Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Higher Moor Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Higher Moor Farm Campsite
Nottington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4BW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01305 815199

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 89
Open: 28th March 2014 Until 30th September 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
              9/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BopaJ 1 review from this member

I wanted to stay near Wimborne, Dorset for the last two days of August in order to visit a friend and also take my puppy on her first camping trip to see if she likes camping as much as I do.

I forgot it was the Bournemouth Air Show and The Vintage Steam Fair so most places were only allowing a 3 night plus night stay.

Higher Moor Farm was further away than I anticipated but well worth the extra miles.

I was greeted by a friendly member of staff, having booked over the phone. I like the non-regimented approach- i. E. Park up wherever you want! Lots of campsites have rules about which way your door should open!

The price was excellent too. I have a small camper van and required electric hook up, but the intention was to pitch a tiny tent for Puppy.

There was a big group opposite us and it was lovely that they could have a family gathering and pitch an enormous gazebo all free of charge.

The new washrooms were our nearest and they were really nice and always clean. I liked the big wet room, ideal for those with children, the only downside was that there was nowhere to hang clothes to keep them dry.

There were lots of dogs on the site, and the dog walking area had free poo bags and bins for waste.

I didn't use the other facilities, but can recommend Weymouth beach. If you go the Pavillion end of the beach(DT4 8ED) dogs are allowed on the beach and Puppy had her first experience of sand and sea!

The only downsize of this camp site was the number of wasps and when I return I will take a wasp catcher/ candle, as being allergic to the blighters I was jumping around a lot!

Quiet site but would have been lovely to have seen the sea from the campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thegibbo4 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site twice this year with our 2 children, first for a week at Whitsun and then 4 nights over the August bank holiday weekend.

The location is excellent - you feel right in the countryside and yet there is a supermarket 10 minutes away by car. Despite the site being full everything piped down from about 10pm and it was very peaceful overnight. The only sound was the local wildlife!

We felt that the site could benefit from a third shower and toilet block during peak season, but generally didn't have to queue for long as we get up early. We preferred the older block as the layout of each shower gave an area to get dried in.

Dishwash sinks only have a roof, thankfully it didn't rain much on either of our visits! The hot water was not always hot however. You needed to time your washing up carefully.

The laundry room was a real boon after days at the beach.

We didn't spend an awful lot of time on site as there is so much to see and do in Dorset. Over the course of both visits we drove to Poole and took the boat to Brownsea Island to look for red squirrels (the houses we saw along the walk from Sandbanks car park to the pontoon were amazing), took the steam train to Swanage, spent several days at Studland beach, walked the coast path from Lulworth Cove to Durdle Door (our 7 year old said it was 'epic', the 4 year old slept well that night), explored old Wareham and the River Frome, went to Poole on a rainy day and had a great afternoon exploring the museum with its pirate display and then a walk around the old quarter, and visited Corfe Castle where the children met knights and had a try at archery. National Trust membership is invaluable - parking at Studland in the summer is 9, free to members.

Needless to say, our children didn't have much energy left for the play area at the end of each day!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Griffglen 1 review from this member

We spent 11 nights here and had a great time. The site was extremely busy with people coming and going all the time but it was always quiet at night. The bathroom facilities were great especially the new blocks and I never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a shower. The wetroom layout in the new blocks are useful for getting the kids washed.

We used most of the facilities on site - the shop is really well stocked for such a small space and is reasonably priced, the laundry facilities are really good and the playground etc went down really well. We did however find that on occasion these were being taken over by some older children - not the fault of the site but a bit annoying!

My only concern about the site was the allocation of pitches - you just pick your own which sounds great but did lead to some people taking advantage. Perhaps better signage or allocation of pitches would stop this from becoming a problem? All in all though we loved the site and would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Araluen 7 reviews from this member

WOW. What a find, everything you want and more. We are a family of 6, 2 adults, 4 kids 8, 6, 4 & 1 so we take up a lot of space with our big tent, gazebo and bikes etc. We had an electrical hookup which was great and we had more than enough space, even room for the kids to play ball next to the tent. The campsite is mainly level and has a wonderful shop, beer tent and the play park was fantastic for all of our kids. The site is a wonderful size so the kids could roam around freely without us worrying. All the toilet, shower blocks were lovely and clean and never a long queue. Plus the laundry room enables you to use the freezer for ice blocks, has 2 free microwaves which was a godsend for heating the kids milk. Lockers to charge laptops and phones etc.

The site is everything we want and need when you have children and as for the area it was superb. We loved Portland, went to the Castle, Museum and Lighthouse. Plus visited Corfe Castle, Lulworth Castle and Cove. If you are a member of National Trust and English Heritage you would need a month to do everything.

Morrisons is not far away and open late so works really well for shopping. In fact I could go on forever, there are no down sides to this campsite, we will be going back for sure.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdean 1 review from this member

What a brilliant site! This site is a lovely site to visit. Small and friendly with everything you could ever need-and I'm a very fussy camper! The site has large spacious pitches- our tent is 7m x 4m and we still had loads of room to park our car next to us. There are two toilet blocks, one is brand new, and it is so posh we have named it The Throne Room! Very rarely have to wait and they are clean, and the toilets are always clean and tidy and never run out of paper.

There is a kids playground/park area in one corner of the site so you can pitch away from it, but it is safe enough and near enough from most of the site to still be able to send your children over on their own. There is a shop on site that sells lovely local produce and unlike many places, does not rip you off. You will often find Daniel in the shop- he is lovely, and you having a good holiday is his one and only aim! He is very helpful and often pops round to see if you are ok. The bell tent is another lovely feature, opening at weekends to sell bottles of local ale and cider and on Saturdays, there is a pizza wagon that makes homemade fresh pizzas before your very eyes.

The area is brilliant with lots to do. A good pub just down the road that does nice food that's value for money, Weymouth is only 10 mins away and there is a great park and ride for just 2. 50. You've also got Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, West Bay, Portland Bill and lots more!

If you a looking for a nice family site, this is the place to go. We've enjoyed it so much, that we have just come back for a second week- we booked before we left last time!

A couple of people have mentioned the pilon- it's really not a problem, and actually you wouldn't even know it was there except when it is really quiet and the wind blows in your direction when you might here a very faint buzzing, but it really is hardly noticeable.

What makes this site so great, is not only the brilliant facilities. It wouldn't be the same without the fantastic and friendly staff and the infamous Daniel! Take a look at Higher Moor on Facebook and you will see his lovely catalogue of events and the comings and goings of the guests! I

We will be booking again, we love it here and I would go as far as to say it is quite possibly the best site we have stayed at!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leegrosvenor 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site in early July and was very impressed with everything. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had electric hookup and found a lovely level pitch to put up the tent. All the toilet/shower blocks were very clean and well presented, with very little queues for the showers! the whole site had a very relaxed atmosphere with a lovely mix of tents, caravans and motor-homes. The laundry room (which we did not need but did have a peek at!) was very well equipped and even had small lockers with plug sockets in to safely recharge ! The wifi was a bit high and miss at times but that really is a very minor point. Yes, there are the electricity pylons but you can always turn your chair round so that you don't see them! The site was very easy to find and is superbly placed to visit Weymouth and surrounding areas. Looking forward to returning and would highly recommend this site to anyone (however I am reluctant to do so as I may struggle to get a pitch in the future when this gem gets well known!)

Previous     27 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.1172