Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Corfe Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Corfe Castle
Bucknowle
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5PQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01929 480280

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 03 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
              8/10 from 106 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 21 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of half term week and whilst it was busy thatís not unusual for the site. This is a testament to how well maintained the site is by itís owners.

We pitched up on hardstanding and were level without much effort, most of the motorhome pitches are on hardstanding then there are a number of grass pitches which were still being used for tents during the weekend we stayed. The facilities are great on the site; clean toilets, push button showers providing continuous hot water, washing up points and an abundance of local information. We love this site because of the thoughtful layout, there are actually quite a few pitches but the thoughtful layout means that you donít really notice, having been parked on a number of different pitches over a few visits we have never felt on top of our neighbours.

The location of the site is fantastic, with easy walking to Corfe Castle and into Corfe village where there are a number of Pubs, Shops and Tea Rooms. It is also possible to catch the Steam Train into Swanage from the station in Corfe; previously we have walked to Swanage and caught the train back but during this visit took a circular walk around the local villages and over Corfe Common instead.

The site is definitely wildlife friendly and has a number of information points about the trees and birds in the area, we were even surprised to have a late night visit from a Badger during our stay!

A great site which we will return to.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor caravan 6 reviews from this member

I have to say that I was more than disappointed with this site. I was shown to a 'grass' pitch as there were no prior hardstandings and I asked for if possible a pitch not under trees and has some light. There was no grass and no light, at least this time of year. It was a sloping mud bath and I had my jockey wheel wound up to its maximum and on two breeze block lumps. I hardly had to lower my back steadies. The poor people near me had an Eriba puck and faced the opposite direction and their A frame was immersed in the mud and they were still not level. I had to pull his car out of the mud with my 4x4. Another caravanner I saw moved from one uneven pitch to another under an oak tree and had to buy a tarpaulin to cover his roof for potential damage from flotsum and jetsum from the tree. I couldn't let my small dog out on her extending lead as she would be covered in mud the whole time.

Of course I accept weather and slight use of levelling aids but this site should be considered a very hot summer site and not autumn. Some pitches under trees were in constant shade and damp. Don't open in the autumn or at least do some tree lopping so people can see the light of day however I found the ambience more of financial business than the spirit of camping. Mend the pitches! lop the trees! Move pitches away from the 'dingly dell' area! Find somewhere level for the tenters!

I felt more than robbed of the cost of this site - the only saving grace is that it is on the isle of purbeck.

P. S. Who keeps nicking the black plastic plugs by the washing up area, how cheap.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TerenceM15 3 reviews from this member

We have a small two man tent which we use for cycle touring. On this occasion we also had the car with us. We were originally invoiced £286. 65 for seven nights, including electricity! This was a bit of a shock (pardon the pun). I explained that we didn't need electricity but was told that all pitches have it as a standard charge. I was then persuaded to join the Camping and Caravan Club so I could get a discount, but still had to pay £219. 80 plus the £38 membership fee, and it's unlikely we will need to make use of the membership. There was in fact no electric hook-up on our pitch nor was one available on from adjacent plots. We were strictly told that we mustn't pitch on the grass but on the 3m sq muddy patch in the middle. The site slope meant a regular slide every night but more alarmingly we saw a caravan out of control and nearly running into a family tent lower down. The people above us went out every night for meals leaving the dog to bark. Another dog nearby went for me being on a 20ft lead. Before leaving we tried to wash off the worst of the mud which had splashed 4 inches up the sides of the tent not mention the state of the groundsheet.

Such a shame because it's a lovely location with pleasant staff and good facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 31 reviews from this member

This is a very pretty campsite with good facilities and helpful staff. Do not be put off by the access road though I imagine it would be difficult for larger vehicles. It's a lovely walk across the fields into corfe castle which has pubs basic shops and cafes.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanlp 1 review from this member

Road access to the site is fine, but the final site access road is difficult, to say the least. It is only wide enough for 1 vehicle, with no passing places, and is VERY bumpy, with overhanging tree branches inches from the van.

The site itself is very pretty and the site staff are very friendly and helpful. We were on the hard stand pitch adjacent to the reception office and the information room, which itself is very useful and comfortable, because of the sofa and coffee table provided. The toilet block is good, seems fairly new, but the showers have folding glass doors which seem so unnecessary - why not just have a curtain? Also, there was a fitted stool, but it was huge and took up most of the floor space in the 'dry' area. Another niggle in the shower was that although there were a couple of hooks on the door, there was nowhere in the cubicle to place shower gel, shampoo, etc. , and there was not much room to bend over to pick them up from the floor. Additionally, the water flow button had to be pressed constantly.

We were very disappointed with the size of the pitches. We had a reasonable hard stand pitch, but nowhere to sit, no grass either front or back. We have an air awning and the space available for guys was not sufficient to peg. Instead, we had to peg on a higher level of grass, about 2 feet above ground level. Our car, because of wooden sleepers and fencing had to be driven into a fenced space with not much room to even open the car doors properly. We were visiting with tent campers, and our son could not even access his grass pitch because the access slope and the pitch were absolutely disgusting, with a sea of mud he was expected to drive and pitch over. It was also in deep shade. Our daughter's pitch was much better and more generous, but was still sited on deep mud, and it made a terrible mess of the groundsheet, when it was lifted. The majority of the site was in shade, and the grass pitches seemed to be chaotically arranged, which seemed to prevent easy access and egress from pitches. Several cars could not be accommodated adjacent to the tent and so had to park either outside the toilet block, or on areas nearby. The site was within waling distance of Corfe Castle itself, but only using s footpath through fields. The road had no pavements and were unlit at night. Corfe is a lovely little village with shops a couple of pubs, but the mount of heavy traffic travelling through its centre constantly, totally spoiled it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beppo 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here briefly a year ago and was impressed by how attractive it was. However, this stay was a big disappointment. Pitch was extremely small. Couldn't even roll out the awning. Miles to walk to the single toilet block. Roadways covered with a heavy layer of large loose stones that made rolling equipment nearly impossible. Pitch gravel was so deep and loose and approach so steep and tight we got stuck trying to manoeuvre out a 18ft motorhome. When staff member was asked for help just got a shrug and 'nothing we can do' Only when it was pointed out that we were now blocking other vans from moving did they suddenly produce a land rover and pull us out - no apologies! Waterpoints very inconvenient for motorhomes and no appropriate waste water disposal. Site is pretty and convenient for the local area but we definitely won't be going back.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6842 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec