Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slatebarns Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Slatebarns Caravan Park
Chapel Loan
Roslin, Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH25 9PU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +44 07867009915

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April 2014 - End October 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
              9/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8)

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsgirl 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site situated just outside Edinburgh. The site is small and is surrounded by trees. This may limit your pitch as to getting any sun. Facilities are in one central block with two showers and two loos in ladies. Hot water is free on a push button system. This is set for a very short time and we had to keep one hand constantly pushing button to have a decent shower. There are two wash basin cubicles too. Laundry room and office in the same block. There is a motorhome service point and other rubbish and waste water and fresh water points around site. Mixture of hard and grass pitches. Hard standings are large and can easily take caravan, car and awning. Grass pitches are more grouped together in the centre of the site. The entrance gates are kept closed and you have to open them manually. WiFi is 1. 50 a day and worked fine for us. No children's area on site and no ball games allowed. The site lies down a small road that is a dead end so very quiet. Lovely walks in valley next to site although this is quite steep. Village is five minutes and has a Coop, post office and small general shop open till late. Roslin chapel nearby and well worth a visit. Good local pub with good food called the original. Buses from village to Edinburgh are frequent and run all day and into night. A lot to recommend this site, we would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kagsp 3 reviews from this member

I can't say a bad word about Slatebarns. Beautiful surroundings, peaceful, relaxing, spotless facilities, fab pub near by with great food, a little supermarket five minutes walk away, outstanding dog walks on Roslin Glenn, great local bus service to Edinburgh & the wonderful Roslynn Chapel just 50 steps away. We have stayed twice this year and already trying to sort dates to go again. The owners Pam & Brian can't do enough to help, it's possibly the best touring site we have ever had the pleasure of staying on.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starry639 7 reviews from this member

The site is directly next to Roslin Chapal so if you are in Roslin to see this particularly amazing historic building then great. The Campsite itself was very nice, relaxed and charming. The facilities basic, almost hostel like in the layout. There is no shop but there is a small supermarket close by and a couple of large supermarkets a short drive away. For dog walkers the forest is a minute or so around the corner and for me the highlight of the site. The forest is absolutely beautiful and there are a few walks around the perimeter of the chapel giving outstanding views. The staff were informative when prompted, not particularly friendly or visible. This is very much a business enterprise but leaves little in terms of services to warrant the way in which the site is run. In summary this is a functional site that is augmented by the fantastic woodland and historic buildings very close by.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Texastom 5 reviews from this member

Arrived on Thursday for one night - stayed for four!

Excellent campsite, good clean facilities, laundry and dish-washing (no charge for hot water), spacious pitches, recycling facility, very friendly staff and peaceful relaxing atmosphere.

Just a short stroll to Roslin chapel, a few local shops, bus stop to Edinburgh and great pub with excellent food and a good choice of beers!

Will definitely be our campsite of choice when visiting Edinburgh in future.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 29 reviews from this member

What a lovely site it was beautiful well laid out, lovely facility block very clean, may be a bit pushed if every pitch filled but your on holiday so a wait no problem, laundry good and clean. No shop on site but a lovely walk into the village where there is a coop, a few small stores, post office a coffee /tea room and a lovely pub. Oh and of course the Chapel so beautiful and made famous by the di vinci code well worth a visit and do listen to the history of it talk. Made my visit to Rosslyn great.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dereks.tent 4 reviews from this member

What a great site. Pitches are marked out which I normally don't like, but here you have plenty of room and not all lined up like terrace houses, there's a mix of hard and green pitches all of which are quite level, all around are trees and greenery with plenty of rabbits hopping about. The showers and toilets look very new and are all very clean with plenty of hot water. The owners were always very friendly and the price was good considering how close to Edinburgh you are. We did park and ride, but I think its easier if you take the bus from just outside the camp site( 5 minute walk ) Rosslyn chapel is almost next door, well worth a visit. We were put of by the 9 charge but the carvings are fantastic. We didn't go and I now regret it as I live in kent 400 miles away :-(

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547