Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashurst Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Ashurst Camping In The Forest Site
Lyndhurst Road
Ashurst
New Forest
Southampton
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO40 7AR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  02380 292097

Facilities:  (Key)
    

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 280
Open: 6th April- 2nd October 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
              8/10 from 129 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12) and Video

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roofybubbles1 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after 3 nights camping at Ashurst. We woke on the first morning to ponies roaming through the campsite and one inquisitive pony poking his head into our porch. The toilet/shower blocks although older were impeccably clean and the hot water was always available whatever time day or night. No EHU but that is in part the site's charm. Lovely stay and definitely one to return to. Thank you also to the exceptionally friendly staff.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sally_T 2 reviews from this member

We've stayed at a couple of Camping in the Forest sites but not Ashurst so thought we'd have a change of location. Staff at the gate were lovely and friendly, even when it was chucking it down with rain! The facilities are cleaned regularly and really can't be faulted. Showers were always hot, even much later in the morning.

Great location for accessing cycle routes and you're really close to pubs and shops if you need them, plus if you wanted to cycle into Lyndhurst and other cycle paths but the main road puts you off, there's a lovely flat cycle network path that takes you right into the centre.

In our haste to get the tent up in the rain we didn't realise how close our pitch was to the train line, but to be fair, the trains never really bothered us, they're not fast or hugely regular. But if you're a light sleeper, stay away from the left-hand side of the site as you enter, if it doesn't bother you though, there are some nice spots there, our pitch area was relatively flat and we had a nice little thicket next to us that was home to a couple of field mice that we enjoyed watching. All in all a really lovely campsite

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ben.E 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here midweek for 3 nights Plenty of room We found the wardens to be very friendly

Many young people in tents also staying but we experienced no noise problems

This is traditional camping as no electricity on site ( but there is a large well maintained and cleaned loo block)

What a treat to find ponies and squirrels freely roaming amongst the campers

Despite very heavy storms the ground quickly soaked up the water

There is a bus service no 6 from outside the camp which plies between Southampton and Bournemouth if you wish to explore other towns

The previous reviewers comments re leisure batteries refer to Camper van conversions rather than caravans and motor homes and currently have been relaxed but understand the C&c club who manage this site may revisit at some stage

Would we stay again Definitely for a ' rural' getaway

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pamela Thomas 1 review from this member

We arrived on a Thursday lunchtime and for the first night it was paradise. Then on Friday large groups of families arrived and surrounded our tent. The staff told us there was a curfew at 10. 30 and this was enforced. However on both sides of us large groups of adults were drinking and talking loudly until 12. 30. Then at 6 am their children were up and riding bikes and playing football between the tents with no restraint from their parents. The staff were supposed to patrol but if this happened it had no effect whatsoever. Lovely position and good facilities but despite the vast amount of staff very poorly supervised. Lovely site in many ways but if you want a peaceful camping experience do not go at the weekend in high season - it is not the site for you.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shaun88 1 review from this member

We had a very pleasant stay at this site. On the 2nd night of being there a group of about 40 D of E kids arrived. They then swapped for the next night with another group from a different site. Even though they started off noisy and peering into the tent Terry and the staff were very good at reining them in and there was no further problems (Shame the teachers couldn't do that).

We have been about 6 times now and will keep going back.

The toilets are always clean, Showers are always hot and the location is always great.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

If you go down to the woods today you might be in for a big surprise. Well at Ashurst campsite anyway because they have a policy now of not letting camper vans or caravans on site without gas and leisure battery floor vents. We had a vent for the gas but not the leisure battery so after emptying a packed van the battery had to be left at reception until departure or we would not be let on site.

Whilst I am all for safety this was a managers choice, not club policy and at no stage did the Camping in the Forest website mention this rule when booking a van at Ashurst. So the weekend with was spent drinking warm Prosecco. Our battery is now vented but it might take a while for us to return after our recent experience which is a real shame.

Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window