Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map
Tel: 01202 622 577
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 381 Reviews
                9/10 from 381 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  381 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choc 10 reviews from this member

A fantastic caravan site which is very well run and organised from arrival to departure. The site itself was very clean and well maintained with a relaxed, pleasant feeling about it. The shower and toilet facilities were clean and well resources through-out the week. Staff were very helpful and approachable and they were visible at all times but not intrusive. The location itself was superb and very central to most tourist attractions. Pitches are spacious and the super all service pitches can’t be faulted. We will definitely be returning in the future.

We also went on a bank holiday and stayed the week not once did I have to wait for the shower or toilet. As they say you pay for what you get and you certainly got value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daneellard 3 reviews from this member

What a great site! Spotless loos that never seemed to close. Grounds / grass kept very neat & tidy. Staff cheery and helpful. Pitch was level, no jiggery pokery required! Handy for the 'Jurassic Coast' with bus stops immediately outside the site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kentpingu 2 reviews from this member

I have been camping for 40+ years and can honestly say this is the best campsite I have ever stayed on. It has won several awards and you can see why. The owners and staff take pride in their work and keep the site immaculate which in turn makes the camper keep it that way. Everything about the site was excellent. Shop selling fresh cooked bread and pastries, all the basics, sweets, ice creams, newspapers, and nik-naks. There are also vouchers for local pubs. If you have dogs there is the long lead walk, the short lead walk and a safe enclosed, off lead walk. The play park for children looked good also. Dylans' restaurant can be accessed from the site and we enjoyed a full English breakfast there at a reasonable cost. Hard standing on a standard pitch was a very good size enough for the van, awning and car without feeling cramped and grass alongside which was also kept immaculate. The tent field looked to have good sized pitches as well and was level. Thank you people of South Lychett Manor you have created another happy camper who will gladly return

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 37 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights on this site with grandchildren. First of all we were very impressed with the booking process, having originally booked for 4 nights and then discovering we were able to stay away longer. A quick phone call produced a 'no problem' response. The welcome when we arrived on site was equally warm.

This is one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. It's extremely well organised with a mixture of grass and hard standings. We opted for a 'Superior' pitch which came with hard-standing, electrics, water, grey water disposal and TV hook up. The amenity blocks were kept spotless and provided a mixture of the usual shower/washroom/toilet facilities with individual large unisex toilet/shower rooms. Younger members of our party were very impressed with playground facilities and the availability of free wi-fi. The well-stocked shop offers fresh rolls and croissants each morning

We took advantage of the voucher offer for the local St Peter's Finger pub and were quite impressed with the food, although when we visited some of the draught ales were unavailable.

Out and about, we had a superb visit to Monkey World, but were disappointed with Poole, where the High Street seems to have suffered from competition from the newly expended Dolphin Centre and out-of-town shopping sites

This is a site we will definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 9 reviews from this member

We arrived here on 15 March for a 3 night stay. The staff here are so friendly and informative, we were welcomed like long lost friends. At check in we were given a voucher for the local tearoom and another for the St Peter’s Finger pub, both were welcome… always nice to get some freebys. We were also given the login code for the free site wide WIFI, excellent. This is a lovely site; nice sized pitches, beautifully maintained grounds and facilities and plenty to do from the site using the local buses. There are regular buses from right outside the site gates to Poole, Corfe and Swanage. It is an easy level 15 minute walk into Upton where there is a variety of shops including a Co-op. There are 2 pubs in easy walking distance, the St Peter’s Finger and the Bakers Arms, both are welcoming and serve local ales and food. There is also a small courtyard craft centre where you will find Dylans Tearoom, just through the hand gate at the rear of the site. We walked along the cycle path from the site through Upton Country Park, Holes Bay Nature Reserve and on into Poole, a mostly level walk of about 5 miles… ask the wardens for directions, we then court the No. 40 bus back. Bad weather forecast caused us to leave the site a day early (good decision as it turned out). We really enjoyed our stay at South Lytchett Manor and will definitely return to further explore the area.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 28 reviews from this member

Really liked the site. Very well laid out and very peaceful if it wasn't for the fact that the wind happened to be blowing from the wrong direction. This lead to all day heavy booming sounds from the Army gunnery range. This lead to our very nervous jack russell being at her wits end by the end of our stay.

That said, a great place to base yourselves to see the surrounding area.

Site spotless, shower blocks spotless and excellent. Shop and site staff really good.

All in all, we will return if we can check the gunnery range times or get our dog some ear defenders.

Can't say about the local pubs as we didn't visit them.

Love the place, shame our dog was so terrified.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterwonder 2 reviews from this member

This site is a gem. Lovely people always on hand to help and nothing is too much trouble. Well kept site with lovely showers, laundry, wash up areas. There is an iron in the laundry and hair dryers in the shower blocks. Little get together for campers on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve. Lovely touch. There is nothing I can find fault with. Well Done Alison and the team. We had a small problem with some water accumulation on our pitch but it was dealt with immediately and steps taken to prevent it happening ( this was due to the relentless rain and no fault of the campsite). I would recommend this site to everybody wanting a truly first class experience and I will be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JulianCh 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here over October half-term 2016 on one of the serviced pitches. Lovely sized pitch provided with picnic bench, although was a bit cold to eat out!

Site is well maintained and is ideally placed to explore Corfe, Swanage, Tank Museum etc

Thoroughly recommend walking down to St Peter;s Finger pub for a meal

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 166 reviews from this member

Beautiful, well looked after, well run campsite.

We have stayed many times before and I swear it just keeps getting better.

Not cheap, but you get what you pay for!

Friendly, easy check in.

We had a lovely fully serviced hard standing pitch in Ronnie's Paddock for 2 nights.

3 'facilities' blocks on site and never had to queue although for early September the site was full.

Love the piped music in each block.

Small shop with plenty of essentials and gifts.

Short walk to the local pub which you get a voucher from the site for. Buy 2 main meals and get a free bottle of house wine or 2 bottles of real ale. Always lovely food and great service there too.

Bus stop right outside the site but we didn't use it. We walked to Upton Country Park (about a mile or so from the site through Upton) and then down through the gorgeous park (complete with lovely café) to Holes Bay where we walked into Poole from. Well worth doing on a sunny day.

Love this site and will be back again and again!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky 09 4 reviews from this member

A well run caravan park with some fully serviced grass and hard standing pitches. The site can become quite crowded at times, with caravans directly opposite each other on some pitches but plenty of space on others. The site staff are very friendly and helpful and the site shop is well stocked. The toilet /shower blocks are spotlessly clean, and disabled facilities are available but these can be quite a walk from some pitches for a disabled person, especially when it's raining. Our visit was at the end of the main season which might explain why the fully serviced grass pitch with views of the dilapidated corrugated iron farm buildings over the hedge opposite that we were directed to had no grass whatsoever in the space for the awning. We were told where on the pitch to set up, so the bare awning mud has obviously had no chance to recover or to be re-seeded. It would have been a better idea to close these bare muddy pitches during autumnal weather for re-seeding and to advise those booking that only fully serviced hard standings would be available. This site has some very good points, but we won't be paying a return visit. The crowded area that we were in, complete with bare grass free area on our pitch, felt like a sort of caravan housing estate, friendly enough with many good points not really what we've come to expect from a Best of British site with the state of our pitch.

Previous     381 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1484