Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Brake Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Castle Brake Holiday Park
Castle Lane
Woodbury
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1HA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 232431

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m   5m  1m  5m 

Pitches: 40
Open: March 10th - October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
              8/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carken 4 reviews from this member

Staying at the site whilst writing this review so an up to date one. I'm on a hardstanding fully serviced pitch in The Orchard.

I totally agree about the condition of the roads/paths here, there are a lot of loose stones and holes. Especially on the road between the orchard field and the facilities. Also the hardstanding pitches here have a lot of very large stones mixed in with the small gravel which I've found quite difficult to dodge when walking.

As with other sites dogs are supposed to be on a lead at all times but we have a very large alsation not restrained on the grassed area next to ours. I went to the facility block around two in the morning and was followed by it and found it quite unnerving and also had it charge around a corner barking when I walked my small dog. My dog was terrified. The owner walks around the site and the dog follows everywhere, again not tethered.

The facilities are good but could benefit from more indoor lights as it's quite dark in them. Also the entrance light is in dire need of cleaning as it seems to be full of dead insects.

This is my first visit and I have to say that I won't be returning. I thought it would be better after reading the reviews and I hope Castle Brake read them and pick up on the issues, especially the one about the dog as it's very frightening. I'm a dog lover and very used to them, large and small, but someone with a fear of dogs would be traumatized by it.

I haven't used the bar/restaurant yet so can't comment on them.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chicgal 8 reviews from this member

Great 9 day break. The touring field was very quiet, although some road noise, cars travel very fast down this road. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was a bar/ bistro on site, we didn't use it but seemed to be used by others using the seasonal and static pitches. I have been told that the Sunday roast is good value for money. There was a lovely nature/ woodland walk and a lot of effort had been put into signage to explain the wild life. There was a small play park for children. There was a wash up area with laundry facilities within the shower block area. The shower block was lovely and clean and warm, my only criticism would have been that the shower area leaked into the changing area of the cubicle and into the main corridor, there were complaints from those people who have a seasonal pitch, who said it was always like that. It was a short drive to Exmouth, Budleigh Salterton and Sidmouth. You would definitely need a car. There was an excellent fish and chip shop/ take away in Woodbury and the food was tasty. Altogether a lovely peaceful break with great weather for the time of the year.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5mph 23 reviews from this member

This site is mainly static vans and seasonals, with two small areas for touring. It is well maintained attractive, with excellent facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food in the bistro was excellent (the steak deal on Mondays was superb). There is much to do and enjoy in the area (the House of Marbles at Bovey Tracey is a must). The only downside is that the pitches are rather small - it is difficult to maintain the 6 metre safety gap and impossible if too many put up awnings. Excellent special offers on fees outside the main season.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LisaP84 1 review from this member

Arrived late out of the blue and rang the emergency phone to which it was promptly answered and the young lady Hannah came down to check us in. Very quick and efficient and very polite and helpful, showed us where to go. Our pitch was a fully serviced hard standing in the top field and was lovely and quiet of an evening.

The washrooms were very clean and the same lady along with another one seemed to always be in there cleaning the toilets and showers. The shop offers papers in the morning and the essentials if caught short, both friendly receptionists and helpful too.

The bistro was lovely and food was great quality and a decent portion.

Overall quite a nice site, the roads could do with some up keep but the staff definitely make the site. All staff were friendly always acknowledging us either a wave, smile or a hello which was lovely and made us feel so welcome. The site makes a great base for exploring and was perfect for us. My only criticism would be that the cleaner seemed lazy as I caught her a couple of times hanging around the shower block not doing anything and once was sat on the vanity unit in the female block. Also for families with older children they would need to be entertained in the day as there is only a small play park on site. Would come back later in the year for another longer stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe blog 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from staying on this site, which was well looked after, we stayed in the orchard field which was well laid out and flat, however in the evening it could benefit from some lighting on the field as it was very dark. The on site restaurant was dog friendly but not brilliant, mediocre food and slow service we found they often ran out of items on the theme nights such as naan breads on curry night, wasn't overly busy either. Although they did have theme nights ie steak night curry night etc.

Brilliant staff and location for site seeing.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HANSELL 4 reviews from this member

Visited end of june 2014 reception very friendly as were all the staff, great views from site overlooking the estuary towards exeter, toilets were very clean with plenty of room in showers to hang clothes, the only criticism would be that the roads needed to be improved a lot of loose stones, otherwise a great site well situated for touring east devon

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5247 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window