Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castle Brake Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Castle Brake Holiday Park
Castle Lane
Woodbury
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1HA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01395 232431

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m   1m  5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
              8/10 from 23 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HANSELL 1 review from this member

Visited end of june 2014 reception very friendly as were all the staff, great views from site overlooking the estuary towards exeter, toilets were very clean with plenty of room in showers to hang clothes, the only criticism would be that the roads needed to be improved a lot of loose stones, otherwise a great site well situated for touring east devon

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickeyb 17 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a delightful area. Totally quiet and peaceful.

Having said that, the best thing was the price. Being of the 'Grey Nomad' brigade our caravanning is confined to term time and with the various discounts it was £70 for the week for a hardstanding fully serviced pitch.

Site is beautifully kept and each pitch is absolutely level although the site is set into the hillside. Never got to see inside the service block as we use onboard facilities.

Had a nice meal and a pint in the on site Bistro.

Found the reception staff very pleasant and helpful.

Children's playground but no shop on site. All the big supermarkets in nearby Exeter or Exmouth.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen Sayers 2 reviews from this member

Our first experience of using our campervan and it was a wonderful experience for a first time. Very friendly site, I rang very last minute and asked if we could travel down that day, the girl on the phone was so helpful and friendly even telling me the weather for that day locally. We arrived using the site directions and although it is a bit off the beaten track, we found it easily. A quiet homely site that has the most helpful and friendly staff team.

We were placed in the bottom field where we had a few caravans for neighbours. Plenty of room to park the van and pitch the awning and close to the brilliant newly refurbished shower block which was cleaned daily and in excellent condition. Hot water and heated! Next door was a laundry room with washing machines and tumble dryers which were coin operated, also several irons and ironing boards also coin operated. A small freezer for freezing your cooler blocks and a few books and magazines at hand to wait for the washing to be done. This room was also heated. Just outside was a lovely well kept washing up area and around the corner a sluice area.

We had to get into the van to travel anywhere but we were close to Exmouth and other beach areas, this was a small price to pay to have the peace and quiet we wanted from our break. There is a lovely wooden play area for Children in the bottom field and a restaurant on site and also a small shop. We had a lovely weekend and the staff need a pat on the back for their unique and very professional service. We will see you again in 2014.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodge20 1 review from this member

Fantastic site situated just outside the village of Woodbury. Typically for Devon the site is accessed from a narrow road so choose your approach carefully if towing. The welcome on arrival was very friendly and efficient. We were given clear directions to our pitch and a map of the site with our pitch highlighted.

Most of the pitches seem reasonably level.

The play area has all the basics and our two boys spent plenty of time there with the other kids on site.

As far as the on site amenities go, the shower block was always clean, and consumables such as loo roll and liquid soap in dispensers were always well stocked, and the showers are free. We used the bistro on our first night there as we arrived on site around tea time and couldn't be bothered cooking after setting up. The food was good quality and at a reasonable price, anything off the main menu can also be ordered as a take away.

We had the misfortune to experience disruptive campers whilst there, but the wardens and management dealt with the issues quickly and efficiently.

On the whole I would recommend this site as a really good value base to explore the surrounding area, however due to the site's location you will need to use your car.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LlewB 13 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite, located just 15 minutes from the M5 and provided us with a good base to explore the coast line from Exmouth to Lyme Regis.

Children loved the play ground, and our pitch over looking it worked out fantastically for us. There was a generator sound from the new toilet block which woke us a couple of times on our first night but got accustomed to it.

The toilet/ shower block is quite new, and was very comfortable. No need to pay for any of the water which is always a plus.

There was a regular staff presence on site, which showed in the fact looked well maintained. Everyone one we dealt with was very friendly and helpful.

Bistro on site was an added bonus, providing good food on site at a reasonable price. We had a take away an enjoyed a meal in the open air outside our camper.

Another area ticked off with a go to campsite.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kdillow 1 review from this member

A warm and friendly welcome awaiting our arrival at an excellent site. The shower block is probably the best I have seen anywhere, and due to most caravans being permanent was not heavily used. The Bistro and Bar on site served good food and an excellent pint of real Ale. The prices for both the weeks camp, and the food was very reasonable. I will certainly visit again. The site was awfully wet when we visited and was suffering with ankle deep mud. Help was at hand from the staff laying down boards where required. The only thing that would improve our pitch would be a path connecting the hard standing with the road. I guess this isn't such a problem in the summer!

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1055