Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dornafield Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Dornafield Caravan Park
Two Mile Oak
Newton Abbot
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ12 6DD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 812732

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
1m  1m  10m  10m  5m  1m   5m  5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 135
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
              9/10 from 110 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at Dornafield for seven days early October 2014, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were given a warm welcome, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The layout of the site is very picturesque, well maintained, and is in lovely quiet countryside, well away from any main roads. We were in the Blackrock Copse area with very convenient fully serviced pitches. The toilet/shower block is immaculate, superbly designed and had underfloor heating. Dornafield is in an ideal location, not far from Torbay. We liked it very much and hope to visit again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 15 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site with very spacious pitches and very good facilities. For dog owners there's a good-sized fenced off-lead exercise area and plenty of on-lead walks. For children there's also a good play area. On Friday they cook fish & chips plus other chippie-type meals on-site - the chips were excellent but the fish seemed to be reconstituted.

The only concern we had about the site was towing a car behind our motorhome up the narrow, twisting lane from the main road to the site. A-frame cars are not easily reversed, so we unhitched on the Two Mile Oak Inn car-park at the turn-off from the A381.

You are given discount vouchers for a number of facilities in the general area, including the aforementioned Inn plus another closer to Totnes. Food in both is highly recommended and good value.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nannycarolyn 1 review from this member

First time to Dornafield and won't be the last(already booked for next year). We were given a lovely pitch on Blackrock Copse. We had 3 weeks of sun and little rain. The staff were all friendly and I have to put in a good word for our UP NORTH wardens well done. Everything was kept neat and tidy. The sanitair was always clean. Fresh bread was available daily in the shop and had what you needed and if not the supermarket is only 2 miles away. The fish and chip van was very nice and I think we visited it 4 times, beats having to cook yourselves! If we had brought our dog he would have had a great time in the dog areas. The Two Mile Oak Inn serves lovely food but it is advisable to book. There is lots to do in Devon and we didn't have time to do it all.

I do have two min points sorry, 1) the mirrors are too low in the sanitair block and 2) although it's not the fault of Dornafield (but they did choose the provider) the internet was rubbish. We paid for one appliance for 4 weeks and very often couldn't get on. However we complained to the provider and we are getting money back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashworth55 6 reviews from this member

This site is only a short drive for us but well worth it. We stayed in the black rock copse pitch 43.

Pitch was level, having the water and waste so close was a real plus.

Toilet block was spot less, didn't check out the play area.

We tried the on site fish and chips for friday night, very good we thought and price was reasonable.

Quiet at night apart from the owl hooting which was better to listen too than her good self snoring.

The wardens/reception staff and owner all very helpful.

The approach road is fine provided you take your time. I found approaching traffic very considerate.

It is a great location roughly equidistant between dartmoor and the sea.

This is a jewel of a sight and is a must if you are considering a stay in this area.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 21 reviews from this member

Another visit to one of the best sites in the South West. Well kept site, spotless facilities, friendly wardens and owners, free table tennis, (chargeable but only £2 an hour) outdoor tennis court, reasonably priced shop that will order fresh bread and croissants and your daily paper.

One change to previous visits is that wifi is no longer free. £12 for per device for a week, I think it was £36 for multiple devices for a week. We didn't bother and tried to rely on solely 3G, (Virgin Mobile), which was pretty pitiful on site. (The only negative).

Great pitch, 88. Close to the facilities, fully serviced. Can't fault the pitch.

Totally recommend the pub for food at Denbury, The Union Inn. Unbelievable meal. Costly, but superb, chef deserves a compliment.

The pub at East Ogwell, 'The Jolly Sailor', served a great pint, had friendly locals and had Sky TV - useful for watching the footy and walkable from Dornafield - as is the pub at Denbury.

Locally there is loads to do, Totnes, Dartmouth, Stoke Gabriel is beautiful and a great place to go crabbing. Some great beaches within 30 minutes travelling.

Anybody that likes to run, the lanes around Dornafield can provide some good circular routes, although can be a little scary when you meet traffic. They are very narrow in places.

Yeah, access to the site is what you expect. It's rural and it's Devon. I rate myself as a novice tower, and although slightly concerned I'd meet somebody coming the other way, I did, and there was no problem. Just don't arrive early as meeting a fellow vanner coming the other way may prove difficult.

I rate the site 10 out of 10 overall, but it is expensive, so value for money can't be high, but, in life, you generally get what you pay for and Dornafield is no exception to this rule. I adore this site, it fully deserves all the positive reviews, and I will be back again in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trigvan 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site, can't really fault it. Pitches are good. They look a bit close as you drive in but when you are on them they don't feel it and have some screening hedges. Own water supply and hook up and even had own bin shared with one other pitch. Lovely area.

The facilities are five star. More spa like than shower block. Need twenty pences for hairdryer though and pounds and twenty pences for the washing/tumble drying so make sure you have plenty if you want this facility.

Free wifi but was very sporadic. Shop selling basics and can order fresh croissants for breakfast from here. Beautifully kept site. Two off lead dog exercise areas were brilliant. The one we used had a large enclosed area that then led through to another field on a steep slope with a pathway cut through the grass all round.

We did a nice walk through country lanes to Denbury and visited a lovely pub called the Union Inn which is dog friendly and the food looked lovely.

Would definitely go back. The only problem was it was so good that the next site we went to I didn't like because I kept comparing it to Dornafield.

Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0498