Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07884 432 412  or  01263713395

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
              9/10 from 57 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MezandTom 3 reviews from this member

This is the nicest larger site we've visited. Emma is lovely and really knows what makes things work for families and the kids had a fantastic time. The play park was a serious bonus for them. There were lots of extras: Books, games, crabbing equipment, fire pits, to borrow free of charge, a hair dryer was available, and phones could be charged for free in reception. Lots of hot water free of charge too. We never had to queue for toilets or showers, which were in great condition. My only negative would be that though the important bits were cleaned often, the back of the toilets and outside of the toilet bowls weren't cleaned regularly, or the corners of the floor and other places that you can't get to with a mop. That said we'll definitely have it as our first choice of place to stay when we come back to Norfolk.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stich16 1 review from this member

Stayed here over Easter weekend in our Tent with EHU and dog. Couldn't be more positive. Very friendly, welcoming and approachable staff. Separate fields for people with / without dogs. We were positioned in the corner of one of the dog fields, great spot. Is generally a very well kept site. Has all the facilities you need, plenty of toilets, showers, washing up sinks if needed etc. There were only maybe 15 people here when we stayed and although the weather could have been better because it is only a short walk to the facilities it didn't matter that it was chucking it down!

This site is in a great spot for exploring the local area, sherringham, holt, wells next to sea and blakney point; we did all of these over the course of the weekend.

We chose this site because we wanted a quite rural site which is within a few miles of the local towns, we noticed that some people who stayed at the same time as us didn't leave the site for the duration of their stay. The site is surrounded by some lovely public footpaths and bridal ways, one of which leads to baconsthorpe castle.

If we wanted to come back to Norfolk we will be choosing this site!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retired and happy 3 reviews from this member

This is only the second time we have been camping but are loving it. The site was very quiet on our visit with only 3 other tents so obviously no waiting for any of the facilities. The shower and toilet blocks were spotless. Very helpful and friendly owner who was there mornings and early evening. Shop was open twice a day for the basics which was reasonably priced. Fire pits there to borrow. Great location for visiting Holt and the coast. Would recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazz51 9 reviews from this member

This is the second time I've camped here within a month. I chose it because it's near Holt which I'm particularly fond of and I liked the look of the website. Emma and her family are very friendly and the facilities were always spotless.

There are four fields, a small one in a corner for D of E ers, two long fields for families and non dog people spanning across the path to the facilities, one housing a wooden play area and then a large field for all the dog lovers. You can pitch where you like, there's hedges right round the dog field and a cross of greenery planted in the centre which will provide more shelter and break the field up when matured. In this field by the path there is a dog bin, fire point and water tap.

There are adequate number of loos, a kitchen with dryer, 20p for 6 mins, washing machine, two huge freezers for blocks, a notice board with daily updated weather for 3 days, hair dryer.

There are two lots of two ladies showers, one family shower, one mens shower. The showers are unusual that they are only separated from the communal area, which has a sink, by a curtain and small area to change in with the only doors in to the shower itself.

There is a small shop for milk, etc.

Across the road a farm track walk will take you to Baconsthorpe Castle ruins which is well worth visiting.

The campsite itself is a great location as is near Holt, steam trains, Sheringham, Cromer, beaches, but feels quite remote from the coast mayhem traffic, it has a very relaxed vibe.

This particular weekend I happened to be there for the forties weekend centred around the steam train stations but the towns of Sheringham and Holt increasingly take part too so since the first time I happened to see it 6 years ago it seems to have got even bigger and better. Recommended.

I've camped at several sites in North Norfolk and looked at several more and I am so glad I gave this one a try as it would be my no. 1 choice for this area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim Wood 9 reviews from this member

Back to basics, but all you need.

It might be worth noting that they do seem to accept trailer tents as well as there were a couple on site.

When I say back to basic that's in no way a criticism. Lovely big camping fields. On a working farm and in a very rural setting. We loved it. Host Emma, opens reception for a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the late afternoon. Reception includes free wi-fi and a little shop for essentials.

The showers and toilets are in porta-cabin type buildings but we're week appointed and always really clean. Showers are free and hot water always plentiful, however the showers are fairly cramped.

There are an abundance of footpaths around the area and a 15 minute walk to Baconsthorpe Castle is well worth a visit.

Fire pits and log sales are a bonus.

We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 36 reviews from this member

This is a very nice spacious campsite with a real family atmosphere.

The well-laid-out site is level and road access is good - the entrance is an easy turn-in from the Holt to Baconsthorpe road. Reception and facilities are conveniently grouped at the further end of the entrance road.

The pitches are on several fields enclosed by attractive low hedges. Some of the fields have electric hook-up.

Cars can be parked next to tents and the pitches are very spacious with good grass in most areas.

Dogs are welcome but not in all fields. There is a dog-walking path directly opposite the site which leads to the ruins of Baconsthorpe castle - well worth a stroll.

Emma the owner lives on site and she and her family are very helpful and friendly.

There is a shop in reception which sells basic items such as milk and bread. Nearby there is an adventure playground for the children.

Campfires are permitted and firepits provided - wood and kindling are sold in reception.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean and supplies were replenished regularly. However, I think the limited number of loos and showers could lead to queuing when the site is full. Other facilities include laundry, freezer, microwave and wifi. There are plenty of water points around the site.

During my stay, there was a wide variety of tents using the site, most housing family groups. The site has a strict noise curfew and was very quiet at night during my stay.

The attractive market town of Holt is a five-minute drive and has shops and a small Budgen supermarket. There are more extensive shops in Sheringham and Cromer.

In summary, an excellent family campsite in an attractive location.

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0908