Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Oakdown Country Holiday Caravan Park
Gatedown Lane
Weston
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0PT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01297 680387

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m   5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 20th March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
              9/10 from 79 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (13) and Video

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy0185 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite, we felt we were very spoilt with amenities compared to some campsites we had visited over the summer. Pitch sizes were plenty big enough and flat. Staff always so helpful and accommodating. The showers were always hot and we took full advantage of the family bathroom and used The bath a couple of times for The kids. The electric hook up point was easy to access and so to was the water. The washing up/kitchen room was great as we were able to store our stuff in the freezer and an added bonus of a microwave if needed. The children loved the play area. The shop was well stocked and the cafe on site served the best cream teas. We didn't have to cook 1 night as the campsite has a fish and chip van. Perfect! Can not fault this site at all will definitely return. Seaton Jurassic is definitely worth a visit if you have children. And don't forget the donkey sanctuary! You can even hear them from the tent at night.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pombear 3 reviews from this member

We have just begun using a seasonal pitch at Oakdown.

This is our first time owning a caravan and having a seasonal pitch. We've previously been tenters!

Such a lovely quiet site. Considering there are also a number of lodges on the site it doesn't feel like a huge site.

We are on the main site, rather than the adjacent field across the road where the café and golf course is situated.

The toilet block is excellent and always clean. There are only 3 showers in that block but never had to queue. Not sure what it would be like in the summer holidays but the site was fairly busy due to the good weather.

There is a family bathroom which for £1 you get 15 mins of hot water, which if you've got small children like us is worth it. This has a bath and separate shower cubicle, which for £1 you could wash the whole family!

The café is brilliant and very reasonable we thought, you get discount if staying on the site.

The children's play park we used was excellent. They have a great mix of equipment for older and younger children, often we go to places and the play equipment isn't suitable for our 2 year old so this was a major draw for us choosing the site.

The only place nearby we have visited so far is Sidmouth, which is a pebble beach unless the tide is out, the beach was quite quiet as there are a lot of older people who seem to visit Sidmouth as it is very flat when you are in the town and by the beach.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2016, had wonderful time. Site was all we could ask for, well kept and toilet block very clean. Dog walk up to Donkey Sanctuary was lovely - poo bags provided if you had forgotten your own. Shop was good and fish and chip van called to site. Golf available if that's your thing. Wardens always helpful. We plan to return in the summer - its a favourite location.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maximo72 3 reviews from this member

What a great site this is,

We've been here twice now and will return for a third.

It's really quiet and peaceful, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful too, on one occasion we were approached by a member of staff who asked if there was anything we'd like help with, after a brief chat I suggested that the shower curtains were a bit too close as there wasn't much room to get dried, much to my surprise the next day I went for a shower the curtain had been moved back!

We stayed on the part across the road from the main site and has the golf course attached, although it was a little bland compared to the main area it was still very nice, pitches are of astro turf, level and big enough for a car, caravan and awning.

There's a little cafe there that does coffee, tea and cold snacks and is reasonably priced.

The walk to the donkey site is pleasant and walking around it is nice, you can often hear the comical donkey brays from the site which my 8 year old loved!

The surrounding area is lovely with plenty to see and do, the beaches are nice and I would recommend a trip to Beer.

All in all this is a great site (if slightly pricey) and for us well worth the long drive from Scotland to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cm.conway 5 reviews from this member

We were greeted by friendly staff at reception, (we stayed two nights in our campervan on Monday and again on the Thursday on our way back) staff will show you to your pitch. We were tucked away on pitch 20 Monday and 19 on Thursday large astro turf pitch there are also grass pitches with benches. it is flat and has plenty of space between in camper.

Amenities very clean and tidy, only 3 showers in the block though so some days you do have to wait or go into the main site and use those. We found it easier to shower in the evening. Washing up facilities were good plenty of hot waterms but it does get hot in there if every one washing up at same time.

There is a dog walk to the Donkey sanctuary well worth a visit and you can walk for miles.

There is a shuttle bus to sidmouth if needed. And a cafe on site that do fantastic flat white coffees and great pasties, also if you didn't want to cook in the morning a full English breakfast can got there, but can get busy especially at peak times.

There is a bit of road noise but we soon got used to it. And you can here donkeys eeaww day and into the night but surprisingly relaxing. There is a play area for children and a 9 hole golf course on site.

Overall a fantastic site and we will be visiting again and getting friends an family to visit to.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffersskate 11 reviews from this member

Modern facilities

Very quiet and peaceful

Well laid out

Well organised

We stayed on the astro turf pitches in beech grove - which are a great idea - especially considering the amount of rain they'd had in the week before we arrived.

Family rooms - although you have to pay - it's not much.

The friendly greeting and helpful, friendly staff, especially as we hadn't booked the astro turf pitches - but was offered one by the very friendly grounds keeper.

The play parks - there are two

The shop - well stocked and is a coffee shop also - could do with being open a wee bit later though.

The comfy TV room - comfortably decorated - rather than a hodge podge as you can sometimes find - proper thought had gone into it.

Met some lovely campers there also.

This campsite won aa campsite of the year 2015 after we booked it, it is a well run, family site. If you like quite organised sites rather than those that are a bit more laid back - then this is for you

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0967
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window