Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 318 Reviews
              9/10 from 318 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (23) and Video

Reviews:  318 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bacchante 1 review from this member

The awards are fully justified. Lovely place, good tarmac roads and well gravelled and large pitches. Everywhere mown and very tidy. Obviously popular as it seemed pretty busy for a non-holiday weekend with a lousy forecast! Quick and friendly check-in and a little map showing us where to go. All together a very pleasant experience. Voucher for a bottle of wine at the pub down the road, St. Peter's Finger. Excellent meal and, to our surprise, the wine was a good Cabernet Merlot and not plonk!

We'll be back to both places!

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy1954 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this campsite 3 or 4 times over the past 4 yrs and can honestly say it is one of the best. We belong to the Caravan Club so normally use their sites throughout the UK but once or twice a year we come back to south Lytchett Manor. The staff here are very friendly & welcoming. The pitches are a good size and the whole park is well maintained. The toilet/shower block is very clean & modern with piped music which I thought was a nice touch. There are bus stops directly outside the gates which will take you into Poole one way & Wareham or Swanage the other.

The local pub restaurant, St Peters Finger has really good food & drink and is only a short walk away from the site. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend South Lytchett Manor and look forward to going back in the spring.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alphapets 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site at short notice for 2 nights. Great place. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Lovely clean site undergoing some ground work (tradesman need to slow down when rushing home from work)!

Good dog walks and local pub 'St Peters Finger' is nice. It was nice and quiet during our visit, but we were situated away from ongoing work. Was a small child's play area. A tad pricey, but would visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B57webb 1 review from this member

Great site, Very clean toilets and Showers with music playing, Friendly staff, Nice quiet site with a handy little shop on site. Nice dog exercise field. Pub half a mile one way British Legion half a mile the other way. Free wi-fi is good as was the TV aerial socket on some of the pitches, we also had electric, mains water, and grey waste on our pitch, and a nice touch was picnic tables on some of the pitches. We are planing to return next season. The Webbs and the Smiths

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 10 reviews from this member

My Fiancee and I stayed at South Lytchett Manor from 19th to 22nd September. The site was very easy to find and the reception staff were very helpful with check-in, carefully explaining where our pitch was, giving us the code for the gate and WIFI etc.

We had a deluxe pitch on the end of a row (pitch number 116) in the meadow field and it was a massive pitch. We drove through some terrible rain on the way down to the site, but when we arrived on the site, the sun came out (this may be a coincidence, but it was a nice touch anyway).

The site was very busy on the Thursday and Friday with very few pitches available, but did empty out a bit on the Saturday and Sunday. The facilities on the site were fantastic and very well maintained. We had the small toilet block near to our pitch along with the recycling bins, Chemical waste point etc. Everything was kept very clean and very well looked after. There is the standard mop for the showers after you have finished, fresh flowers etc. There was even music streamed into the toilet block which was refreshing.

The site was amazingly quiet. On the Saturday evening we were sat outside the caravan at 10pm and literally the only noise we could hear was the leaves falling from the trees – no exaggeration.

The St Peters Finger is a lovely little pub. We did not eat there but did pop in for a few drinks. The short cut through the off the lead dog walk, literally makes it a 5 minute walk away.

The site is great base for exploring towns like Poole, Weymouth, Swanage, Bournemouth along with the gorgeous Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door.

We would definitely return to the site without a moment’s hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greenbeavers 7 reviews from this member

This was a return visit for us having camped there the year before. It is still my favourite campsite and was just as brilliant as the previous year! A pole broke on my sister's tent and a staff member immediately rummaged around until he found a suitable replacement for her! That kind of service is not often come by!

Yes, you can hear the road and yes you do need to remember not to leave shoes on the floor in the shower but these slight irritations are more than made up by the superb facilities, friendly, helpful staff and super-drained flat pitches. If it wasn't for the fact that I want to explore other parts of the country I would definitely return!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs karen a bates 1 review from this member

Had a fab time here, toilets and showers were spotless, someone cleans them all day it seemed. You get a large space for privacy which is great. Very quiet site, warm and cozy. If you want to take your dog, its very welcome there with a dog walking area, even the pub always your dog in. Don't forget your bbq as its great to sit around at night with a few bottles of wine. So relaxing. This was my 2nd camping holiday, didn't realise how much id enjoy it. No hassle in a queue at the airport, you can eat when you want, perfect relaxing holiday. All in all, its a lovely place for your hols, going back in Aug next year, cant wait.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trigvan 4 reviews from this member

We must be the only ones who did not like this site. Having read all the favourable reviews we decided to stay here for a couple of nights to break up our journey home from touring Devon. The minute we drove in I knew we had made a mistake. The pitches are not very private at all. There was building work going on opposite our pitch which was very noisy and started at 8. 00am which we had not been informed of when booking. Not us but as we walked by some people had diggers swinging around within a few feet of the back of their van. The facilities were good and clean but no better than some lovely sites we had stayed on in Devon in fact not as good and the site more expensive. No electric hook up available when we first got there but in fairness this was sorted very quickly for us. It is difficult to put your finger on but we just did not like the site and the general ambience of it. I was beginning to think that it was just me and perhaps we had been spoiled by our wonderful experiences in Devon. It is not a peaceful site to stay with the road noise also.

On the positive side the dog exercise area was excellent. The hairdryers were free instead of the annoying 20p that runs out. Staff seemed pleasant and helpful but overall just not our kind of site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PAULWW999 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site in September 2013 with our tourer, on arrival we went to reception and was greeted by an abrupt lady in the office. We were booked onto a pitch in the field that runs pitch numbers 109-150, and told how to find the pitch in an offhand manner she did not tell us the pitch backed on to an all weather sports area which was used in the day by schools and at night up to approx 9. 30-pm by adults for multi-sports. This did not contribute to a peaceful holiday.

The showers in our opinion were not of 5* standard there was 3 shower blocks only 1 had a disabled facility.

If you were a dog owner you had to go through the tent field to get to the dog walk area(off lead)which must disturb the campers, so why not put a small walk bridge from the main driveway over the stream.

Although a green and pleasant looking site, we found this site to be lacking atmosphere and character and to be overpriced.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dipsybird 6 reviews from this member

Great site we had a really fantastic time. Facilities were very good toilets were spotless and nice touch with fresh flowers. Shop had a good selection of products and pitches were a good size. Lots of space fr the kids to play. Visited the craft market across the field and walked into the village for some pub grub. Food was good and you got a free bottle of wine with your meal if you were staying at the campsite. Would stay here again.

Previous     318 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


875 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0586