Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01202 622 577

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 337 Reviews
              9/10 from 337 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (23) and Video

Reviews:  337 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity73 14 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site around 2pm on Friday. First impressions were good. Clean, tidy site. Friendly welcome. Informative and voucher for free drink at local cafe /craft centre. Free bottle of wine at local pub if eating. We enjoyed our tea and cakes at local cafe. The craft centre was interesting too. We ate twice at the local pub. Good service and good food. We got the local bus to Poole. It took about 20 minutes to get there. We found out after that there is motorhome parking by the habour in Poole. We travelling to Weymouth. Great park and ride for 3. 10 minutes from the town and buses run every 15 minutes. We travelled to Swanage in our motorhome. Parking restrictioms everywhere. Not welcoming to motorhomers. Gave up on visiting. Swanages, loss to tourism! Overall a great campsite, quiet, good facilities, ( lovely eggs freshly laid by chickens on site). We will be returning

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KimWalker 1 review from this member

Searched for a site close to home for our first trip out this season. Picked this one due to the good reviews and we were not disappointed.

Very friendly welcome, immaculately kept site and drivable distance to many attractions.

We had a problem with our toilet not working when we arrived and upon enquiring at the shop, a member of staff arrived within 20 minutes to assist, solved the problem, and did not want payment (although we did).

We had a fully serviced pitch. Good area and distance between pitches. Wifi worked well.

Two little niggles; the entrance gates are narrow and although okay to get through some warning would be good.

Also the loos were not that clean at 8am in the morning but would say this was more down to the clients than the site management.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Signalman2 2 reviews from this member

This is a truly awesome campsite. The facilities are superb and the grounds immaculate. My wife and I stayed here for two days and found it a lovely place to return for relaxing after a day out. However, there was quite a bit of distant traffic noise which could bother you.

This site is attractively laid out very well maintained - the grass is uniformly cut, the hedges are trimmed, all the facilities are spotless, there are containers of shurbs and flowers, and hanging baskets abound. I felt as though I was visiting Hyacynth Bucket and was a bit hesitant in touching anything in case I disturbed it. As it was, I made sure I didn't drive over the grass when exiting.

There's a nice cafe just a few minutes walk away where you can indulge in a delicious full english breakfast, or just a coffee on their sunny patio.

It was end of season and not many people (especially children) at the site when we visited, but obviously things could be different in peak season. However, due to its layout, I don't believe it would ever appear crowded when full.

We would stay here again and would strongly recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 5 reviews from this member

This site was very busy but seemed non the worse for it, never felt crowded. We only stayed here as a staging post for the cross channel ferry from Poole for which the site is perfectly placed, only a 10 minute drive yet out in the countryside.

Only gripes, the piped music in the blocks was a nice idea with a varied repertoire but was too loud especially in the baby change causing nuclear meltdown of our 3 month old! Noticed it was switched off on our return journey so presumably someone had complained and I don't doubt that if we had bought it to the attention of the superb attendants they would have done something about it.

Some of the campers were very ignorant not even replying 'hello' when so addressed, not sure what that's all about as normally we find fellow campers to be lovely people but suspect they were empty nesters thinking how dare someone bring a noisy baby on site (even though our baby sleeps like an angel and never actually disturbed anyone whilst we were there!)

Got disturbed by an unbelievably loud moped at 2am, listened to it buzzing along for 5 mins or so, it was that loud.

Neither of the last two gripes are the fault or in control of the owners and could happen anywhere, just felt like venting!

We enjoyed our stay on the whole and next time we will stay longer to explore the area which has loads to offer

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ogre 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site. All mod cons, and a well stocked shop.

We found the site very busy, but with good unit spacing it wasn't a problem.

Friendly, informative staff, and we did like the new telephone kiosk book exchange. What a 'novel' idea. Excuse the pun!

The Only thing that spoilt it for us was a motorhome owner who was allowed to arrive and pitch up, very very noisily, late on the Wednesday night.

