Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Nicholas Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

St Nicholas Camping Site
Court Road
St Nicholas At Wade
Birchington
Kent   (Browse area)
CT7 0NA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01843 847245

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m 

Pitches: 75
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 31 Reviews
              7/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve Rose 2 reviews from this member

Nice location but although the site was well situated the pitches in fact the whole area were covered in clumps of cut grass which walked in everywhere. People arriving just parked wherever hoping for the best as the owner could not be found. By mid Saturday the place was packed with tents tourers and motorhomes like sardines. I would give a higher star rating to an M25 layby than I would to the 2 showers in the block and 1 disabled block all of which was full of grass.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camper-van 1 review from this member

Location is good and easy to find, unlike the site owner on arrival, knocked on the farmhouse door and got no answer, this was 2 in the afternoon so not late, just found a place and set up, did not see anyone running the site till the 9:30 AM shouting by the farmer demanding his money no card only cash, had I been able to get to sleep before 3AM that wouldn't normally have been a problem, when questioned about the noise policy he simply said I couldn't hear anything.

Toilets and showers well dated and in need of replacement.

As already mentioned by others, if your into it, you can party on till the wee hours as loud as you like and no one seems to care. So if you want a good nights sleep then you have no chance.

Expensive for what it offers, out of season £21. 50 for 2 adults per night, which on a site with decent facilities and a decent nights sleep is OK but not for this site.

Sorry if it sounds harsh, but that's how I saw the place, was my first visit and won't be going back,

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon Walton 2 reviews from this member

We recently stayed for a short break having visited the site a number of times during the past few years. The site was not particularly busy and we had plenty of choice of pitches. Whilst the facilities are basic, the toilet block was generally clean with plenty of hot water in the (free) showers and at the washing up sinks. There is also a small children's play area. The site is close to Birchington and Minnis Bay which are both worth a visit along with the surrounding area.

We use the site as a base for beach days and cycling. I thoroughly recommend this site!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ivorf 2 reviews from this member

I used this site on a car-based camping / cycling trip to Kent (June 2015). The location is great for cycling as the village of St Nicholas At Wade is at the end of a spur on the Viking Way cycle route. * The village itself is charming and, I suspect, rather ancient. One big plus point is that you can walk from the site to the village in about five minutes, which is handy if you want a drink with dinner and don’t want to drive anywhere. There are two pubs, one opposite the other, and they both offer food (although I tried only one of them). If you want a wider choice of restaurants, Minster is a short drive away. I didn’t try any of the places there, but it seemed to have a few restaurants / takeaways.

A previous review mentioned that the site had limited toilet / shower facilities. This is true, but it was not an issue when I was there as there were only two other tents and a handful of caravans. Another point mentioned was road noise. This could be a problem if you are a light sleeper, but it didn’t bother me too much.

Overall, I found this a pleasant little site – perhaps not a destination in its own right, in my view, but very well located and actually in a village. I would be happy to use it again as a stopover or as a base when touring that part of Kent.

Note for cyclists:. The Viking Way route signage for cyclists when heading from St Nicholas At Wade towards Minster needs some improvement. Also, the “official” route seems to include a short stretch of busy main road. A local cyclist suggested that this could be avoided, so a careful study of an OS map could be useful for anyone not familiar with the area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maltheman 5 reviews from this member

Our first outing in a newly purchased touring caravan, phoned for booking, park up on the left advice, wow what a site, plenty of room and the faculties clean and functional only us and one other tourer although a tenter and a camper van turned up later and had a non noisily bar b q that all ere invited to

Electrical hook-ups worked superbly, water was very close as were disposal points

All in all as experienced 1 year tourers who use caravan club sites this modest site cannot be faulted on price, location or facilities

We will be going back as it is so central and useable, big thank you to the site owners, you have it just right

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebullbok 8 reviews from this member

Having arrived on Sunday 31st August, (with prior arrangement), at 12pm - to find no one there. Tried knocking and phoning, but no response. A fellow camper suggested to park anywhere. Plenty of signs for tents and caravans, so made the assumption that I should be over with the caravan parking. As there were no caravans there, thought it would be ok.

Next morning, the owner came to see us. Was moaned at for parking in the wrong place. Apologised to him and said that I would know for next time to which the reply was 'If there'll be a next time'!

So not a great start.

Having used the facilities on the Sunday, we noticed they hadn't been cleaned that day. There was only us and two other units, who both left on Sunday evening.

The facilities would be excellent if they had been cleaned. Gents had a long urinal and three toilets, four sinks and two showers. Ladies, I believe, had the same, (except no urinal). There is also a disabled toilet/shower with baby changing facilities.

There are two washing up sinks and one clothes laundry sink.

There are plenty of EHU's and a chemical toilet disposal.

We stayed until Friday 5th, and the toilets/showers were not cleaned for the entire time we were there, which was very disappointing.

The busy A299 is very noisy during the day, but this gets easier from early evening.

There is a children's play area. Unfortunatly, it's located right near the entrance gates and the sandpit has been used by the local cat/s as a latrine.

I don't like giving negative reviews, and maybe it had been a long season for the owners or maybe they have staff in busier times - but we shall not be returning to this site for the reasons mentioned above.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets for the UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 18 - 21 August 2017
East Yorkshire - the world’s biggest tribute band music festival, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016