Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Shoot Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Red Shoot Camping Park
Linwood
(new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 3QT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01425 473789

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  10m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 163 Reviews
              8/10 from 163 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pandas 1 review from this member

A very good family campsite which, when we stayed at peak season time, had a healthy mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes.

We particularly like the informal free open spaces.

A good children's playground but tucked away from the camping areas so not noisy for the camping areas. Not too commercial, felt like camping as it used to be. There are pitch allocations but how you park on the pitch is not too regimented. We wanted a campsite where we could book a space next to our sons tent and this was not an issue, some sites have a segmentation between tents and motorhomes.

All the facilities are really good; a well equipped shop with fresh bread to really very good and clean washrooms and laundry. Well managed and a fantastic location. Will go again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissamsdad 8 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 5 night stay in this fabulous campsite. It's in the heart of the New Forest, with its lovely walks and of course Ponies and Donkeys walking around like they own the place. We managed to get a spot at short notice due to bad weather at our original destination, so we were in a paddock separated from the main campsite by a hedge and gate, which was quite nice as we had a lot of room. We had two medium tents, but they only charged us per person so that was great.

It's a lovely spot near to the local town, Ringwood, about 15-20 mins away, and near to lots of activities such as the wakeboarding park and horse-riding. It has a pub on site which serves some excellent real ales some of which are brewed on the premises. The food wasn't very exciting - pizzas and burgers, so we didn't eat there, but it was a cosy place to spend the evening playing cards. They do have live music on, but unfortunately due to a power cut they couldn't the night we were there.

I'm not obsessed with the toilets and showers like, it seems, most reviewers, but they were fine, only a small queue once, showers were hot and not just a dribble.

The shop was really good, most things a camper would need, and reasonable amount of food and drink. Fresh croissants and pain au chocolat baked fresh each morning were as good as you'd get in France. If I had one criticism it closed a bit early, 7pm I think, so if you were in the middle of cooking and realised you were missing something, your nearest option is an hour there and back.

A few noisy people, but wardens on site quietened them down. The play area looked great if a bit small - it's on the campsite: if my kids were younger and interested in it, I'd have let them go and play there unattended from 5y. O. , but then I give my kids much more free rein than many.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnners 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay as a family of 5 at the Red Shoot camp site and had a fantastic time on a fantastic site. In my opinion, there were no negatives. The positives were the toilet/shower block, the improved shop, the friendliness of staff, the superb location and the double-hot female owner

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crystal 41 2 reviews from this member

The camp site itself is in a nice location.

Pros

Plenty of hot water for washing pots.

Fresh baked bread

Staff very helpful

Level ground

lovely walks in the forst

Ideal place for bird watching

Cons

Groups of people together don't consider other campers through noise

Just over 2. 5 miles to get to main road then 3miles to ringwood nearest town.

Could do with toilet blocks for tents that are furthest away

No bins close by everything is by the enterance.

Using showers spray came into the drying area

Park is out of site from main tenting area so you have to go with the children

Have to use their ice blocks 25p a time to freeze

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frazzle- 2 reviews from this member

Our family visited by this site for a weekend (us and 8, 6 & 2). It is in the New Forest, which was one of our requirements, and is family orientated. It is a very clean and flat site and is mostly tents with a few campervans and the odd caravan (probably as there are no hard standings). NO STATICS.

Positives:

. Is in the New Forest

. Has a spotless washblock with modern facilities.

. Flat pitches and welcoming staff.

. Croissants, pain au chocolat and rolls offered at shop (pre order the night before) -didn't try them.

. Cattle grid at entrance so no ponies walking around.

Negatives:

. When washing hands (in wash basins) water is scalding hot water.

. Pot wash - scalding hot water, no plugs in sinks. 2 drainers above the sinks for 5 sinks.

. Playground is at the entrance and behind (from the pitches) the washblock. Could not let the children go there alone. Could not see from any pitches or the Washing up area. The floor is sandy - so sand in shoes.

. Showers have a dressing area with small pegs (hold one towel or underwear). This dressing area still gets sprayed - floor is wet. Showers are sandy on the floor (could have something to do with the playground).

. Lots of groups on site such as 2 families together. Put me off going as there was no chatting or friendliness from people to us.

. Expensive at £38 per night for a weekend for a family of 4 (had 1 under the age =free)

Facilities:

. Modern washblock about 8 showers, 10 toilets, 7 wash basins, 2 hand dryers and 1 or 2 20p hairdryers (son said same in men's as ladies).

. Potwash 2 sinks undercover -5 sinks total with 2 high up drainers. No plugs.

. Laundry - didn't use

. Family bathroom didn't use

. Electric hook up didn't use

. Playground - sandy for 5s and up. Bad location for it.

