Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 353 Reviews
              9/10 from 353 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  353 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 8 reviews from this member

After having to cancel our original booking in July, because of an operation, we were able to hold our deposite and book 3 nights from 1st. September (unable to have any longer from work). This was our 5th. Visit.

The Staff were so helpful and welcoming, on arrival after booking in, I was able to book 2 weeks for 2017. Pitches are of excellent size. EHU & TV Arial.

The facilities are always spotless, There are 3 separate Shower/toilet Blocks.

No. 1 also has a Family/disable room. Covered area for dish washing. No. 2 also has area for dish washing, washing machines and dryers

No. 3 also has area for dish washing.

The Telephone Box has been transformed into a Library, Books and magazines for visitors.

Vouchers given out at booking in 1. Free Bottle of Wine at St. Peters Finger pub when having a meal. (10/15 minutes walk away). 2. Free Tea or Coffee (per couple) at Dylans Cafe in Craft Centre (pathway through Motorhome field).

Bicycle Hire. Bus Stop outside Gates. Shop. Games Room. Play area. Dog Walking field.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Instantsquid 4 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at South Lytchett Manor campsite with our two children (8 and 10 years old) for 5 nights in August. Our children relish a little independence so the opportunity for them to play and explore safely, without their parents hovering over them is very important to all of us. I'm pleased to say South Lytchett Manor met our requirements completely.

The site is impeccably maintained with good sized flat pitches. The toilets and showers were always clean. I was pleased to see that recycling is taken seriously throughout the site, and it was great to see all the staff using bicycles to get around.

I have read a number of reviews referring to the terms and conditions or rules which apply on this campsite. Personally I very much appreciated rules which encourage respect and consideration for other people staying on the site. On our first night we were unfortunately forced to listen to a family with older teenage children shouting and swearing for more than an hour after the 10:30pm curfew. The site owner had strong words with the family the following day and we had no further problems. This is a campsite with a strong bias towards families with younger children - teenagers or groups of adults may find that the requirement for absolute quiet after 10:30pm does not fit well with their evening plans!

To summarise, I cannot recommend South Lytchett Manor highly enough. I'm sure we will back soon.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim1977 8 reviews from this member

We visited the site in mid summer during school holidays and the site was full, staying on Minster Field in our tent for a week. Our super pitch was very spacious, with plenty of room for our large tent, trailer and car. The field was nice and flat and we had a hedge behind for privacy. Nice and open with no trees overhead (apart from over 2 plots on the far side of the field). Would recommend Minster Field as the best spot for campers, as it's away from the road and school at the two sides of the site.

Despite being full, the site facilities coped well and I never had to queue for a toilet, shower or pot wash (although I did go at just off peak times of the day). The site was obviously busy with activity, but at the same time it was not rowdy of noisy, it was all quiet well before 11 every night, some nights even by 9!

Other reviews have mentioned the traffic noise, we only noticed this on Friday night, the rest of the week it was not intrusive at all.

The site was well tended, being regularly mowed and watered while we were there, and the toilets were always very clean at all times of the day. The water pressure did seem to dip in the showers at times, but only temporarily. The shower cubicles were well laid out with room to hang clothes and towels plus a bench and screen to keep things dry. Piped music in the amenities blocks!

The location is superb, with Poole, Bournemouth, Corfe Castle, Studland etc only a short drive away in each direction. The playground was fairly small, but the kids enjoyed it and it was well maintained.

We took advantage of the offer of a free bottle of wine at the local pub with a voucher from the site, it was a lovely family pub and well recommended. Beer garden and play area to the rear and food was good.

