Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slatebarns Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Slatebarns Caravan Park
Chapel Loan
Roslin, Edinburgh
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH25 9PU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +44 07867009915

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April 2014 - End October 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
              9/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (4)

Reviews:

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ricktimmis 1 review from this member

Customer service was excellent, the lady who we called made every effort to accommodate us at short notice, and as there was availability we were able to arrive early.

Site is very clean and well laid out, with good level gravelled hard standings.

Toilets and showers were clean, and water was always very warm.

Rosslin Chapel is right next door, an amazing place with nice Cafe too.

Locally there is The Original Rosslin Hotel, the food and service are both excellent, personally I recommend the Haddock and chips.

Bus into Edinburgh is opposite The Original Rosslin Hotel, for best value buy the day ticket for 3. 50, also please note buses carry no change so make sure you have the correct fare.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dancingdog 2 reviews from this member

This is a first class site; it is a peaceful location with good, clean facilities. There are walks from the site and it is a few yards from the Roslin chapel and on bus route to Edinburgh. There is a good pub with food very close to the site. The owners are really great - so helpful and just such nice people. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We are a retired couple with a dog and, having stayed there for a couple of nights, have gone back for a further night and will be going again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonzer2847 1 review from this member

This is a lovely quiet site in a peaceful location. Ideal for trips into Edinburgh by bus with a bus stop just a short walk from the site. I would recommend buying an all day ticket for 3. 50 which means you can hop on and hop off as many buses as you wish. Great for Edinburgh Festival.

Site facilities are good with plenty of hot water although during busy times you may have to queue for a shower as there are only two showers in the ladies and two in the gents. Having said that though the toilet block is spotlessly clean, warm and showers cubicles are large. Even a free hairdryer.

Rosslyn Chapel is about 100 metres from the site and is really well worth a visit. The cafe also has the best hot chocolate I have EVER had !

Site owners are very friendly and helpful and it was no problem for them to pop down to the site when we arrived after office closing time.

There is every possible supermarket within driving distance including Ikea.

The Little Italy restaurant next to Tesco in Penicuik serves a fab two course lunch all afternoon for only 7. 95 and it's great food.

We will definitely be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rsmichele 1 review from this member

As said in a previous review, as the site has only just reopened it was lovely and quiet for us with only the rabbits and red dear as neighbours for a couple of nights, then maybe 6 pitches taken at the most. We had five nights here. Having dogs the walking would of been fantastic had it not been the hottest week! Site and shower block all very clean and the shower block is locked so a deposit is required for a key, which wasn't a problem. Lane to the site can get a little busy with tourists visiting the chapel, and you do not want to meet a determined foreign bus driver who refuses to listen to the chapel carpark attendants and wishes to turn round in the campsite! Will be returning in the future,

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HannaS 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights here, the site has just reopened and some pitches were closed because of new grass. The grass was patchy across the site and there are quite a few thistles along with a large number of rabbits!

Unfortunately the shower block lets this site down slightly. Although recently repainted and very clean it is old. The lights only seem to come on when it is dark, but when you need lights near dusk they don't come on. There are heaters but again seem to be on timers, it was quite cold getting out of the shower on a few occasions.

The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk to the nearest pub which is reasonably priced. Buses to Edinburgh run every half hour for 3 return. They go straight to the City Centre which was handy - timetables were available from the office when we arrived.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pee Wee 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site early July, There are two sites together one is a caravan club cl the other is Slatebarns. We think both are run by the same family (not 100% sure on that one). Slatebarns is at the end of the lane, past Roslin Chapel. My guess is the site is brand new, the toilet and shower block was superb, the pitch's all level easy access, the whole site is in a slight hollow so a bit sheltered, take your own outside tap connector, one went missing whilst we were there, it wasn't a problem but just a tip. Couldn't fault the site. Literally 200/300 yard walk along the lane to the Old Original Pub, passing Roslin Glen and the Chapel enroute. Good food and drink. To be fair there is not much going on in Roslin however outside the pub you can catch a Lothian bus into Edinburgh every half hour (on the hour and half past), its 1. 50 a ticket if you travel one stop or go all round the city. You can also pay 3. 50 and get on any lothian bus all day. 2/3 roads up from the pub is a Scotmid Co op for provisions. Edinburgh is a wonderful city, Dynamic Earth well worth a visit, by your tickets online at a discount (not tied to a specific date). We had a thoroghly enjoyable time even though the weather was hit and miss (hey ho it is Scotland), would defo go back again. Good value for the price.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391