Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 347 Reviews
              9/10 from 347 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  347 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Alison Small 1 review from this member

Have just stayed here in a Romany Caravan with our 4yr old Grandson. We were so impressed with the quality and luxury furnishings and attention to details, the beds were very comfortable and it was surprisingly roomy. The Romany Caravans are amazing, our Grandson loved it, we loved it, we cannot recommend it enough.

The whole campsite was perfectly maintained with herb gardens you could sample, children's play area, well stocked and reasonably priced shop selling fresh eggs from the chickens on site! The toilet and shower block were spotlessly clean with free hairdryers, a baby bath and toddler step. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and they made us all very welcome.

Great pub with good food and a free bottle of wine, with the voucher given to us at check in, within walking distance.

The information room has suggested walks, days out and up to date details of all local attractions. It was such a pleasure to stay at such a perfectly run and maintained campsite with friendly happy staff.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 142 reviews from this member

A very friendly touring site a few miles outside of Poole. Thought the toilets/showers to be of a high standard. Great site to leave the unit and catch the hourly bus to Poole or Swanage the other way. The nearest pub Peters Finger was shut for refurb during our stay so we caught the bus to the next pub Bakers Arms for a nice meal and a few real ales then walked back. The walk to Poole via Upton Park is very pleasant. There is some road noise specially during rush hour but didn't bother me at night. Was on a three for two night deal so this proved good value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Our 3rd stay (3 nights) at this site. Pitch 126 this time, fully serviced, plenty of space and your own picnic table.

Toilet block up with the best we've seen. Recycling bags given out (great idea) for your stay.

Helpful and friendly wardens, owners.

We cycled to Upton Park, well worth a visit.

Also cycled into Poole and back via Holes Bay (both sides), good cycle ways.

St Peters pub, 10 mins walk from site, serving better than your average pub grub. Free bottle of wine (with 2 main meals) courtesy of voucher from reception on check in. (More if you need them)!

Motorhome parking at Sandbanks car park and roadside.

Also Poole Harbourside 1 ( BH15UX) spaces for MH. Good spot for watching the world go by. Easy walk into Poole, shops, pubs etc.

Enjoyed our stay. Will return next time touring Dorset/Devon.

Fresh eggs a bonus, (we even reserved some!) from the resident chickens. Lovely.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2480 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I just spent ten nights at South Lytchett and all we can say is fantastic. The staff were very helpful indeed and I have to make a special mention to Phil who was a wealth of knowledge. The site is spotless and has everything you need.

However there are two negatives I would like to mention.

1) Wales lost against England in the Rugby. (gutted).

2) Another visitor to the site reversed their caravan into my car, gutted.

But neither are the sites fault.

All in all we had a cracking time thanks very much.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 141 reviews from this member

We recently enjoyed a Christmas break at South Lytchett Manor. A return visit for us.

Great, friendly and quick check in. Nothing too much trouble. They even gave us a pot of festive Dorset jam for our toast!

Our pitch (in the Randalls section) was large, hardstanding and had EHU, water and waste (at no extra charge over Christmas). There was also free Wi-Fi included in the very reasonable price. We used the small toilet/shower block up near the reception/shop and it was always very warm and clean. Piped music is always very welcome too! Bins and recycling close by and essentials available from reception, including daily papers if pre-ordered.

10 minute stroll to the local pub (St Peters Finger) where you can get a free bottle of wine with 2 main meals ordered via a voucher given out by the site. Four of us ate there on Christmas Eve so we got 2 free bottles of wine (with 2 vouchers). There's another pub a further short walk on, the Bakers Arms, which in our opinion does much better food.

Upton Country Park is about a 1 mile easy, flat walk from the site and well worth a visit. Free entry and a nice tearoom overlooking the walled garden. We walked into Poole, through the park and along Holes Bay, from the site on Boxing Day.

Lots to see and do in Poole itself too.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

I don't want to be unnecessarily negative or overly critical but it is an inescapable truth that there are two big things wrong with this site, although neither of them are really the fault of the owners.

1) It's cramped. The site only has one entrance/exit - which is narrow and can become congested. But worse, all traffic entering or leaving the camp site must pass very close to a lot of (rather cramped) pitches on the narrow hill site road leading up to the reception building. This procession begins about 7am and makes for a lot of engine noise for hours. If you sleep in the front area of your caravan then your head will be just a couple of metres away from all that. It goes on both early and late. It's a situation not helped by naughty units arriving early and trying to get on to the site before the earliest permitted arrival time. Don't be early - you'll cause a traffic jam at the gate!

2) It's noisy. The site is very close to the A35 dual carriageway, and closer still to the quite busy B3067 (Dorchester Road). Traffic on these roads makes a LOT of noise at all hours of the day and night. Also, a school sports field and a leisure centre are next door to the lower end of the camp site, and that also adds noise in the shape of whistles blowing, teachers shouting, footballs slamming into fences etc. It can go on for much of the day, and well into the evening at times, when the floodlights come on. Then there's the regular light aircraft noise.

So, if you want a site with endless peace and quiet, a site where you can relax, away from it all, well. This isn't that place. Its location may have been rural once, but nowadays it is semi-urban at best.

There are positives about South Lytchett Manor. The site's big advantage is that it's close to Poole and the surrounding coastal resorts. And it has good road links!

