Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 334 Reviews
              9/10 from 334 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (23) and Video

Reviews:  334 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Signalman2 2 reviews from this member

This is a truly awesome campsite. The facilities are superb and the grounds immaculate. My wife and I stayed here for two days and found it a lovely place to return for relaxing after a day out. However, there was quite a bit of distant traffic noise which could bother you.

This site is attractively laid out very well maintained - the grass is uniformly cut, the hedges are trimmed, all the facilities are spotless, there are containers of shurbs and flowers, and hanging baskets abound. I felt as though I was visiting Hyacynth Bucket and was a bit hesitant in touching anything in case I disturbed it. As it was, I made sure I didn't drive over the grass when exiting.

There's a nice cafe just a few minutes walk away where you can indulge in a delicious full english breakfast, or just a coffee on their sunny patio.

It was end of season and not many people (especially children) at the site when we visited, but obviously things could be different in peak season. However, due to its layout, I don't believe it would ever appear crowded when full.

We would stay here again and would strongly recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 5 reviews from this member

This site was very busy but seemed non the worse for it, never felt crowded. We only stayed here as a staging post for the cross channel ferry from Poole for which the site is perfectly placed, only a 10 minute drive yet out in the countryside.

Only gripes, the piped music in the blocks was a nice idea with a varied repertoire but was too loud especially in the baby change causing nuclear meltdown of our 3 month old! Noticed it was switched off on our return journey so presumably someone had complained and I don't doubt that if we had bought it to the attention of the superb attendants they would have done something about it.

Some of the campers were very ignorant not even replying 'hello' when so addressed, not sure what that's all about as normally we find fellow campers to be lovely people but suspect they were empty nesters thinking how dare someone bring a noisy baby on site (even though our baby sleeps like an angel and never actually disturbed anyone whilst we were there!)

Got disturbed by an unbelievably loud moped at 2am, listened to it buzzing along for 5 mins or so, it was that loud.

Neither of the last two gripes are the fault or in control of the owners and could happen anywhere, just felt like venting!

We enjoyed our stay on the whole and next time we will stay longer to explore the area which has loads to offer

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ogre 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site. All mod cons, and a well stocked shop.

We found the site very busy, but with good unit spacing it wasn't a problem.

Friendly, informative staff, and we did like the new telephone kiosk book exchange. What a 'novel' idea. Excuse the pun!

The Only thing that spoilt it for us was a motorhome owner who was allowed to arrive and pitch up, very very noisily, late on the Wednesday night.

Whilst appreciating that the owners can't be on duty all night, they should surely have an area available for late arrivals where they will not be setting up so late at night in the middle of already occupied pitches where people have probably retired for the night.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davyboy1 8 reviews from this member

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park, this sites is really nice very busy site, close to Poole and Bournemouth if you have not got a car you can catch the Bus to both right outside the site, we also got the ship to Guernsey well worth going to

The shops good and not to dear, the toilet block is lovely and clean has hard standing and grass and flat 3 big fields, we enjoyed this place well worth staying and will be going back

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beecherk 9 reviews from this member

Stayed at lytchet for the last weekend in august for the air show. Great site really clean, loads of familys. Excellent location near poole and boyrnemouth. One of the best sites I have stayed in. Very friendly people they even said goodbye when we left. The grandkids loved the site we fed the chickens. The shop is small but well stocked. If they had a pool on site it would be perfect. But apart from that the shower blocks were spotless, and had fresh flowers in the shower block which was spotless. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 15 reviews from this member

Not sure what to say, as all the other reviews have mentioned all the good things about this excellent site, particularly for dog owners as the off-lead area is well-fenced and a huge oak tree and bench provide shelter from sun and rain while the dogs enjoy each others' company! Pitches 10*, site staff 10*, local pub 10*. The pitches are mainly along the 'road' through the site, with some in areas off to one side. Being on the 'road' near to the entrance makes access to the shop/reception and original facilities block convenient but it does result in a lot of passing traffic at arrival/departure times. Those further into the park near the new facilities don't have as much traffic but are further from the shop/reception. Think about this before requesting a preferred pitch area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great 14 night holiday at South Lytchett Manor Campsite. A quiet site with walks, also Dog walking for on or off leads and Children's Play Area.

A lovely welcome from the staff, shown to our super pitch, where we pitched our Montana 6 with a Georgia 5 Front Awning.

The heated shower blocks were spotless, whether it was the first thing in the morning or last thing at night.

Even had fresh flower display in the Ladies.

Family / Disabled wash rooms, facilities for clothes washing and drying and food preparation.

When booked in campers are given vouchers for: a free tea or coffee at Dylan's Cafe at Craft Centre - via a path along the next field.

A free bottle of wine when eating at St. Peter's Finger, a Pub a 10 minute walk via Dog Walk field.

There is a small Children's Play Area, TV room with small Pool table.

The grounds are kept immaculate with flower boxes and hanging baskets around and about.

There are chickens that lay eggs daily.

The shop also has bread and rolls delivered daily.

The shop is well stocked with a good range of food and drink at competitive prices and beach toys.

Outside the gates are bus stops for Swanage or Poole where you can get connecting buses for further afield, with all day tickets.

Good road links close by.

Staff always happy to help or give local information.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boult 2 reviews from this member

Perfection best site we have ever stayed on could not have provided any more, they have thought of everything from the flowers in the loos to the microwave if needed.

The staff where welcoming and very helpful on arrival and during our stay.

Easy to find and a excellent location for visiting the poole area

Would return if ever in the area

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FNot 12 reviews from this member

Great site with friendly wardens. Immaculate facilities & never gad to queue despite site being busy. Fantastic dog walk, probably best we experienced. Easy walk to local pub with decent food & willing to allow digs. A big plus in our book! Ideal location for trips to Weymouth, Poole etc. Although we not used it there is bus stop outside gates which seemed to be ver popular with fellow vanners. Craft centre short stroll near site with decent breakfasts, again dog friendly. Yes site near road but we did not experience any noise at all. Lovely to see tents & vans all being mixed up together rather than segregated. Ideal if you have families together. Weekend saw a large number of tents in flat field which was lovely to see kids running around with no restrictions. No problems at all with kids running around toilet blocks etc which is unusual these days. Definitely recommend this site on the basis if location, dog friendliness, & decent facilities. Only 1 criticism & it's not the the fault of the site- we on corner pitch & have lost count f the number if folk who think its acceptable to walk across our pitch on way to reception or entrance. All middle aged folk too who should know better! What's the bet if I had let my dogs walk across a pitch these folk would soon be telling me off???

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tench1234 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from a weeks stay at lychett manor campsite. Was very impressed with the site. Would definitely visit again. Only thing not happy with was our pitch had a slight slope but apart from that everything ok. Toilet /showers spotless and the site was very clean. A well stocked shop and a pub about 10minns walk away which you could get to through grounds of campsite. There was also a bus stop right outside the gates. The staff were very helpful and I would definitely recommend this campsite.

Previous     334 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547