Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polmanter Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Polmanter Touring Park
Halsetown
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3LX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 795640

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Easter To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 153 Reviews
              9/10 from 153 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  153 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickfishing 3 reviews from this member

Just back from this site can only say that it is a very good site from being able to arrive the night before (12 midnight) to the bus back from st Ives, toilets spotless, reception staff very good, gardeners very good, bar staff very good. We arrived about 1. 00am 7th Aug head down till about 7. 00 am walked down to site 100 mtrs used toilets later got bacon cob/tea from take away checked in about 8. 00 am staff said some one will come up to early arrival field and let you know when your pitch is ready (web says pitch available from 12. 00 midday) at 10. 15 tap on van door nice guy says your pitch is ready on pitch and set up by 12. 00 our second week was on a different pitch spoke to gardener on morning of move and he went straight to new pitch mowed it and then came and told us it was ready cant fault staff or site. Bar good food good beer good entertainment ok can only say if you want a good facility site with good staff and good views across the bay this is it but one word of warning book early we booked in March and could only get 7 nights managed to get another 7 later on a different pitch, people book before they go home, our neighbour has been going for 17 years can only say try it.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit to Polmanter, but first visit with a caravan, we've had a tent on previous visits.

This is a great family site, loads to do locally, St Ives is a short walk down the hill, but I'd make sure you get the bus back as walking back up that hill isn't much fun. The bus only costs 1. 50 so it's well worth it.

The site has a pool which is warm and clean, we enjoyed that. The clubhouse/bar is great, reasonably priced, good food, good service. As is the take away also on offer. There is shop, but apart from an occasional newspaper we didn't use it. (I arranged for Tesco online to deliver, met them at the gate!)

There is a pub/restaurant within 5 mins walk (although we drove as it was raining) called The Halsetown Inn, we were made very welcome there, even our dog, food was excellent. Highly recommended.

There are very few negative points about this site. As with lots of busy sites, the pitches are well used in August, so ours didn't have much grass on it when we arrived which was a shame, it was quite muddy when it rained. I mentioned this when we checked out and was told that our pitch had been used day in, day out from the last 2 1/2 months so it was to be expected. I was paying over 50 a night so was actually hoping for a bit of grass! I bought a 15 7 day token for the campsite wifi, once you were connected it was great, but it was really hassle to log on each time you went to use it as after a moments inactivity it kicked you out and you had to log back in again. It only worked on one devise as well, so each member of the family had to have their own token, on other campsites, if I logged out on my phone, my son could log in on his.

However, we will certainly be booking another week here. Keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tan 1 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent caravan site with friendly staff, great setting and excellent amenities. There is a restaurant on site serving really good food, not just average burgers or pizzas but dishes that are different, excellent quality and delicious. The toilet facilities are modern, clean and comfortable. It is one of the best sites we have stayed on and why we return. Wifi is not free but then that is a small thing.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Josie66 3 reviews from this member

Have visited this site many times first in a trailer tent then caravan and now camping, the site is fantastic, great toilet/shower facilities always very clean, pitches a good size, food and drink available on site also has take away facilities and shop, good playground and swimming pool, a bus run from the site to and from StIves takes 5 minutes, you can also walk to StIves in about 30 minutes, couldn't ask for a better site and we have tried many.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ann1tony 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant site.

Fabulous amenities with plenty of shower/toilet blocks.

Easy access and plenty of parking space between units.

Shop on site sells most things wanted on a day to day basis.

Swimming pool a good attraction even though did not use.

Easy booking in process and staff very friendly and obliging.

The bar and restaurant on site very good with excellent food and drink.

Only 20 mins walk into St. Ives and the parks own bus service which ran on a very frequent timetable.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosebudd35or 1 review from this member

This site is set in beautiful countryside with views to the sea and across the fields. The facilities are first class toilet blocks plenty of space in the showers always immaculate clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The site is within walking distance of StIves or there's a bus all be it up hill coming back but a beautiful walk of about 25 minuets but plenty to look at so doesn't seem that far. There is a swimming pool and lovely children's play area. Plus a restaurant and take away all in all very special site we definitely will return again next year

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb2602 1 review from this member

Nicely appointed site with an easy downhill walk into St Ives and if you don't fancy the walk back, a regular bus from the centre of town takes you back to the site entrance.

Lovely clean facilities, easy check-in and good value when using an ACSI card out of season.

The only negative for me was the bl**** seagull that pinched one of the pork chops cooking on the BBQ - Very clever though as I only turned my back for an instant to pick up some seasoning!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 19 reviews from this member

Just back from a week on this site. Excellent facilities, very clean and tidy. Had a lovely pitch on the top overlooking the sea. The walk through the lane down to St Ives is very pretty. Visited Godrevy and walked the headland where there are seals living and breeding. Stunning views, well worth a visit. (National Trust).

Only downside of campsite was that the restaurant and shop were both closed from third week in September. As no village shop it would have been helpful to have shop open. Not had this before on any site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

Our fourth visit and love it. Very well managed in all areas. Clean modern toilet and shower facilities more than enough for the busiest times of the year. Great pitches with good views. A lovely country lane walk into St Ives around 1. 5miles down hill and there is a bus available at 1. 50 to come back but the hill is not too steep if you take it slow.

Must comment on the Stable Bar and restaurant. Top quality for ambience staff and the food. The portions are huge and the prices are not too expensive. All 4 of us enjoyed our different meal choices.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyfisher 12 reviews from this member

Spent two weeks at this site on a hard standing full service pitch. Excellent sea view from pitch. Site was very well maintained. Used 2 of the shower/toilet blocks and very clean, showers hot. They had family rooms too. High standard and no issues. Useful on site shop selling the usual foodstuffs, plus few things for kids and camping essentials. Good

Laundry room. Swimming pool was clean and warm and a good size. Tennis courts were great, but it would have been nice if they were bookable without the 3 fee. Lovely bar and restaurant on site. There was some entertainment, bingo, live music, karaoke and pitched to suit the site (not rowdy etc). Food was excellent. Games room for kids, but ours didn't really use it. There was a large playing field with goals for kids to play which our kids used a lot. Excellent large enclosed dog exercise field. Also an early arrivals field that had plenty of waiting visitors on weekend mornings. The site pitch fee is expensive, but it is very popular and overall with the standard of the site, its facilities and its proximity to st Ives we thought it was worth it for our main holiday and we plan to return. Departure time of 10am is quite early - not great if you have a large tent. All staff were friendly and helpful, in particular I found the staff in reception very helpful. The approach lane, though short is not a wide road. Arriving on the afternoon of the village fete was a nightmare, with lots of traffic and parked cars - had only inches to spare either side if van (it would have been better if we had known about this or the road had no parking cones so access was not so restricted). Wonderful walk down into St Ives (which is a lovely town) - we did it lots of times and caught the bus back. Only downside was that There are limited dog friendly beaches in the area, unlike Newquay. The best beaches in st Ives do not allow dogs. The ones that do are small and are completely covered at high tide. They have no facilities on them - it's a shame that the council can't allow one the best beaches to have dogs on, even if restricted to being on leads. You can go to Mexican towans which has better surf but it's a trek down a narrow cliff top path from the car park to it - it did feel like a very anti-dog local authority!

Previous     153 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1094