Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Shoot Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Red Shoot Camping Park
Linwood
(new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 3QT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01425 473789

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  10m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 173 Reviews
              8/10 from 173 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  173 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bongoderek 5 reviews from this member

Good location in the north of the New Forest area, ideal for walkers and cyclists with routes direct from site. But 6. 50 per night for electric hook-up is an absolute rip-off - equivalent to a domestic annual electricity bill of well 2000 ! A huge amount to pay for just keeping my leisure battery charged and boiling the kettle - I appreciate they have to cover the cost of maintaining the infrastructure but such a mark-up in profiteering at its worst. I travel extensively around the UK in my campervan and this is probably the most expensive electric hook-up I have come across.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patbaz 3 reviews from this member

A lovely area to visit. The site is warm and welcoming. Very busy when we arrived with so many units we did feel quite confined. Our grandson loved it and made so many friends very quickly. Shower block was very good and we would definitely return should we be in the area again. Nothing to do with the site but the pub was only two steps down from a derelict cafe. Such basic thrown out food but there is a lovely one a mile up the road.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tp76 1 review from this member

Have just come home from a 3 night stay at Red Shoots and wanted to make sure we left a quick review after a lovely break!

The site is very well laid out, although there were not too many people staying whilst we were there. The shower and toilet facilities are really very good. Some people said they had an issue with the push button showers, but I really don't see why. They were free, immaculately clean and very well thought out with a separate drying area all in the same cubicle. A real treat after some sites we've stayed at!

The site itself was very clean and tidy and the pitches are a good size. The pub on site is very friendly and excellent with dogs. We ate here and the food was very good.

Lots of good walks accessible without the need to drive anywhere as the footpaths run through the site. Brilliant for dog walkers.

We would definitely return next time we're visiting the area. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 7 reviews from this member

This is a good, well run, family oriented campsite. It would be great site for anyone new to camping.

It's on the edge of the New Forest - with walks into the Forest from the other side of the road, but doesn't really have forest views from the site itself. We were in the overflow field, as it was busy for spring bank holiday, but although this is a bit rougher than the rest of the site, I thought the views were better. There aren't any hook ups in the field though.

The on-site staff team are very friendly and helpful, but also make sure the site is well organised. Although it was busy, and had some large family groups, there was no excessive noise and the atmosphere was very friendly. Some of the pitches in the main field looked quite close together and possibly needed a windbreak between neighbours to give a bit of privacy.

The facilities were very good - plenty of toilets and showers, kept very clean. The shop was extremely well stocked with food, toys and camping essentials. We ate in the Red Shoot Inn, but sadly the food wasn't great.

It's a little bit too neat and organised for people who prefer the 'cool camping' approach, but overall it's hard to fault if you are looking for a pleasant family site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: R and S 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site, simple layout with open fields and no demarcation between pitches. The wardens were careful to arrange such that people don't bother one another.

Lovely shower block with powerful hot jets, although the usual 10 second water cut off is annoying and the water does slosh around between cubicles.

The shop is very well equipped for such a small area - best for kit and basic needs I've seen, not too full of useless souvenirs I've seen in others.

The pub on site is brilliant, a micro brewery, amazing food with a good range and very dog friendly. We needed to budget 18/person well worth it for the quality. The service was impeccable.

Finally the best thing is the location, right in the middle of numerous tracks & walks in the new forest. So 5 mins from walking out of the van we were 'miles' from anyone with the dogs.

We will be back, for longer than a weekend.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dens 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with views across the valley. The staff were very friendly, organised and helpful, when booking and when they showed us to our pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean at all times and the staff checked them constantly. The ground was a bit soft at this time of year. Surrounding the campsite are wonderful walks and cycles, as well as lovely pubs, including The High Corner Inn, The Alice Lisle and, of course the Red Shoot. We had a meal there which was fine, but nothing special. That night, there was a party in the pub which went on until 1. 30am! We were not told about the when we booked the meal at the pub. Also during our stay there was a running festival taking place, which although very interesting to watch at the start and finish, we also had the cars parked in the field in front of the caravans and motorhomes for two days. The tannoy started at 7. 30a. M. On the Sunday and army cadets directed the cars from 7. 00a. M. We hadn't been told about this when we booked either.

None of this spoilt our stay too much. We would definitely stay again, but would check about any events happening at the campsite and the pub.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsterjw 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful location, clean and tidy. Small playground on site and a shop selling all the provisions you may need. There was a party in the pub which went on late one night which kept me awake with pounding music, but this is the first time we've experienced this, so its an exception rather than the rule. Slightly boggy on site can be tough to get traction to put the caravan on blocks. Huge toilet block, clean and warm, always a shower free to use. Lovely site and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mp78 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site. Great facilities: beautifully kept grounds and camping pitches, electric hook up available, dogs and awnings allowed, well stocked convenience store, pub just outside of site, fab little playground with a sand pit, great wooden climbing frames and a separate tree swing round the corner, outside the pub. Toilets and showers were kept spotless and really thoroughly cleaned. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was a lovely space for kids to play ball games in the middle of our field. Felt completely safe letting our five yr old son roam around with the other kids on the site. Really handy that they also stock gas tanks as we forgot to pack ours! And all with the added charm of the new forest with its horses roaming wild on the local roads. We stayed at the site for 3 nights on route to Somerset. Quite quiet and low key so would really recommend for short stays.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tent Peggies 2 reviews from this member

Ideal location right in the New Forest, even the road to approach this campsite has spectacular views either side. Well regulated for the benefit of everyone staying on the site. The amenities, which can be a problem, were perfectly adequate with nothing unpleasant to be found at the time. This is quite a busy campsite, but the setting is second to none.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pandas 1 review from this member

A very good family campsite which, when we stayed at peak season time, had a healthy mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes.

We particularly like the informal free open spaces.

A good children's playground but tucked away from the camping areas so not noisy for the camping areas. Not too commercial, felt like camping as it used to be. There are pitch allocations but how you park on the pitch is not too regimented. We wanted a campsite where we could book a space next to our sons tent and this was not an issue, some sites have a segmentation between tents and motorhomes.

All the facilities are really good; a well equipped shop with fresh bread to really very good and clean washrooms and laundry. Well managed and a fantastic location. Will go again.

Previous     173 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1250