Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Balranald Hebridean Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Balranald Hebridean Holidays
Hogha Gearraidh
Isle Of North Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS6 5DL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01876 510304  or  07748 267996

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JandB 14 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 2 nights during September, the facilities are small but clean and modern. There's a nice friendly lady who runs the site. There are about 25 level pitches, some on hardstanding and some on grass. The ground is sandy soil so no problems with drainage. A beautiful white sandy beach is just a stone's throw away and the headland behind the site is a RSPB reserve, which is great if you enjoy a 2 hour walk with ocean views.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FREEDOM 1 6 reviews from this member

I spent 6 nights at balranald campsite, being my fourth visit. Welcomed by anne and husband john allen and family. The staff are very friendly and efficient carrying out the cleaning routines. Site busy but managing well. As stated many times in previous reviews the facilities are well kept. Had soup and scones from dunes catering snack van which were delicious. Met a lot of the extended family, very nice. I read that expansion in facilities is being considered. I was treated to magnificent sunsets. The temperature reached 23 degrees on sunday.

I (hopefully) will be back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 68 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights in May 2017 to “recharge” after a few nights wild camping elsewhere on the Uists.

We have nothing but praise for this site and the owner/manager Anne, for whom nothing was too much trouble, was always on hand be it, sorting out the names for pitches; checking guests in; serving in the catering wagon!

The site is quite linear and has a mix of hardstanding & grass pitches in a non regimented layout. Whilst busy, you never did feel overcrowded.

The facilities are as described by other reviewers and were fine. The nightly rate of £19 for a motorhome & two adults was about right.

An unusual facility for us motorhome owners was a drive over waste water point – many other sites should follow this example.

Just over the dunes was a large sandy bay which extends westwards to incorporate the RSPB reserve with many birds to view & some to only hear [like the Corncrake!].

There is a walk around the coastal headland just to the north west of Hosta where a blow hole can be found [you do need to search for it though] as well as a wild camping spot at the picnic area shown on the OS map.

Overall a great laid back site for chilling for a few days in between wild camping.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouse82 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful location. Our 6yr old enjoyed the walk around the RSPB reserve with the unexpected treat of that massive, beautiful beach at the end (just across the lane from the site).

The food wagon on site is amazing. Earl grey tea, fresh crab sandwiches, local smoked salmon also available. Lovely.

Toilets and showers were always spotless, the showers were £1 (odd coin) so make sure you have a supply of them! Spaces are clearly labelled with your surname on arrival so easy to find your pitch. Great little site!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: John Perkins 2 reviews from this member

I spent a full 7 days at this campsite. The facilities are immaculate, clean, and also have a washing machine and dryer.

Anne - who runs the site is truly wonderful. Level site. I found so much to do in the area of North Uist. Few cars, easy driving and access, stunning scenery. Nearest shop 2m. Nearest supermarket 18m. I recommend McLennans in Benbecula. Nearest fuel 2m.

Sunsets on the beach just 40meters away are awesome. Sit there with yr glass of wine and watch. Some truly amazing moments.

Lots of bird life and plenty walks locally. Its an active RSPB center too.

I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 26 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it's just half an hours drive from the ferry from Harris. The owners are lovely people and make you feel very welcome. It is on a working farm with Highland cattle, the site itself is fenced off, but the cattle do sometimes graze on the grass near the beach. The pitches are mostly gravelled and flat, divided by narrow strips of grass, there are also grass pitches. There are motorhome fill and dump facilities and chemical disposal point. The toilets and showers are modern and spotless, but for the size of the site 2 showers & 2 toilets for each sex would mean queues at busy times. There is a good laundry room and a kitchen. There is no sea view from the site itself, to be honest it's quite bleak and exposed, but it's only a very short walk over the grass to the most beautiful white sand bay, and the nature reserve is next door, so if you get good weather it would be perfect. It is quite isolated, so would recommend stocking up before you arrive if you don't want to drive once pitched up.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0879
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec