Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Corfe Castle
Bucknowle
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 02477670642

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 2nd March To 1st November 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
              8/10 from 95 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 34 reviews from this member

During the past year or so, I've camped at several Camping & Caravanning Club sites. My most recent stay at a club site was Corfe Castle and, to be frank, I was a little disappointed compared to other C&CC sites.

Firstly, the location is very good. The campsite is midway between Wareham and the resort of Swanage and it is situated below the picturesque escarpment of the Purbeck Hills.

However, this hilly location has a drawback - as other reviewers have said, although the hardstandings for campervans and caravans are terraced and flat, few of the grass pitches for tents are level and some slope quite badly.

The site is not well signposted from the main road in the village nor from the end of its approach road. Vehicle access is adequate but the road is narrow and quite bumpy. Nonetheless, there were plenty of touring caravans and motorhomes on the campsite during my stay.

In fact, the majority of visitors were in caravans, campervans and motorhomes - tents were very much in the minority. Several other reviewers have pointed out that 'vans seem to take precedence over tents. To quote Banditwow's June 2014 review: ' It seemed as we were only in a tent we felt the pitches were an afterthought and we felt treated as second class campers compared to the caravans. '

The site is in woods with many large mature trees and also well-maintained hedges between pitches. It is a woodland site and its own description warns that some pitches are under trees. On the upside, the trees give excellent shelter from the wind but on the downside it risks leaves, sap and bird poo on the tent (and drips long after rain has stopped).

As other reviewers have pointed out, some of the pitches are fairly small. Combined with the trees and hedges this can give a hemmed-in feeling although it didn't bother me. Some reviewers have complained that the pitches vary in size but I prefer the variety as it looks less regimented.

The grass is generally OK in open areas but in pitch areas there are many patches of yellowing or well-worn grass and some patches of bare soil - not great to pitch on. The ground takes pegs easily.

Electric hook-up (EHU) is available on most of the pitches (although I was on a non-electric pitch). A network of gravel-surfaced access tracks serve most pitches and campers can park cars beside their tent. There are adequate drinking water stands and fire points.

There is only one facilities block. It is located by the entrance and fitted out and maintained to a high standard but it feels slightly dated compared to some C&CC sites.

The facilities seem a tad limited for the size of the site - only three urinal spaces in the gents, for example, and four showers. That said, the showers had proper glass doors inside the cubicle to provide a dry area for towels and clothes.

The washing-up sinks are outside the facilities building itself but are under a roof. During my stay everything was kept spotlessly clean and the water was usually hot enough to wash dishes in.

The staff were friendly and unobtrusive but they seemed a bit disorganised on the office work. There was an over-charge when booking by phone. The staff were anxious to refund the overpayment but it took them quite a lot of headscratching and calculating with pencil and paper on the day of departure - I'm still not sure how much the cost was per person per night.

Dogs are welcome (if kept on a lead) and there is an excellent footpath to walk dogs right beside the campsite. Appropriately, The Greyhound pub in nearby Corfe village is very dog-friendly and serves reasonably priced meals.

The site was very quiet by mid-evening and quiet through the night.

As an aside, I got good mobile phone reception (EE network) unlike other reviewers.

In conclusion, although the site is pretty, the location good, the staff friendly and the site is sheltered from the wind, Corfe Castle did not impress me as much as other C&CC sites. Due mostly to the sloping pitches and the trees I'm unlikely to return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dorsetnomad 3 reviews from this member

We have just spent two days at this excellent site. The wardens are extremely nice, friendly and helpful. We had a hard standing with electric hook up, these are all very good indeed, ours had a hedge on one side and shrubs on the other and a grassed area for sitting out.

The whole site is very well maintained, the toilet/shower block is immaculate and there is a nice washing up area for those campers with tents. All the information you need is in a room next to reception. At reception there is a small shop area and papers and bread can be ordered. Fish and chips are delivered on Friday but we didn't sample these.

Access to the bridleway is near to the entrance or from a gate in the middle of the site, a lovely walk takes you right into Corfe in 15-20

Minutes. The bridleway also takes you to the bus stop with an hourly bus to Swanage or Wareham and Poole.

The site was busy as it was a bank holiday weekend but because everyone has plenty of space, there is no sense of being crammed in. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JeremyH 1 review from this member

Great information room.

Clean tidy and quiet site. Spotless shower blocks and, unique in our experience, heated towel rails near the showers!

Good local walks in Enid Blyton country. Good pubs serving well cooked and not too expensive meals (and lashings of ginger beer)

Don't forget to claim if you're over 60. One of us was a concession.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 130 reviews from this member

A return visit to this lovely wooded site for us and so pleased we did. The weather was fantastic (much better than August!).

Lovely wardens who give you all the information you could need then just leave you alone.

We had pre-booked a hardstanding pitch and were pitched in a small cul-de-sac with views over the Dorset countryside. The warden suggested we could see deer in the field and he was right!

One central facilities block with ladies and gents toilets, showers and a couple of privacy cubicles with sink. Lovely powerful showers but small cubicles! Undercover washing up area is housed in the same building.

The walk into Corfe is lovely (10-15 minute stroll), MUCH harder on the way back as it's UP all the way! There are some other stunning walks in the area too along the Purbeck Way and the Rempstone Way, all with the most wonderful views. Corfe village itself is great and has a few decent pubs. Expensive in the Greyhound (2 pints = £8!) but you're paying for the views of the castle of course. We ate in the Bankes Arms (new owners) and it was fantastic, would definitely go there again. The village bakery is also very good, great pasties and lovely lemon drizzle cake!

We caught the train into Swanage one day (£11. 50 per adult day ticket) MUCH cheaper than the bus that was £4 per adult each way! Lots to do in Swanage too with plenty of coastal walks.

Beautiful area, especially in great weather, and we can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Dootsons 7 reviews from this member

We were allocated a pitch at the bottom of the slope against the trees in the first field, the weather was very wet - The ground did not drain, we ended up pitched in a large muddy swamp :( with the trees all around neither the ground nor the tent dried in the little good weather we had.

That being said, the staff were wonderful, the facilities clean and looked after and the kids loved playing in the woods by the site. The pubs of Corfe and Church Knowle are easy walking distance for very good food. You can place bakery orders before 5. 30pm for collection around 9am the following day (earlier collection would be an improvement).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ikw101 3 reviews from this member

Great site and deservedly popular. Site manager and wardens very helpful. Been staying at this site on and off since C&CC took over the franchise several years ago. Site has gradually changed with hard standings being put in for caravans and motorhomes. Sadly like most C&CC sites the only tent pitches now left are those that are inaccessible to caravans due to steep slopes, damp ground. In general however they are further away from the gravel track that kicks up huge amounts of limestone dust. Plenty of wildlife interest Foxes, Badgers, Barn Owls, Tawny Owls and Kestrels are regular visitors. Located on the south facing slope of the Purbeck ridge the site is in a suntrap and can get extremely warm. EE phone signal now excellent. O2 poor. Only negative is that during high season the site is very expensive.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1719