Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Corfe Castle
Bucknowle
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 02477670642

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 28 February To 02 November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
              8/10 from 92 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JeremyH 1 review from this member

Great information room.

Clean tidy and quiet site. Spotless shower blocks and, unique in our experience, heated towel rails near the showers!

Good local walks in Enid Blyton country. Good pubs serving well cooked and not too expensive meals (and lashings of ginger beer)

Don't forget to claim if you're over 60. One of us was a concession.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 119 reviews from this member

A return visit to this lovely wooded site for us and so pleased we did. The weather was fantastic (much better than August!).

Lovely wardens who give you all the information you could need then just leave you alone.

We had pre-booked a hardstanding pitch and were pitched in a small cul-de-sac with views over the Dorset countryside. The warden suggested we could see deer in the field and he was right!

One central facilities block with ladies and gents toilets, showers and a couple of privacy cubicles with sink. Lovely powerful showers but small cubicles! Undercover washing up area is housed in the same building.

The walk into Corfe is lovely (10-15 minute stroll), MUCH harder on the way back as it's UP all the way! There are some other stunning walks in the area too along the Purbeck Way and the Rempstone Way, all with the most wonderful views. Corfe village itself is great and has a few decent pubs. Expensive in the Greyhound (2 pints = £8!) but you're paying for the views of the castle of course. We ate in the Bankes Arms (new owners) and it was fantastic, would definitely go there again. The village bakery is also very good, great pasties and lovely lemon drizzle cake!

We caught the train into Swanage one day (£11. 50 per adult day ticket) MUCH cheaper than the bus that was £4 per adult each way! Lots to do in Swanage too with plenty of coastal walks.

Beautiful area, especially in great weather, and we can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Dootsons 7 reviews from this member

We were allocated a pitch at the bottom of the slope against the trees in the first field, the weather was very wet - The ground did not drain, we ended up pitched in a large muddy swamp :( with the trees all around neither the ground nor the tent dried in the little good weather we had.

That being said, the staff were wonderful, the facilities clean and looked after and the kids loved playing in the woods by the site. The pubs of Corfe and Church Knowle are easy walking distance for very good food. You can place bakery orders before 5. 30pm for collection around 9am the following day (earlier collection would be an improvement).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 10 reviews from this member

Second stay here and every bit as good as the first. Corfe Castle itself is 10 minutes stroll away and has a couple of pubs that are fine, a decent cafe or two and the castle. This time we walked down the ridge to Swanage which made for a lovely walk and caught the bus back. Good fish and chips there too!

The site is great to me - fairly private pitches quite a few in among trees. Facilities very well maintained indeed. The staff really could not have been more helpful - great site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Banditwow 1 review from this member

We chose the site based on the location near Corfe Castle. The booking process proved problematic as it took 3 attempts with a myriad of booking reference numbers (we had 2 tents)and we could not be given a guarantee that we could camp together. As we were camping with my partner's daughter we found this a bit strange. On arrival we were asked to pay and the warden asked us to accompany her to the pitch. She brought us to a pitch at the far end of the site which was tree covered, downhill (slope) and we were advised to park our car to the side of the pitch. After we pitched, the pitch proved to be very wet and not well drained, we went to Corfe Castle for a meal. We couldn't walk to town as the warden had informed us that the path was very muddy and slippy so we chose to use our car which couldn't get traction and it had started sinking into the ground. After a few minutes we were informed by the people next to us that they had had the same problem. We feel we should have been warned about it. It seemed as we were only in a tent we felt the pitches were an after thought and we felt treated as second class campers compared to the caravans which had gravel standings. Other grassy areas on the campsite also seemed muddy.

Facilities were good, we ordered fresh bread which was lovely, in general staff were helpful. As a previous review had mentioned make sure that you see your pitch before you pay.

The entrance lane was in disrepair and the impression of this lane was not very welcoming. Although the site is close to the castle and town it is one of the few places in the area where you cannot enjoy the view of the castle from. We had no mobile phone signal.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsCamper 4 reviews from this member

I'm glad I didn't read some of these reviews before visiting this site! Yes, driving up the lane does not give the best impression but once at the site you receive a lovely welcome. With a campervan and a small tent, we found the pitches to be a perfectly acceptable size. The bathroom facilities are clean and very well kept especially the family bathroom room which was great for my 3 year old, as was the small playground. Other campers were very friendly. The location is excellent and it's a 25 minute walk to Corfe Castle. If you like being in the countryside, with great facilities and very friendly owners then this is for you - it's the nicest club site I've stayed on.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0479