Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 351 Reviews
              9/10 from 351 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  351 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim1977 7 reviews from this member

We visited the site in mid summer during school holidays and the site was full, staying on Minster Field in our tent for a week. Our super pitch was very spacious, with plenty of room for our large tent, trailer and car. The field was nice and flat and we had a hedge behind for privacy. Nice and open with no trees overhead (apart from over 2 plots on the far side of the field). Would recommend Minster Field as the best spot for campers, as it's away from the road and school at the two sides of the site.

Despite being full, the site facilities coped well and I never had to queue for a toilet, shower or pot wash (although I did go at just off peak times of the day). The site was obviously busy with activity, but at the same time it was not rowdy of noisy, it was all quiet well before 11 every night, some nights even by 9!

Other reviews have mentioned the traffic noise, we only noticed this on Friday night, the rest of the week it was not intrusive at all.

The site was well tended, being regularly mowed and watered while we were there, and the toilets were always very clean at all times of the day. The water pressure did seem to dip in the showers at times, but only temporarily. The shower cubicles were well laid out with room to hang clothes and towels plus a bench and screen to keep things dry. Piped music in the amenities blocks!

The location is superb, with Poole, Bournemouth, Corfe Castle, Studland etc only a short drive away in each direction. The playground was fairly small, but the kids enjoyed it and it was well maintained.

We took advantage of the offer of a free bottle of wine at the local pub with a voucher from the site, it was a lovely family pub and well recommended. Beer garden and play area to the rear and food was good.

We will return at some point in the future I'm sure.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

This is a really well laid out site which was easy to find. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided lots of information when we booked in. We have 2 dogs and the dog walking facilities on site were first class with areas available for both on lead and off lead walks. The site shop provided a good range of basic food produce, camping supplies and also off-licence goods. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and it was a nice touch having a shower and listening to piped music at the same time! There is a craft courtyard nearby which can be accessed from the site - good range of crafts and a tearoom available. Good bus service also available from right outside the site entrance. The only downside was the congestion at the entrance gate if more than 3 units arrived at the same time - nowhere to go especially if units were also leaving the site. That said, this is a lovely site that we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Alison Small 1 review from this member

Have just stayed here in a Romany Caravan with our 4yr old Grandson. We were so impressed with the quality and luxury furnishings and attention to details, the beds were very comfortable and it was surprisingly roomy. The Romany Caravans are amazing, our Grandson loved it, we loved it, we cannot recommend it enough.

The whole campsite was perfectly maintained with herb gardens you could sample, children's play area, well stocked and reasonably priced shop selling fresh eggs from the chickens on site! The toilet and shower block were spotlessly clean with free hairdryers, a baby bath and toddler step. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and they made us all very welcome.

Great pub with good food and a free bottle of wine, with the voucher given to us at check in, within walking distance.

The information room has suggested walks, days out and up to date details of all local attractions. It was such a pleasure to stay at such a perfectly run and maintained campsite with friendly happy staff.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustys 6 reviews from this member

With a month traveling in the UK, this was our first overnight camping spot. We got a very nice welcome to the park and very friendly and helpful hosts. The camp ground is one we would recommend, with a nice setting, clean and well keeped, showers and toilets spotless. As we were from New Zealand, during our trip we found that in the UK the campsites did not have any kitchen facilities at all for basic campers like ourselves, but our hosts helped us out kindly by lending us a toaster and electric jug to get us by. I would highly recommend this site to anyone, we also found by New Zealand Standards the tent site prices were a lot higher than we had anticipated, maybe at the time we visited you were going into your high season. Anyway we did enjoy.

Cheers Russell and Sue NZ

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nemo-subrosa 1 review from this member

Suburbia in the country.

Some places you either love or hate, this site was the latter for me.

What was I disliked, could it be the close proximity to the busy main road, the over crowded streets of pitches, or the piped music in the shower block?

If ever camping becomes universally like Lytchett Manor Ill pack my tent away.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 144 reviews from this member

A very friendly touring site a few miles outside of Poole. Thought the toilets/showers to be of a high standard. Great site to leave the unit and catch the hourly bus to Poole or Swanage the other way. The nearest pub Peters Finger was shut for refurb during our stay so we caught the bus to the next pub Bakers Arms for a nice meal and a few real ales then walked back. The walk to Poole via Upton Park is very pleasant. There is some road noise specially during rush hour but didn't bother me at night. Was on a three for two night deal so this proved good value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Our 3rd stay (3 nights) at this site. Pitch 126 this time, fully serviced, plenty of space and your own picnic table.

Toilet block up with the best we've seen. Recycling bags given out (great idea) for your stay.

Helpful and friendly wardens, owners.

We cycled to Upton Park, well worth a visit.

Also cycled into Poole and back via Holes Bay (both sides), good cycle ways.

St Peters pub, 10 mins walk from site, serving better than your average pub grub. Free bottle of wine (with 2 main meals) courtesy of voucher from reception on check in. (More if you need them)!

