Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polmanter Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Polmanter Touring Park
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3LX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 795640

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Easter To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
              9/10 from 154 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 27 reviews from this member

We normally stay at Ayr caravan site when visiting St Ives but this time it was full. However Polmanter was a good substitute. Toilets and showers were always clean and well maintained, staff very polite and helpful. There is a pool on site and a bar serving food each night. Dogs are allowed into the conservatory part of the pub and there is an excellent field for dog walking. You can walk down to town but there is a regular bus service to and from the site to centre of town - dogs accepted. Cost is 1. 50 per person each way.

If I have a gripe it was the cost. The season is now over but we paid 88 for 3 nights - there was a 10 charge in this for the dog. As I feed the dog I am assuming this is the pro rata rate for staff to empty the dog poo bin in the dog walking park. It's a bit steep to charge 3. 33 per night for my dog to sleep in my 'van and eat food which I supplied. It's my only complaint.

This was a pleasant 3 night stopover in the St Ives area - I would recommend this site for a out of season visit to St Ives.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickfishing 4 reviews from this member

Just back from this site can only say that it is a very good site from being able to arrive the night before (12 midnight) to the bus back from st Ives, toilets spotless, reception staff very good, gardeners very good, bar staff very good. We arrived about 1. 00am 7th Aug head down till about 7. 00 am walked down to site 100 mtrs used toilets later got bacon cob/tea from take away checked in about 8. 00 am staff said some one will come up to early arrival field and let you know when your pitch is ready (web says pitch available from 12. 00 midday) at 10. 15 tap on van door nice guy says your pitch is ready on pitch and set up by 12. 00 our second week was on a different pitch spoke to gardener on morning of move and he went straight to new pitch mowed it and then came and told us it was ready cant fault staff or site. Bar good food good beer good entertainment ok can only say if you want a good facility site with good staff and good views across the bay this is it but one word of warning book early we booked in March and could only get 7 nights managed to get another 7 later on a different pitch, people book before they go home, our neighbour has been going for 17 years can only say try it.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit to Polmanter, but first visit with a caravan, we've had a tent on previous visits.

This is a great family site, loads to do locally, St Ives is a short walk down the hill, but I'd make sure you get the bus back as walking back up that hill isn't much fun. The bus only costs 1. 50 so it's well worth it.

The site has a pool which is warm and clean, we enjoyed that. The clubhouse/bar is great, reasonably priced, good food, good service. As is the take away also on offer. There is shop, but apart from an occasional newspaper we didn't use it. (I arranged for Tesco online to deliver, met them at the gate!)

There is a pub/restaurant within 5 mins walk (although we drove as it was raining) called The Halsetown Inn, we were made very welcome there, even our dog, food was excellent. Highly recommended.

There are very few negative points about this site. As with lots of busy sites, the pitches are well used in August, so ours didn't have much grass on it when we arrived which was a shame, it was quite muddy when it rained. I mentioned this when we checked out and was told that our pitch had been used day in, day out from the last 2 1/2 months so it was to be expected. I was paying over 50 a night so was actually hoping for a bit of grass! I bought a 15 7 day token for the campsite wifi, once you were connected it was great, but it was really hassle to log on each time you went to use it as after a moments inactivity it kicked you out and you had to log back in again. It only worked on one devise as well, so each member of the family had to have their own token, on other campsites, if I logged out on my phone, my son could log in on his.

However, we will certainly be booking another week here. Keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan 1 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent caravan site with friendly staff, great setting and excellent amenities. There is a restaurant on site serving really good food, not just average burgers or pizzas but dishes that are different, excellent quality and delicious. The toilet facilities are modern, clean and comfortable. It is one of the best sites we have stayed on and why we return. Wifi is not free but then that is a small thing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Josie66 3 reviews from this member

Have visited this site many times first in a trailer tent then caravan and now camping, the site is fantastic, great toilet/shower facilities always very clean, pitches a good size, food and drink available on site also has take away facilities and shop, good playground and swimming pool, a bus run from the site to and from StIves takes 5 minutes, you can also walk to StIves in about 30 minutes, couldn't ask for a better site and we have tried many.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ann1tony 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant site.

Fabulous amenities with plenty of shower/toilet blocks.

Easy access and plenty of parking space between units.

Shop on site sells most things wanted on a day to day basis.

Swimming pool a good attraction even though did not use.

Easy booking in process and staff very friendly and obliging.

The bar and restaurant on site very good with excellent food and drink.

Only 20 mins walk into St. Ives and the parks own bus service which ran on a very frequent timetable.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosebudd35or 1 review from this member

This site is set in beautiful countryside with views to the sea and across the fields. The facilities are first class toilet blocks plenty of space in the showers always immaculate clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The site is within walking distance of StIves or there's a bus all be it up hill coming back but a beautiful walk of about 25 minuets but plenty to look at so doesn't seem that far. There is a swimming pool and lovely children's play area. Plus a restaurant and take away all in all very special site we definitely will return again next year

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb2602 2 reviews from this member

Nicely appointed site with an easy downhill walk into St Ives and if you don't fancy the walk back, a regular bus from the centre of town takes you back to the site entrance.

Lovely clean facilities, easy check-in and good value when using an ACSI card out of season.

The only negative for me was the bl**** seagull that pinched one of the pork chops cooking on the BBQ - Very clever though as I only turned my back for an instant to pick up some seasoning!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 21 reviews from this member

Just back from a week on this site. Excellent facilities, very clean and tidy. Had a lovely pitch on the top overlooking the sea. The walk through the lane down to St Ives is very pretty. Visited Godrevy and walked the headland where there are seals living and breeding. Stunning views, well worth a visit. (National Trust).

Only downside of campsite was that the restaurant and shop were both closed from third week in September. As no village shop it would have been helpful to have shop open. Not had this before on any site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit and love it. Very well managed in all areas. Clean modern toilet and shower facilities more than enough for the busiest times of the year. Great pitches with good views. A lovely country lane walk into St Ives around 1. 5miles down hill and there is a bus available at 1. 50 to come back but the hill is not too steep if you take it slow.

Must comment on the Stable Bar and restaurant. Top quality for ambience staff and the food. The portions are huge and the prices are not too expensive. All 4 of us enjoyed our different meal choices.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4540 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder