Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 342 Reviews
              9/10 from 342 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (23) and Video

Reviews:  342 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Viggo 14 reviews from this member

I don't want to be unnecessarily negative or overly critical but it is an inescapable truth that there are two big things wrong with this site, although neither of them are really the fault of the owners.

1) It's cramped. The site only has one entrance/exit - which is narrow and can become congested. But worse, all traffic entering or leaving the camp site must pass very close to a lot of (rather cramped) pitches on the narrow hill site road leading up to the reception building. This procession begins about 7am and makes for a lot of engine noise for hours. If you sleep in the front area of your caravan then your head will be just a couple of metres away from all that. It goes on both early and late. It's a situation not helped by naughty units arriving early and trying to get on to the site before the earliest permitted arrival time. Don't be early - you'll cause a traffic jam at the gate!

2) It's noisy. The site is very close to the A35 dual carriageway, and closer still to the quite busy B3067 (Dorchester Road). Traffic on these roads makes a LOT of noise at all hours of the day and night. Also, a school sports field and a leisure centre are next door to the lower end of the camp site, and that also adds noise in the shape of whistles blowing, teachers shouting, footballs slamming into fences etc. It can go on for much of the day, and well into the evening at times, when the floodlights come on. Then there's the regular light aircraft noise.

So, if you want a site with endless peace and quiet, a site where you can relax, away from it all, well. This isn't that place. Its location may have been rural once, but nowadays it is semi-urban at best.

There are positives about South Lytchett Manor. The site's big advantage is that it's close to Poole and the surrounding coastal resorts. And it has good road links!

It's on a bus route into Poole, so you can leave the constant roar of the A35 behind and head to the relative peace of the beach. The buses only seem to run once an hour, so you must be organised, but it's a good place to be if you want to go somewhere else.

The facilities on the site are a little above average, and boosted by some thoughtful little touches such as fresh flowers in the toilet blocks and hand sanitiser gel dispensers at the loo emptying points. Nice!

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There's little they can do about the site's layout (barring a major reorganisation of the place) and nothing at all they can do about the road noise - but they could ensure that only short-stay visitors are pitched near the entrance, where the daily grand prix to exit and enter the site won't be too annoying for a night or three. Visitors having to live next to it for any longer than that are likely to be nervous wrecks by the end of their holiday.

The nearby 'craft village' is weary, weird and run down, and had switched to winter opening hours by the beginning of September. Again, not the camp site's fault, but it's not a positive for them either.

A few nights' stay here would be OK, but I cannot recommend it for a longer break. If you can stand the very intrusive road noise or are happy to spend a lot of time away from the site, then South Lytchett Manor may suit you. If you want a peaceful home base, somewhere that you can chill for a day and simply relax, look elsewhere.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pigletpudding 3 reviews from this member

This site is absolutely beautiful. As luck would have it we were upgraded to a superior pitch at no extra charge which was massive. There is nothing I can say to fault it. The bus stops right outside the sight to go either to Poole or Weymouth and beyond. The staff are very helpful too. The shop on site is well stocked with everyday essentials. Toilet block was always very clean as was the whole site.

Would go back there again without any qualms.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AuntieHeather3 3 reviews from this member

Just home from an excellent 2 week holiday on this lovely site. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed on a super pitch in our 5m Bell Tent with a 4m event shelter porch.

The grounds and amenity blocks are very well maintained with piped music, hair driers, fresh flowers, hand & body lotion all provided.

This is a large site but is divided into manageable smaller field areas, each with their own amenity block so it still feels comfortable and reduces driving around on the site

The off lead dog walk area is a great resource, again very clean and well maintained with poo bags and hand sanitiser provided at the gate.

An easy 10 minute walk on flat footpaths to the local pub for food and a free bottle of wine with 2 main courses with a voucher from the campsite shop. ( can be used as often as you like)

The bus stops just at the site entrance and goes to Poole every half an hour ( also dog friendly buses)

Lots to do in the surrounding area, we particularly enjoyed trips to the small towns of Wareham & Wimborne for lazy, sunny day lunches.

Can recommend for couples & families. Site very quiet after 10. 30pm which suits us perfectly

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlr 10 reviews from this member

A nice welcome from the staff, who were waiting at the entrance gates to show people where to park, check in etc. We were shown to our pitch and the rules were politely explained - guy ropes within markers, car next to unit to keep to the 6m rule and so on.

The kids grabbed their bikes and were off exploring within a few minutes, and came back quickly in a gang having made friends already. We were on a super pitch, very close to the playground, but this didn't cause a problem. The playground closes dusk to 8:30 am, and most stuck to this.

The site consists of a small field near reception, two large tent fields, a large crescent of caravan pitches, and two offshoots for more caravans and motorhomes. The two tent fields were fairly full, and in the evening with all the BBQs and kids running around they had a Glastonbury feel. Nice, but I think I preferred being in our smaller field at the top of the site. The wash blocks were clean, warm and modern. Washing up block near us was very small though - 3 sinks and when all being used it was very very cosy in there!

The site shop and reception was helpful, the staff are very friendly and the shop stocks most basics, including eggs from the resident chickens. I was surprised to see that they sold blowing bubbles for children, and did have kids blowing them all over our tent. As detergent can damage tents, maybe the site owners need to rethink stocking them?

There is a games room with pool table and the freezers for your blocks. A red telephone box has been converted to a lending library. The kids on site enjoyed playing football in the field opposite reception.

We ate at the local pub and found it to be good but very busy, but it was bank holiday weekend. We took advantage of the free bottle of house wine. We also ate at Dylan's cafe in the craft centre on our pack up morning, this meant we could pack all the kitchen stuff the evening before.

One day my husband and boys visited the tank museum, while my daughter and I went to Bournemouth on the bus. A day rider ticket for both of us was less than 7 - a bargain.

The site was quiet at night. I was the only one in the family to hear the slight road noise from the A35, but I am a light sleeper and always take my earplugs.

We had a great time, especially the kids, who made lots of friends and we hardly saw them!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site around 2pm on Friday. First impressions were good. Clean, tidy site. Friendly welcome. Informative and voucher for free drink at local cafe /craft centre. Free bottle of wine at local pub if eating. We enjoyed our tea and cakes at local cafe. The craft centre was interesting too. We ate twice at the local pub. Good service and good food. We got the local bus to Poole. It took about 20 minutes to get there. We found out after that there is motorhome parking by the habour in Poole. We travelling to Weymouth. Great park and ride for 3. 10 minutes from the town and buses run every 15 minutes. We travelled to Swanage in our motorhome. Parking restrictioms everywhere. Not welcoming to motorhomers. Gave up on visiting. Swanages, loss to tourism! Overall a great campsite, quiet, good facilities, ( lovely eggs freshly laid by chickens on site). We will be returning

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KimWalker 1 review from this member

Searched for a site close to home for our first trip out this season. Picked this one due to the good reviews and we were not disappointed.

Very friendly welcome, immaculately kept site and drivable distance to many attractions.

We had a problem with our toilet not working when we arrived and upon enquiring at the shop, a member of staff arrived within 20 minutes to assist, solved the problem, and did not want payment (although we did).

We had a fully serviced pitch. Good area and distance between pitches. Wifi worked well.

Two little niggles; the entrance gates are narrow and although okay to get through some warning would be good.

Also the loos were not that clean at 8am in the morning but would say this was more down to the clients than the site management.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Signalman2 2 reviews from this member

This is a truly awesome campsite. The facilities are superb and the grounds immaculate. My wife and I stayed here for two days and found it a lovely place to return for relaxing after a day out. However, there was quite a bit of distant traffic noise which could bother you.

This site is attractively laid out very well maintained - the grass is uniformly cut, the hedges are trimmed, all the facilities are spotless, there are containers of shurbs and flowers, and hanging baskets abound. I felt as though I was visiting Hyacynth Bucket and was a bit hesitant in touching anything in case I disturbed it. As it was, I made sure I didn't drive over the grass when exiting.

There's a nice cafe just a few minutes walk away where you can indulge in a delicious full english breakfast, or just a coffee on their sunny patio.

It was end of season and not many people (especially children) at the site when we visited, but obviously things could be different in peak season. However, due to its layout, I don't believe it would ever appear crowded when full.

We would stay here again and would strongly recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 5 reviews from this member

This site was very busy but seemed non the worse for it, never felt crowded. We only stayed here as a staging post for the cross channel ferry from Poole for which the site is perfectly placed, only a 10 minute drive yet out in the countryside.

Only gripes, the piped music in the blocks was a nice idea with a varied repertoire but was too loud especially in the baby change causing nuclear meltdown of our 3 month old! Noticed it was switched off on our return journey so presumably someone had complained and I don't doubt that if we had bought it to the attention of the superb attendants they would have done something about it.

Some of the campers were very ignorant not even replying 'hello' when so addressed, not sure what that's all about as normally we find fellow campers to be lovely people but suspect they were empty nesters thinking how dare someone bring a noisy baby on site (even though our baby sleeps like an angel and never actually disturbed anyone whilst we were there!)

Got disturbed by an unbelievably loud moped at 2am, listened to it buzzing along for 5 mins or so, it was that loud.

Neither of the last two gripes are the fault or in control of the owners and could happen anywhere, just felt like venting!

We enjoyed our stay on the whole and next time we will stay longer to explore the area which has loads to offer

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ogre 5 reviews from this member

Very nice site. All mod cons, and a well stocked shop.

We found the site very busy, but with good unit spacing it wasn't a problem.

Friendly, informative staff, and we did like the new telephone kiosk book exchange. What a 'novel' idea. Excuse the pun!

The Only thing that spoilt it for us was a motorhome owner who was allowed to arrive and pitch up, very very noisily, late on the Wednesday night.

Whilst appreciating that the owners can't be on duty all night, they should surely have an area available for late arrivals where they will not be setting up so late at night in the middle of already occupied pitches where people have probably retired for the night.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davyboy1 9 reviews from this member

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park, this sites is really nice very busy site, close to Poole and Bournemouth if you have not got a car you can catch the Bus to both right outside the site, we also got the ship to Guernsey well worth going to

The shops good and not to dear, the toilet block is lovely and clean has hard standing and grass and flat 3 big fields, we enjoyed this place well worth staying and will be going back

Previous     342 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!