Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Minnows Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Minnows Caravan Park
Sampford Peverell
Tiverton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX16 7EN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01884 821770

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 

Pitches: 45 - all hardstanding
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
              8/10 from 30 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilsone 1 review from this member

We visited this lovely site in October 2014. Whilst there we saw a beautiful flowering hedge near the office, it also had a lovely perfume, nobody new the name of it so I took a photo and on my return home I sent it to an expert who said it was an OLEASTER. This is for those of you who were asking at reception. We had a great time and will return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thowdcodger 17 reviews from this member

This was our fifth visit to the site and so it is clear that we like this site. The toilets are really nice and clean and the whole site is kept clean and tidy. Located next to the canal bank it is a good spot for walkers that prefer the flat, (as we do!)

Along the bank to the village and you find the Globe Hotel with good food. The site staff are very welcoming and are ready with help and advice on all matters.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lms0110 19 reviews from this member

This is the second time we've stayed here so I think that's recommendation enough, affiliated to the CC its a small hardstanding only site that is situated 5 mins drive from M5 south. This recent stay was for just 1 night on our way to Cornwall, and talking to other people a lot use it as a journey break point BUT our first visit was in March when we stayed for 4 nights, the reason being is that the site has its own doorway to the Grand Western Canal towpath where we spent some lovely sunny days walking the towpath, all 8 miles to Tiverton, it forms part of the cycle network. 2 pubs are also accessible direct from the towpath about 10 mins walk & they both allowed dogs. Facilities are spotless, no free wifi but costs £6 for 48 hours, 3G coverage is sporadic.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David 70 1 review from this member

Have visited this site on a couple of previous occasions and will be returning again this year. The site is always in immaculate condition. The welcome is friendly and efficient.

Because we have always stayed for several days our pitch has always been convenient and easy to access.

Whilst there is some road noise it is not obtrusive, try living next to a railway line.

It is a brilliant site and so convenient both as a stopover and for touring in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elddis Xplorer 5 reviews from this member

Was keen to try out this site as a convenient stop-off point travelling to North Devon/Cornwall. Unfortunately we found the site did not live up to our expectations.

Starting with the positives, the site is very easy to access from the A361 North Devon Link Road and the M5 Junction 27. The wardens were welcoming and helpful, and as the site is affiliated to the Caravan Club, it is as spick and span as you would expect.

So why the sad face? Well, as others have commented, as we were using the site for a one night stopover, we were offered a pitch at the furthest end of the site which has all the charm of a motorway service station and is just as noisy with traffic shooting past on the adjacent A361. On a sweltering hot day, there was no shade and little grass to speak of adjacent to our pitch, to sit and relax.

In an attempt to cool down, we tried the showers. Why oh why do sites have these fixed temperature showers with no controls? On a bitter autumn morning, the hot shower would be a joy, alas on a scorching Sunday in July it just provoked irritation. Can't we caravanners be trusted to regulate the temperature for ourselves?

Which leads to another issue. Why no toilets or showers in our distant field? Ah. But there was a thoughtful vegetable preparation area, which surely would be put to much better use as the above. What is the Caravan Club obsession with vegetable preparation areas? Do members request them? Do modern caravanners not have the means to wash vegetables in their own vans should they get the urge? Without being indelicate, I'm sure we're not alone in not wanting to set up the full toilet facilities in the van for a less than 24 hour stay. Alas, the nearest block was a robust stroll near the site entrance two fields away.

Off site, the neighbouring village of Sampford Peverell is a short stroll along the pleasant canal which borders the site on the other side (alas you can't see it behind the high hedges but there is an entrance from the site. ). We had a pleasant enough meal at The Globe pub, and found the older part of the village to be charming, with lovely views.

For those staying for longer, better pitches are available, so do not be wholly put-off as the site is convenient for Exmoor and the towns of mid-Devon. But would we return? Probably not.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Runaway 5 reviews from this member

A really great friendly site. Only small but well laid out hard stand pitches. The toilet and shower block was exceptionally clean and the staff most welcoming. There is a walk along the canal at the rear of the property which will take you into Sampford Peverall. A small town with two pubs and a general store. That sells everything. Would certainly recommend and stay again. Some previous reviews have mentioned the noise factor, however we did not encounter any problems in relation to this.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1113