Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slatebarns Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Slatebarns Caravan Park
Chapel Loan
Roslin, Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH25 9PU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +44 07867009915

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 29/03/2018 To 30/09/2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed the time here. We went into Edinburgh a couple of times on the bus (£1. 60) single fare from Roslin.

The site is well laid out and the bathroom kept clean(I don't like combination locks thought)There is a British Legion in the village also.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Came to Slatebarns on a glorious June weekend. Weather was fabulous and we werenít disappointed with the site. Absolutely great location, just past Roslin Chapel and easy access to Roslin Glen, with a short five minute walk into the village. On arrival were met and booked in within a couple of minutes. Picked our own pitch, but I would imagine that these will be allocated if site is full. We had hard standing, but one of the grass pitched would have been good as well. A really good amenities block with good facilities. Showers were excellent and really big. A laundry, dish washing area and disabled toilet also there, as was the reception office. In the village, the pub, The Original Roslin Inn is dog friendly and the food looked good. Also the road at side of the pub leads to the old railway walk, so an alternative to Rosin Glen, but definitely plenty of good walking to be had. Appears to be a good bus service into Edinburgh from the village, so again a good base to explore Edinburgh. We didnít go into the Chapel as we had our dog with us, but had been before and is worth a visit. There is now a visitor centre attached, so that adds to the experience. Although there isnít a playpark for kids, the location and proximity to Roslin Glen more than makes up for it. Slatebarns is a good site for families. Also great for dogs. Overall, a great site, in a great location with lots of good walks nearby. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire N 13 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a site suitable for a short break in Edinburgh, look no further! We stayed here over the weekend of the Edinburgh Marathon and could not have made a better choice. The bus service from Roslin into the city is amazing; the bus stop is five minutes walk from the site and buses run 7 days a week with up to 3 buses an hour! Single journeys are £1. 60, with a day ticket costing £4. Timetables are available on site. The site itself is peaceful, with immaculate facilities. It's only a short walk to the pub, which is dog friendly, and Roslin Chapel, famous in the Da Vinci Code, is next to the site. Would definitely come back!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. Tucked away on the edge of Roslin 100 metres or so from Roslin Chapel. Another 100 metres to the edge of the village with pubs and small shops. Handy for buses to Edinburgh. Site facilities were immaculate. Nicely laid out site hard standing hook ups. Owner very friendly and helpful. Great walking area for dogs on a network of paths through woods next to the site

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smeatonarab 9 reviews from this member

A very nice and quiet caravan park. We received a pleasant and helpful welcome on arrival and bus timetables. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean. TV reception was excellent. The caravan park is right next to Rosslyn Chapel and a 5 minute walk into the small town of Roslin. There is a pub and bus stops on the main Street for buses to Edinburgh. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarenFaeAngus 1 review from this member

We have a friend in the village who recommended this site to us. And we are SO glad she did. I have Fybromyalgia - my hands don't really work. My son has Autism and associated low muscle tone, balance and co-ordination issues. We love to caravan but we struggle with it. The site owners offered kindly the disabled toilet/shower key to us for the weekend. The chap on reception when we arrived even offered to help us set up - we didn't need it - but kindness and understanding like that goes a long way. It made us comfortable for the 4 days we were with them. We knew that if we needed help - they would gladly do so. That helps you relax. And while relaxed we are able to achieve more ourselves. What a find of a camp site. We will DEF be back. Never mind disability issues - what a brilliant setting! Who would have thought you could pass by such terrific views of the glen and the kirk as part of your camping experience? And besides that - SUPER toilet facilities. I cannot poss be the only parent who has struggled to shower themselves and their bairn cos there is no seat to wrap their kid in a towel and sit them on whilst washing their hair! Benches in shower cubicles are sadly few and far between on many camp sites we've been to. Super value for money. We WILL be back and will recommend it highly to anyone coming to this area. Thank you.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5203 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1016
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec