Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Sidmouth Road
Clyst St Mary
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1DR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 234888

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m   5m  10m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
              8/10 from 17 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (22)

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The3taffs 2 reviews from this member

Check in was quick and staff were polite. Given directions to our generous sized pitch, which we found quite easy. Also given directions to the Adventure park. Grassed area of pitch was uneven, patchy and full of weeds. Not very nice to sit on with a deckchair. Facilities were clean, but difficult to find in the dark. The outside lighting of the facility block did not work, and it was difficult to wash dishes in the dark. Being the end of October it is dark by 5. 30 and after having our evening meal we were unable to wash up. We did complain to the warden but the facility block was still surrounded by darkness the following night. The road way was poorly lit and quite dangerous in the dark when staff were driving around at speed in an unlit golf buggy. The well stocked shop as they advertise is far from well stocked. The fridge was empty and we were unable to buy milk for at least 24 hours. The adventure park was fab for younger children. Unable to find dog walk.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wingnut76 1 review from this member

We stayed at crealy meadows for a four night break (Monday to Friday) at the end of August 2014. This was our first camping holiday so we weren't sure what to expect and, being honest, don't have anything to compare the site to.

We thought the site was excellent. There was plenty of space and we didn't feel at all crowded. We were on one of the pitches at the back of the site so not only was it quiet but there were only fields behind us.

The toilets and showers were exceptionally clean all the time we were on site, even though we had some very wet weather. The underfloor heating meant the showers were lovely and warm and the floor dried between users so the large changing area in each cubicle was dry. The showers were free and there was always plenty of hot water. The Family bathrooms were great for bathing the children as well.

On the day we arrived it was pouring with rain so having pitched in the rain we took advantage of the on site pizza delivery which delivered to your tent - no need to even go and collect them.

We didn't need to use the shop although it is quite small it appeared to have the basics. There is however a lovely farm shop about half a mile along the road which is very well stocked and even had a take away fish and chip counter.

The adventure park next to the site was good for our children (3 and 7) but would probably be a bit tame for teenagers. Having a pass for the whole week meant that we could pop in and out whenever we wanted and using the campers gate meant that we didn't need to queue to get in.

In all we thought this was a lovely site and will no doubt come back. The site is probably quite expensive compared to others but we thought it was worth it and it made for a very easy first holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kyka7862 5 reviews from this member

Spent a week here half term. Nice site with a few niggles. Staff are excellent, polite and friendly. The pitches are very spacious, although quite a few inc ours was a bit sodden and did resemble in parts a ploughed field. Its a newish site and needs time to mature and hopefully the weather will be kind to the site and sort out the pitches and allow the grass to grow. It was full for the week we spent here but we never had to queue for showers or toilets in the am and never felt it was cramped. The plus side and there are many is that entry to the Crealy Adventure Park is included in the price. Evening entertainment is on Crealy Adventure park and finishes at 10pm. The staff are extremely polite friendly and helpful and full of energy (despite the long shifts) and the biggest indoor play area I have ever seen is open for the kids to play while you have a drink meal or relax. The on site shop sell basic groceries but not camping stuff, Tesco/Sainsburys less than 3 miles away and Martins Caravan dealers/Shop 2 miles away. I would have liked to see the pitches rolled when vacant just to try and keep flattish. A few years ago this site was just fields wondering if drainage was a problem then? Despite everything niggling we had a great time and we will be back. Kids loved it and great location!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Upsydaisy 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wet week at this campsite and still had a fantastic time. The site is nice and the staff are extremely friendly. The facilities are excellent with each pitch having a full service point. Waste and water etc. Showers are lovely and lots of room so you can shower children with you too. For the little ones ie my 4 month old baby, there are family rooms with a separate shower and a bath which was fab. All rooms were warm due to the underfloor heating. Crealys park was good for the kids. As said before more suited to under 11s. Night time entertainment was good for the kids too and it was good that the indoor adventure soft play was open too so the kids can still play at night even if it rains. Also good is the fact there are 2 playground areas on the campsite it's self.

All in all a brilliant site and can't recommend it enough for families with children.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daves mate 11 reviews from this member

Just back from our Easter break at Crealy.

Staff are superb, always happy, helpful and friendly. Facilities blocks are very modern with state of the art showers straight off the starship enterprise, the only downside being the lack of hot water at times. We experienced at least a couple of days with no hot water on site at all, I, and many other campers, had to boil a kettle in order to have hot dishwashing water. There is a sign in the facilities block saying this is due to the site using an environmentally friendly bio mass boiler. Now I'm all for being 'green' but would argue that if the hot water system doesn't work properly it's far from environmentally friendly?

The site is very open, some of the pitches are quite bare with not much grass and very soft ground that puddles quite easily with a little rain. That said it's a very new development and I imagine this will be remedied as it matures and the planted landscaping grows. Each pitch has it's own tap, drain and electric hook up point with a built in light, a nice touch but I really can't think of a site where I've thought the tap was too far a walk away. I'd also like the option to turn off the built in light as this illuminated our sleeping area throughout the dark hours. The electric hook ups are the type that will take a 'pay as you go' card system but this is not used. As the site is trying to be 'green' in other areas perhaps this is something they could think about moving forward?

The jewel in this particular site's crown is it's connection with the Crealy adventure park which our kids loved and was the reason we chose to stay here. The 7 days for the price of 1 offer makes it fantastic value. Evening entertainment is provided in one of the park's indoor areas and is of a decent standard with the same enthusiasm levels from the staff as is found in all other areas. Being able to use the covered 'adventure zone' of an evening is a big plus but we did get the impression that evening entertainment for campers was somewhat of an afterthought.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and will very probably return. I can't see it being a long term favourite though as children over the age of about 10 would quickly outgrow the adventure park and lets be honest, that's the only reason you'd stay at Crealy Meadows. I expect the minor issues we encountered to be teething problems of a new campsite and that this site will grow to become a great feature of the overall Crealy experience

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Ferretlady 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in a Safari Tent. The weekend was free as I won the holiday in a competition. A big thankyou to Crealy!

Pro's

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful

Excellent site for children

Facilities are spotless

Good base for touring area

Con's

Safari tents are not very good in windy weather, the thicker canvas flaps and bangs against the frame and is extremely noisy (earplugs essential)

Dogs not allowed in tents, even in a crate.

Dogs not allowed into theme park.

No where to eat or drink in evening after 5. 30 (except on saturday nights, As late in season.

Woodburner is a stove, but don't expect to cook quickly on it.

Woodburner eats a lot of wood and needs filling regularly.

I do feel that if people are staying at the site, all of the cafe's should still be open.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1172