Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crockernwell
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7767 0642

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 13 March To 03 November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: APSTARRANT 4 reviews from this member

Spent a long weekend at Barley Meadow in early September. Lovely site which is very well maintained by the franchisee. Each pitch has ample space, the toilet/washing block is in the middle of the site and although the building is a bit old all the facilities are excellent and clean. Whilst the site is very peaceful and quiet, the only niggle was that the road that the site is on seems to be used for the occassional 'speed test' for motorbikes, which does break the peace for a moment or two.

Ideal location for exploring Dartmoor, great pub in Drewsteignton closeby.

Would we use site again - Yes

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hacko 3 reviews from this member

A very nice little site, well laid out with spacious pitches with easy access from main road and a one way system around the site, upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly lady who took us to where we had our choice of pitch, although we were only there for two nights on route to Cornwall we highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ourvan 4 reviews from this member

A lovely little site, with lovely people running it, who are very helpful. However, what spoilt our weekend was the continuous barking of a dog nearby that was non-stop for a number of hours one evening. How anyone can remain content with such annoyance into their lives is beyond me. It is for this reason alone that I rate this site low.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Janews 9 reviews from this member

We used this site as a stop off for a couple of nights on our way to Cornwall.

We had a very friendly and informative welcome and were given the choice of pitch with a walk round with the warden. The ground was quite soggy and as we had a grass pitch we were a little worried as the chocks sank into the ground but there were no further worries!

The site has a small shop selling all the usual essentials as well as some very useful walking maps/guides. We had a lovely walk to Fingle Bridge which has a reasonably priced pub, as well as a walk the next day to Castle Drogo which is well worth a visit.

The nearest pub is at Drewsteignton selling guest ales and is a true 'traditional' pub, but we decided it was a little far to walk in the evening at about 40 minutes hilly walk.

The site had good facilities, though the hot tap for washing up is to be treated with care!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Roma07 3 reviews from this member

Rather open site on high ground. Convenient for Castle Drogo National Trust property, which can be reached by footpath and lanes on Two Moors Way. I found the road quiet on a Friday evening around 5. 30 pm, and only saw two vehicles and one service bus. Walking west along road, which is quite wide, after half a mile you reach the path which takes you south.

The facility block is rather small, but quite usable. Note about wifi: I was unable to pick up a connection near the far corner of the site.

I'd like to return here to do more walking. A good site to get away from urban bustle, but Exeter is less than half an hour's drive away.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 12 reviews from this member

Barley Meadow is a franchised C&CC site on Dartmoor, Devon.

It's a relatively small site, but immaculately maintained with friendly helpful owners. We were there over the August bank holiday and thought that the facilities might be overloaded, but we never had to queue.

We had to move from a nearby site and were pleased to discover that this site was both cheaper and, in my view, better organised.

An unexpected bonus was the excellent free WIFI that was available on our pitch.

Plenty of interesting places to visit nearby, we stayed for 7 days and enjoyed safe cycling along the Tarka and Drake's Trails. There are also a few very interesting NT properties in the area. Coleton Fishacre is superb, once the home of the D'Oyly Carte family - a magical house, garden and location. Exeter is a lovely city, with cathedral and interesting waterfront.

I have only scored the location as 8/10 as there is some noise from the adjacent road, not a major problem and hardly any traffic after lights out. Further we were not confident about cycling on this road, and had to use the car to reach more satisfactory places to ride. Not a deal breaker by any means!

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0625