Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polmanter Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Polmanter Touring Park
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3LX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 795640

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Easter To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
              9/10 from 159 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moggssue 13 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights here as part if a touring holiday and what a lovely site. We don't usually go for sites with bars etc but were swayed by the proximity to St Ives. Large pitches, spotless amenities which, on our visit at least, were cleaned at 1am so as not to close in the daytime! To be fair the bar was pleasant enough, can't comment on the food but it looked reasonable. They had a quiz night on the Tues which was a giggle. And tv screens showing the European Championship matches.

We used the bus from the site into St Ives and back. £1. 50 each way and very reliable with friendly drivers. There's also a friendly pub a five minute walk from the site, Hasletown Inn, where we had a good meal on the Saturday night but I would advise booking (we only booked a few hours in advance but while we were eating they were turning people away).

St Ives is a lovely friendly town with plenty of places to eat, pubs with live music, 3 or 4 beaches in walking distance, and we even saw a seal in the harbour. Despite initial reservations when booking, due to the size of the site and bar, I would definitely return snd hopefully fairly soon!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyzobe 1 review from this member

This is the best campsite I've visited so far. It's extremely well thought out, immaculately clean, and everything looks as if it were brand new. It's within walking distance of St Ives and has wonderful views of the sea and surrounding countryside. We would definitely come here again. If I had to make a criticism it would be that the shop could carry a wider range of stock, but the staff are very friendly, and there are a multitude of other shops close by

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fruitymiss 15 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week at the end of school term-time so immediately before the main season began - did the same here last year - site was pretty full at the weekend when we arrived but much quieter midweek and then the crowds flocked as we left (don't think it was anything to do with us!) and it was clear that it was going to be ftb!

The washroom facilities are superb - always kept immaculately clean and there are plenty of blocks so if the closest one is shut for cleaning then it isn't far to walk to another block.

Love the way you check pitch availability online before you book with an interactive map so you can see which ones are available for the time you want to go for. However if you want to go during school hols you need to book very early - booing open on 1st July for the following year. We heard of someone who tried to get through on the phone on 1st July 2016 to book for summer 2017 and left his phone on redial until he got through - it redialed 750 times! So if you want to stay there in the summer hols best you take a day off work on 1st July of the previous year and be prepared to sit tight and wait patiently!

Pool is lovely and food is Ok in the bar/takeaway. Great food pub a short walk away - but not cheap pub grub. Takes about 30mins to walk to St Ives, all downhill and if you are not fit enough to walk back up again after a day on the beach or wandering around the town then the bus will take you back to the site for £1. 50 - they give you a timetable when you check-in as it runs more often during high season. Whatever you do, don't drive into town - nowhere to park!

Basic foodstuffs in camp shop which was open from 8. 30am until 7pm (apart form an hour closed at lunchtime) while we were there - poss different hours at different times of the season? But a reasonable Tesco is about a 10 min drive from the site so we used that a couple of times.

My only disappointment is that I paid £15 for a wifi access code for a week and got very little use out of it as I could rarely get connected and when I did I lost signal frequently, so much so that I gave up trying in the end.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkypilot 26 reviews from this member

Polmanter is a bigger site than we would normally choose, but we selected it mainly because of its location near to St Ives – and were glad we did. Although large, the layout of the site and the screening hedges between pitches provide a lot of privacy. It might be different in the high season, but when we were there the site was surprisingly quiet. The leisure facilities are excellent, especially the immaculate heated outdoor pool and the adjoining bar and restaurant – we only had a drink here, but it's very pleasant, and the takeaway food service is a great idea. There are also tennis courts and a small pitch and putt golf course, and the shop is well stocked. The toilet and shower block that we used was modern and spotlessly clean. You can walk into St Ives from the site, or there's a good and regular bus service that goes from the site entrance to the town centre. St Ives itself is lovely, with great beaches, interesting shops and galleries and plenty of good places to eat (we especially enjoyed the Porthmeor Beach Café). We also took the train from here to Penzance, which was very good value. A very good site that would be particularly attractive to families with young children, near to a lovely seaside town.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 32 reviews from this member

We normally stay at Ayr caravan site when visiting St Ives but this time it was full. However Polmanter was a good substitute. Toilets and showers were always clean and well maintained, staff very polite and helpful. There is a pool on site and a bar serving food each night. Dogs are allowed into the conservatory part of the pub and there is an excellent field for dog walking. You can walk down to town but there is a regular bus service to and from the site to centre of town - dogs accepted. Cost is £1. 50 per person each way.

If I have a gripe it was the cost. The season is now over but we paid £88 for 3 nights - there was a £10 charge in this for the dog. As I feed the dog I am assuming this is the pro rata rate for staff to empty the dog poo bin in the dog walking park. It's a bit steep to charge £3. 33 per night for my dog to sleep in my 'van and eat food which I supplied. It's my only complaint.

This was a pleasant 3 night stopover in the St Ives area - I would recommend this site for a out of season visit to St Ives.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickfishing 6 reviews from this member

Just back from this site can only say that it is a very good site from being able to arrive the night before (12 midnight) to the bus back from st Ives, toilets spotless, reception staff very good, gardeners very good, bar staff very good. We arrived about 1. 00am 7th Aug head down till about 7. 00 am walked down to site 100 mtrs used toilets later got bacon cob/tea from take away checked in about 8. 00 am staff said some one will come up to early arrival field and let you know when your pitch is ready (web says pitch available from 12. 00 midday) at 10. 15 tap on van door nice guy says your pitch is ready on pitch and set up by 12. 00 our second week was on a different pitch spoke to gardener on morning of move and he went straight to new pitch mowed it and then came and told us it was ready cant fault staff or site. Bar good food good beer good entertainment ok can only say if you want a good facility site with good staff and good views across the bay this is it but one word of warning book early we booked in March and could only get 7 nights managed to get another 7 later on a different pitch, people book before they go home, our neighbour has been going for 17 years can only say try it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinkerbelle35 1 review from this member

This site is excellent. Toilet and showers very clean and showers always hot. There is a friendly pub on site with lovely meals at good prices. Our pitch was spotless and very spacious for our big tent. The staffs are extremely polite and chatty and are happy to help in anyway. The shop on site is well stocked with everyday items and food. Children enjoyed the play areas. Lovely walk down to St Ives and, excellent bus service if you don't want to walk back up the hill. Bus service ran until 10pm which is an excellent service. We loved the site and will be returning back with 12 of our friends this summer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit to Polmanter, but first visit with a caravan, we've had a tent on previous visits.

This is a great family site, loads to do locally, St Ives is a short walk down the hill, but I'd make sure you get the bus back as walking back up that hill isn't much fun. The bus only costs £1. 50 so it's well worth it.

The site has a pool which is warm and clean, we enjoyed that. The clubhouse/bar is great, reasonably priced, good food, good service. As is the take away also on offer. There is shop, but apart from an occasional newspaper we didn't use it. (I arranged for Tesco online to deliver, met them at the gate!)

There is a pub/restaurant within 5 mins walk (although we drove as it was raining) called The Halsetown Inn, we were made very welcome there, even our dog, food was excellent. Highly recommended.

There are very few negative points about this site. As with lots of busy sites, the pitches are well used in August, so ours didn't have much grass on it when we arrived which was a shame, it was quite muddy when it rained. I mentioned this when we checked out and was told that our pitch had been used day in, day out from the last 2 1/2 months so it was to be expected. I was paying over £50 a night so was actually hoping for a bit of grass! I bought a £15 7 day token for the campsite wifi, once you were connected it was great, but it was really hassle to log on each time you went to use it as after a moments inactivity it kicked you out and you had to log back in again. It only worked on one devise as well, so each member of the family had to have their own token, on other campsites, if I logged out on my phone, my son could log in on his.

However, we will certainly be booking another week here. Keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan 1 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent caravan site with friendly staff, great setting and excellent amenities. There is a restaurant on site serving really good food, not just average burgers or pizzas but dishes that are different, excellent quality and delicious. The toilet facilities are modern, clean and comfortable. It is one of the best sites we have stayed on and why we return. Wifi is not free but then that is a small thing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Josie66 3 reviews from this member

Have visited this site many times first in a trailer tent then caravan and now camping, the site is fantastic, great toilet/shower facilities always very clean, pitches a good size, food and drink available on site also has take away facilities and shop, good playground and swimming pool, a bus run from the site to and from StIves takes 5 minutes, you can also walk to StIves in about 30 minutes, couldn't ask for a better site and we have tried many.

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth £48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016