Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Shoot Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Red Shoot Camping Park
Linwood
(new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 3QT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01425 473789

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 177 Reviews
              8/10 from 177 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loulou6t9 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we've not stayed there for over 20 years and great to revisit.

Right in the forest and surrounded by farm animals, plus horses at the gate most mornings.

Excellent facilities and loads of hot showers with luxurious under floor heating. I didn't have to queue ever even though the site was full. My only negative comment is that whoever decided where to site the toilet roll holders may never have sat on a toilet in their life!

Will definitely return

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Legster 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Red Shoot during Half Term week at the end of May.

It’s in a fantastic location for walks and cycling within the New Forest, without the need to jump into the car. You can borrow maps from reception with various routes that you can walk. On your return to the site you can pop into the Red Shoot Inn for a nice refreshing drink, the food is also very good here too.

All the staff on site are extremely friendly and helpful. The little shop is one of the best we have experienced on a campsite, with just about everything you need for your stay. They bake their own pastries (Croissants etc) on site, you can either order the day before or get down their early in the hope that they have some left. There are also a couple supermarkets (Sainsbury’s and Waitrose) in nearby Ringwood.

The pitches are close together, but this gives a very friendly and sociable feel to the site. Our Kids (8 and 11) made plenty of friends and they played around site and playground. You always knew where they were, which made our stay as parents that more relaxing too.

The Toilet/Showers and Washing up facilities were excellent and were always clean and never had to queue for showers and plenty of hot water.

We hired some bicycles in the village of Burley and went for a 8. 5 mile ride around the forest. We also went on a Hack (Horse Riding) from Bagnum Equestrian Centre. Both were a fantastic experience for all the family.

Overall, we couldn’t recommend this site and the New Forest enough. It is such a beautiful part of the country and wonderful to see all the wild ponies roaming about in the natural habitat.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vintagevan 4 reviews from this member

This is an absolutely lovely site. Situated in a fairly wild part of the forest, the site is surrounded by amazing walks and cycle rides that show the different habitats and the famous ponies of the forest off to their best.

Facilities on the site are of the highest quality – modern and spotlessly clean toilets and showers, and a well-stocked shop for bread, newspapers, other food and household essentials as well as beer and wine. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Pitches are well-spaced, mostly fairly level and just under half of them have electric hook-up.

An added bonus is the lovely Red Shoot Inn next door that serves great beer and home-cooked food, but people travel a long way to eat there so advance booking for the busier meal services is essential.

We will definitely return and thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BillyOcean VWCali 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Red Shoot over the Easter break.

A warm and friendly welcome and shown to our pitch, which was very close to our neighbours tent but, being novice campers, assumed this is just how it is.

Shower block, toilets and washing up station are immaculate and staff are noticeably present on site, cleaning facilities and undertaking maintenance. There is a small play area for younger children.

As per previous reviewer, agree re costs of EHU - very expensive at £6. 50/night. Altogether for the four of us in a small camper the per night cost was £43. 50 which, given we are a small unit (without an associated motor vehicle) and light users of the facilities, was high.

It is in an excellent location for access into the Forest and local towns/villages, and the pub sells lovely food; also has its own brewery I understand. The on-site shop sells food and relevant accessories for camping, plus you can order in croissants, fresh bread, newspapers etc.

This was our first trip away in our campervan. On balance, it was a good site for our first trip away, but it was very busy and we were very closely packed-in. Cost per night is high compared to sites with similar facilities/cleanliness but I guess its proximity/being in the New Forest, this is the resultant cost.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bongoderek 5 reviews from this member

Good location in the north of the New Forest area, ideal for walkers and cyclists with routes direct from site. But £6. 50 per night for electric hook-up is an absolute rip-off - equivalent to a domestic annual electricity bill of well £2000 ! A huge amount to pay for just keeping my leisure battery charged and boiling the kettle - I appreciate they have to cover the cost of maintaining the infrastructure but such a mark-up in profiteering at its worst. I travel extensively around the UK in my campervan and this is probably the most expensive electric hook-up I have come across.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patbaz 3 reviews from this member

A lovely area to visit. The site is warm and welcoming. Very busy when we arrived with so many units we did feel quite confined. Our grandson loved it and made so many friends very quickly. Shower block was very good and we would definitely return should we be in the area again. Nothing to do with the site but the pub was only two steps down from a derelict cafe. Such basic thrown out food but there is a lovely one a mile up the road.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tp76 1 review from this member

Have just come home from a 3 night stay at Red Shoots and wanted to make sure we left a quick review after a lovely break!

The site is very well laid out, although there were not too many people staying whilst we were there. The shower and toilet facilities are really very good. Some people said they had an issue with the push button showers, but I really don't see why. They were free, immaculately clean and very well thought out with a separate drying area all in the same cubicle. A real treat after some sites we've stayed at!

The site itself was very clean and tidy and the pitches are a good size. The pub on site is very friendly and excellent with dogs. We ate here and the food was very good.

Lots of good walks accessible without the need to drive anywhere as the footpaths run through the site. Brilliant for dog walkers.

We would definitely return next time we're visiting the area. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 15 reviews from this member

This is a good, well run, family oriented campsite. It would be great site for anyone new to camping.

It's on the edge of the New Forest - with walks into the Forest from the other side of the road, but doesn't really have forest views from the site itself. We were in the overflow field, as it was busy for spring bank holiday, but although this is a bit rougher than the rest of the site, I thought the views were better. There aren't any hook ups in the field though.

The on-site staff team are very friendly and helpful, but also make sure the site is well organised. Although it was busy, and had some large family groups, there was no excessive noise and the atmosphere was very friendly. Some of the pitches in the main field looked quite close together and possibly needed a windbreak between neighbours to give a bit of privacy.

The facilities were very good - plenty of toilets and showers, kept very clean. The shop was extremely well stocked with food, toys and camping essentials. We ate in the Red Shoot Inn, but sadly the food wasn't great.

It's a little bit too neat and organised for people who prefer the 'cool camping' approach, but overall it's hard to fault if you are looking for a pleasant family site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: R and S 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site, simple layout with open fields and no demarcation between pitches. The wardens were careful to arrange such that people don't bother one another.

Lovely shower block with powerful hot jets, although the usual 10 second water cut off is annoying and the water does slosh around between cubicles.

The shop is very well equipped for such a small area - best for kit and basic needs I've seen, not too full of useless souvenirs I've seen in others.

The pub on site is brilliant, a micro brewery, amazing food with a good range and very dog friendly. We needed to budget £18/person well worth it for the quality. The service was impeccable.

Finally the best thing is the location, right in the middle of numerous tracks & walks in the new forest. So 5 mins from walking out of the van we were 'miles' from anyone with the dogs.

We will be back, for longer than a weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dens 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with views across the valley. The staff were very friendly, organised and helpful, when booking and when they showed us to our pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean at all times and the staff checked them constantly. The ground was a bit soft at this time of year. Surrounding the campsite are wonderful walks and cycles, as well as lovely pubs, including The High Corner Inn, The Alice Lisle and, of course the Red Shoot. We had a meal there which was fine, but nothing special. That night, there was a party in the pub which went on until 1. 30am! We were not told about the when we booked the meal at the pub. Also during our stay there was a running festival taking place, which although very interesting to watch at the start and finish, we also had the cars parked in the field in front of the caravans and motorhomes for two days. The tannoy started at 7. 30a. M. On the Sunday and army cadets directed the cars from 7. 00a. M. We hadn't been told about this when we booked either.

None of this spoilt our stay too much. We would definitely stay again, but would check about any events happening at the campsite and the pub.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6481 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957