Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Poplars Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Poplars Farm Certificated Site
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3ED   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01335 370347

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
              9/10 from 16 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Binbob 2 reviews from this member

A group of 3 vans visited for the weekend to celebrate a birthday. We had a very warm welcome and was shown to our pitch in driving sleet/snow. The three of us were pitched together slightly away from the other 2 vans. All pitches are hard standing with electric. Our pitch was nearest the road and we weren't bothered by road noise at all.

The facilities are in 2 portacabins, these were clean and well maintained although cold (well it was snowing for our visit!)

Dogs are welcome and can be walked around 2 of the fields, although there is plenty of other walks in the area.

We walked to the nearest pub for lunch which is about 10 mins along the road or 3 miles if you take the 'scenic route' (not recommended).

Carsington water is nearby with its visitors centre and cafe.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogsie 11 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and what a find! The owner, Pete was very welcoming and showed us the facilities. The site is a working farm. The facilities were clean and warm; three toilets and two showers, washing machine and tumble dryer. We had a choice of pitch; which was level once we used our chocks. Dog walking is allowed in two of the farms fields, but don't let them off as there are pigs in pens in both fields.

There are great views from all pitches. The main road did not keep us awake at night or cause us a problem during the day.

Nearby is a local pub, the Black Horse, which we walked to within 10 minutes. The landlady was welcoming, especially with our two dogs. She got them a water bowl which was a nice touch.

About a 15 minute walk away is a garage/local shop which sells newspapers and most basic provisions.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 11 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic, great views and great hosts. We had pitch 5 close to the road, which was not as bad as I thought it would be. Was allowed to turn van on pitch for best view.

Toilets showers are 5tar with washer dryer if needed.

Close to Ashbourne, Carsington water, with great views from the site.

Cannot fault it at all, will be going back as only 18 miles from us.

Great hard standing pitches.

Ray & Dawn.

Ilkeston Derbyshire

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnie84 15 reviews from this member

A lovely little site, with very friendly couple, lovely walks and views from the site, facilities very clean and adequate, the only downside was getting out of the side road to the site, back onto the a517 a bit of a fast road and blind coming out, we walked to the pub about 10min walk had a lovely meal there. We would love to visit again soon and go to more places in the Derbyshire dales, a lovely touch with wild flower meadows and lovely bird song.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheBaldings 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this very peaceful site in May 2015 and will definitely return. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The facilities are always very clean and there is a useful light on the shower block that shows when it's in use.

We walked to the Nags Head further down the road for Sunday dinner and were very pleased with the meal there.

The road isn't that busy and traffic noise wasn't an issue for us at all during our stay. Now on our list of sites to return to!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sanmar 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this lovely little site twice now.

Sarah and Peter are lovely, friendly people and both times we have visited we have been made to feel very welcome.

The views over the surrounding countryside are beautiful and the site is very peaceful. I suppose you can hear occasional traffic from the road but you would have to listen for it and it was never a problem to us.

There is a lovely big field where we could let our two big dogs off for a run and they loved it.

The shower and toilets were spotlessly clean and the shower is new this year. Also, a light outside the shower block comes on when the shower is in use which is very useful. Although there is only one shower and the site was full when we were there, we never had to wait.

All in all, a lovely little site without too many rules and regulations and just so relaxing.

We live fairly locally and the two pubs within walking distance serve really good food so we will be making this a regular visit in the future.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2490 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window