It's on a bus route into Poole, so you can leave the constant roar of the A35 behind and head to the relative peace of the beach. The buses only seem to run once an hour, so you must be organised, but it's a good place to be if you want to go somewhere else.

The facilities on the site are a little above average, and boosted by some thoughtful little touches such as fresh flowers in the toilet blocks and hand sanitiser gel dispensers at the loo emptying points. Nice!

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There's little they can do about the site's layout (barring a major reorganisation of the place) and nothing at all they can do about the road noise - but they could ensure that only short-stay visitors are pitched near the entrance, where the daily grand prix to exit and enter the site won't be too annoying for a night or three. Visitors having to live next to it for any longer than that are likely to be nervous wrecks by the end of their holiday.

The nearby 'craft village' is weary, weird and run down, and had switched to winter opening hours by the beginning of September. Again, not the camp site's fault, but it's not a positive for them either.

A few nights' stay here would be OK, but I cannot recommend it for a longer break. If you can stand the very intrusive road noise or are happy to spend a lot of time away from the site, then South Lytchett Manor may suit you. If you want a peaceful home base, somewhere that you can chill for a day and simply relax, look elsewhere.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pigletpudding 3 reviews from this member

This site is absolutely beautiful. As luck would have it we were upgraded to a superior pitch at no extra charge which was massive. There is nothing I can say to fault it. The bus stops right outside the sight to go either to Poole or Weymouth and beyond. The staff are very helpful too. The shop on site is well stocked with everyday essentials. Toilet block was always very clean as was the whole site.

Would go back there again without any qualms.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AuntieHeather3 3 reviews from this member

Just home from an excellent 2 week holiday on this lovely site. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed on a super pitch in our 5m Bell Tent with a 4m event shelter porch.

The grounds and amenity blocks are very well maintained with piped music, hair driers, fresh flowers, hand & body lotion all provided.

This is a large site but is divided into manageable smaller field areas, each with their own amenity block so it still feels comfortable and reduces driving around on the site

The off lead dog walk area is a great resource, again very clean and well maintained with poo bags and hand sanitiser provided at the gate.

An easy 10 minute walk on flat footpaths to the local pub for food and a free bottle of wine with 2 main courses with a voucher from the campsite shop. ( can be used as often as you like)

The bus stops just at the site entrance and goes to Poole every half an hour ( also dog friendly buses)

Lots to do in the surrounding area, we particularly enjoyed trips to the small towns of Wareham & Wimborne for lazy, sunny day lunches.

Can recommend for couples & families. Site very quiet after 10. 30pm which suits us perfectly

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlr 10 reviews from this member

A nice welcome from the staff, who were waiting at the entrance gates to show people where to park, check in etc. We were shown to our pitch and the rules were politely explained - guy ropes within markers, car next to unit to keep to the 6m rule and so on.

The kids grabbed their bikes and were off exploring within a few minutes, and came back quickly in a gang having made friends already. We were on a super pitch, very close to the playground, but this didn't cause a problem. The playground closes dusk to 8:30 am, and most stuck to this.

The site consists of a small field near reception, two large tent fields, a large crescent of caravan pitches, and two offshoots for more caravans and motorhomes. The two tent fields were fairly full, and in the evening with all the BBQs and kids running around they had a Glastonbury feel. Nice, but I think I preferred being in our smaller field at the top of the site. The wash blocks were clean, warm and modern. Washing up block near us was very small though - 3 sinks and when all being used it was very very cosy in there!

The site shop and reception was helpful, the staff are very friendly and the shop stocks most basics, including eggs from the resident chickens. I was surprised to see that they sold blowing bubbles for children, and did have kids blowing them all over our tent. As detergent can damage tents, maybe the site owners need to rethink stocking them?

There is a games room with pool table and the freezers for your blocks. A red telephone box has been converted to a lending library. The kids on site enjoyed playing football in the field opposite reception.

We ate at the local pub and found it to be good but very busy, but it was bank holiday weekend. We took advantage of the free bottle of house wine. We also ate at Dylan's cafe in the craft centre on our pack up morning, this meant we could pack all the kitchen stuff the evening before.

One day my husband and boys visited the tank museum, while my daughter and I went to Bournemouth on the bus. A day rider ticket for both of us was less than 7 - a bargain.

The site was quiet at night. I was the only one in the family to hear the slight road noise from the A35, but I am a light sleeper and always take my earplugs.

We had a great time, especially the kids, who made lots of friends and we hardly saw them!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site around 2pm on Friday. First impressions were good. Clean, tidy site. Friendly welcome. Informative and voucher for free drink at local cafe /craft centre. Free bottle of wine at local pub if eating. We enjoyed our tea and cakes at local cafe. The craft centre was interesting too. We ate twice at the local pub. Good service and good food. We got the local bus to Poole. It took about 20 minutes to get there. We found out after that there is motorhome parking by the habour in Poole. We travelling to Weymouth. Great park and ride for 3. 10 minutes from the town and buses run every 15 minutes. We travelled to Swanage in our motorhome. Parking restrictioms everywhere. Not welcoming to motorhomers. Gave up on visiting. Swanages, loss to tourism! Overall a great campsite, quiet, good facilities, ( lovely eggs freshly laid by chickens on site). We will be returning

Previous     347 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Mains Package Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally in Derbyshire - 1st to 4th July
An amazing fun weekend for all the family. Plus you can camp on site from Friday to Monday. Find out more and download the booking form

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1270