Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Coast Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Golden Coast Holiday Park
Station Road
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HW   See Map
Tel: 01271 872 366
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 89 /Units 342
Open: 9th Feb To 5th Nov 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Full Facilities List

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kazkampa 1 review from this member

Have stayed here several times in their accommodation but first time in our tourer. Activities and entertainment are fantastic but bowling surf lessons etc can be a bit pricey however you can get them much cheaper if you buy in advance after booking i. E. 20% discount off pottery painting etc. Evening entertainment is good and the park stars make a huge effort with the kids.

Standard Pitches have their own water which is nice, hook up and a fair size however if like me (a lone female with small child ) and your not too confident at reversing and usually push your caravan onto the pitch good luck as there's a kerb at the edge which made this a real task requiring the help of others.

The shower blocks are not at all modern they are cold and dated really need an upgrade that said I'm in there for a shower not my holiday so it's a minor thing. I come here for a cheap half term

Fun break which is what you get. Great sports facilities and fun free crazy golf football golf etc etc

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lisal1974 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our stay at Golden Coast. It is within a few minutes of Woolacombe beach (by car) where you will find a very pretty village and surfers paradise.

Here are a few observations on the site:

Shower blocks - (there is a unisex block as well as blocks for ladies and gents). The latter blocks are much better with the unisex blocks in need of an update.

Swimming pools - the indoor pool is lovely with good changing and shower facilities. Be warned that it's not a place for a quiet swim as there are lots of pool rules broken that go unchallenged by staff.

Entertainment - our children were too old for many of the activities so I can't really comment on this however the staff appeared friendly and had a constant trail of kiddies which is a good sign of quality children's activities. The later evening entertainment is fun. Be prepared to have to pay for activities that your teenagers want to do. The entertainment/club house is a little dated in parts.

Wifi - free in the club house/restaurant. 5 per day to browse anywhere on site. 10 per day for streaming internet (being able to watch tv/Netflix etc. There is a discount if you pay for a full week however this is very pricey in my opinion.

Pitches - this depends on your expectations. We paid for a super pitch. This gave us water, drainage, hook up and lighting on our pitch. I was led to believe there was a to aerial point on the pitch but didn't notice it - though I'd not planned on using it anyway. You will definitely need rock pegs for these pitches. We had a corner pitch which was a short straw as it is smaller than the others. However our awning fits on the side of our tent. If we'd got a front awning we'd have struggled to fit. Despite having a carpet in the tent we could really feel the pea gravel under our feet. I don't think the super pitch was worth the extra money.

Transport - the company offer a bus to and from Woolacombe Village and beach however you should expect to queue for the bus on a busy, sunny day. This didn't appeal to us after a long day on the beach with chairs, snacks, windbreak, wetsuits and boards. You can expect to pay 7 per day parking. Though the company boast the beach being a walk away from the beach, this isn't advisable due to lack of footpaths.

We don't think we'd visit this site again despite having no major complaints but would consider Woolacoombe Bay Park as my understanding is it offers more on site and has been given a facelift. I have also heard great things about Woolacombe Sands which has its own path to the village.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Argente4 15 reviews from this member

Was very pleasantly surprised by this site, especially after reading some of the previous reviews.

Check in wasn't great. There is a sign near the entrance where you are supposed to wait for the warden to show you to your pitch and give you your wristbands to use the facilities. Nobody arrived after 10 minutes so I went to reception who contacted the warden. We waited for another 5-10 minutes and he still didn't appear so I returned to reception, collected our wristbands, site info and pitch number. We followed the signs to the pitching area and located our pitch easily.

We were in the bottom area of the touring section which was great since it felt a bit less like a holiday camp, more like a proper touring site. It was all gravel hardstanding with small hedges between pitches. Our pitch, and those near us were all a good size, plenty of room for 7m long caravan, awning with sleeping annexe, and to sit out with sunloungers and picnic table set up. Could even see the sea if I stood up! We were in no way cramped. We had EHU, water point and TV aerial point on the pitch.

Toilet block was a short walk away. Facilities were unisex and kept reasonably clean. There were individual cubicles with shower and sink in. Showers were hot and powerful and I only had to wait a few minutes once. Some toilet cubicles had wash basins in as well and a couple were just loos with hand washing facilities for these located in the baby changing cubicle.

Supermarket was well stocked (except it didn't have burgers?) and reasonably priced. Their hot sausage rolls are great value for money for a quick bite at lunchtime. The main indoor pool was warm and a decent size, and not too crowded when we went. There is another smaller indoor pool with a paddling pool that looked pretty good as well. There were three outdoor pools. The main one is in the centre of the site, has a waterslide and also small sunbathing terrace. It was often busy and we didn't use it. We did use the outdoor pool situated near an old manor house area which is across a small lane from the rest of the site. This pool was sheltered and warm, and very quiet, with a lovely sunbathing terrace and picnic garden. The other outdoor pool is very small, and tucked away in a top corner of the site.

We used the bowling alley which was good value for money. The children enjoyed using the arcade, but generally went earlier because it got a bit busy later on.

We didn't use the other facilities such as the high ropes course, any of the water based activities (zorbing etc), or the pottery painting.

What we loved about the site was the area across the lane from the main site which had a pitch and putt golf course, tennis court, football field, a trim trail, and plenty of open space to play ball games or sit and have a picnic. There are also great sea views from this area.

