Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > London > Site Reviews

Crystal Palace Caravan Club Site
Crystal Palace Parade
Crystal Palace
London   (Browse area)
SE19 1UF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0208 7787 155

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 71
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
              9/10 from 45 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jjlj95 19 reviews from this member

I first stayed at this site sometime around 1991, again in March 2011 and most recently in July this year ( 2014 ).

Each time the staff have been lovely, friendly, welcoming and helpful, the site and all the facilities beautifully kept, very clean and a pleasure to use. It is amazing good value for a temporary 'home' in London.

It has a real international feel, the vehicle number plates show that visitors come here from countries near and far, and in spite of the location being in the middle of the capital city, it still has a wonderful relaxing, holiday feel to the site, it's hard to believe how central you are.

Access to buses, and trains is good, Bromley Churchill Theatre only 4 1/2 miles away and a good uncongested car route makes this a quick journey.

The usual selection of take away shops and small grocery shops are within walking distance, whilst a really big Sainsbury Store, with petrol station is a very short drive away.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Willo2712 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 days, nice clean site, hot showers and clean, pleasant toilet block with friendly staff and not much traffic noise. Airplanes fly overhead and although you can see and hear them during the day, after dark we rarely heard them. Wildlife spotted on site, 2 foxes, a few small bats and lots of squirrels.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buksang 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location but need to keep your wits about you to access entrance given the succinct directions on internet! We stayed here to visit Hampton Court Palace and drove there easily at about 9. 30 am on a Friday. Coming back was a different matter and took over 2 hours but peak time 5. 30 pm. The staff and facilities were good but toilet block is looking tired though no wonder being open all the year round. Some suggest that Chertsey Caravan and c club is nearer for H Court palace but we were pleased we came here as we would have missed the Crystal Palace museum which is free on admission and is very informative and educated me on an important part of British history. Well done CP!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wsmstuart 5 reviews from this member

We hired a motorhome which came with 'honoury' CC membership so stayed in a lot of sites we wouldn't normally.

We used to live in London so knew what to expect, however, had never been to the CC itself before which was fascinating in itself. Got the train into London Bridge which was great, even with 2 dogs.

Be warned that the nearby Sainsburys closes early for a reason, some real nasty types hanging around sadly and this is from someone who used to live near the Goldhawk Road. But, do not worry the site itself is about a Km away from all that and very safe.

Toilets were fine and clean, have clearly been given a soft makeover at some time with new tiles to showers etc. We will definitely come back in our trailer tent!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldabra 1 review from this member

We were pleasantly surprised to find a little oasis surrounded by trees and birdsong and squirrels. The hum of the traffic was negligible (in fact the birds made more noise). The facilities were spotless. The proximity to the park, bus stop and various local shops and restaurants makes it an ideal spot to stay. We will definitely be staying there again next time we visit London.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 18 reviews from this member

A great base for sightseeing in London, this site does what it says on the tin. The best way to get to all the attractions is to walk about 300 yards to the bus stop on the other side of the main road, hop on a no. 3 bus and either get off at Brixton tube station and make your way around from there, or else get off at Lambeth Palace, Piccadilly or Oxford Circus all of which give you access to Central London.

The site itself is slap bang on a busy road, with Crystal Palace Park stretching out behind it - it's also right underneath the BBC's Crystal Palace transmitter which mucks up the signal to your digibox if you have one, so be warned!

The one toilet block probably isn't enough for a site with this many pitches, and although cleaned to a good standard it's certainly not the nicest one on the CC network although everything still works fine. The floor gets a bit wet and muddy but that could be improved with a better doormat for people to wipe their feet on entering the block.

A handful of pitches (about 7 grass pitches just to the right as you enter the site) are right next to the road and suffer from a lot of traffic noise despite the trees and bushes screening the site off. At this site they allocate your pitch on arrival, you can't choose your own and I would have felt a bit miffed if we had been allocated one of those. Also there is a constant distant drone from aircraft but as people are out all day seeing the sights these things should not really affect your stay.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming and there's a good information room with folders giving you travel instructions on how best to reach all the major attractions.

If you're just after a cheap way of 'doing' London with your van, this is definitely the place to stay.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in London   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4717 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391