwave week to b told that the pool was shutting at 3 because short staffed. We were not told this at 1. 45 when we went in just not good Call yourself a 5star site, Don't think so Will not rush back, also other guests were also saying they had enough and were not going any more.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Somebody2010 2 reviews from this member

We spent a couple of nights at Sandy Balls over the Easter Holidays.

Our pitch was level, with gravel standing for the van and awning. Couldn't find the TV hookup point though, even though we had booked a pitch that was supposed to have TV. Still, it didn't really matter for just a few nights.

The shower blocks were clean on the first day, but always had blocked, dirty toilets in the morning. Perhaps more frequent cleaning (or less disgusting guests!) might help.

The shop is great - it had everything we could have wanted, with a bigger wine selection than my local supermarket. We enjoyed the bar, and the Forest Table restaurant was OK given that they had a large table in at the same time as us and so service was a little slow.

We felt that the site is really aimed at families with very young children, as there is nothing much for teenagers. Plenty of soft play areas, outdoor play areas, and pools that you can bob around in but which aren't big enough (or empty enough) to actually swim.

We would come again, but probably not suring the summer holidays as we are not convinced the facilities would cope!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 23 reviews from this member

Spent Monday to Friday and enjoyed every minute. As we have stayed before we know what to expect.

Great site, lovely area, good local shops, pubs, etc.

We have a dog and excellent walks for her.

Toilets and showers good and clean, though shower run time not up to much.

All in all a great place to spend a few days relaxing

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hollypop 5 reviews from this member

Been visiting here for the last 12 years, our girls are 12 & 8, mainly in our tourer but a few times in there Lodges. Unfortunately it has slowly gone down hill, I'll list a few things that have happened in recent visits, wardens used to do a regular visible drive round, not no more so you get a lot more noise at night and a few bad behaved children. Food and service in both restaurants really poor. The whole place looking a bit tired, at peak times there can now be 4 thousand guests on site and infrastructure pool, restaurants etc cant cope. Been told it is no longer privately owned so now owners have no emotion just profit in mind, shame real shame.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahJenkins 1 review from this member

We visited last year with our children for our son's 12th birthday. We had 2 pitches as my son has invited 3 friends to celebrate and come and stay too.

From booking the pitch (online) to arriving at the campsite the customer service was fantastic. The pitch sizes were spacious and tidy, being separated by a hedge border.

It was quite busy when we were there but never seemed too noisy (but that of course depends on who your neighbours are!)

The toilet/shower facilities were clean and we never had wait times.

The kids quite literally spent the weekend exploring the site, with playgrounds to find and the pool to swim in.

The facilities (mainly the pool) do get quite busy and you we had to queue to get in.

We would definitely go back.

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016