Whilst appreciating that the owners can't be on duty all night, they should surely have an area available for late arrivals where they will not be setting up so late at night in the middle of already occupied pitches where people have probably retired for the night.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davyboy1 8 reviews from this member

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park, this sites is really nice very busy site, close to Poole and Bournemouth if you have not got a car you can catch the Bus to both right outside the site, we also got the ship to Guernsey well worth going to

The shops good and not to dear, the toilet block is lovely and clean has hard standing and grass and flat 3 big fields, we enjoyed this place well worth staying and will be going back

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beecherk 9 reviews from this member

Stayed at lytchet for the last weekend in august for the air show. Great site really clean, loads of familys. Excellent location near poole and boyrnemouth. One of the best sites I have stayed in. Very friendly people they even said goodbye when we left. The grandkids loved the site we fed the chickens. The shop is small but well stocked. If they had a pool on site it would be perfect. But apart from that the shower blocks were spotless, and had fresh flowers in the shower block which was spotless. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 16 reviews from this member

Not sure what to say, as all the other reviews have mentioned all the good things about this excellent site, particularly for dog owners as the off-lead area is well-fenced and a huge oak tree and bench provide shelter from sun and rain while the dogs enjoy each others' company! Pitches 10*, site staff 10*, local pub 10*. The pitches are mainly along the 'road' through the site, with some in areas off to one side. Being on the 'road' near to the entrance makes access to the shop/reception and original facilities block convenient but it does result in a lot of passing traffic at arrival/departure times. Those further into the park near the new facilities don't have as much traffic but are further from the shop/reception. Think about this before requesting a preferred pitch area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScarletStar 3 reviews from this member

Groups beware!

We visited South Lytchett with our regular group of friends, as one of our group had been there before and I am week versed in the glories of the local area having holidayed here as a child. There were 6 units in total during the course of the week, not all stayed the whole week. We booked in January 2014, as we wanted to be sure to find somewhere which was willing to take 6 units together and to get appropriate pitches. They agreed to take is when I explained we all had young families and we've been friends since the age of 5!

Anyhow, the site itself has some lovely facilities. The numerous facilities don't do the queues, so don't expect to glide into a shower peak time - I timed it wing one day and waited for 20 minutes. Roads and pitches well maintained. Some pitches have their hook up a long way from the pitch - we were glad we had a long reel. We were in the new area which was pleasant although the pitches were looking a little worn - understandable given the weather and time in early August. The shop was well stocked and there was lots of information freely available. Wading Maxine's and tumble drier good although be careful reading the instructions for the tumble drier - lots of people got caught out posting and not getting any drying. When I used it to dry out a sleeping bag it was brilliant and saved my last night from being a cold wet one!

I'm afraid the reception we received when we arrived wasn't great. I think they'd changed their minds and stuck us at the back corner, going to minimise and expected disturbances. They tried to place us with 5 pitches together then another pitch, then ourselves. This wasn't what we'd asked for and we didn't want to be a nuisance to the prime they put in the middle of us - Can you imagine being pitched in the middle of a group you don't know - very odd. This feedback wasn't well received. It wasn't the best start to the holiday and I'm afraid one of our group got a bit aerated. Not acceptable all round really. After this I really felt like we'd had our cards marked and we were unable to sit outside and have any quiet conversation as we normally would do in the evenings (nothing rowdy!), which was a real sour note to the holiday.

So as much as the site is nice, I was very disappointed in the service and it soured what should have been a lovely break with friends. If they were uncomfortable taking the group I wish they had said no in the beginning and we'd have gone elsewhere happily. I was really sad about this as I love the area and hours it would turn into a regular trip for our family, and it is only a short trip from my Father in law who sometimes joins us in his campervan.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great 14 night holiday at South Lytchett Manor Campsite. A quiet site with walks, also Dog walking for on or off leads and Children's Play Area.

A lovely welcome from the staff, shown to our super pitch, where we pitched our Montana 6 with a Georgia 5 Front Awning.

The heated shower blocks were spotless, whether it was the first thing in the morning or last thing at night.

Even had fresh flower display in the Ladies.

Family / Disabled wash rooms, facilities for clothes washing and drying and food preparation.

When booked in campers are given vouchers for: a free tea or coffee at Dylan's Cafe at Craft Centre - via a path along the next field.

A free bottle of wine when eating at St. Peter's Finger, a Pub a 10 minute walk via Dog Walk field.

There is a small Children's Play Area, TV room with small Pool table.

The grounds are kept immaculate with flower boxes and hanging baskets around and about.

There are chickens that lay eggs daily.

The shop also has bread and rolls delivered daily.

The shop is well stocked with a good range of food and drink at competitive prices and beach toys.

Outside the gates are bus stops for Swanage or Poole where you can get connecting buses for further afield, with all day tickets.

Good road links close by.

Staff always happy to help or give local information.

Previous     337 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586