We didn't use any of the food outlets but they looked ok. The Old Mill (a pub on the site) looked good, especially if you want a drink or bite to eat without the entertainment or 'club house' feeling. We were expecting a very typical British holiday park experience with a lots of noise and crowds. Despite being there over the half-term holidays, and the park being pretty full, the facilities did not appear to be stretched and we were only bothered by noise when our neighbours started hammering tent pegs out at 5. 45am! Obviously not the site's fault. The only downside is that the only place to walk or cycle to safely is Ilfracombe. Unfortunately Woolacombe's roads make it too hazardous to attempt to walk there. For a family with younger teens this site suited our needs very well and we would return.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JulietD 1 review from this member

This site is great if you want a lodge or static but not so good for touring. I booked a super pitch over the phone and when we arrived we were in the furthest possible corner of the site that felt more like it was a groundsmans yard. I asked to move so that we were somewhere near the facilities. The super pitches are not very big (or the standard) and only just squeezed our van, awning and vehicle in. A tiny grass verge separates the pitches so no feeling of privacy. The toilet block is very basic, clean but needs some love. The water was not hot at any time over the weekend. The whole site feels like it needs some love and updating and considering we were there at the beginning of the season I'd assume this won't happen during 2016. Pool is warm, minimal changing space. Bars and restaurant good and kids entertainment. Wave machine looks fun but my kids were too small to try. Golf and high ropes also good.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 35 reviews from this member

We spent a week on this site and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We used an 'all-weather' Super pitch which had EHU, water and grey water drainage. These pitches are far enough away from the 'entertainment' to ensure that any possible 'fall-out' was not intrusive. Close at hand were 2 facilities blocks, one 'unisex' and one of more traditional layout. Both were kept clean, although, at the end of the season, were a little 'tired'. The site boasts an entertainment complex including, bars, restaurants and pools plus extensive 'adventure' facilities. Restaurant food was adequate and competitively priced. There is a large shop on site which offers a very extensive range at prices that compare favourably with most supermarkets!

There is a bus stop directly outside the site with services to Ilfracombe and Barnstaple. The site owners also run 3 other sites in the vicinity and operate their own bus service between these and Woolacombe beach, which is a surfers' paradise. For good, unfussy food in Woolacombe, we can commend the Captain's Table. A couple of hundred yards from the site entrance is the Fortescue Arms, which offers good food at reasonable prices.

We will be going back to this site!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Villa Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 167 reviews from this member

We wanted to visit the area for the No 1 Best Beach in Britain, Woolacombe Sands Beach, so we opted for Golden Coast Holiday Park which is only a few minutes drive away.

Upon arrival check in was smooth and efficient and gave us our keys and off we went. They did not show us on the map where the accommodation was, however the site is well signposted and with the map in hand we had no problem finding the villa.

We opted for a two storey, two bedroom villa as these are dog friendly and great when you have the kids. The accommodation was large and fully equipped with a TV, sofa, table and chairs, full kitchen including microwave, pots, pans, cutlery, etc, a decent sized bathroom and two good sized bedrooms, one with a double, the other with two singles and two bunk beds, so there was plenty of room for all.

The villa was dated but as we were using it as base to visit the area and enjoy the facilities on the park, this did not bother us and it was fully functioning and perfect. Each villa also had a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine.

The park itself has everything you can think of, 2 Indoor & 2 Outdoor Heated Pools, Water Park, Slides, Flume & Terrace, Kiddy Karts, climbing wall, crazy golf, wave machine, high wire ropes, pool tables, snooker table, sports bar, family bar, takeaway restaurant, ten pin bowling, golf course, dog walk, outdoor play areas, plus so much more.

The swimming pools were nice and if you get there early enough you can get in there whilst it is quiet, however if you want inflatables and fun then head there later in the day.

There is a huge shop on site selling all your essentials and it is not that expensive. They also have a gift shop selling souvenirs and the usual stuff. There is a large Tesco in Ilfracombe, not too far away.

The park is also grouped with three other parks and they supply a bus service that runs between them all and you can use all the facilities at all four parks once you have your wrist band on. The bus service also runs you down to the beach.

The main entertainment area has a bar serving a range of good drinks plus food and also a kids 'bar' selling toys, games, etc. They have entertainment each evening which is the usual holiday park entertainment and was enjoyable for a night.

There is free wifi in the main areas however I struggled to get good speeds from it and you do get a paid for service but we did not try that as we could not pick up the signal in our villa. I did wander down to the Old Mill pub on the edge of the site and bought myself a drink and used their wifi which was quick and useful to use.

On the subject of the Old Mill we ate there one evening and the food was awesome, the service from ordering to getting the food was really quick and was very very nice. Not the cheapest place, but great food and drinks.

The area has lots on offer from Ilfracome, Coombe Martin, Barnstaple and miles and miles of cliff walks and beaches. Our favourite beach by far is the award winning Woolacombe Sands and we managed to park in the car park on Marine Drive in the afternoon for just 2 for as long as we liked, other car parks were charging 5 plus but were closer to the shops, main hub of the beach. Croyde beach down the road is also stunning and we spent a lovely afternoon chilling there.

Overall this is a wicked holiday park and has everything for kids of all ages and adults too wishing to use it as a base for the area. I would visit again and indeed plan to.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Newark 17 to 18 March 2018
First major outdoor show of the season for day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017