Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dolbeare Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Dolbeare Park
Landrake
Saltash
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL12 5AF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01752 851332

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   5m  10m  5m  5m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the wettest January ever!

Really easy to find site with instructions from the owner. Do not follow your sat nav! Access is very good.

We were greeted by the site owner, who gave us all the info we needed. They have a security barrier, you leave a £10 deposit for the card.

Really good hardstandings, although we did need chocks. They have a motorhome dump point, although it is only a small one so you need to be accurate!

Showers were warm and clean and the water was hot. There are about 5 toilets. I also liked the radio playing. Two things to note. There are only 2 showers in the ladies, so I guess you'll queue in the summer and the hair dryer only blew cold/tepid air.

There is a good washing up area, undercover, although it took absolutely ages for the hot water to come through. Drainers were supplied. Kids are catered for with a small playground, and there is an information hut/shed with lots of information for the surrounding area.

There is a shop which sold the usual basics, including wine. Although at this time of year, it was down to the very basics. There is a Waitrose about 15 minutes away.

I did use the laundry which had 1 large washing machine - £5. 00 per wash which I thought was a bit pricey, and a large commercial dryer £1 for 10 minutes, there was also an iron and ironing board available, free of charge. I guess you would be queueing for the washing machine and dryer when it's busy. There is a 'drying room' about as big as a double wardrobe, which had a clothes rail and a small oil filled radiator in it, but to be honest it was useless. Took 2 days to dry a couple of t shirts that couldn't go in the dryer.

This site is dog friendly and has a doggy walk, but there are no dog bins as such on the site for emergency pick ups if your dog doesn't make it to the dog walk area.

There is a bus stop about a mile away on the main road, too far for us to use - didn't fancy the 20+ minute walk in the pouring rain along country roads with no pavements. The nearest pub isn't far from the bus stop.

There were 2 winter wardens on site, they were really nice people and were very helpful.

On the whole a well kept clean site.

Would we stay here again?????

Yes we would.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 203 reviews from this member

The previous review is very harsh! We arrived slightly early on 30th December so had to queue behind a couple of motorhomes. Easy and helpful access to our pitch, good hardstanding, slightly uneven so needed our chocks.

Nothing wrong with the facilities, clean and warm with an adjustable shower heater worked by waving your hand at it.

We have been up and down many worse lanes to sites, no problem at all. When you arrive £10 is deducted from your debit card for the security gate.

The only slight gripe is that dog walking is limited, the designated dog walk is tiny and you are not allowed to walk your dog on the nature trail.

It's perfect as a stopover or for a holiday, and cheaper than Riverside on the other side of Plymouth, we would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markyboy236 9 reviews from this member

Access to the site is 1 mile via a busy narrow lane from the A38. The reception is only open for 2 hours during close season so you have to ring a bell. Welcome was friendly enough but there are too many site rules. For example. No cycling or use of scooters on site, no kite flying. There is also a rule not allowing you to transgress anything onto the grass. You are Not even allowed to drive a ground peg into the grass areas. Some rules seem to be a little over zealous or OCD. Some EHU's are a distance from the pitch which as we found, means you will need x 2 cables to reach.

There is a noise problem with the adjacent kennels (barking dogs from 6am every day) So if you like it quiet, particularly in the morning don't stay here. There are high voltage electricity cables crossing the site right above the children's play area !

There is no lighting on any of the site roadways, therefore a torch is essential at night.

Toilets are starting to show there age and need to be bigger. At the time of the visit they were always clean and tidy. There are only x 2 showers in the ladies and x 2 toilet cubicles in the gents which must make it frustrating or difficult in summer time when the site is full.

A vehicle is essential when visiting this site due to its rural location. We did walk 25mins down the lane to pick up the bus to Plymouth one day which runs approximately every hour. It takes 45mins and cost £12. 50 for two. Bus drops off in city centre for the shops. Plenty of car parks around the centre for those who wish to travel in via car. £1. 50 toll on Tamar Bridge.

Barbican area is well worth a visit, where there are plenty of restaurants, pubs & bars and would recommend a tour of the Plymouth Gin Distillery £7 including free G&T in their cocktail bar. Also visited Looe and Falmouth great Cornish sea towns.

Would we stay again ? sorry no. Too isolated & noisy.

Management response: Thank you for your interesting review.

We would like to clarify a number of your points:

Access to the park is down a quiet country road that is two way traffic for the most part with passing places when it narrows. For Cornwall, this road is not bad at all but like all Cornish roads, you do need to take care. The distance from the A38 is just under a mile.

In off-peak times, the shop is open from 9am to 10am and 5pm to 6pm. In summer/peak times, it is open from 9am to 11am and 4pm to 7pm. During the day, most people either go exploring or relax in the sunshine on the park. If it’s hot and guests fancy an ice cream and we’re around, they are more than welcome to ask (which they do!).

