Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Houghton Mill Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Houghton Mill Caravan Club Site
Mill St
Houghton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01480 466716

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peejay12 10 reviews from this member

This is an exception camp site but difficult to Find a vacancy.

The shower block was lovely, and warm even at 06:00. Hrs

Very easy access into St Ives for walkers, cyclist, all traffic free and well worth a visit, IF you can drag yourself. Away from the camp it being so peaceful with lots of space to do your own thing.

The river is a must for families, the children can paddle, fish, canoe, all in a very safe environment, it being more like a lake.

This goes down as one of my favourites, but not easy to get a vacant pitch.

No WI FI but he local pub, just a very short walk has.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew132 2 reviews from this member

All I can Say is WOW.

This site is situated right next to the river and makes this perfect for canoe and kayak.

Local pub is just a stones throw away (5 mins walk) and serves good food and real ale, all at a good price for such a premium location.

Although the site was fully booked it never seemed busy and the near perfect toilet block was always clean and empty.

This is a club site and even though I'm not a member I was always made to feel welcome.

Only drawback is it only has about 5 tent pitches and none are electric.

A lovely site and have already tried to return but alas they were fully booked (so please book well ahead).

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ThomoSki 18 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights at the end of July 2013.

We used to live in the village so know the area well. It's a great spot with easy access to lovely walks. The two pubs in Houghton/Wyton are good and you can walk across the river and fields to Hemmingford Grey and Hemmingford Abbots. St Ives is also walking distance along the pretty 'thicket' path.

The site and facilities were all in good order. We didn't see much of the wardens but didn't really need to. Will make a point of returning. Although it is a bit odd having a holiday somewhere you used to live!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buksang 1 review from this member

Excellent facilities in a quiet area as one would expect when owned by the National Trust. The working mill is a must visit which includes a guided tour on how it all works. And of course a visit to the tea room is required to experience the home made scones using the flour milled next door!

Houghton is a 5 minute walk away but do queue opposite the bus shelter to go into Cambridge otherwise the driver my drive off before you can cross the road. Otherwise remain at bus shelter if one wants to visit Huntingdon.

The local pub nearby sells excellent beers and a pleasant evening was enjoyed there by us all! Tescos with petrol is nearby as is a very good garden centre called Huntingdon with discounts on Wednesdays.

I think the 2 wardens do a super job given their office and jobs without other help. Hopefully that will be overcome once the main holidays start. We will be back as we did not do Cambridge justice.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pullup 15 reviews from this member

This is another clean Caravan club site with the usual standard of facilities that you expect from them (some pitches are very uneven).

The site is in a nice village with a Post Office/general store and 2 pubs. There is a tea room at the NT mill which is only a few paces from the site.

The site has lovely walks directly from it and is on a cycle route. However if you like a nice view from your pitch this isn't the site for you.

There is a strict no ball games policy on site which is expected, however if you pitch on pitches 2 to 6 you back onto the national trust car park which is grass and only separated from the site by a low one bar fence, leaving caravans vulnerable from locals who choose to play cricket there.

Wardens where very helpful and friendly.

Would visit again but hopefully pitch further into the site than pitch 5 and take our bikes next time.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitchensinkcampers 10 reviews from this member

We usually come here once a year and it it always up there on our favourites list.

It hasn't changed from when we used to visit the in laws before we camped/ got the van.

Shower block is always very clean and never seems to look tired.

Wardens are friendly and helpful.

We love this site as its so easy to launch our kayak from, and we have spent many an hour paddling around the river and its tributaries. Watching the wildlife and nosing at the big riverside houses and their massive gardens with private moorings!

If there is any negative for us it would be the lack of playground for kids. However there isnt really space for a playground. There never seems to be loads of kids on site but that has never bothered our two.

The wine merchants in St Ives is a must!

Theres a lovely cycle ride to St Ives and you can cycle back round the back way through the Hemmingfords villages, back through Hemmingford meadow. On the way you could stop at the Axe and Compass Pub for a lovely pub lunch.

Previous     29 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cambridgeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6673 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




1.0664