Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Little Bodieve Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Little Bodieve Holiday Park
Bodieve Road
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6EG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01208 812323

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  1m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 195
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
              8/10 from 40 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

We chose this site as itís fairly close to the Camel Trail, if you walk into Wadebridge itís about 20 minutes down a steepish hill, there is also a bus service from Wadebridge to Padstow. We initially phoned to book a pitch but we were told that it wasnít necessary, and as it was a bank holiday weekend, we were slightly concerned. Once we arrived we realised that there was no need to panic as this is a large site and there were in fact plenty of pitches, plus their rally field also had lots of EHU points. Check in was straightforward and the owner is very nice. The grass was well manicured and we could choose where we wanted to pitch, later during the weekend the site filled up as families arrived for the half term holiday.

The toilet/shower block is a little dated, but all seemed nice and clean whilst we were there, with plenty of hot water. Particularly good was the very hot water in the washing up area, to wash our greasy fry-up dishes! There is a small shop and a bar, and a small heated swimming pool. The site also has free wifi.

Wadebridge itself, has a Co-op where you can pick up most supplies, and a selection of independent shops, and a few pubs.

We shall definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donz1985 2 reviews from this member

Great location for visiting beaches and cycling, good temperature water in the pool, lots of electric pitches available, good children's playground unfortunately that's where it ends.

There are 'site rules' which are not enforced, I saw more than one dog off lead free to come over and upset our dog (who was on his lead) there were young children unaccompanied in the pool so when supervising my children I felt if anything happens to the other kids I would be responsible for taking some kind of action to keep them safe, which is not fair, if the rules exist its up to the staff to enforce them.

The main issue I have which will stop me coming back to this site is the shower and toilet blocks. It's like taking a shower in someone's old shed or outbuilding! They are impractical, the showers are so small with one hook so there is no chance of your clothes or toiletries staying dry. As for trying to get dressed in there; don't bother. The button in the shower dispenses 7 seconds of water (yes I timed it!) which is either burning hot or burning hot with cold intervals! Completely useless! The shower blocks are cleaned regularly but still maybe a deep clean is in order as it's the beginning of the summer season and there is clearly thick layers of dust on the back of the toilet door wooden fixtures plus tonnes of cobwebs with some complementary flies, yuck. The site owners need to realise, when you're camping the one comfort you want is a warm clean shower (not a shed) with a dry area and plenty of hocks.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie Grosch 1 review from this member

What a fantastic campsite. It's ideally situated for touring the area. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It's family run, so only one barman, generally, but he worked his socks off and was always friendly and the food was hot and well prepared.

The facilities were excellent. Showers were always clean and hot. Plenty of dish washing space. We didn't use the pool, but it looked fine and was kept clean and there is a separate splash pool slide, which isn't open all the time, but looks great for the kids when it is.

I will definitely be considering re-booking when we next visit Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JCWB 6 reviews from this member

We were greeted and shown to our pitch upon arrival. We were situated within the rally field which is very well set out with quite large pitches. We had plenty of room but I can only think it may be quite difficult to get your caravan into position if these pitches are all taken as there is only a narrow strip to drive to your pitch on. This is primarily a family site so expect children during the holidays. The toilet and shower blocks were cleaned each day but look slightly dated. There is a huge play area for the children with plenty for them to do and large green areas for them to do basically anything. There is an outdoor swimming pool and water slide which had kids in them each day. There is a well stocked shop for most of your provisions but if you prefer a large supermarket there are enough close to hand to satisfy most people. The bar area was frequented by adults and children. The site is well looked after and very tidy throughout. There is a dog walk at the far end of the site for those who choose to bring their pets along. It is around a mile into Wadebridge so if you want to walk there it is around 20 minutes. There are enough shops, supermarkets, and bars but beware of the Bridge on the Wool. We paid just short of £20 for 2 pints of bitter, a medium glass of red wine and a bottle of cider, not exactly encouraging you to stay in the pub in my opinion. If anyone fancies an Indian takeaway though, the Spice Guru is not cheap but I have not tasted food like this anywhere. The bhajees are superb, and the chicken jaupuri I had with rice and a nan was simply devine with tons of taste. The beaches in the area are great for water enthusiasts, you just need to choose the right one as they were quite full and at times there was not enough parking places close enough to the beach. Harlyn bay was our best choice with plenty of parking close to the beach. £4:00 to park your car at most places, well priced if you have a car full. Dogs are allowed on some of the beaches so you need to check first before you travel to them. Most beaches are around 7 miles from Wadebridge so be prepared to travel. All in all a good holiday destination.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shelleyjustice 6 reviews from this member

It has been 10 years since I last visited this site. Very little has changed. The site consists of a couple of fields with hookup. A section for tents and a number of statics. It has a children's play area, splash pool which is open at certain times of the day and a small swimming pool which was lovely to make use of at the end of a warm day. There is a small but well stocked shop, a bar which serves food ( we didn't eat there but it looked popular) and a games room for children.

The wardens are the same as 10 years ago, friendly family run site.

Wadebridge is centrally situated for easy driving to most of cornwall, Newquay is only 15 mls away, Padstow 6mls and if you don't want to drive you can cycle the camel trail.

The toilets blocks are basic and are as I remember them from the previous visit so could do with modernising but water was hot and I didn't have to queue. The gents was not always as clean as my partner would have liked.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

We chose this site for it's proximity to the Camel Trail.

Staff on site are very friendly. The site is geared for families which of course means you should expect plenty of children in the school holidays. Our corner pitch was used by everyone as a cut-through so a strategically placed windbreak is a must. It was a bit of a distance to reach the power hook-up but fortunately we had a long lead.

The toilet and shower facilities are plentiful and functional but would benefit from some updating. However this is balanced by the site fee which was not as high as most we experienced during the holiday.

Wadebridge is lovely little town situated roughly halfway along Camel Trail. Little Bodieve is just under a mile from the trail and the route to get you there is OK for adults but not so safe for young children as you have to cycle along normal roads into Wadebridge to pick it up. Once on the trail it's about 7 miles in one direction to Bodmin and about 6 miles in the other direction to Padstow.

There is a bus stop outside the site entrance which we used to visit Port Isaac. It's about a 35-40 min journey which also takes in Rock and Polzeath. The helpful lady on site reception provided a bus timetable.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window