Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07884 432 412  or  01263713395

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
              9/10 from 61 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (18)

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Messy71 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite (we spent a week here last year) and it's even better now!

The site operates a 'pitch where you like' policy, which could result in chaos but doesn't because there is plenty of space for people to choose from. There are a few different fields for people to choose from, the largest being the dog-friendly area, the busiest being the one with the play equipment. Even though this area was busy, people pitched around the edge of the field leaving plenty of space in the middle for kids to run and play. The play equipment was solid and makes a great place for the children to met new friends (our daughter had a fantastic time with her new playmates). The vast majority of people were considerate in how close they pitched to others as well. Also, although there were a few groups dotted around the site, everyone respected the 'Quiet by 10pm' rule. (Or at least were quiet by half past ten, anyway. )

The toilets and showers were clean. The showers have been upgraded and are now a room rather than a cubicle - brilliant for those who have to hose down younger children, and luxury for those who get the opportunity to shower alone. The showers have push buttons but they stay on for plenty of time and you can control the temperature. Always a bonus!

The fish and chip van is also a new idea this year, it is visiting every Thursday in August and the food was cooked fresh on site and was delicious. Fire pits are free to borrow, and wood/kindling is available at the little shop. There is plenty to do in the local area, including the lovely walk to Baconsthorpe Castle. Emma (the site owner) was friendly and helpful.

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and have already decided that we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazz51 10 reviews from this member

This was my 3rd stay at Baconsthorpe Meadows and it just gets better. Shiny new showers (free), constantly cleaned facilities, free freezer, books and games to borrow or swap, roof over washing up sinks as Emma continues to make the site a happy relaxed experience. The children have a great time around the site and I camp in the huge dog friendly field relatively peaceful. There are several permitted walks through the fields as well as to the Castle and Holt is just down the road. Steam train coastal path Sheringham Park Cromer all close by but a step back from the crowded sites. I've stayed in several sites in Norfolk and looked at several others but this is by far my favourite.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 38 reviews from this member

This was my second visit to Baconsthorpe Meadows (see my previous review dated August 2016) and the site was even better this time.

There have been several improvements; more showers, additions to the facilities area, roofing over the washing-up sinks, and the windbreak hedges are growing well.

As before, the welcome and service from Emma and her colleagues was first class. The site was very well maintained, the grass in good condition, and everything neat and tidy.

Compared with nearby sites that are crowded and noisy, Baconsthorpe Meadows is very spacious and it is quiet at night.

As before I highly recommend Baconsthorpe Meadows and give it full marks.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BatBooboo 1 review from this member

We've just got back from over a week on this site. What a fantastic little site it is. Like campsites were when I was a child. No Spa pub or burger king on site here, but lovely family atmosphere and relaxing scenery. We had car issues and Emma couldn't have been more helpful in sorting us out. It did mean we were stuck on site for several days and at that point a bigger shop with longer opening hours would have been useful. But we did manage fine and I actually used all those tins I pack and then don't use! It is definitely too far to walk to any local shops etc. As the road to and from Holt is a country lane and has no pavement. I have 3 HUGE wolf alike dogs and there was plenty of room for the trailer tent and a space behind for the dogs to be staked out. She even showed us where we could walk them! Baconsthorpe Castle is only a 15 min walk from the campsite and was a good walk for the dogs down a nice safe bridle path. We went several times, well worth the walk. My children spent most of their time in the play area which is lovely chunky wooden solid swings slides etc. And well kept. I felt happy and confident that they were safe without being walked and watched everywhere (almost teenagers) and left them to it. They found a newt near the play area which I think was the highlight of their week! The toilets and showers were kept very clean, especially considering we were there for a massive storm, Emma actually came round to everyone the next morning to check on us! I wish we had used this site when the kids were smaller the showers are like a small family wash room rather than a tiny cubicle, really good for families with younger children. Will definitely return. Only downside would be at peak season you may have to queue outside for toilets or showers during busy hours. We never had to though. I almost didn't leave a review as I wanted to keep this site to myself!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MezandTom 3 reviews from this member

This is the nicest larger site we've visited. Emma is lovely and really knows what makes things work for families and the kids had a fantastic time. The play park was a serious bonus for them. There were lots of extras: Books, games, crabbing equipment, fire pits, to borrow free of charge, a hair dryer was available, and phones could be charged for free in reception. Lots of hot water free of charge too. We never had to queue for toilets or showers, which were in great condition. My only negative would be that though the important bits were cleaned often, the back of the toilets and outside of the toilet bowls weren't cleaned regularly, or the corners of the floor and other places that you can't get to with a mop. That said we'll definitely have it as our first choice of place to stay when we come back to Norfolk.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stich16 1 review from this member

Stayed here over Easter weekend in our Tent with EHU and dog. Couldn't be more positive. Very friendly, welcoming and approachable staff. Separate fields for people with / without dogs. We were positioned in the corner of one of the dog fields, great spot. Is generally a very well kept site. Has all the facilities you need, plenty of toilets, showers, washing up sinks if needed etc. There were only maybe 15 people here when we stayed and although the weather could have been better because it is only a short walk to the facilities it didn't matter that it was chucking it down!

This site is in a great spot for exploring the local area, sherringham, holt, wells next to sea and blakney point; we did all of these over the course of the weekend.

We chose this site because we wanted a quite rural site which is within a few miles of the local towns, we noticed that some people who stayed at the same time as us didn't leave the site for the duration of their stay. The site is surrounded by some lovely public footpaths and bridal ways, one of which leads to baconsthorpe castle.

If we wanted to come back to Norfolk we will be choosing this site!

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


280 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec