Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Little Winnick Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Little Winnick Touring Park
Pentewan
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6DL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01726 843687

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
              9/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisandRob 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site in great area for discovering Cornwall. All the pitches are flat and a good size, with plenty of trees all around. The toilet block was adequate and clean but a bit tired however I believe this is going to be replaced over the winter. The surrounding towns have all the usual facilities, shops, supermarkets and restaurants, everything you would need. There is plenty to see in the area once you get used to the narrow roads.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisnBob 8 reviews from this member

This is a great site run by a very nice family. The Clemo's are very experienced site owners running as they do the successful River Valley site up the road.

Excellent value for money: we paid just £12. 00 per night which was in stark contrast to the over £20. 00 per night we had paid for a Caravan Club site in Devon before arriving in Cornwall.

The family acquired the site in January 2013 and decided to re-name it to distance themselves from any previously held bad impressions people may have had. They have already spent many thousands of pounds on improvements and will be building new toilet and shower facilities over the winter. There is a dis-used swimming pool in one corner of the site which is going to be filled in at some point and will not be re-opened.

The pitches are spacious; either hard standing or grass; with or without electric points.

The toilet blocks are cleaned to a high standard every day and there is always hand soap and toilet tissue available. We were delighted to see that there is a mop a bucket available for cleaning up because for some extraordinary reason, the Caravan Club do not provide these any more!

There is a laundry: £3. 00 wash and. 50p drier. Unusually there are also a couple of rather ancient whirly type washing lines which were very useful.

Yes, the road is a bit busy but we didn't notice road noise particularly but this would probably affect people in tents more. We fell asleep to the sound of the river running along behind us.

We cannot rate for child friendliness because we don't have any but there is what appears to be a newly equipped play area for small children and plenty of grass areas in which to play.

The site office, manned either by family members or staff sells basic groceries such as local bread (delicious!) and fresh eggs etc. The staff bend over backwards to be as helpful and informative as possible, e. G. , they have prepared a list of what must be almost every dog friendly beach in Cornwall which was ideal for us as has already been mentioned in other reviews, you cannot take dogs onto the nearest beach in Pentewan.

The surrounding villages, coves and countryside are a delight although we found some of the lanes tricky in our MH. Finding a petrol tanker or large tractor coming the other way is heart-stopping stuff but with a bit of luck and good management we got by!

We decided to finish our week with a meal at the nearby Kingswood Bar and Restaurant which, whilst a bit pricey was excellent in terms of quality of food and service.

We had a lovely relaxing week and met some really friendly people on site. We've all said we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jay46 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a weeks stay at this lovely little site. Dog and child friendly we were on a grass hook up pitch which was nice and flat with no grass cuttings insight and I have to say one of the largest we have experienced with plenty of room for your set up and room for the car too. Toilets although dated were always clean and considering the site was full with mainly families I thought this was a good sign. The shop is open early and closes late and sells the usual essentials with sweets for the kids being a favourite of ours. Great dog walks and a lovely walk along the river into Pentewan with a stop off at The Ship Inn for a drink. All in all a good site well based to travel around Cornwall only downside for us was the noise from traffic it is on the main route into Mevagissey so gets very busy. Would be better if fenced around that edge of park to buffer some of the noise. Would I return to this site yes just not on a pitch facing the main road.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Cats 2 reviews from this member

Lovely clean, well laid out campsite, can only re-iterate what other reviews have said about it. Had a great time with all the walks for the dog.

A few extra points to consider depending what you want from your holiday - dogs aren't allowed on the nearby beach, not even near it which is a shame as the left hand side of the bay would be well away from anybody. Councils don't seem to realise they don't just ban the dog, they ban the whole family. However there are some dog friendly beaches, we went to Caerhays beach as you can park next to it for £3. 50 which is great when you've a load of gear/ canoe etc to carry. There's toilets and a cafe there.

There aren't any fish in the river behind the campsite. It's locally known as the white river due to the wash from the china clay works on the other side of St Austell, but to be fair the campsite doesn't advertise fishing anyway.

The lost Gardens of Heligan now allow dogs in so that's a great day out and we walked up from the campsite and if you tell them you've walked you get a 25% discount.

All in all good campsite in a pretty area.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 19 reviews from this member

A lovely 3 days spent midweek in our MH, easy accessible site, straight off the B road running from St Austell to Mevagissey, didn't find the road noise unobtrusive, we only had a grass pitch available to us but even though we had one morning of heavy rain the day before we left it was well drained & no issues driving off. Pleasantly laid out site with a mix of vans & tents, the toilet/shower block is dated but the new bathrooms are coming along nicely & will be fab when fully finished, my only gripe when using them was the enclosed shower had no area to place bottles etc, only on the tray itself & the pushbutton water was only on for 10 secs at a time, the showers in the old block run for twice as long. Also made use of the washing lines as dog was ill so had bedding to wash & dry. The huge empty rally field also doubles up as an off lead exercise area for the dogs which is a boon. The dogs can also go off lead along the river, turn left across the bridge & its a 3 mile walk into St Austell or right takes you to the woods and path to Pentewan Sands, about a mile & a quarter, the dogs aren't allowed on the beach but the Ship Inn has a lovely beer garden dogs are allowed in the pub & serve a lovely pint of Rattlers cider. Across the road from the site is the cycle route that takes you into Mevagissey, you can also access the Heligan gardens from this route, again a 3 mile walk, so for us about an hour. There is only a small petrol station on the main road towards Pentewan but the shop doubles up as a Post Office and is quite well stocked. The small village has coffee shops etc. The holiday park at Pentewan lets non-residents use the restaurants but does not accept dogs. The site uses club Wifi which is £6 for 48 hours, & 3G was very hit & miss, would definitely use this site again & seeing the improvements the helpful new owners make

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jwalkden 4 reviews from this member

Good first impressions of this site on arrival - lovely clean site (though close to a fast noisy road), well drained, flat pitches. Our pitch was fairly close to the toilet/shower blocks and we opted for electric hook up since we were staying for 5 nights. Within the main toilet block (which was kept clean) there were two showers at the end, and some sinks (with taps that only worked whilst they were being pushed on top) and some hair driers close to the entrance. One hand drier was way too hot when it worked. The other just had cool air coming from it (in the ladies toilets). Round the other side of the block they had some private 'push button' shower rooms with toilets and sinks (free showers). Also a laundry room, elsan and pot washing area (under a canopy but nice hot water), and a couple of outdoor airers for drying towels on etc. There is a little shop on this site and a small play area for the kids. This is a dog friendly site where the owners are expected to keep their dogs on leads, though some owners didn't bother to pay attention to this requirement. The site is in a good location - not too far from St Austell and Mevagissey. A good base for visiting local attractions including the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094