We will return at some point in the future I'm sure.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

This is a really well laid out site which was easy to find. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided lots of information when we booked in. We have 2 dogs and the dog walking facilities on site were first class with areas available for both on lead and off lead walks. The site shop provided a good range of basic food produce, camping supplies and also off-licence goods. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and it was a nice touch having a shower and listening to piped music at the same time! There is a craft courtyard nearby which can be accessed from the site - good range of crafts and a tearoom available. Good bus service also available from right outside the site entrance. The only downside was the congestion at the entrance gate if more than 3 units arrived at the same time - nowhere to go especially if units were also leaving the site. That said, this is a lovely site that we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Alison Small 1 review from this member

Have just stayed here in a Romany Caravan with our 4yr old Grandson. We were so impressed with the quality and luxury furnishings and attention to details, the beds were very comfortable and it was surprisingly roomy. The Romany Caravans are amazing, our Grandson loved it, we loved it, we cannot recommend it enough.

The whole campsite was perfectly maintained with herb gardens you could sample, children's play area, well stocked and reasonably priced shop selling fresh eggs from the chickens on site! The toilet and shower block were spotlessly clean with free hairdryers, a baby bath and toddler step. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and they made us all very welcome.

Great pub with good food and a free bottle of wine, with the voucher given to us at check in, within walking distance.

The information room has suggested walks, days out and up to date details of all local attractions. It was such a pleasure to stay at such a perfectly run and maintained campsite with friendly happy staff.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rustys 6 reviews from this member

With a month traveling in the UK, this was our first overnight camping spot. We got a very nice welcome to the park and very friendly and helpful hosts. The camp ground is one we would recommend, with a nice setting, clean and well keeped, showers and toilets spotless. As we were from New Zealand, during our trip we found that in the UK the campsites did not have any kitchen facilities at all for basic campers like ourselves, but our hosts helped us out kindly by lending us a toaster and electric jug to get us by. I would highly recommend this site to anyone, we also found by New Zealand Standards the tent site prices were a lot higher than we had anticipated, maybe at the time we visited you were going into your high season. Anyway we did enjoy.

Cheers Russell and Sue NZ

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nemo-subrosa 1 review from this member

Suburbia in the country.

Some places you either love or hate, this site was the latter for me.

What was I disliked, could it be the close proximity to the busy main road, the over crowded streets of pitches, or the piped music in the shower block?

If ever camping becomes universally like Lytchett Manor Ill pack my tent away.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 147 reviews from this member

A very friendly touring site a few miles outside of Poole. Thought the toilets/showers to be of a high standard. Great site to leave the unit and catch the hourly bus to Poole or Swanage the other way. The nearest pub Peters Finger was shut for refurb during our stay so we caught the bus to the next pub Bakers Arms for a nice meal and a few real ales then walked back. The walk to Poole via Upton Park is very pleasant. There is some road noise specially during rush hour but didn't bother me at night. Was on a three for two night deal so this proved good value for money.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Our 3rd stay (3 nights) at this site. Pitch 126 this time, fully serviced, plenty of space and your own picnic table.

Toilet block up with the best we've seen. Recycling bags given out (great idea) for your stay.

Helpful and friendly wardens, owners.

We cycled to Upton Park, well worth a visit.

Also cycled into Poole and back via Holes Bay (both sides), good cycle ways.

St Peters pub, 10 mins walk from site, serving better than your average pub grub. Free bottle of wine (with 2 main meals) courtesy of voucher from reception on check in. (More if you need them)!

Motorhome parking at Sandbanks car park and roadside.

Also Poole Harbourside 1 ( BH15UX) spaces for MH. Good spot for watching the world go by. Easy walk into Poole, shops, pubs etc.

Enjoyed our stay. Will return next time touring Dorset/Devon.

Fresh eggs a bonus, (we even reserved some!) from the resident chickens. Lovely.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2480 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I just spent ten nights at South Lytchett and all we can say is fantastic. The staff were very helpful indeed and I have to make a special mention to Phil who was a wealth of knowledge. The site is spotless and has everything you need.

However there are two negatives I would like to mention.

1) Wales lost against England in the Rugby. (gutted).

2) Another visitor to the site reversed their caravan into my car, gutted.

But neither are the sites fault.

All in all we had a cracking time thanks very much.

Previous     353 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4259 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1406