Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Houghton Mill Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Houghton Mill Caravan Club Site
Mill St
Houghton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01480 466716

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
              9/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James Scotts Clarke 4 reviews from this member

This is a great site in a wonderful location. Wardens were friendly and really helpful. Tent pitches are really spacious, grass and level. Showers, toilets, washing up areas all spotless. The location is to die for. Houghton Mill is adjacent to the site. The village is beautiful and only 5 minutes walk to a friendly pub. Another bonus is that the village playing field (on way to 3 Jolly Butchers) has a fantastic playground.

The wider local area includes St Ives, a lovely old town. From there you can get the guided bus into Cambridge.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha 26 reviews from this member

Unfortunately when we arrived the power was off and stayed off for 26hrs! However the wardens were VERY helpful and kept us informed. Booking in was VERY easy, as was choosing a pitch. The site is in a great location, close to the river, but not too close for kids safety, some great walks, easy walk to two pubs (shame it's the furthest that does the best food!) and a well stocked village shop. It's no wonder this is a busy site and difficult to book, and with such laid back helpful wardens we WILL BE BACK! (If we can re-book!)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 9 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Toilets & shower block spotless Site well kept and in a lovely village. Don't miss the mill next door - it's fascinating. The village is only a few minutes walk away where there is a well stocked shop and two pubs. The closest pub was the three horseshoes and if it was run correctly could be a good pub. Unfortunately it was full of loud 'hooray Henries' who seemed to be having a swearing competition egged on by the apparently not too bright landlord. The beer was in top condition but the price was outrageous - 3. 95 per pint. I have paid less in the West End. I would avoid at all costs, as there is another pub a further 3-4 minutes walk away called the 3 jolly butchers. This is a much more civilised and reasonably priced pub with excellent food. Make sure to book this site well in advance as this was my third time of trying to get in.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peejay12 13 reviews from this member

This is an exception camp site but difficult to Find a vacancy.

The shower block was lovely, and warm even at 06:00. Hrs

Very easy access into St Ives for walkers, cyclist, all traffic free and well worth a visit, IF you can drag yourself. Away from the camp it being so peaceful with lots of space to do your own thing.

The river is a must for families, the children can paddle, fish, canoe, all in a very safe environment, it being more like a lake.

This goes down as one of my favourites, but not easy to get a vacant pitch.

No WI FI but he local pub, just a very short walk has.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew132 2 reviews from this member

All I can Say is WOW.

This site is situated right next to the river and makes this perfect for canoe and kayak.

Local pub is just a stones throw away (5 mins walk) and serves good food and real ale, all at a good price for such a premium location.

Although the site was fully booked it never seemed busy and the near perfect toilet block was always clean and empty.

This is a club site and even though I'm not a member I was always made to feel welcome.

Only drawback is it only has about 5 tent pitches and none are electric.

A lovely site and have already tried to return but alas they were fully booked (so please book well ahead).

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ThomoSki 18 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights at the end of July 2013.

We used to live in the village so know the area well. It's a great spot with easy access to lovely walks. The two pubs in Houghton/Wyton are good and you can walk across the river and fields to Hemmingford Grey and Hemmingford Abbots. St Ives is also walking distance along the pretty 'thicket' path.

The site and facilities were all in good order. We didn't see much of the wardens but didn't really need to. Will make a point of returning. Although it is a bit odd having a holiday somewhere you used to live!

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cambridgeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4082 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430