Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 370 Reviews
              9/10 from 370 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  370 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

Beautiful, well looked after, well run campsite.

We have stayed many times before and I swear it just keeps getting better.

Not cheap, but you get what you pay for!

Friendly, easy check in.

We had a lovely fully serviced hard standing pitch in Ronnie's Paddock for 2 nights.

3 'facilities' blocks on site and never had to queue although for early September the site was full.

Love the piped music in each block.

Small shop with plenty of essentials and gifts.

Short walk to the local pub which you get a voucher from the site for. Buy 2 main meals and get a free bottle of house wine or 2 bottles of real ale. Always lovely food and great service there too.

Bus stop right outside the site but we didn't use it. We walked to Upton Country Park (about a mile or so from the site through Upton) and then down through the gorgeous park (complete with lovely café) to Holes Bay where we walked into Poole from. Well worth doing on a sunny day.

Love this site and will be back again and again!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 27 reviews from this member

Can't really add much to what has been said before, we don't normally use grass pitches after a couple of disastrous holidays ruined by rain but as no hardstandings were available we settled for a grass pitch in 'Ronnies Field' Even despite some very wet weather the pitch remained well drained and we didn't have the problem of the groundsheet being under water or mud like at Creampots in Wales, ghastly place.

Amenity block faultless, whole place is very well maintained.

Recommend St Peters Finger and Dylan's Cafe also the Jazz Cafe at Sandbanks which are all dog friendly but the prices at Jazz Cafe make the old credit card squeak a bit!

As we left the place was filling up fast with families as the schools had started breaking up so we were glad to be on our way ( been there, done that) and you can see the site is coming into its own as it caters for them brilliantly.

Definite to return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here first 2 weeks in July, our 6th. Visit. 1 day of rain.

Yet again a lovely welcome by staff. The facilities were spotless as usual. Shower Blocks, disabled unit, dish washing area and wahers, driers in different blocks. Bike Hire is also available. Small shop at reasonable prices.

Welcome pack has voucher for free bottle of wine when you eat at the local pub, St. Peter's Finger, a 10/15minute walk through the village of Lytchett Minster. Also, voucher for free tea/coffee at Dylan's cafe in the Craft Centre which is reached by a path through one of the camping fields. The children's play area has been renewed and welcoming for the younger children. There is a Pool Table in room next to Reception/shop. New Ducks on the pond.

There is a Bus stop outside the gates, where you can travel to Poole then onto many other destinations. By car you can travel to many towns villages within an hour. Or just stay and relax on site. Dogs are welcomed and have 2 fields 1. On lead 2. Off lead. There are also recycling bins.

We enjoyed our stay so much that booked a 2018 visit before we left.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ayrshire campers 2 reviews from this member

South Lytchett Manor is an excellent site we spent 12 nights there and it is definitely the best site we have stayed at in 8 years of camping.

The site is immaculate, staff are very friendly and helpful and the toilet/showers are very clean, We never needed to wait for a shower cubicle, they are also warm, music plays day and night and fresh flowers in the communal area of the shower block.

Our pitch had plenty of space for the tent and car, electric hook up and tv point, we were pitched in a smaller area of the site which was perfect for us.

We felt secure on the site as there is security Barrier to enter and exit the site which required a code, which is provided when you check in.

The site is perfect for visiting Poole, Bournemouth, Swanage, Corfe and Wareham all under an hours drive.

We visited from Scotland, it was a long drive but definitely well worth it and we will visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenlo37 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 8 nights on this great site. We usually use Caravan club sites but this site was run equally well. It is well laid out and is really well maintained. The dog walk in particular was fantastic! I'm sure our lab was depressed when we left! The only downside to this site are the showers which are push button which only stay on a very short time, and by the time the temperature had regulated they were just about to go off again. Also there is no step down into them so floor got very wet. Other than that the facilities were very clean and modern and more than adequate for the size of the site. I feel bad mentioning the showers as we had a fantastic stay in fabulous weather and will return in the future. Congrats on a friendly, efficient hardworking team who have encouraged us to try other independent sites in the future!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EX BOYSCOUT 5 reviews from this member

I have to say I was unfortunately disappointed with this site, the pitches although spacious feel like you have no privacy at all

Washers and dryers are available but not enough of them and they are VERY expensive

The toilets/ showers were closed for over an hour at a time despite campers being 'politely ' asked to clean the block after they had finished, the cleaning in progress signs ask you to use other facilities around the park and not the disabled / family rooms next door that are kept open whilst cleaning in progress, a sign explaining this would be much more suitable and avoid a long walk or wait to use the facilities

I found that the cutting of grass and gardening everyday was a hindrance and stopped me relaxing somewhat

We didn't know that the site is on a flight path and this can be distracting if you want peace and quiet

All in all this is a very professionally run well tended site but just too business like for me as I prefer a friendly ' family' welcome to, undoubtedly in this case, good customer service.

A GREAT site for a caravan / campervan touring base but decidedly average for a tent based holiday

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site but avoid in the school holidays. Far too over crowded and nowhere near enough facilities for the number of people. Queuing to use the loo at 11 pm is a joke. You do expect it to be busy, but this was like a caravan site with a couple of extra tent fields shoehorned in, without the extra facility blocks to cater for the extra people. Very disappointed. I can see this is a great site, with many plus points. Having young children we are used to sites being busy but have never come across one as claustrophobic as this.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 30 reviews from this member

Arrived for a 3 night stay on Tuesday 23rd May. Fantastic weather! Very efficient check in – mainly because any balance owing must be paid prior to arrival.

Heard one or two stories from people who’d missed the entrance. The sign on the left (heading towards Poole) is partially hidden by tree branches and to make matters worse when I arrived the bus to Poole was picking up passengers virtually obscuring the gated entrance completely. I think it would help if they placed the sign on the opposite side of the road.

The shop sells pretty much everything you’d need for your stay and also has a newspaper stand. The prices are higher than a supermarket but hey it’s a convenience store.

It’s a well laid out site, lots of hedges, new and established, separating the different sections though there aren’t any within the sections themselves. We bought a long TV aerial lead (£15) to connect to the aerial socket on our electricity bollard. This was the time of the Manchester Arena explosion and we wanted to hear all the latest news and comments.

The wooden clad shower block was the bigger of the two and provided everyone with all the usual services. Although I never had to wait for a shower the site wasn’t full so I suspect there may be issues on bank holidays etc.

The hourly bus to Poole stopped right outside the site and the £4. 10 day rover ticket seemed to represent good value. Poole has some good value cafe/restaurants, the old part being the most attractive.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David29 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights and I give this site 10 out of 10. Very clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff and the site itself is very well kept. There is a very good bus service from just outside the entrance gates to both Swanage and Poole. Great if you want to visit Brownsea island and don't want to try finding suitable parking in Poole. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 7boardman 1 review from this member

We stayed here as a couple for 5 nights on a super pitch. We had a marvellous time on this quiet site. We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival and the staff were professional and very willing to help. The site is beautifully maintained and each pitch is a decent size. You can buy fresh eggs from the site chickens and the shop is well stocked. Though we brought our own bikes you can hire them on site. There are some excellent cycle rides on dedicated cycle lanes and there is a traffic free route into Poole which has lovely views over the water. Cannot comment regarding child friendliness as we did not have children but there is a lovely play area. Thank you to all for a great stay.

Previous     370 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1504