Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Toms Field Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Toms Field Camping Site
Toms Field Road
Langton Matravers
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 3HN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01929 427110

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Mid March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
              9/10 from 82 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Activeman 2 reviews from this member

Spent a long time looking for a site in Purbeck that was rated highly by others and yet did not cost the earth. On this basis I booked Tom’s Field camping site and for the same reasons I leave you my review.

We booked a reserved pitch with EHU which cost about £130. 00 for the week which seemed reasonable but as the old saying goes it seems on some occasions you get what you pay for…

The site itself is nice enough – no frills and the pitches are a good size but that’s about all I can say. The many rules and regulations that are dotted around the site in the form of multiple signs seem to keep the place in check which is good.

The welcome upon arrival was a little lack lustre to say the least, and the shop where you check in was really a very poor effort with limited stock.

The main issue is the toilet and wash facilities which are an absolute disgrace – they are old and smelly and feel like you are in a public toilet in the middle of a town centre rather than a campsite in Dorset. The men’s toilet cubicles are so narrow that you can barely open the door to get yourself in and out let alone what else you need to do in them.

The showers are weak and grotty and last 3 minutes before needing to put in another token – I think they can forget about the time limit as I really wouldn’t want to spend any longer than 3 minutes in the showers. The stench from the men’s urinals is over powering and really not good enough for this days and age.

All in all I now wish I paid a few more quid a got a campsite where I actually felt the facilities were adequate rather than squalid.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulntina 1 review from this member

We arrived at approximately 2PM stopping at the gate as instructed, you can see the shop from the gate, it was closed. Another camper leaving the site said to simply pitch up and return to the shop later. We did this and returned after 4, only then could we see the sign instructing us to do exactly what we had been told. We paid for the 4 nights and bought 8 shower tokens, 25p each.

The toilet and shower block are tired to say the least. The smell from the waterless urinals being quite overpowering. Nevertheless, in general they were fairly clean for their age. The 25p in the shower is a race to get wet, wash and rinse, bearing in mind it takes a while to get wet when the water is pretty slow.

The shop was not well stocked, we used a local store and supermarkets in Swanage, Budgens without parking, Co-Op with. Both had bags of cubed ice.

The site itself was clean and tidy with plenty of room and the 11:45 no noise was respected by all, although the noise of children early spoilt it a little, though obviously no fault of the site itself or the staff.

The walk to Dancing Ledge and back is not too tough for most, only about 2 1/2 miles. Some of the other walks a little further, there is something for all in this lovely part of the world.

All in all I may return, but the loos and showers would put me off from staying more than a night or 2.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 38 reviews from this member

This site is situated in a nice location with level pitches, some with EHU. When we arrived there was no-one on reception but there is a notice to say you can pitch up and return to pay when the shop is open at 4pm. The showers are operated on a token system 25p per token which can be purchased when the shop is open, which personally I find rather irritating, as you can only exchange during the limited opening hours of the shop – I would much rather pay a bit more for the pitch or pay with 20p’s at least then you don’t have to mess around waiting for the shop to open to either purchase tokens or exchange them back for money. There are plenty of wash up facilities, elsan disposal and laundry – which is reasonably clean. The shop is well stocked, and there is a pub within walking distance in Langdon Matravers.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob61 20 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, very well maintained indeed and with everything you could wish for.

It is not just one field but split into several areas for EHU pitches and non-EHU pitches. The EHU pitch boundaries are marked with stakes and are plenty big enough for large units (Motorhomes and tents but no caravans) plus car. The non-EHU area is 'pitch where you like'. All pitches are grass and the grass is nicely mown although a little rocky underneath so good strong pegs are required.

There is a shop which sells a huge amount of camping gear and a fair amount of general groceries and provisions. It is not open all day and times may vary. There is a breakfast bar but this was not open during my stay midweek.

The facilities are not posh but are very adequate and immaculately clean. I don't think I saw a single spider or moth. Showers are by 25p token and last a good 3 minutes. Tokens are refundable if not used.

There are notices and 'rules' on practically every available surface which may well be valid but not totally necessary. After reading the first few the rest just become wallpaper. The most amusing notice was above the gents urinals stating, 'Do not wash urinals with water'. I don't think washing gents urinals is high on my list of priorities when on holiday. I think it meant because they are the composting type.

The campsite is very peaceful and even the rabbits and birds are quite tame. I had a regular blackbird visitor and a cheeky sparrow that actually landed on my plate inside the tent looking for crumbs.

The walk to Dancing Ledge takes about 20 minutes but is a little difficult under foot in places and steep. Although I consider myself fairly fit I gave up before finally reaching the Ledge. This was mainly due to the very hot weather and the thought of having to climb the steep path all the way back up again.

Swanage is about 3 miles away and there is a bus stop a short distance outside the campsite. The service is hourly.

There is only one pub in the village now as the other one apparently closed down last November 2013. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to it. It has a small bar which can get quite crowded but plenty of dining area and the food is good and reasonably priced. There is also a pub garden.

The village also has a shop and post office.

A nice peaceful site with all you need and not too difficult to get to places of interest. I would certainly go there again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Secretshopper 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 day stay at this camp site. I have to say, what a great location. Toms Field Camp site is a lovely site. Facilities are a bit dated but outstandingly clean and tidy. Staff seem friendly. My Wife loved the rabbits roaming around. Good campsite rules. I. E all dogs to be kept on a lead at all times and quiet at 11:45 onwards. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MiniMassif 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for one (Friday) night early September. Thought we'd try it as a comparison to Acton Field which is just up the road. There were various music/walking/steam train festivals that weekend, which may have contributed to numbers. Also weather was good so perhaps just the usual climbing/biking/hiking people out as well.

Good things about this site - toilet/shower facilities are well kept, showers require tokens (25p) but give a very generous three minutes, and are fully adjustable with plenty of hot water. Also a good number of them, and of separate wash-basin cubicles. Washing up facilities also good. I like the positive emphasis on environment and sustainability (recycling bins, solar hot water, birdfeeders etc). Good on-site shop, open from 8 a. M. - midday, then again from 4? or perhaps 5 p. M. Until about 7 p. M. Pop-up breakfast café in the mornings very popular, but £3 for a bacon sandwich seems a little more than I would expect. Local produce though, so that's a plus.

Not-so-good things - site it very well known and popular, but quite small so when we turned up on the Friday at about 5 p. M. It was already busy, and the remaining spaces were basically next to the access route around site, so there was no quiet corner to tuck ourselves into. Also as it is sheltered it loses the evening sun quite early at that time of year. Quite busy with new arrivals driving in (and past our spot) through the evening, and then pitching in the dark using car headlights - possibly a bit disturbing if you're in a tent close by.

Would go back, but maybe during the week or at a quieter time of year.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469