Motorhome parking at Sandbanks car park and roadside.

Also Poole Harbourside 1 ( BH15UX) spaces for MH. Good spot for watching the world go by. Easy walk into Poole, shops, pubs etc.

Enjoyed our stay. Will return next time touring Dorset/Devon.

Fresh eggs a bonus, (we even reserved some!) from the resident chickens. Lovely.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2480 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I just spent ten nights at South Lytchett and all we can say is fantastic. The staff were very helpful indeed and I have to make a special mention to Phil who was a wealth of knowledge. The site is spotless and has everything you need.

However there are two negatives I would like to mention.

1) Wales lost against England in the Rugby. (gutted).

2) Another visitor to the site reversed their caravan into my car, gutted.

But neither are the sites fault.

All in all we had a cracking time thanks very much.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 143 reviews from this member

We recently enjoyed a Christmas break at South Lytchett Manor. A return visit for us.

Great, friendly and quick check in. Nothing too much trouble. They even gave us a pot of festive Dorset jam for our toast!

Our pitch (in the Randalls section) was large, hardstanding and had EHU, water and waste (at no extra charge over Christmas). There was also free Wi-Fi included in the very reasonable price. We used the small toilet/shower block up near the reception/shop and it was always very warm and clean. Piped music is always very welcome too! Bins and recycling close by and essentials available from reception, including daily papers if pre-ordered.

10 minute stroll to the local pub (St Peters Finger) where you can get a free bottle of wine with 2 main meals ordered via a voucher given out by the site. Four of us ate there on Christmas Eve so we got 2 free bottles of wine (with 2 vouchers). There's another pub a further short walk on, the Bakers Arms, which in our opinion does much better food.

Upton Country Park is about a 1 mile easy, flat walk from the site and well worth a visit. Free entry and a nice tearoom overlooking the walled garden. We walked into Poole, through the park and along Holes Bay, from the site on Boxing Day.

Lots to see and do in Poole itself too.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

I don't want to be unnecessarily negative or overly critical but it is an inescapable truth that there are two big things wrong with this site, although neither of them are really the fault of the owners.

1) It's cramped. The site only has one entrance/exit - which is narrow and can become congested. But worse, all traffic entering or leaving the camp site must pass very close to a lot of (rather cramped) pitches on the narrow hill site road leading up to the reception building. This procession begins about 7am and makes for a lot of engine noise for hours. If you sleep in the front area of your caravan then your head will be just a couple of metres away from all that. It goes on both early and late. It's a situation not helped by naughty units arriving early and trying to get on to the site before the earliest permitted arrival time. Don't be early - you'll cause a traffic jam at the gate!

2) It's noisy. The site is very close to the A35 dual carriageway, and closer still to the quite busy B3067 (Dorchester Road). Traffic on these roads makes a LOT of noise at all hours of the day and night. Also, a school sports field and a leisure centre are next door to the lower end of the camp site, and that also adds noise in the shape of whistles blowing, teachers shouting, footballs slamming into fences etc. It can go on for much of the day, and well into the evening at times, when the floodlights come on. Then there's the regular light aircraft noise.

So, if you want a site with endless peace and quiet, a site where you can relax, away from it all, well. This isn't that place. Its location may have been rural once, but nowadays it is semi-urban at best.

There are positives about South Lytchett Manor. The site's big advantage is that it's close to Poole and the surrounding coastal resorts. And it has good road links!

It's on a bus route into Poole, so you can leave the constant roar of the A35 behind and head to the relative peace of the beach. The buses only seem to run once an hour, so you must be organised, but it's a good place to be if you want to go somewhere else.

The facilities on the site are a little above average, and boosted by some thoughtful little touches such as fresh flowers in the toilet blocks and hand sanitiser gel dispensers at the loo emptying points. Nice!

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There's little they can do about the site's layout (barring a major reorganisation of the place) and nothing at all they can do about the road noise - but they could ensure that only short-stay visitors are pitched near the entrance, where the daily grand prix to exit and enter the site won't be too annoying for a night or three. Visitors having to live next to it for any longer than that are likely to be nervous wrecks by the end of their holiday.

The nearby 'craft village' is weary, weird and run down, and had switched to winter opening hours by the beginning of September. Again, not the camp site's fault, but it's not a positive for them either.

A few nights' stay here would be OK, but I cannot recommend it for a longer break. If you can stand the very intrusive road noise or are happy to spend a lot of time away from the site, then South Lytchett Manor may suit you. If you want a peaceful home base, somewhere that you can chill for a day and simply relax, look elsewhere.

Previous     351 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO 'POP' Quick Erect 2 Berth Tent Win a Dog Bag Pop Up Fabric Kennel

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show, Newark - 2nd to 4th September
Weekend Campers and day visitors will see a huge range of motorhomes, caravans, as well as accessories and consumables

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172