Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Shoot Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Red Shoot Camping Park
Linwood
(new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 3QT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01425 473789

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  10m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 169 Reviews
              8/10 from 169 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: R and S 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site, simple layout with open fields and no demarcation between pitches. The wardens were careful to arrange such that people don't bother one another.

Lovely shower block with powerful hot jets, although the usual 10 second water cut off is annoying and the water does slosh around between cubicles.

The shop is very well equipped for such a small area - best for kit and basic needs I've seen, not too full of useless souvenirs I've seen in others.

The pub on site is brilliant, a micro brewery, amazing food with a good range and very dog friendly. We needed to budget 18/person well worth it for the quality. The service was impeccable.

Finally the best thing is the location, right in the middle of numerous tracks & walks in the new forest. So 5 mins from walking out of the van we were 'miles' from anyone with the dogs.

We will be back, for longer than a weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dens 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with views across the valley. The staff were very friendly, organised and helpful, when booking and when they showed us to our pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean at all times and the staff checked them constantly. The ground was a bit soft at this time of year. Surrounding the campsite are wonderful walks and cycles, as well as lovely pubs, including The High Corner Inn, The Alice Lisle and, of course the Red Shoot. We had a meal there which was fine, but nothing special. That night, there was a party in the pub which went on until 1. 30am! We were not told about the when we booked the meal at the pub. Also during our stay there was a running festival taking place, which although very interesting to watch at the start and finish, we also had the cars parked in the field in front of the caravans and motorhomes for two days. The tannoy started at 7. 30a. M. On the Sunday and army cadets directed the cars from 7. 00a. M. We hadn't been told about this when we booked either.

None of this spoilt our stay too much. We would definitely stay again, but would check about any events happening at the campsite and the pub.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsterjw 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful location, clean and tidy. Small playground on site and a shop selling all the provisions you may need. There was a party in the pub which went on late one night which kept me awake with pounding music, but this is the first time we've experienced this, so its an exception rather than the rule. Slightly boggy on site can be tough to get traction to put the caravan on blocks. Huge toilet block, clean and warm, always a shower free to use. Lovely site and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mp78 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site. Great facilities: beautifully kept grounds and camping pitches, electric hook up available, dogs and awnings allowed, well stocked convenience store, pub just outside of site, fab little playground with a sand pit, great wooden climbing frames and a separate tree swing round the corner, outside the pub. Toilets and showers were kept spotless and really thoroughly cleaned. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was a lovely space for kids to play ball games in the middle of our field. Felt completely safe letting our five yr old son roam around with the other kids on the site. Really handy that they also stock gas tanks as we forgot to pack ours! And all with the added charm of the new forest with its horses roaming wild on the local roads. We stayed at the site for 3 nights on route to Somerset. Quite quiet and low key so would really recommend for short stays.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tent Peggies 2 reviews from this member

Ideal location right in the New Forest, even the road to approach this campsite has spectacular views either side. Well regulated for the benefit of everyone staying on the site. The amenities, which can be a problem, were perfectly adequate with nothing unpleasant to be found at the time. This is quite a busy campsite, but the setting is second to none.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pandas 1 review from this member

A very good family campsite which, when we stayed at peak season time, had a healthy mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes.

We particularly like the informal free open spaces.

A good children's playground but tucked away from the camping areas so not noisy for the camping areas. Not too commercial, felt like camping as it used to be. There are pitch allocations but how you park on the pitch is not too regimented. We wanted a campsite where we could book a space next to our sons tent and this was not an issue, some sites have a segmentation between tents and motorhomes.

All the facilities are really good; a well equipped shop with fresh bread to really very good and clean washrooms and laundry. Well managed and a fantastic location. Will go again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissamsdad 10 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 5 night stay in this fabulous campsite. It's in the heart of the New Forest, with its lovely walks and of course Ponies and Donkeys walking around like they own the place. We managed to get a spot at short notice due to bad weather at our original destination, so we were in a paddock separated from the main campsite by a hedge and gate, which was quite nice as we had a lot of room. We had two medium tents, but they only charged us per person so that was great.

It's a lovely spot near to the local town, Ringwood, about 15-20 mins away, and near to lots of activities such as the wakeboarding park and horse-riding. It has a pub on site which serves some excellent real ales some of which are brewed on the premises. The food wasn't very exciting - pizzas and burgers, so we didn't eat there, but it was a cosy place to spend the evening playing cards. They do have live music on, but unfortunately due to a power cut they couldn't the night we were there.

I'm not obsessed with the toilets and showers like, it seems, most reviewers, but they were fine, only a small queue once, showers were hot and not just a dribble.

The shop was really good, most things a camper would need, and reasonable amount of food and drink. Fresh croissants and pain au chocolat baked fresh each morning were as good as you'd get in France. If I had one criticism it closed a bit early, 7pm I think, so if you were in the middle of cooking and realised you were missing something, your nearest option is an hour there and back.

A few noisy people, but wardens on site quietened them down. The play area looked great if a bit small - it's on the campsite: if my kids were younger and interested in it, I'd have let them go and play there unattended from 5y. O. , but then I give my kids much more free rein than many.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sandyfoot 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here at a busy time of year so it was a bit busier than we usually like but that was no fault of the site.

Nice, clean and tidy site in a lovely are. Would definitely go back but would love to try it at a quieter time of the year. Nice and relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff even when they were busy.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnners 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay as a family of 5 at the Red Shoot camp site and had a fantastic time on a fantastic site. In my opinion, there were no negatives. The positives were the toilet/shower block, the improved shop, the friendliness of staff, the superb location and the double-hot female owner

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crystal 41 2 reviews from this member

The camp site itself is in a nice location.

Pros

Plenty of hot water for washing pots.

Fresh baked bread

Staff very helpful

Level ground

lovely walks in the forst

Ideal place for bird watching

Cons

Groups of people together don't consider other campers through noise

Just over 2. 5 miles to get to main road then 3miles to ringwood nearest town.

Could do with toilet blocks for tents that are furthest away

No bins close by everything is by the enterance.

Using showers spray came into the drying area

Park is out of site from main tenting area so you have to go with the children

Have to use their ice blocks 25p a time to freeze

Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Week Camping Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a pair of Outwell Chairs and Table

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 4-5th June
The summer spectacular takes place at the Kent Event Centre. Buy discounted weekend tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1523