Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitlingham Broad Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Whitlingham Broad Campsite
Whitlingham Lane
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR14 8TR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07794 401591

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  10m  1m   5m  1m  5m 

Pitches: 68
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
              8/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Reviews:

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bessoby 1 review from this member

We were pleased with this campsite and had a pleasant few days stay here. We are a family of two adults and three children and there was plenty of room for us all. We arrived on a Sunday and it was rather busy but most people were clearing away after the weekend so we were pleasantly surprised when it emptied out.

We stayed on the upper field which was spacious and in good condition. As it wasn't busy there was lots of room for ball games in the middle and for the children to socialise with others, however, at busy times there wouldn't be much room as tents were pitched in the middle when we arrived. Even though no cars are allowed on the upper field we were able to pitch up by the fence and drive our car alongside it. This did mean passing our belongings through/over the fence though but it wasn't really a problem. Wheelbarrows are available though to help transport items.

The campsite felt safe at all times and it was very well situated for the cafe over the road and the broad for watersports. On the first night we did struggle a little with the road noise from the A road nearby but didn't notice it at all during the day. The road didn't seem as noisy on the second night, perhaps we jut slept better or maybe the wind was blowing in the opposite direction!

The toilet and shower blocks were good. Two family shower and toilet rooms were very useful and the blocks were cleaned regularly which was good to see as they did get rather muddy and grass over the floor. There is a hairdryer in the ladies' block that takes old pound coins but this lasted for no more than what seemed like thirty seconds. It would've cost a fortune to dry my hair totally, luckily the weather was warm enough to have a wet head for a while!

Overall, a nice campsite, welcoming and friendly and a good location for the broads and Norwich. Tiny shop but has the essentials, although it is rather expensive. Worth hiring a fire pit if you camp on the upper field.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jbb1003 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend as a last minute booking because our original choice closed due to flooding fears. We were a group of two families with five children from 2-7.

We had a nice enough time, but felt the campsite was rather resting on its Cool Camping laurels.

At the time we stayed, the loo block was being refurbished (and looks like it will be pretty decent when done), so there were four portaloos, and two portashowers, plus cold water washing up facilities. That was fine - who needs a shower anyway - but the price of 9/adult and 5/child - for all over ones - did not reflect the facilities, or the view.

What was good:

Friendly staff

Upper field is car-free. One review mentioned stoney ground - the upper field was nicely grassed.

Plenty of space

No fixed pitches

Fires allowed

Pleasant walk along the broad. I ran all the way round - the views much much better on the South side.

Boat hire available at the adventure centre.

We stopped in at the cafe at the Flint Barn. No complaints about the cake.

What was bad:

A relatively noisy campsite, both due to the tramline (which runs quite late) and especially the A47.

The price. No charge for a gazebo mitigated this a bit, but not completely. Charging high-season prices for portaloos felt a bit off.

6. 50 for a bag of poor (i. E. Worse than normal campsite quality) firewood is pretty expensive.

Grass in upper field not particularly well drained.

No view of the broad. We were camped halfway up the upper field, I walked up to one of the higher spots, and couldn't see the broad from there either.

You really have to be completely out by 11, or you'll get a car parking fine. You get free parking till 11 on day of departure in all of the country park's carparks.

Low Ropes course is non-existent. We found the remains of it.

Rated a fairly generous 5/10, would be 6-7/10 if the loo block was in. We enjoyed ourselves, but don't plan to return.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camogirl- 14 reviews from this member

A fantastic site and we had it all to our selves for a 3 night stop. We were in the lower feild which was easy to get in and out of and only a short walk over to the toilest and showers etc.

You can have a fire out side your van with no extra cost as long as you bring all your own wood and a raised fire pit (in the past sites have only let me use their wood and had to pay for a fire pit) The little site shop had a information board with as much information as we needed.

You can explore as far as you want as their are a number of paths around for walks and loads of foot paths suitable for pushchairs or wheel chairs. THe Barn/ information cafe across the road has laods of extra info if need including maps of the park.

Site has 3 toilets and 4 showers in a porta cabin, think this might get busy during the summer. Also no eletric hook up but not a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ladycake 7 reviews from this member

Camped here as an overnight stop to Bewilderwood. Lovely site and so close to Norwich centre and A47. Easy to find and very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed on the upper field as the lower one was flooded after a lot of rain the night before. Nice flat grass to pitch on and sloped. Bags of room for children to play and very campfire/ barbecue friendly. Showers and toilets not as clean as cc sites, but ok for us. Nice area and there are glamping tents, yurt and shepherds huts too which looked very nice. At the washup station its cold water only so bear that in mind, but I did mine at the tent so didn`t bother me. Nice to hear owls at night. Did hear a little bit of traffic noise from far away (A47 I think) at night.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herts30 3 reviews from this member

There's some rule about registering your car at reception within 10 minutes of arrival otherwise some automatic council camera will send you a penalty notice in the post or something. This would be a shame if you arrived when the reception is closed in the middle of the day. Not sure how that works.

We were in the first field on the right as you come in, and just to one side of the gate. The ground was essentially stone with a covering of grass. We bent all our tent pegs and broke one mallet. The other mallet took the skin off my hand over the course of the 90 minutes it took to get the pegs as far in as they would go. We didn't bother with guy ropes. A few metres further where our friends pitched their tent was much easier, so the whole field is not like this.

We had no kids in our party, can't comment on facilities for kids, but there seems to be plenty of room for them to run around and play games etc.

The reception/shop staff were friendly and very laid back. Nice little selection of essentials available, and cold drinks, ice-creams etc. They'll charge your mobile and the money goes to charity or something, but make sure you're aware when their open/closed times are, because when I came back to collect my phone on the way out for the day, they were shut.

Nice to be able to have fires in our field (fire-baskets and wood available).

There's a visitor centre for Whitlingham Broad that's visible from the campsite and they do hot food and sandwiches, full english etc. There are boat trips round the broad, or it's a nice walk round it.

Took a bit longer than we thought to walk into Norwich centre (I'm sure it was about 90 minutes, but we may not have gone the shortest route, not 100% sure). Got a cab back as it was late.

Didn't try the local pubs/restaurant nearby as we ate in Norwich or did BBQs at the campsite.

One morning at about the crack of dawn there were all these horns blowing somewhere right near the campsite which woke everyone up and seemed to go on forever. Couldn't work out if it was a hunt protest or what, but it sounded a bit like the beginning of a boat race and lasted for what seemed like about 2 hours.

The showers are electric and separate to the toilets. Can be a little bit burny if you're not careful, but at least they're not cold. If you want to shave, bring a camping mirror and do it in the shower, otherwise it's cold water or no mirror depending on which of the other sinks you use.

Not over-crowded at all considering it was a bank holiday weekend. Never had to queue for the shower, or the toilet once, and only a very short wait at reception (when it's open). Nice big pitch with loads of room in the middle of the field.

Overall a very nice site in a very nice location. Would go back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayreeve 1 review from this member

This new campsite is wonderful.

It's split into two fields (a spacious upper field with no car access and a smaller lower field with car access). It's at a beautiful location with access to a nice 1 hour walk around Whitlingham Broad, a great visitor centre coffee shop and just a 5 minutes drive into Norwich.

Toilets and showers were clean and tidy at all times and had plenty of hot water.

The owners seemed to be around from early morning to late at night and were always on hand to give friendly advice on things to do and see. In fact, it's them that make the campsite so great.

We'll definitely be going back to stay again.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window