All of our pitches can be used with a standard 25m electric cable.

We do have kennels nearby, however, as Cornwall has prevailing south westerly winds, for maybe 95% of the year, you very rarely hear them. Unfortunately, you did whilst you were here.

There are electric cables on wooden poles going across at the top of the park and these are not overhead of the play area, however, they are not safe for flying kites.

We have sodium lighting that covers nearly the entire park, with the exception of our camping paddock. We try to keep the paddock as dark as possible, so that guests can see the fantastic starlit nights and keep a look out for shooting stars and meteors. Campers definitely need a torch. Touring pitches do not need torches.

There is no cycling because we have gravel paths and did have a nasty accident in the past. No cycling is on our website. However, there are some excellent off-road cycling trails nearby at Tamar Valley, Plym Trail and Cardinham Woods.

Our toilet block is actually very good. We have underfloor heating, non-touch controls, two ladies showers, three gents showers as well as two family rooms and one for disabled. Around the time of your visit, we were inspected and won the Loo of the Year Platinum Award for 2017.

Awning pegs in the grass makes it difficult to cut the grass, especially if you are here for a couple of weeks, the grass around your awning looks unsightly when it gets long.

The bus stop is in the village and is a flat 15 minute walk. You can get a bus into Plymouth, Looe, Polperro, Liskeard and there is also a bus to Padstow (that does take a couple of hours!). You can also use the Park and Ride into Plymouth.

There is a great pub in Landrake Village which is in walking distance, and a pub a little further away at Notter which also does great food, and in walking distance from the park.

Dolbeare Park is a superb base for your holiday as it really isn’t that far from anywhere. The nearest beaches on the south coast are 15 minutes by car and the north coast 45 minutes. Looe is 20 minutes, Plymouth is 20 minutes or if you fancy going to the moors, Minions at Bodmin Moor is 25 minutes. Waitrose and Lidl are a few miles up the road at Saltash.

Cornwall is an absolutely wonderful place to enjoy a holiday. We hope that you will return to Cornwall soon.

Kind regards

Chris & Ian

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MyTinTent 3 reviews from this member

This campsite is for the most part very good, the toilet and shower facilities are clean and well looked after – although the gents hand dry is next to useless and brief discussion with others suggest it has been that way for a while, but overall the site itself is well maintained. There is a very small shop on site for those “ran out of moments” but it is expensive, and you are made welcome by the staff. Access is not too bad, even though the access road is narrow in some parts with passing places, but this is Cornwall.

I feel I should point out a few points to bear in mind;

Some of the pitches are smaller than others and if you get a smaller pitch, particularly with a longer van, it is difficult to get van, awning and car on your pitch – so you may be asked to park away from your pitch. This was not mentioned when booking.

There is a Cattery & Dog kennel a field or two over from the camp site, and the dogs can easily be heard when the wind is coming from that direction.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Salsapembs 17 reviews from this member

My family & I stayed for one night during August 2016 whilst touring The South West for 10 days in a motorhome. We only wish we could have stayed longer! We loved everything about this park. The easy access to the main road, the warm welcome from Ian on arrival, the well kept grounds, the friendly & hard working owners/staff, the clean modern toilet/shower block, the freshly baked bread from the on site shop, the local Chinese takeaway meal delivered on site. I could go on & on! We have stayed in a lot of caravan parks over the years & Dolbeare Park is up there with the best. We will definitely return in the future & make sure we stay longer next time! 'Thank you Dolbeare Park for making our visit an enjoyable one. '

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jvc100 33 reviews from this member

The Site is situated just off the A38 to the west of Saltash. It is central to most of the area.

The showers and toilets were always very clean and well stocked with free showers. The chemical point was well designed and as a site was perfect, with;

• Well laid out pitches

• Good kids play area

• Quiet

• Secure site with electric barrier – felt safe

• Nature trial + dog area (although a little limited)

If I was to give one negative it would be a lack of reach/power in the showers and the number are a little limited with only three showers and two toilets in the gents. The wife advised there were two showers and 4 toilets for the ladies. I would have concerns if the site was full.

We ate at the Bullers Inn twice and they allow dogs in the pub – the food was very good and quiet reasonably priced – ignore their web site, it is order from a board – they did Burgers, Steak, Fish & chips, etc

We used Seaton most days to exercise the dog and eat. This is a dog friendly beach with pub (good beer, poor food), Café (good food, no beer), river through the middle, toilets and parking. You can walk for about a mile along the beach with dog off lead. The sand is grey but it is a good kids beach as well, with rock pools and the river outlet to play in – 10 minutes from site.

The two lads who seemed to run the site were very helpful. :)

If I was visiting the area I would return to this site.

While there we visited Trago Mills, Adrenalin Quarry, Plymouth, Taverstock

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UK’s biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2950 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938