. Shop - didn't use

. Entertainment - none

. Pub -it is situated behind the pub and car park of the same name. Didn't use.

Went crabbing at Muddeford. You can buy all the kit at the shop but we took our own. Bought a bag of bait £1 for a bag. Has toilets cafe and pay for parking. It is at Muddeford quay. Grassy area, good play park and picnic tables. Can walk -about 2 mins to the beach. Think it is called Avon beach. Did some kit flying up a hill with some walking too. Went to visit Boulder wood car park (all seem to be named in the forest). Has deer, picnic grassy area, walks, branches to make dens, ice cream van, horrible toilets and when walking around I believe this is an arboretum with lots of special trees.

Check in 2pm, check out 1pm (which is great for weekends away and for us). You may arrive from 9am but they cannot guarantee your pitch is vacant and there is nowhere to wait (except for the pub car park same
name) in front of the campsite). I believe the lady quoted me £5 to stay longer on the pitch. Have ice block freezing service which we did not use.

All in all a lovely site which is mostly tents on level ground and is great for small groups. The play area I would say (IMHO) is not child friendly and unsuitable for under 10,s (see above).

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Birthdayboy60 8 reviews from this member

A small friendly campsite in the grounds of a micro-brewery and pub - almost nothing else to be said !

Pitches are numbered but not separated, many with hook up. New clean shower/toilet block. Lovely walks through the New Forest and of course the pub for meals etc. Small shop selling essentials. Not much nearby, but for a quite weekend in the Forest it is an ideal site, especially for beer lovers - spend the evening in the Pub then a hundred yards or so back to the pitches

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nukes67 8 reviews from this member

Fabulous site, good facilities, and having the Redshoot Inn on it's doorstep makes this campsite my, so far, TOP SPOT. We go with 2 other couples in April and Oct each year for the Pub Beer Festival (since Oct 12) and always have a great holiday.

Would recommend to anybody, but perhaps not family with small peeps during the Beer Festival periods.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J Lo 4 reviews from this member

We picked this site to be in the heart of the new forest for a short break. Its a beautiful location. We had a EHU pitch, and a fab location next to a field of spring lambs. My little one was delighted!

The toilet block was always very clean, with plenty of hot water, even with a large race event taking place the same weekend we stayed. The underfloor heating was very welcome as we stayed in chilly March. Plenty of washing up space and a nice little play area, mostly climbing frame and sand pit. Its only small, so kept our 3 year old happy for a little while. It's a little limited, and I suspect much older children would not find it very entertaining for too long.

The pub at the entrance to the site, whilst looking very pretty was a little pricey, with a rather limited menu and with no kids choice, but the staff were friendly.

All in all the location is lovely, and if your looking for new Forest ponies and pretty walks its a fab location, we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob2cv 3 reviews from this member

My Wife and I, along with our dog, visited Red Shoot at the end of September for a long weekend. The camp site is very peaceful set, as it is, right in the heart of the New Forest. There is miles and miles of gentle walking or cycling right on the doorstep and one always seems to have the the resident ponies or cattle to keep you company.

The showers and toilets were excellent, modern, very clean at all times and nice and warm too, as they are heated. The on site shop was stocked with basic essentials and the morning bread delivery was a service which we enjoyed. The campsite staff were all very friendly and helpful right from the telephone booking up to our leaving.

We tried the Red Shoot pub for one of our evening meals. Despite the mouth watering description of the dishes offered, our meals did not live up to the promise of the menu and would best be described as mediocre. Thankfully, the beer was better!

We would not hesitate to come back to this wonderfully peaceful and beautiful site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 29 reviews from this member

This is my 4th visit to this site. I do like this site overall, but it does get busy in the summer with lots of families and children.

I also find it an expensive site compared to others we have stayed on this week - at £30 no hookup grass pitch - when we usually pay £21-24 hardstanding/hookup.

Facilities though are clean, numerous showers and toilets and clean. I have never had cause to complain about how the site is kept.

What draws us to this site, is the pub & location - it serves lovely food, reasonable prices and dogs are allowed. This occasion they were busier than I have ever seen them - which is excellent for them - I wondered if they had new people running it???

Location though - right opposite is the New Forest with lots of walks straight from the door of your campsite

The only thing I have to say about this site. And it isnt really about the site as such - out of 6 sites this week (only one being adults only), this was the only site where the kids seem to shout and scream and cry. And we have had it each visit to this site - perhaps being more open than a terraced site where its less obvious.

I don't have children and perhaps this isnt the best site for people wanting to get away from children. However as I said I like the location and can put up with it out of season

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1250